Skip to main content

Questions tagged [feat-qualifications]

For questions about the requirements that need to be met to take feats or their equivalents.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6 votes
1 answer
433 views

Are Bonus Feats from Class usable without prerequisites?

I was looking at a Dragon Magazine Wizard Alternate Class, the Fleshcrafter (DM #312). At level 1, one of the class features given is: Craft Construct: A fleshcrafter gains Craft Construct as a bonus ...
From's user avatar
  • 8,041
7 votes
2 answers
548 views

Does boosting the caster level of one spell let you grab feats with caster level requirements a few levels earlier?

Complete Arcane p.72 In the context of a feat or a prestige class requirement, a caster'level prerequisite (such as “caster level 5th”) measures the character’s ability to channel a minimum amount of ...
alexstrasa82's user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
275 views

Will this Ritual Caster house rule break the game?

The House Rule The prerequisite for the Ritual Caster feat changes to “Trained in Arcana, Heal, Nature, or Religion”. In order to master a ritual, a player must be trained in the relevant skill (e.g. ...
Dacromir's user avatar
  • 10.3k
10 votes
1 answer
759 views

Can I take a skill feat that that is linked to an archetype without having this archetype?

Consider a skill feat like Tattoo Artist. Is it possible to take that at level 3 if I don't have Runelord Dedication? My guts say no, but I haven't found the rule. As an argument for yes, non-skill ...
Anne Aunyme's user avatar
  • 21.2k
7 votes
1 answer
355 views

Does a Lyric Thaumaturge qualify for the Extra Spell Secret feat from Complete Arcane?

The Lyric Thamateurge prestige class from Complete Mage has a feature at every third level titled Spell Secret. This feature grants them additional spells known as they level. The book Complete Arcane ...
Benjamin's user avatar
  • 1,285
3 votes
1 answer
414 views

Which feats can replace the dodge feat for meeting prerequisites?

A lot of feats and prestige classes require the dodge feat, and I noticed that the Desert Wind Dodge feat says: Desert Wind Dodge can be used in place of Dodge to qualify fora feat, prestige class, ...
TheDragonOfFlame's user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
966 views

If the only spellcasting you have is from the Magic Initiate feat, can you take the Metamagic Adept feat?

The Metamagic Adept feat has "Spellcasting or Pact Magic feature" as a prerequisite. If the only spellcasting you have is from the Magic Initiate feat, can you take Metamagic Adept? I'm ...
Malfetes's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
720 views

Qualifying for Spell Perfection

I am currently playing a character that has great use for Spell perfection, but does not have a lot of spare feat slots. I would like to have spell specialization on 2 different spells and perfection ...
Erudaki's user avatar
  • 5,854
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

Multiclass - spellcasting prerequisite on feat

I have a multiclass Rogue (Inquisitive) 11 / Wizard (Diviner) 2. I'd like to take a feat instead of an ASI on my Rogue level 12, but the feat has spellcasting as a prerequisite. So my question is ...
Dark Lord's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
157 views

Does the Duergar race have racial feats available in D&D 4th edition?

Duergar has been introduced as a PC race in Monster's Manual 3 if I'm correct. I have found no sight of additional Duergar rules if any other book for D&D 4th edition. I was wondering if Duergar ...
Dyin's user avatar
  • 597
12 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can you retrain a feat acting as a prerequisite if you get a different ability that fulfills the prerequisite?

From Retraining: You may change one feat to another through retraining. Retraining a feat takes 5 days with a character who has the feat you want. The old feat can’t be one you used as a prerequisite ...
hamburgerpls's user avatar
  • 1,708
8 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can a half-elf taking Elf Atavism select a versatile heritage?

