Questions tagged [eldritch-invocations]

For questions about eldritch invocations, a feature specific to the warlock class in Dungeons & Dragons that grants the character access to additional spellcasting options and other magical abilities. (See also the [warlock] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
35
votes
3answers
7k views

Is it possible to rest underwater if you can breathe underwater?

I'm looking at the new Warlock eldritch invocations of XGTE, and the invocation Gift of the Depths gained my curiosity. The eldritch invocation Gift of the Depths states that you can breathe ...
32
votes
2answers
4k views

Can the Witch Sight warlock invocation see through the Mirror Image spell?

I came across a bizarre instance where a Pact Blade Warlock with the Witch Sight invocation ended up fighting several lower-level mages, a few of which cast Mirror Image. The Warlock claimed that ...
26
votes
1answer
2k views

Can I have a magic bow as my pact weapon without getting the Improved Pact Weapon Eldritch Invocation?

The Warlock's Pact of the Blade feature specifies that you can only create melee weapons, but you can also turn a magic weapon into your pact weapon (without specifying that it's only melee weapons). ...
26
votes
2answers
2k views

Could a Warlock use the One with Shadows eldritch invocation to remain invisible during a long rest/sleep?

The warlock's One with Shadows eldritch invocation presents an interesting opportunity: it gives you invisibility without requiring concentration. Specifically (PHB, p. 111): One with Shadows ...
25
votes
4answers
4k views

What is a good way to challenge a Warlock with the Agonizing Blast invocation?

In my session I have a Warlock with a Charisma score of 20 that's been using the Eldritch Blast spell with the Agonizing Blast eldritch invocation to rather spectacular results, decimating everything ...
23
votes
3answers
4k views

When a Book of Shadows is replaced due to loss, are rituals that were inscribed in it lost?

While reading through Player's Handbook 5-th edition Warlock class, I found this paragraph: If you lose your Book of Shadows, you can perform a 1-hour ceremony to receive a replacement from your ...
23
votes
2answers
6k views

Can a Warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation add unintelligible spell scrolls to their book?

Can a warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets eldritch invocation copy spells from a spell scroll from another class' spell list? For example: could a level three warlock copy a spell scroll of ...
23
votes
3answers
29k views

Should I just assume that a Warlock with the Fiendish Vigor invocation starts every combat with 8 temporary hp?

Warlocks have access to this invocation: Fiendish Vigor You can cast false life on yourself at will as a 1st-level spell, without expending a spell slot or material components. False Life is a 1 ...
22
votes
2answers
7k views

Can a multiclassed warlock expend a Spellcasting spell slot of a non-warlock class to use the Eldritch Smite invocation?

Can a multiclassed Warlock use a spell slot from the Spellcasting feature of a non-Warlock class to perform Eldritch Smites? Eldritch Smite says: Once per turn when you hit a creature with your ...
20
votes
5answers
46k views

Does the level prerequisite for Invocations refer to class or character level?

The level requirements for Warlock invocations stated in the PHB are refering to which level, character or Warlock class? Example: If I multiclassed into Warlock, Monk6/Warlock2, would I be able to ...
20
votes
8answers
13k views

Does the Voice of the Chain Master eldritch invocation let me cast a purely verbal spell through my familiar?

In D&D 5e, as a Pact of the Chain Warlock, I can choose an eldritch invocation that lets me speak in my own voice through my familiar called Voice of the Chain Master (PHB 111): You can ...
20
votes
3answers
1k views

Grasp of Hadar: can using it while flying cause falling damage?

We were fighting some berserkers. I was already flying (fly spell) so decided to use eldritch blast and the Grasp of Hadar invocation. Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with ...
18
votes
2answers
3k views

Can the UA Raven Queen's Blessing eldritch invocation be used by a warlock to heal and wake up an ally at 0 HP?

Can the Raven Queen's Blessing eldritch invocation for warlocks (from Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard) heal a dying or stabilized ally at 0 HP, thereby waking them up early? As unreliable as ...
18
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Improved Pact Weapon include ammo?

The Warlock Invocation "Improved Pact Weapon" from Xanathar's Guide allows the warlock to summon a ranged weapon: Finally, the weapon you conjure can be a shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or ...
17
votes
3answers
43k views

What does it mean to be able to cast a spell “at will”?

Throughout the D&D 5e Player's Handbook, particularly in the warlock's Eldritch Invocations, there are abilities that allow the player to cast specific spells "at will, without consuming a spell ...
17
votes
1answer
2k views

Are all Eldritch Invocations nullified by an antimagic field?

In one of the tables I'm part of, we engaged in a discussion about an antimagic field being able to nullify the effects of an warlock's Devil's Sight because Eldritch Invocations are magical in nature ...
17
votes
2answers
11k views

Can Warlock's Eyes of the Rune Keeper decipher written code?

