Questions tagged [feat-qualifications]

For questions about the requirements that need to be met to take feats or their equivalents.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
22 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a character with a low Intelligence score take the Ritual Caster feat and choose the Wizard class?

The Ritual Caster feat (PHB, p. 169) has this prerequisite: Prerequisite: Intelligence or Wisdom of 13 or higher. You also have to choose one of the following classes: bard, cleric, druid, ...
KelvintheWizard's user avatar
18 votes
3 answers
743 views

Is there any way to access Craft Staff in E6?

Prerequisites Caster level 12th This poses an obvious problem for most characters in E6: as 6th-level characters, they’re 6 caster levels short of meeting this prerequisite. There are a few bonuses ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 351k
14 votes
2 answers
8k views

Does a Wild Shaped druid with the War Caster feat have advantage on concentration checks?

While planning out the new Druid I'm rolling, I found many discussions on the internet saying that the War Caster feat is useful to take as it helps the druid maintain concentration while using Wild ...
Willem Renzema's user avatar
12 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can you retrain a feat acting as a prerequisite if you get a different ability that fulfills the prerequisite?

From Retraining: You may change one feat to another through retraining. Retraining a feat takes 5 days with a character who has the feat you want. The old feat can’t be one you used as a prerequisite ...
hamburgerpls's user avatar
  • 1,698
12 votes
2 answers
4k views

Can I take 2 metamagic feats that both have the prerequisite of "any other metamagic feat" at level 1?

Related to this question: Can I take a feat at level 1 if I use my skill points to meet the prerequisite skill ranks?, and specifically this rule text: Some feats have prerequisites. Your character ...
Mala's user avatar
  • 12.5k
11 votes
2 answers
7k views

Is it possible to be an expert in a skill at level 2?

In the first public draft of the Pathfinder 2e playtest (Aug. 2018), there are several second level feats that require expert in various skills. One example is Magical Crafting. It seems as if it is ...
Derek Stucki's user avatar
  • 27.7k
10 votes
1 answer
723 views

Can I take a skill feat that that is linked to an archetype without having this archetype?

Consider a skill feat like Tattoo Artist. Is it possible to take that at level 3 if I don't have Runelord Dedication? My guts say no, but I haven't found the rule. As an argument for yes, non-skill ...
Anne Aunyme's user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
957 views

If the only spellcasting you have is from the Magic Initiate feat, can you take the Metamagic Adept feat?

The Metamagic Adept feat has "Spellcasting or Pact Magic feature" as a prerequisite. If the only spellcasting you have is from the Magic Initiate feat, can you take Metamagic Adept? I'm ...
Malfetes's user avatar
9 votes
4 answers
1k views

Does a feat's size prerequisite include smaller sizes?

The Player's Handbook on Prerequisites says that Some feats have prerequisites. Your character must have the indicated ability score, class feature, feat, skill, base attack bonus, or other quality ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
267 views

Will this Ritual Caster house rule break the game?

The House Rule The prerequisite for the Ritual Caster feat changes to “Trained in Arcana, Heal, Nature, or Religion”. In order to master a ritual, a player must be trained in the relevant skill (e.g. ...
Dacromir's user avatar
  • 10.3k
8 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can a half-elf taking Elf Atavism select a versatile heritage?

As title. Consider Halledon Felf, a half-elf. At first level, Hal takes Human ancestry, and selects Half-elf as a heritage. He then has an ancestry feat, which he uses to take Elf Atavism, allowing ...
Ben R.'s user avatar
  • 2,520
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does the caster level of a spell-like ability satisfy prerequisites of item creation feats?

Does the caster level of a spell like ability satisfy prerequisite of item creation feats? Monster Example: Devil, Imp Spell-Like Abilities (CL 6th) Constant — detect good, detect magic ...
chewpoclypse's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
678 views

Is the Survivor feat (half) useless?

The Survivor feat reads as follows: Prerequisite: Con 13, Diehard, Endurance. Benefit: You gain a +5 bonus on all Constitution checks made to stabilize while dying. Once per day, if you are struck by ...
R. Barrett's user avatar
  • 1,435
8 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can a creature with one natural attack and no weapons benefit from feats that require the use of two-handed weapons?

So I have a bear-dog animal companion with only a bite natural attack, then she adds 1.5 times her Strength modifier to damage rolls with it. She has Power Attack both for extra damage and as a ...
user avatar
7 votes
4 answers
382 views

Barbed Devil as grappler vs. Medium PCs

I'm preparing an encounter with devils, and I was reading the Barbed Devil entry on the MM. It's stated that it has an Impale special attack while grappling, Improved Grab and Improved Grapple. It's ...
BgrWorker's user avatar
  • 680
7 votes
2 answers
540 views

Does boosting the caster level of one spell let you grab feats with caster level requirements a few levels earlier?

Complete Arcane p.72 In the context of a feat or a prestige class requirement, a caster'level prerequisite (such as “caster level 5th”) measures the character’s ability to channel a minimum amount of ...
alexstrasa82's user avatar
7 votes
3 answers
374 views

Does Intelligence damage on a trained animal mess with its training (and with its feats in the case of an unusually smart one)?