As title. Consider Halledon Felf, a half-elf. At first level, Hal takes Human ancestry, and selects Half-elf as a heritage. He then has an ancestry feat, which he uses to take Elf Atavism, allowing ...
Ben R.'s user avatar
  • 2,520
4 votes
1 answer
165 views

Feat prereqs - Monstrous Mount

The prerequisites for Monstrous Mount say that it requires "...divine bond (mount), hunter’s bond (animal companion), or mount class feature with an effective druid level of 4." The Hunter ...
InterstellarProbe's user avatar
18 votes
3 answers
750 views

Is there any way to access Craft Staff in E6?

Prerequisites Caster level 12th This poses an obvious problem for most characters in E6: as 6th-level characters, they’re 6 caster levels short of meeting this prerequisite. There are a few bonuses ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 354k
4 votes
2 answers
202 views

Can a specialist fighter take fighter ACFs/bonus feats from splatbooks?

Dragon Magazine #310 lists a bunch of specialist versions of the fighter class. It sounds like it treats them as different classes that just have a lot in common with fighters, but it also says they &...
47948201's user avatar
  • 3,943
5 votes
2 answers
3k views

Would it be unbalanced to allow non-spellcasters to take the Eldritch Adept feat?

In Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (and the preceding Unearthed Arcana), the Eldritch Adept feat (p. 79) lets the character learn one Eldritch Invocation. However, it has a prerequisite: the ...
Foo Bar's user avatar
  • 1,795
3 votes
1 answer
164 views

Can a Tiefling Monk access the Enlightened Fist PrC without dipping into a caster class?

Enlightened Fist has as a prerrequisite: Spells or Spell-Like Abilities: Arcane caster level 3rd. A Tiefling has Darkness as a spell-like ability with a caster level equal to its character level. ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
3 votes
0 answers
51 views

Does losing the use of a feat also prevent the use of feats that have that feat as a prerrequisite? [duplicate]

I've seen many similar questions but I've not seen this exactly answered. Let's say that I'm rolling a 10 Int character and gets a temporary buff to Int by an item that let's him pick Combat Expertise....
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
5 votes
1 answer
549 views

Per RAW, does knowing Assassin's Stance allow for feats that have "sneak attack" as a prerrequisite?

I've read that both Craven and Staggering Strike are very good feats for a Sneak Attack oriented swordsage, however, per RAW, I don't think knowing Assassin's Stance would accomplish the prerrequisite ...
Karrion42's user avatar
  • 1,179
1 vote
1 answer
97 views

Do Hidden Houses Wild Talent feats have prerequisites?

Complete Psionic lists some extra feats which market themselves as alternative versions of Wild Talent. It says that Talaire humans need to take one as their bonus feat, but it doesn't seem to say ...
47948201's user avatar
  • 3,943
4 votes
1 answer
127 views

What happens if you have to choose a talent or specialization, but don't qualify for any?

I have encountered several times now that a player needs to pick a talent or specialization, but does not qualify for any. The game does not seem to provide for what happens, from what I can tell? ...
Weckar E.'s user avatar
  • 3,481
2 votes
1 answer
137 views

Do Dvati qualify for Multiweapon Fighting?

Do Dvati qualify for Multiweapon Fighting? Dvati are a species of soul-sharing twins. Each pair has 4 arms between them. A Dvati 'character' taking the feat has 4 arms. OTOH, of course, if you look ...
Elliot's user avatar
  • 2,670
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can you get "Flurry of Blows" (or "Decisive Strike") from a source other than Monk?

Closely related to this question; I want both Flurry of Blows and Decisive Strike on the same character. Decisive Strike as the main combat strategy for the build, and Flurry of Blows because it's a ...
Elliot's user avatar
  • 2,670
5 votes
2 answers
476 views

Can Favored Souls choose feats that require cleric levels, such as Initiate of Astilabor?

The Initiate of Astilabor feat (Dragon Magic, p. 20) has the following prequisites: Prerequisite: Cleric level 3rd, dragonblood subtype, deity Astilabor. As a Dracolyte silverbrow human having an ...
Maxpire's user avatar
  • 3,193
0 votes
1 answer
613 views

Does a Favored Soul really gains turn attempts if he chose the Glory domain from the dracolyte prestige class?