I have a Warlock in the party, and the party came across a message on a fallen enemy. It was written in draconic, and in code. The Eyes of the Rune Keeper allows the Warlock to read the draconic, But ...
16
votes
3answers
2k views

If a warlock with the Repelling Blast invocation casts Eldritch Blast, is the 2nd attack resolved before or after the target is pushed by the 1st hit?

My question is inspired by this other question: Does Repelling Blast work once per spell or once per beam? A 5th-level Warlock with the Repelling Blast eldritch invocation casts eldritch blast, ...
16
votes
1answer
1k views

How do spell scrolls interact with warlock invocations?

When creating a Spell Scroll using the rules from XGtE (p.133), if the spell is a cantrip the scroll is cast as if the caster were first level. If a Warlock with, say, Agonizing Blast were to scribe a ...
15
votes
3answers
2k views

Is this homebrew Warlock Invocation, Splinter Casting, balanced?

Introduction It seems the internet is littered with posts about players complaining that their Warlock just doesn't have enough spell slots, or that if they don't get that many short rests in a day ...
15
votes
1answer
6k views

When a Warlock Invocation lets me cast a spell, do I also have to make it one of my Spells Known?

My friends and I are going to be starting another campaign in the near future. I've going to be playing as a Warlock and I was hoping to get some clarification on the use of the Eldritch Invocation ...
14
votes
3answers
2k views

Does the Sleep spell put a warlock with Aspect of the Moon to sleep?

The phrasing of the invocation from XGtE pg. 56 is: You no longer need to sleep and can't be forced to sleep by any means. (emphasis mine) To me this phrasing sounds like it is specifically ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Does a warlock have to use Hex Warrior every day?

My warlock player and I are unsure about the rules of the Hexblade Warrior. Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed ...
13
votes
5answers
9k views

Does this strict reading of the rules allow both Extra Attack and the Thirsting Blade warlock invocation to be used together?

The warlock's Thirsting Blade eldritch invocation cannot be normally used with the (non-warlock) class feature Extra Attack, since both feature explicitly say you attack twice instead of once. But it ...
13
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a warlock with Book of Ancient Secrets scribe a known spell into a scroll, replace the spell with a new one, and still be able to cast it?

I am playing a 3/3 Divine Soul sorcerer/Hexblade warlock, and have just chosen the Pact of the Tome, along with the Book of Ancient Secrets. I have found a spellbook with Identify, which I am now ...
12
votes
4answers
6k views

When casting Eldritch Blast with the Agonizing Blast eldritch invocation, what do I add to my damage roll?

This is my first time playing a warlock and I'm still fairly new to tabletop games, so I could use guidance. I know that eldritch blast does 1d10 force damage, and by 17th level, it has four beams ...
12
votes
2answers
4k views

Does Green Lord's Gift effectively make all heal spells roll max on the Warlock?

Unearthed Arcana: Warlock & Wizard includes the eldritch invocation Green Lord's Gift for warlocks, which reads: Green Lord’s Gift Prerequisite: The Archfey patron The Green Lord oversees a ...
12
votes
4answers
8k views

What exactly are the sources from which you can copy spells into a Book of Shadows?

The Book of Ancient Secrets invocation says (PHB p. 110): On your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if the ...
12
votes
1answer
750 views

Can a Pact of the Blade warlock with the Thirsting Blade invocation make one attack with their pact weapon and one with a different weapon?

If you have a weapon in each hand (neither of which has the light property) and you have the Extra Attack feature, you can use Extra Attack to attack with each weapon once using your action. However, ...
12
votes
1answer
358 views

Eldritch Smite: Can you decide whether the enemy goes prone or do they always go prone?

Once per turn when you hit a creature with your pact weapon, you can expend a warlock spell slot to deal an extra 1d8 force damage to the target, plus another 1d8 per level of the spell slot, and you ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

What would a Warlock understand from written spells outside of their class, via Eyes of the Rune Keeper?

This related question asks if you could transcribe a ritual spell to the warlock book via the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation regardless of spell lists, and the answers were generally "yes, but you ...
12
votes
1answer
3k views

Should I have to roll to copy a spell into my Book of Ancient Secrets?

The Book of Ancient Secrets invocation says (PH p. 110): On your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

If I create magical darkness with the Silent Image spell, can I see through it if I have the Devil's Sight warlock invocation?

Since Devil's Sight allows one to see through magical and nonmagical darkness, and Silent Image can create any visual phenomenon, can I create darkness as a visual phenomenon which Devil's Sight can ...
12
votes
3answers
7k views

How does the Tomb of Levistus warlock invocation interact with the Freedom of Movement spell?

