Questions tagged [feat-qualifications]

For questions about the requirements that need to be met to take feats or their equivalents.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
18 votes
3 answers
744 views

Is there any way to access Craft Staff in E6?

Prerequisites Caster level 12th This poses an obvious problem for most characters in E6: as 6th-level characters, they’re 6 caster levels short of meeting this prerequisite. There are a few bonuses ...
6 votes
1 answer
401 views

Are Bonus Feats from Class usable without prerequisites?

I was looking at a Dragon Magazine Wizard Alternate Class, the Fleshcrafter (DM #312). At level 1, one of the class features given is: Craft Construct: A fleshcrafter gains Craft Construct as a bonus ...
7 votes
2 answers
540 views

Does boosting the caster level of one spell let you grab feats with caster level requirements a few levels earlier?

Complete Arcane p.72 In the context of a feat or a prestige class requirement, a caster'level prerequisite (such as “caster level 5th”) measures the character’s ability to channel a minimum amount of ...
9 votes
1 answer
268 views

Will this Ritual Caster house rule break the game?

The House Rule The prerequisite for the Ritual Caster feat changes to “Trained in Arcana, Heal, Nature, or Religion”. In order to master a ritual, a player must be trained in the relevant skill (e.g. ...
10 votes
1 answer
727 views

Can I take a skill feat that that is linked to an archetype without having this archetype?

Consider a skill feat like Tattoo Artist. Is it possible to take that at level 3 if I don't have Runelord Dedication? My guts say no, but I haven't found the rule. As an argument for yes, non-skill ...
7 votes
1 answer
346 views

Does a Lyric Thaumaturge qualify for the Extra Spell Secret feat from Complete Arcane?

The Lyric Thamateurge prestige class from Complete Mage has a feature at every third level titled Spell Secret. This feature grants them additional spells known as they level. The book Complete Arcane ...
3 votes
1 answer
392 views

Which feats can replace the dodge feat for meeting prerequisites?

A lot of feats and prestige classes require the dodge feat, and I noticed that the Desert Wind Dodge feat says: Desert Wind Dodge can be used in place of Dodge to qualify fora feat, prestige class, ...
12 votes
2 answers
4k views

Can I take 2 metamagic feats that both have the prerequisite of "any other metamagic feat" at level 1?

Related to this question: Can I take a feat at level 1 if I use my skill points to meet the prerequisite skill ranks?, and specifically this rule text: Some feats have prerequisites. Your character ...
9 votes
4 answers
1k views

Does a feat's size prerequisite include smaller sizes?

The Player's Handbook on Prerequisites says that Some feats have prerequisites. Your character must have the indicated ability score, class feature, feat, skill, base attack bonus, or other quality ...
2 votes
1 answer
155 views

Does the Duergar race have racial feats available in D&D 4th edition?

Duergar has been introduced as a PC race in Monster's Manual 3 if I'm correct. I have found no sight of additional Duergar rules if any other book for D&D 4th edition. I was wondering if Duergar ...
9 votes
2 answers
957 views

If the only spellcasting you have is from the Magic Initiate feat, can you take the Metamagic Adept feat?

The Metamagic Adept feat has "Spellcasting or Pact Magic feature" as a prerequisite. If the only spellcasting you have is from the Magic Initiate feat, can you take Metamagic Adept? I'm ...
14 votes
2 answers
8k views

Does a Wild Shaped druid with the War Caster feat have advantage on concentration checks?

While planning out the new Druid I'm rolling, I found many discussions on the internet saying that the War Caster feat is useful to take as it helps the druid maintain concentration while using Wild ...
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can I take a feat at level 1 if I use my skill points to meet the prerequisite skill ranks?

The feat Practiced Spellcaster (Complete Arcane, p. 82) has a prerequisite of four skill ranks in Spellcraft. Can I take this feat at 1st level if I use my skill points to get Spellcraft to four ranks?...
6 votes
1 answer
731 views

Is it possible to count as Evil for the purposes of qualifying for a feat?

Changelings have the Racial Emulation feat to let them count as other races for qualifying for things. Goliaths and Half-Giants have Powerful Build to let them count as Large in several circumstances. ...
6 votes
1 answer
693 views

Qualifying for Spell Perfection

I am currently playing a character that has great use for Spell perfection, but does not have a lot of spare feat slots. I would like to have spell specialization on 2 different spells and perfection ...
4 votes
2 answers
186 views

Does a race that is a sub-variant of another one qualify for feats restricted to members of that race?

Does a character being a race that is described as a sub-variant of another - for example, Svirfneblin to Gnome - qualify said character to take feats that are restricted to members of the super-race (...
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

Multiclass - spellcasting prerequisite on feat

I have a multiclass Rogue (Inquisitive) 11 / Wizard (Diviner) 2. I'd like to take a feat instead of an ASI on my Rogue level 12, but the feat has spellcasting as a prerequisite. So my question is ...
12 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can you retrain a feat acting as a prerequisite if you get a different ability that fulfills the prerequisite?