I think I figured a way to give more power to the Favored Soul class (Complete Divine, p. 6-10) that people shun so much and is weak compared to Clerics, not only do you gain a Domain this Way but I ...
Maxpire's user avatar
  • 3,193
1 vote
1 answer
345 views

Can the feat Two-Weapon defense be taken with a double weapon?

Note: This question has been answered for D&D 4e, but I'm asking if this also works in D&D 3.5 since the systems tend to differ significantly over different editions. ( Does a Double Weapon ...
Hyfnae's user avatar
  • 327
6 votes
1 answer
465 views

Are there any cleric spells that qualify for the Minor Shapeshift feat?

The Minor Shapeshift reserve feat (Complete Mage, p. 45) would be great for my melee-oriented Cleric. For it to work, you need to have available a "level 4 or higher polymorph spell". Are there ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.7k
4 votes
2 answers
194 views

Does a race that is a sub-variant of another one qualify for feats restricted to members of that race?

Does a character being a race that is described as a sub-variant of another - for example, Svirfneblin to Gnome - qualify said character to take feats that are restricted to members of the super-race (...
royalmurder's user avatar
  • 2,558
6 votes
1 answer
745 views

Is it possible to count as Evil for the purposes of qualifying for a feat?

Changelings have the Racial Emulation feat to let them count as other races for qualifying for things. Goliaths and Half-Giants have Powerful Build to let them count as Large in several circumstances. ...
Elliot's user avatar
  • 2,670
8 votes
1 answer
688 views

Is the Survivor feat (half) useless?

The Survivor feat reads as follows: Prerequisite: Con 13, Diehard, Endurance. Benefit: You gain a +5 bonus on all Constitution checks made to stabilize while dying. Once per day, if you are struck by ...
R. Barrett's user avatar
  • 1,441
22 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a character with a low Intelligence score take the Ritual Caster feat and choose the Wizard class?

The Ritual Caster feat (PHB, p. 169) has this prerequisite: Prerequisite: Intelligence or Wisdom of 13 or higher. You also have to choose one of the following classes: bard, cleric, druid, ...
KelvintheWizard's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
255 views

Do ability-boosting items or spells count for meeting feat prerequisites? [duplicate]

Do ability-boosting items or spells count for meeting feat prerequisites? I always reckoned that they do not. But now I wonder. For example, the text for Gloves of Dexterity is They add to the ...
Giorin's user avatar
  • 5,256
14 votes
2 answers
9k views

Does a Wild Shaped druid with the War Caster feat have advantage on concentration checks?

While planning out the new Druid I'm rolling, I found many discussions on the internet saying that the War Caster feat is useful to take as it helps the druid maintain concentration while using Wild ...
Willem Renzema's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
419 views

Can a Human Shapeshift Variant Druid take Multiattack at 1st level?

Does Shapeshift Variant Druid (From PHB2) with access to Beast Claws spell (Spell Compendium) qualify for Multiattack (and by, extension Imp. Multiattack) at 1st level (By using the spell for 2 claw ...
Drejzer's user avatar
  • 335
5 votes
2 answers
938 views

Getting Travel Devotion as a Ruby Knight Vindicator?

The Travel Devotion feat (Complete Champion, p. 62) is recommend for most melee builds: moving as a Swift Action allows positioning one's character before unleashing a Full Attack. The Ruby Knight ...
Matthieu M.'s user avatar
  • 9,532
11 votes
2 answers
7k views

Is it possible to be an expert in a skill at level 2?

In the first public draft of the Pathfinder 2e playtest (Aug. 2018), there are several second level feats that require expert in various skills. One example is Magical Crafting. It seems as if it is ...
Derek Stucki's user avatar
  • 27.8k
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does the caster level of a spell-like ability satisfy prerequisites of item creation feats?

