Questions tagged [equipment]

For questions about items usable by a character, sometimes carried on their person.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2
votes
0answers
20 views

Do thrown breakable items (like oil flasks) do damage when they hit?

Some items, specifically acid vials, alchemist's fire, holy water, and oil flasks, allow you to throw them at enemies for various effects. To do this, you make a ranged attack, treating the object as ...
5
votes
1answer
157 views

Which of these two feats best supports my Cleric / Druid multiclass character? [on hold]

I have a character that I have created with DnDBeyond. The Character is currently a level 3 circle of the moon Druid and Level 1 disciple of life Cleric. I'm our party's healer so I have tried to ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a multiclassed wizard start with a spellbook?

If I multiclass into Wizard, do I automatically begin with a spellbook? I'm looking for support within the written rules. Designer intent is a consideration, but their intent should be well supported ...
3
votes
4answers
210 views

Will letting my players take enemy weapons cause balance issues?

My players are very much of the "kill a monster and take their stuff" mentality. They have acquired a veritable collection of daggers, javelins, short swords, and so on, from all the monsters they've ...
18
votes
3answers
3k views

If you kill a Solar Angel can you use its Slaying Longbow?

Solars have the following weapon attack on their stat block: Slaying Longbow. Ranged Weapon Attack: +13 to hit, range 150/600 ft., one target. Hit: 15 (2d8 + 6) piercing damage plus 27 (6d8) ...
12
votes
3answers
1k views

Can I use Alchemist's fire to turn my sword into a virtual Flame Blade?

Alchemist's Fire never burns out, according to this: How long does Alchemist's Fire burn? Does that mean I can put it on my sword to make a virtual Flame Blade? According to the rules it does 1d4 ...
5
votes
1answer
290 views

Are Bombs (DMG 267) legal in AL play?

Are Bombs (DMG 267) legal in AL play? Also relevant: Are Explosives (DMG 267-268) legal in AL play? Explosives A campaign might include explosives from the Renaissance or the modern world (...
-8
votes
2answers
386 views

What are all the published objects that require the Use an Object action?

I am looking for an exhaustive list of all objects that can be used with the Use an Object action. RAW, official printed material only. Depending on what falls in under the Use an Object action, the ...
-3
votes
2answers
221 views

Can I wear more than one enchanted piece of armor? [duplicate]

For example; a +5 chest piece, +5 gloves, etc. I don't have a 5e book to use anymore, I do have a 3.5 but I don't know if the rules have changed.
15
votes
4answers
2k views

How can a warlock learn from a spellbook?

I'm playing a 6th-level Tiefling Warlock in D&D 5e. On a recent journey, I acquired a spell book that has something to do with a slithering trapper. How do I add this to my list of spells?
3
votes
2answers
178 views

How could you gain a ritual book for the Ritual Caster feat, from a storytelling perspective?

I wanted to add the Ritual Caster feat to my character. I talked about this with my DM and they said that I would need a way to acquire a ritual book in order to make use of the feat. I suggested that ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a character learn spells from someone else's spellbook and then sell it?

Can a character learn spells from someone else's spellbook and then sell it? The character is a 3rd level Warlock - spellcaster - and he decided to visit a library in the town they're currently ...
6
votes
1answer
96 views

What is the volume of a suspended cauldron?

DMG p. 255 provides the stats for siege equipment, and lists suspended cauldrons among them: A cauldron is an iron pot suspended so that it can be tipped easily, spilling its contents. Once emptied,...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Do marked cards or loaded dice have any mechanical benefit?

Do items such as marked cards or loaded dice have any mechanical benefit? What is the purpose of these items if they do not provide such bonuses? Lastly, is there any advice in handling these items if ...
16
votes
3answers
2k views

Does a component pouch automatically contain components?

Are there any written rules on whether or not component pouches, when purchased, contain components or if users have to find the components and put them in? If it's automatic, does it auto-fill when ...
10
votes
1answer
215 views

Can a component pouch be emptied of its materials?

Since the component pouch has materials in it, would you be able to empty the pouch for its materials? Say for example you need something to light a fire; could you pull a piece of coal from your ...
-8
votes
2answers
138 views

Can a Wizard gain more spell slots by having multiple spell books?