From Retraining: You may change one feat to another through retraining. Retraining a feat takes 5 days with a character who has the feat you want. The old feat can’t be one you used as a prerequisite ...
4 votes
1 answer
127 views

What happens if you have to choose a talent or specialization, but don't qualify for any?

I have encountered several times now that a player needs to pick a talent or specialization, but does not qualify for any. The game does not seem to provide for what happens, from what I can tell? ...
0 votes
1 answer
596 views

Does a Favored Soul really gains turn attempts if he chose the Glory domain from the dracolyte prestige class?

I think I figured a way to give more power to the Favored Soul class (Complete Divine, p. 6-10) that people shun so much and is weak compared to Clerics, not only do you gain a Domain this Way but I ...
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can you get "Flurry of Blows" (or "Decisive Strike") from a source other than Monk?

Closely related to this question; I want both Flurry of Blows and Decisive Strike on the same character. Decisive Strike as the main combat strategy for the build, and Flurry of Blows because it's a ...
8 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can a half-elf taking Elf Atavism select a versatile heritage?

As title. Consider Halledon Felf, a half-elf. At first level, Hal takes Human ancestry, and selects Half-elf as a heritage. He then has an ancestry feat, which he uses to take Elf Atavism, allowing ...
4 votes
1 answer
156 views

Feat prereqs - Monstrous Mount

The prerequisites for Monstrous Mount say that it requires "...divine bond (mount), hunter’s bond (animal companion), or mount class feature with an effective druid level of 4." The Hunter ...
5 votes
2 answers
3k views

Would it be unbalanced to allow non-spellcasters to take the Eldritch Adept feat?

In Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (and the preceding Unearthed Arcana), the Eldritch Adept feat (p. 79) lets the character learn one Eldritch Invocation. However, it has a prerequisite: the ...
4 votes
2 answers
202 views

Can a specialist fighter take fighter ACFs/bonus feats from splatbooks?

Dragon Magazine #310 lists a bunch of specialist versions of the fighter class. It sounds like it treats them as different classes that just have a lot in common with fighters, but it also says they &...
7 votes
4 answers
382 views

Barbed Devil as grappler vs. Medium PCs

I'm preparing an encounter with devils, and I was reading the Barbed Devil entry on the MM. It's stated that it has an Impale special attack while grappling, Improved Grab and Improved Grapple. It's ...
2 votes
1 answer
925 views

Can I use a maneuver to meet the prerequisites for a martial stance, then swap out that maneuver later?

I'm a Warblade in the process of reaching level 6. I have one level 1 Diamond Mind maneuver. Is the following possible: For my level six feat, I want to take Martial Stance to attain the Diamond Mind ...
5 votes
2 answers
33k views

Does the Dual Wielder feat require me to have the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style as a prerequisite?

Say I choose the fighter class, and pick Two-Weapon Fighting as my fighting style; later in the game, I choose the Dual Wielder feat. Does the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style become obsolete, if ...
11 votes
2 answers
7k views

Is it possible to be an expert in a skill at level 2?

In the first public draft of the Pathfinder 2e playtest (Aug. 2018), there are several second level feats that require expert in various skills. One example is Magical Crafting. It seems as if it is ...
3 votes
1 answer
157 views

Can a Tiefling Monk access the Enlightened Fist PrC without dipping into a caster class?

Enlightened Fist has as a prerrequisite: Spells or Spell-Like Abilities: Arcane caster level 3rd. A Tiefling has Darkness as a spell-like ability with a caster level equal to its character level. ...
3 votes
0 answers
50 views

Does losing the use of a feat also prevent the use of feats that have that feat as a prerrequisite? [duplicate]

I've seen many similar questions but I've not seen this exactly answered. Let's say that I'm rolling a 10 Int character and gets a temporary buff to Int by an item that let's him pick Combat Expertise....
5 votes
1 answer
536 views

Per RAW, does knowing Assassin's Stance allow for feats that have "sneak attack" as a prerrequisite?

I've read that both Craven and Staggering Strike are very good feats for a Sneak Attack oriented swordsage, however, per RAW, I don't think knowing Assassin's Stance would accomplish the prerrequisite ...
5 votes
2 answers
472 views

Can Favored Souls choose feats that require cleric levels, such as Initiate of Astilabor?

The Initiate of Astilabor feat (Dragon Magic, p. 20) has the following prequisites: Prerequisite: Cleric level 3rd, dragonblood subtype, deity Astilabor. As a Dracolyte silverbrow human having an ...
1 vote
1 answer
94 views

Do Hidden Houses Wild Talent feats have prerequisites?