Context first: my character has a bear-dog animal companion, and as an original way to make it less of a potential danger in cities or settlements and also less scary, I want to enchant an item with ...
user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
344 views

Does a Lyric Thaumaturge qualify for the Extra Spell Secret feat from Complete Arcane?

The Lyric Thamateurge prestige class from Complete Mage has a feature at every third level titled Spell Secret. This feature grants them additional spells known as they level. The book Complete Arcane ...
Benjamin's user avatar
  • 1,285
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

Multiclass - spellcasting prerequisite on feat

I have a multiclass Rogue (Inquisitive) 11 / Wizard (Diviner) 2. I'd like to take a feat instead of an ASI on my Rogue level 12, but the feat has spellcasting as a prerequisite. So my question is ...
Dark Lord's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
401 views

Are Bonus Feats from Class usable without prerequisites?

I was looking at a Dragon Magazine Wizard Alternate Class, the Fleshcrafter (DM #312). At level 1, one of the class features given is: Craft Construct: A fleshcrafter gains Craft Construct as a bonus ...
From's user avatar
  • 8,021
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can I take a feat at level 1 if I use my skill points to meet the prerequisite skill ranks?

The feat Practiced Spellcaster (Complete Arcane, p. 82) has a prerequisite of four skill ranks in Spellcraft. Can I take this feat at 1st level if I use my skill points to get Spellcraft to four ranks?...
Mala's user avatar
  • 12.5k
6 votes
1 answer
452 views

Are there any cleric spells that qualify for the Minor Shapeshift feat?

The Minor Shapeshift reserve feat (Complete Mage, p. 45) would be great for my melee-oriented Cleric. For it to work, you need to have available a "level 4 or higher polymorph spell". Are there ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.1k
6 votes
1 answer
730 views

Is it possible to count as Evil for the purposes of qualifying for a feat?

Changelings have the Racial Emulation feat to let them count as other races for qualifying for things. Goliaths and Half-Giants have Powerful Build to let them count as Large in several circumstances. ...
Elliot's user avatar
  • 2,670
6 votes
1 answer
693 views

Qualifying for Spell Perfection

I am currently playing a character that has great use for Spell perfection, but does not have a lot of spare feat slots. I would like to have spell specialization on 2 different spells and perfection ...
Erudaki's user avatar
  • 5,854
6 votes
4 answers
1k views

Can the Dragonwrought feat be used as draconic heritage?

I'm planning on playing a sorcerer kobold, and I want to know whether the Dragonwrought feat from Races of the Dragon (pg. 100) can replace the draconic heritage prerequisites for both other draconic ...
le petit dragon's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
721 views

Can anyone in Eberron qualify for the Bind Elemental feat, or only Zilargo gnomes?

In the Eberron Campaign Setting, it says that the only ones capable of elemental binding are the gnomes of Zilargo. However, in the same book, the only requirement for the Bind Elemental feat is a ...
user24128's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
33k views

Does the Dual Wielder feat require me to have the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style as a prerequisite?

Say I choose the fighter class, and pick Two-Weapon Fighting as my fighting style; later in the game, I choose the Dual Wielder feat. Does the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style become obsolete, if ...
Gabriel's user avatar
  • 123
5 votes
2 answers
470 views

Can Favored Souls choose feats that require cleric levels, such as Initiate of Astilabor?

The Initiate of Astilabor feat (Dragon Magic, p. 20) has the following prequisites: Prerequisite: Cleric level 3rd, dragonblood subtype, deity Astilabor. As a Dracolyte silverbrow human having an ...
Maxpire's user avatar
  • 3,183
5 votes
1 answer
533 views

Per RAW, does knowing Assassin's Stance allow for feats that have "sneak attack" as a prerrequisite?

I've read that both Craven and Staggering Strike are very good feats for a Sneak Attack oriented swordsage, however, per RAW, I don't think knowing Assassin's Stance would accomplish the prerrequisite ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
5 votes
2 answers
3k views

Would it be unbalanced to allow non-spellcasters to take the Eldritch Adept feat?

In Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (and the preceding Unearthed Arcana), the Eldritch Adept feat (p. 79) lets the character learn one Eldritch Invocation. However, it has a prerequisite: the ...
Foo Bar's user avatar
  • 1,795
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can you get "Flurry of Blows" (or "Decisive Strike") from a source other than Monk?

Closely related to this question; I want both Flurry of Blows and Decisive Strike on the same character. Decisive Strike as the main combat strategy for the build, and Flurry of Blows because it's a ...
Elliot's user avatar
  • 2,670
5 votes
1 answer
4k views

Ways for a Bard (or other +3/4 BAB class) to get early access to Dazzling Display

I'm considering building a controller bard, as described in Treatmonk's Guide. Given that Weapon Focus is a requirement for Dazzling Display, and that you can't take Weapon Focus until you have at ...
Jeff Fry's user avatar
  • 8,469
5 votes
2 answers
930 views

Getting Travel Devotion as a Ruby Knight Vindicator?