Does the caster level of a spell like ability satisfy prerequisite of item creation feats? Monster Example: Devil, Imp Spell-Like Abilities (CL 6th) Constant — detect good, detect magic ...
chewpoclypse's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
755 views

Defensive Duelist with Great Weapon Fighter when equipping Sunblade

Since sunblade is both versatile and finesse, is it possible to take advantage of both Defensive Duelist and Great Weapon Fighter when two handing it. I've been told you cannot use Defensive Duelist ...
ToryArashi's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
1k views

Can non-Paladins have a dragonnel steed?

Can a character who is not a paladin obtain a dragonnel steed via the dragon steed feat? The Feat reads: You have earned the service of a loyal draconic steed. Prerequisite: Cha 13, Ride 8 ...
Critical Crafting's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
33k views

Does the Dual Wielder feat require me to have the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style as a prerequisite?

Say I choose the fighter class, and pick Two-Weapon Fighting as my fighting style; later in the game, I choose the Dual Wielder feat. Does the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style become obsolete, if ...
Gabriel's user avatar
  • 123
0 votes
1 answer
765 views

Can Rogues get the Arcane Strike feat using Rogue Talents?

Can the following Rogue Talent chain allow them to get the Arcane Strike feat to use with Card Sharp Rogue Talent for Deadly Dealer build? Lv 6 Human Rogue: Lv1 Sneak Attack 1d6, Point Blank Shot ...
Jhyarelle Silver's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
213 views

Does the Aegis Customizations option Hardened Strike count as a Virtual Feat to gain Greater Unarmed Strike?

By definition "Virtual Feats" are abilities that mimic Feats for the purpose of gaining Feats that require Prerequisite Feats. Aegis have a customization option called "Harden Strike" that function ...
Jhyarelle Silver's user avatar
6 votes
4 answers
1k views

Can the Dragonwrought feat be used as draconic heritage?

I'm planning on playing a sorcerer kobold, and I want to know whether the Dragonwrought feat from Races of the Dragon (pg. 100) can replace the draconic heritage prerequisites for both other draconic ...
le petit dragon's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
865 views

Can an Oracle take feats that require you to worship specific deity?

I'm making a Life Oracle for an upcoming campaign, who has the "Merciful" third-party Curse, but scaled up a little more (basically unable to directly take a life that is not undead). He'll be almost ...
Aleck's user avatar
  • 765
7 votes
4 answers
390 views

Barbed Devil as grappler vs. Medium PCs

I'm preparing an encounter with devils, and I was reading the Barbed Devil entry on the MM. It's stated that it has an Impale special attack while grappling, Improved Grab and Improved Grapple. It's ...
BgrWorker's user avatar
  • 680
4 votes
2 answers
205 views

Does a saboteur with Firearms Training qualify for grit feats?

I recently discovered the saboteur class and I'm interested in playing it in a Pathfinder campaign. I'm also interested in the Firearms Training trick : Benefit: The saboteur gains a grit pool (...
user avatar
-2 votes
2 answers
5k views

Where are prerequisites for feats listed?

I've been reading the PHB and haven't seen anything that lists the prerequisites for feats. Is there something that lists the prerequisites for each feat anywhere?
The Grand Fisher's user avatar
8 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can a creature with one natural attack and no weapons benefit from feats that require the use of two-handed weapons?

So I have a bear-dog animal companion with only a bite natural attack, then she adds 1.5 times her Strength modifier to damage rolls with it. She has Power Attack both for extra damage and as a ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
930 views

Can I use a maneuver to meet the prerequisites for a martial stance, then swap out that maneuver later?

I'm a Warblade in the process of reaching level 6. I have one level 1 Diamond Mind maneuver. Is the following possible: For my level six feat, I want to take Martial Stance to attain the Diamond Mind ...
FrancisJohn's user avatar
  • 8,846
7 votes
3 answers
375 views

Does Intelligence damage on a trained animal mess with its training (and with its feats in the case of an unusually smart one)?

Context first: my character has a bear-dog animal companion, and as an original way to make it less of a potential danger in cities or settlements and also less scary, I want to enchant an item with ...
user avatar