Complete Psionic lists some extra feats which market themselves as alternative versions of Wild Talent. It says that Talaire humans need to take one as their bonus feat, but it doesn't seem to say ...
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

Is a Minotaur's Powerful Charge ability a virtual feat?

References: The Minotaur, from Monster Manual I, has the ability called: Powerful Charge (Ex) A minotaur typically begins a battle by charging at an opponent, lowering its head to bring its ...
2 votes
1 answer
137 views

Do Dvati qualify for Multiweapon Fighting?

Do Dvati qualify for Multiweapon Fighting? Dvati are a species of soul-sharing twins. Each pair has 4 arms between them. A Dvati 'character' taking the feat has 4 arms. OTOH, of course, if you look ...
1 vote
1 answer
338 views

Can the feat Two-Weapon defense be taken with a double weapon?

Note: This question has been answered for D&D 4e, but I'm asking if this also works in D&D 3.5 since the systems tend to differ significantly over different editions. ( Does a Double Weapon ...
6 votes
1 answer
456 views

Are there any cleric spells that qualify for the Minor Shapeshift feat?

The Minor Shapeshift reserve feat (Complete Mage, p. 45) would be great for my melee-oriented Cleric. For it to work, you need to have available a "level 4 or higher polymorph spell". Are there ...
4 votes
1 answer
864 views

Does a Double Weapon work with Two-weapon feats?

Would the benefits from the feats: Two-weapon Fighting, Two-weapon Opening, Two-weapon Defense, etc... apply to a character that uses a Double Axe, Double Sword or Double Scimitar?
8 votes
1 answer
678 views

Is the Survivor feat (half) useless?

The Survivor feat reads as follows: Prerequisite: Con 13, Diehard, Endurance. Benefit: You gain a +5 bonus on all Constitution checks made to stabilize while dying. Once per day, if you are struck by ...
22 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a character with a low Intelligence score take the Ritual Caster feat and choose the Wizard class?

The Ritual Caster feat (PHB, p. 169) has this prerequisite: Prerequisite: Intelligence or Wisdom of 13 or higher. You also have to choose one of the following classes: bard, cleric, druid, ...
1 vote
1 answer
252 views

Do ability-boosting items or spells count for meeting feat prerequisites? [duplicate]

Do ability-boosting items or spells count for meeting feat prerequisites? I always reckoned that they do not. But now I wonder. For example, the text for Gloves of Dexterity is They add to the ...
-2 votes
2 answers
5k views

Where are prerequisites for feats listed?

I've been reading the PHB and haven't seen anything that lists the prerequisites for feats. Is there something that lists the prerequisites for each feat anywhere?
1 vote
1 answer
417 views

Can a Human Shapeshift Variant Druid take Multiattack at 1st level?

Does Shapeshift Variant Druid (From PHB2) with access to Beast Claws spell (Spell Compendium) qualify for Multiattack (and by, extension Imp. Multiattack) at 1st level (By using the spell for 2 claw ...
6 votes
4 answers
1k views

Can the Dragonwrought feat be used as draconic heritage?

I'm planning on playing a sorcerer kobold, and I want to know whether the Dragonwrought feat from Races of the Dragon (pg. 100) can replace the draconic heritage prerequisites for both other draconic ...
5 votes
2 answers
930 views

Getting Travel Devotion as a Ruby Knight Vindicator?

The Travel Devotion feat (Complete Champion, p. 62) is recommend for most melee builds: moving as a Swift Action allows positioning one's character before unleashing a Full Attack. The Ruby Knight ...
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does the caster level of a spell-like ability satisfy prerequisites of item creation feats?

Does the caster level of a spell like ability satisfy prerequisite of item creation feats? Monster Example: Devil, Imp Spell-Like Abilities (CL 6th) Constant — detect good, detect magic ...
2 votes
1 answer
213 views

Does the Aegis Customizations option Hardened Strike count as a Virtual Feat to gain Greater Unarmed Strike?

By definition "Virtual Feats" are abilities that mimic Feats for the purpose of gaining Feats that require Prerequisite Feats. Aegis have a customization option called "Harden Strike" that function ...
4 votes
2 answers
754 views

Defensive Duelist with Great Weapon Fighter when equipping Sunblade

Since sunblade is both versatile and finesse, is it possible to take advantage of both Defensive Duelist and Great Weapon Fighter when two handing it. I've been told you cannot use Defensive Duelist ...
1 vote
2 answers
1k views

Can non-Paladins have a dragonnel steed?

Can a character who is not a paladin obtain a dragonnel steed via the dragon steed feat? The Feat reads: You have earned the service of a loyal draconic steed. Prerequisite: Cha 13, Ride 8 ...