The Travel Devotion feat (Complete Champion, p. 62) is recommend for most melee builds: moving as a Swift Action allows positioning one's character before unleashing a Full Attack. The Ruby Knight ...
Matthieu M.'s user avatar
  • 9,512
4 votes
2 answers
202 views

Can a specialist fighter take fighter ACFs/bonus feats from splatbooks?

Dragon Magazine #310 lists a bunch of specialist versions of the fighter class. It sounds like it treats them as different classes that just have a lot in common with fighters, but it also says they &...
47948201's user avatar
  • 3,933
4 votes
2 answers
205 views

Does a saboteur with Firearms Training qualify for grit feats?

I recently discovered the saboteur class and I'm interested in playing it in a Pathfinder campaign. I'm also interested in the Firearms Training trick : Benefit: The saboteur gains a grit pool (...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
864 views

Does a Double Weapon work with Two-weapon feats?

Would the benefits from the feats: Two-weapon Fighting, Two-weapon Opening, Two-weapon Defense, etc... apply to a character that uses a Double Axe, Double Sword or Double Scimitar?
Zarkos's user avatar
  • 1,160
4 votes
2 answers
186 views

Does a race that is a sub-variant of another one qualify for feats restricted to members of that race?

Does a character being a race that is described as a sub-variant of another - for example, Svirfneblin to Gnome - qualify said character to take feats that are restricted to members of the super-race (...
royalmurder's user avatar
  • 2,558
4 votes
2 answers
753 views

Defensive Duelist with Great Weapon Fighter when equipping Sunblade

Since sunblade is both versatile and finesse, is it possible to take advantage of both Defensive Duelist and Great Weapon Fighter when two handing it. I've been told you cannot use Defensive Duelist ...
ToryArashi's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

Is a Minotaur's Powerful Charge ability a virtual feat?

References: The Minotaur, from Monster Manual I, has the ability called: Powerful Charge (Ex) A minotaur typically begins a battle by charging at an opponent, lowering its head to bring its ...
Ruut's user avatar
  • 18k
4 votes
1 answer
3k views

Are Draconic Heritage and the Dragonblood subtype equal?

If a feat has Draconic Heritage as a requirement, can it be taken by a character with the Dragonblood subtype, or does he necessarily have to take the Draconic Heritage feat?
Cobalt's user avatar
  • 6,961
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a Synthesist Summoner with a multi-armed eidolon get the multiweapon fighting monster feat?

Can a Synthesist whose eidolon has multiples of the evolution limbs (arms) pick up the monster feat Multiweapon Fighting?
Codytr777's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
156 views

Feat prereqs - Monstrous Mount

The prerequisites for Monstrous Mount say that it requires "...divine bond (mount), hunter’s bond (animal companion), or mount class feature with an effective druid level of 4." The Hunter ...
InterstellarProbe's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
127 views

What happens if you have to choose a talent or specialization, but don't qualify for any?

I have encountered several times now that a player needs to pick a talent or specialization, but does not qualify for any. The game does not seem to provide for what happens, from what I can tell? ...
Weckar E.'s user avatar
  • 3,471
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does a Wizard's Scribe Scroll bonus feat count for Prerequisites?

Does a Wizard's Scribe Scroll bonus feat count for prerequisites? Many feats and some prestige classes require a number of "Item Creation Feats" as prerequisites, for example Loremaster. Does Scribe ...
C. Ross's user avatar
  • 24.2k
3 votes
1 answer
386 views

Which feats can replace the dodge feat for meeting prerequisites?

A lot of feats and prestige classes require the dodge feat, and I noticed that the Desert Wind Dodge feat says: Desert Wind Dodge can be used in place of Dodge to qualify fora feat, prestige class, ...
TheDragonOfFlame's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
915 views

Does Arcane Disciple give the Nar Demonbinder a 1st-level spell slot?

A player wants to be an Ultimate Magus. He has poured through the forums, and I have as well to know what [we] are getting into. He wants to be a Wizard / Nar Demonbinder / Ultimate Magus. The forums ...
Ruut's user avatar
  • 18k
3 votes
2 answers
419 views

Pinning a Shield with a Shield?

Question(s) Would shield bashing, or using the shield as a weapon, meet the requirements of the Pin Shield feat? Also, would Agile Shield Fighter have any effect? For instance, would that allow to "...
Ruut's user avatar
  • 18k
3 votes
1 answer
637 views

Qualifying for other races' feats

Is it possible in general to qualify for feats that have another race as a prerequisite? (I am thinking of something similar to how taking a multiclass feat allows you to qualify for feats from ...
Andrzej Doyle's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
155 views

Can a Tiefling Monk access the Enlightened Fist PrC without dipping into a caster class?

Enlightened Fist has as a prerrequisite: Spells or Spell-Like Abilities: Arcane caster level 3rd. A Tiefling has Darkness as a spell-like ability with a caster level equal to its character level. ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does an Alchemist (or any class with the Bomb feature) with Breath Weapon Bomb qualify for feats affecting breath weapon attacks?

I plan to play a Bomber (a Rogue who uses bombs instead of sneak attacks and has access to Alchemist discoveries that upgrade bombs) and by level 6 I plan to get Breath Weapon Bomb to turn regular ...
user avatar