Can a Wizard gain more spell slots by having multiple spell books? If I had two or more spell books each with different spells, does that increase the spell limit?
2
votes
0answers
88 views

Equipping the dagger vs the shield [closed]

I want to figure out what is the better option, straight up damage or a chance to deflect in a game. I have two options, the first is to equip another dagger for 10% more damage. However, this ...
9
votes
1answer
330 views

What are the requirements for a wizard to successfully copy a spell from a scroll into their spellbook?

What are the requirements for a wizard to successfully copy a spell from a scroll into their spellbook? First, I’m thinking that copying a spell from a scroll is similar to copying a spell from my ...
4
votes
2answers
152 views

Are alchemical weapons treated like weapons or alchemical items?

I have seen conflicting answers to this question online, so I'd like some help nailing down a somewhat more definitive answer. For characters with 1 BAB or higher, are alchemical weapons (tanglefoot ...
3
votes
3answers
179 views

Are there any potential problems with this home-brew “Dueling Cape” as a substitute for a shield?

I play a swashbuckling rapier-wielding warblade named Vesuvio Monteverdi. He refuses to use a shield, as there is no honor in that. With DM permission, are there any potential mechanical and ...
3
votes
1answer
85 views

Tracking Might Cost for Wearing Armor

In Numenera, wearing armor with which you aren't trained causes you to spend Might points (pg.81 Core Rulebook) each hour. While all glaives start with abilities that mitigate part of this cost, ...
7
votes
4answers
2k views

Can PCs use nonmagical armor and weapons looted from monsters?

According to the PHB/basic rules, Weapons and armor used by monsters are rarely in good enough condition to sell. Are nonmagical weapons and armor used by monsters in good enough condition for ...
2
votes
0answers
48 views

Can a Skeleton created by Animate Dead use different equipment? [duplicate]

The description of the Animate Dead spell states: The target becomes a skeleton if you chose bones or a zombie if you chose a corpse (the DM has the creature’s game statistics). Assuming this ...
3
votes
2answers
329 views

How many spears or javelins can a hero reasonably carry unencumbered?

As an example, let's say that the hero is a Half Orc with a strength score of 20. They are wearing Chainmail armor, their main weapon is a two-handed glaive, and on their back they can carry spears or ...
21
votes
6answers
2k views

Should a wizard buy fine inks every time he want to copy spells into his spellbook?

PHB says that Wizards should use 'fine inks' for 50 gp for every levels of the spell he want to copy into his spellbook. The problem is that there are no any 'fine inks' in the PHB goods list, just ...
2
votes
1answer
170 views

What could you give to a Hawk animal companion to improve their battle effectiveness? [closed]

An idea I had was poisoning their talons, but one would have to keep dapping their talons in poison each encounter. Anything else you can think of? For a Ranger with a Hawk/Falcon animal companion.
2
votes
3answers
880 views

Can you create poisons/effects with a Herbalism Kit proficiency?

I am curious as to how far herbalism kits can be pushed. In the PHB (p. 153), it says about the herbalism kit: This kit contains a variety of instruments such as clippers, mortar and pestle, ...
5
votes
2answers
228 views

Can you repair magical equipment that has been damaged by a Zorbo?

Zorbos (from Tomb of Annihilation, p. 41) have the following Destructive Claws attack (emphasis mine): Melee Weapon Attack: +3 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 8 (2d6+1) slashing damage, and ...
26
votes
3answers
4k views

Does a druid starting with a bow start with no arrows?

A druid's starting equipment consists of: (a) a wooden shield or (b) any simple weapon (a) a scimitar or (b) any simple melee weapon Leather armor, an explorer’s pack, and a druidic focus ...
9
votes
6answers
2k views

Can my sorcerer use a spellbook only to collect spells and scribe scrolls, not cast?

I have been playing a sorcerer that went to wizard school as part of his backstory and often refers to himself as a terrible wizard. So he has a spellbook that I’ve spent time and gold on. He is not ...
4
votes
3answers
286 views

Sorcerer with Wizard spellbook — is selling it the only thing he can do to profit from it?

It is not uncommon for a Sorcerer to battle opposing wizards. Thus, it is not uncommon to obtain a spellbook as a loot. Is selling it for gold or giving away for some other benefit (still selling, ...
1
vote
1answer
104 views

How can I reskin the Headband of the Ninjitsu for a steampunk campaign? [closed]

My DM is running a steampunk Pathfinder campaign, and he's banned strictly magical objects and weapons. However, he has said that if we can reskin it to fit within the world (i.e. a wand is more akin ...
10
votes
1answer
881 views

Do AL rules let me pick different starting equipment?