Tomb of Levistus is an eldritch invocation for warlocks from XGtE, p. 57 (emphasis mine): As a reaction when you take damage, you can entomb yourself in ice, which melts away at the end of your ...
11
votes
4answers
73k views

How does the warlock's Devil's Sight eldritch invocation work?

The Warlock Invocation Devil's Sight (PHB p108) is described like this: You can see normally in darkness, both magical and nonmagical, to a distance of 120 feet. How should this be interpreted, ...
11
votes
2answers
8k views

What happens if a warlock has both Repelling Blast and Grasp of Hadar?

The Repelling Blast eldritch invocation (PHB, p. 111) says: When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push a creature up to 10 feet away from you in a straight line. The Grasp of Hadar ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

Switching to Improved Pact Weapon at level 3

My player (Warlock lvl 3. Hexblade, Pact of the Blade) and I are in a discussion about switching Invocations. He wishes to, now that he's went from level 2 to level 3, switch to 'Improved Pact ...
11
votes
1answer
4k views

Do the new UA Pact of the Tome invocations, Far Scribe and Gift of the Protectors, overlap with one another?

With the release of the new UA Class Feature Variants, do the Eldritch Invocations Far Scribe and Gift of the Protectors use the same 5 names as a base, or are the names separate for each Invocation? ...
11
votes
2answers
4k views

Does the warlock's Gift of the Ever-Living Ones eldritch invocation change how the Vampiric Touch spell behaves?

The warlock's Gift of the Ever-Living Ones (XGtE p. 57) eldritch invocation is described as follows: Whenever you regain hit points while your familiar is within 100 feet of you, treat any dice ...
11
votes
2answers
489 views

Does Confusion cast via the Dreadful Word invocation count as a warlock spell?

From the answers over on the question of "What makes a spell being cast considered to be a {class} spell?", the implication is that something is a 'class spell' if it is on that class' spell list. ...
10
votes
5answers
3k views

Can two repelling blasts from opposite directions deal extra damage by crushing the target?

There are two Warlock twins, Boris and Doris, who have made a deal with a celestial entity to cleanse the evil from the world. In one of the catacombs they are exploring they encounter a skeleton. ...
10
votes
1answer
3k views

Do the Pact of the Blade warlock's Eldritch Smite and Lifedrinker eldritch invocations work with ranged pact weapons?

It is possible for a Pact of the Blade warlock to have a ranged weapon as a pact weapon. The description of the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation (XGtE, p. 57) includes the following: ...
10
votes
3answers
3k views

Can a warlock use Eldritch Smite in an antimagic field?

The warlock's Eldritch Smite eldritch invocation (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 56) states: Once per turn when you hit a creature with your pact weapon, you can expend a warlock spell slot ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Does the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation grant a +1 to magical pact weapons that don't already have a +X bonus?

In the text for the Improved Pact Weapon eldritch invocation (XGtE, p. 57), it says: In addition, the weapon gains a +1 bonus to its attack and damage rolls, unless it is a magic weapon that already ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I use the Shadow Step feature to effectively teleport into a Darkness spell I cast upon myself?

I cannot find anything that specifically says I’m unable to accomplish the combo I have in mind, but it seems incredibly broken so please tell me otherwise. If I take 2 levels of Warlock (picking up ...
10
votes
1answer
3k views

Does the Voice of the Chain Master invocation allow me to see through my familiar's senses without using an action?

After reading this Sorlock guide and a further discussion in the comments about this topic, it's still unclear to me if the Voice of the Chain Master invocation lifts the requirement of spending an ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

How do Eberron dragonmarks' Spells of the Mark interact with the Pact of the Tome warlock's Book of Ancient Secrets invocation?

I might be over-analyzing and confusing myself, but I'm not certain regarding the interaction between dragonmark-learned Ritual spells and the Book of Ancient Secrets warlock invocation. Let's take ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Does the UA Sea Sorcerer's Curse of the Sea feature work with the Eldritch Blast cantrip using the warlock's Repelling Blast invocation?

I am trying to understand whether the Curse of the Sea feature of the Sea Sorcerer subclass (from Unearthed Arcana: Sorcerer) works with the warlock's Repelling Blast eldritch invocation. The Curse ...
10
votes
1answer
656 views

How does the warlock's Eyes of the Rune Keeper eldritch invocation interact with typos?

Would the Warlock's Eyes of the Rune Keeper eldritch invocation, along with other magic effects that enable you to read languages, allow misspelt/miswritten words to be understood?
10
votes
1answer
4k views

Does activating Maddening Hex damage all targets under a curse?

One of the Eldritch Invocations warlocks can take is Maddening Hex (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 57): (Prerequisite: 5th level, hex spell or a warlock feature that curses) As a bonus action, ...