I'm making an Adventurers League character. He's a fighter but I want to start him off with Medium Armor (Scale Armor) instead of Heavy Armor (Chain Mail). With my stats, the only difference between ...
5
votes
7answers
541 views

How can a party without cleric get access to hundreds of flasks of unholy water?

In one of the published adventures player characters needs huge amounts of unholy water, namely: Party currently consist of: Storm Druid Alchemist Rogue / Shadow Dancer Wizard All level 6, soon to ...
12
votes
2answers
667 views

Can you share a component pouch with another creature?

Can a wizard with a component pouch share their component pouch with another spellcasting player character?
9
votes
2answers
507 views

How long does it take to mine rock?

Long story short, I am currently running a campaign where there is a group in a dwarven mine that needs to do a time-sensitive mining operation. The group has about 6 dwarves with 14 strength each (...
20
votes
2answers
2k views

If you're falling because of ball bearings, do you automatically land on caltrops in the same space?

If a creature had to make both saving throws for ball bearings and caltrops, and failed the ball bearings - Would they automatically fall prone & land on the caltrops, taking caltrop damage with ...
23
votes
2answers
4k views

If an area is covered in both Ball Bearings and Caltrops, does the creature need to move at half speed or quarter speed to avoid both their effects?

So say I drop both Caltrops and Ball Bearings onto the same area. If a creature, for example an orc, moves across the area and doesn't wish to make any saves, does it move at half or quarter speed?
10
votes
1answer
387 views

Can a druid choose for some equipment to be worn while other equipment merges or is dropped when they go into Wild Shape?

When a druid goes into Wild Shape, can they choose for some equipment to be worn while other equipment merges or is dropped? For example, if wild shaping into a baboon, could the player decide to ...
5
votes
1answer
186 views

Can multiple items be held in your off hand?

I am trying to come up with a interesting build for a dagger thrower (Champion fighter/Thief rogue). What I was wondering is if you weren't counting the daggers in your offhand for Two-Weapon ...
5
votes
2answers
232 views

How much is an arrow with drow poison worth to sell?

My character has some arrows with drow poison on them. I would like to know how much could I sell them for to someone?
2
votes
1answer
144 views

Is there any equipment available in the Feywild in published adventures that is not ordinarily available to characters?

My DM has taken us into the Feywild, into an elven city that should be complete with shops, trading post and the like. We're heavy with gold and I'd like to take the opportunity to obtain items I ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

What is allowed to be a holy symbol?

One of my players is playing a Blood Hunter from the D&D beyond site. He wants to have his character be the Ghost Hunter based subclass and have his backstory be that he grew up in a ghost hunting ...
16
votes
1answer
639 views

Can Chain Lightning and similarly worded spells target worn or carried equipment?

Chain lightning can specifically target objects and does not specify that the object must be unattended; spells like fireball or lightning bolt do. Does this mean its secondary targets can be objects ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Does the Warforged Envoy's Integrated Tool feature give you a free tool?

The Envoy subrace of Warforged (Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron, p. 69) gives you the Integrated Tool feature, which states: Choose one tool you’re proficient with. This tool is integrated into your ...
74
votes
12answers
15k views

How can I explain to my player that Alchemist's Fire is safe to carry?

The Player's Handbook (p. 148) says that Alchemist's Fire "ignites when exposed to air": Alchemist's Fire. This sticky, adhesive fluid ignites when exposed to air. As an action, you can throw this ...
8
votes
2answers
422 views

Can I attack an object that is being worn or carried by a creature during combat?

Some enemies depend heavily on an object they wear or carry to be an effective combatant and so it may be advantageous to attack and destroy the object first, but I can't tell whether this is allowed. ...
8
votes
3answers
900 views

Can a Spell Focus or Component Pouch be used with a spell that has costless consumed components?

Spellcasters do not always need to provide the literal materials when casting spells with costless components, that's what pouches and foci are for. A character can use a component pouch or a ...
10
votes
3answers
2k views

Is there a difference between types of musical instruments and actual musical instruments?

This question comes from me creating my bard character. Under my tool proficiencies, I have "one type of musical instrument" and "any three musical instruments" does this mean I can be proficient in ...