Questions tagged [feats]

For questions about interpreting what a feat does or understanding specific feats, which are abilities of a character that provide small bonuses in specific circumstances in Dungeons and Dragons 3rd edition and higher, as well as Pathfinder.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
7
votes
1answer
85 views

For the Charger feat, is it possible to move at least 10 feet in a straight line while staying within an enemy's reach?

The Charger feat lets you make a bonus-action attack with +5 to the damage roll if you take the Dash action and "If you move at least 10 feet in a straight line immediately before taking this bonus ...
2
votes
2answers
79 views

Who takes damage when Shield Warden is used?

The Champion feat Shield Warden allows a character to use their reaction to shield an ally. The feat says: ... When you have a shield raised, you can use your Shield Block reaction when an attack ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Would it be unbalanced to offer a cambion's Fiendish Blessing as a racial feat for a tiefling player?

The Cambion monster in the MM p.36 has the trait Fiendish Bleesing: Fiendish Blessing The AC of the cambion includes its Charisma bonus. Would it be unbalanced to offer my player's tiefling ...
5
votes
4answers
872 views

Does gaining an armor proficiency from your class also give you the ability score increase from the corresponding armor proficiency feat?

Old school RPer coming back after long gaming hiatus and new to D&D 5e. Liking what I see, and happy to be rid of THAC0, lol. As I'm reading, it seems feats are a little different now and fewer ...
3
votes
1answer
51 views

How to calculate the damage taken when using Shield Block?

How do you calculate the damage a PC takes when using shield block? The Shield Block feat allows you to reduce the damage from an incoming attack when you have your shield raised. The feat says (CRB, ...
1
vote
1answer
43 views

Does Duelist's Crippling Critical counts for the max number of crit feats used in a turn?

Imagine a character which would become a Duelist 10, focused on doing crits with his weapon. So, he would go all the way until he gets Stunning Critical. The question is: Could the character ...
4
votes
1answer
109 views

Is your race considered a racial benefit (or feature) for the purpose of Shapechange?

Shapechange is a 9th level spell that allows you to transform into another creature, while retaining the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source, provided that your new form is ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Can Opportunity Attacks by a mounted PC with the Mounted Combatant feat be made with Advantage?

Can Opportunity Attacks have Advantage? For instance, if a character with the Mounted Combatant feat was to perform an attack of opportunity on a smaller creature while mounted, would that attack have ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Is the Moderately Armored Feat really the only way for my dwarf to get shield proficiency without multiclassing?

I really enjoy working out rather unusual character builds, or taking a subpar character concept and try to make it work using min/maxing, point buy and having every level from one to twenty planned ...
10
votes
1answer
168 views

What happens if you use the Magic Initiate feat on a class besides your own to learn a spell you already know?

If a class that already knows a level 1 spell takes the Magic Initiate feat and learns two cantrips and the same spell from a different class, does that give them a "free" 1/long rest cast of that ...
1
vote
0answers
101 views

Do Racial Spells count for Spellcasting Feat Requirements? [closed]

For example, a Tiefling's Infernal Legacy gives them the spells Thaumaturgy and Hellish Rebuke - they can cast those spells. For feats like Spell Sniper with the requirement "The ability to cast a ...
1
vote
1answer
74 views

Can the feat Two-Weapon defense be taken with a double weapon?

Note: This question has been answered for D&D 4e, but I'm asking if this also works in D&D 3.5 since the systems tend to differ significantly over different editions. ( Does a Double Weapon ...
4
votes
2answers
544 views

Does the Quicksmithing feat make the Servo Crafting feat obsolete?

In Plane Shift Kaladesh the Servo Crafting feat (page 13) grants you a mechanical familiar through a ritual casting of Find Familar. On the same page, the Quicksmithing feat allows you to ritual cast ...
6
votes
1answer
104 views

Are there any cleric spells that qualify for the Minor Shapeshift feat?

The Minor Shapeshift reserve feat (Complete Mage, p. 45) would be great for my melee-oriented Cleric. For it to work, you need to have available a "level 4 or higher polymorph spell". Are there ...
3
votes
2answers
598 views

Does an opportunity attack proc. Polearm Master's bonus action?

Does Polearm Master's bonus attack action proc. on an opportunity attack of a monster entering my reach?
5
votes
1answer
567 views

Can I use the bonus action granted by the Charger feat to cast Booming Blade?

Is it possible to use Booming Blade as part of my charger feat attack? Or is it separate? If so, what would my attack damage calculation be (assuming I'm using a greatsword and have Great Weapon ...
1
vote
1answer
55 views

How do I use the Convincing persona feat without dual identity or masked persona

People seem almost willfully ignorant of the connection between your masked persona and your real identity. Prerequisite(s): Bluff 5 ranks, Perform (act) 5 ranks, or dual identity class feature. ...
7
votes
1answer
207 views

In AL, who can a character with the Ritual Caster feat learn additional ritual spells from?

Simple enough question (I hope), but I couldn't seem to find a clear answer anywhere. This is for an Adventurers League character. I've taken the Ritual Caster feat and chosen my two initial spells. ...
-2
votes
1answer
134 views

Does having the Shield Master feat mean that the shield is indestructible?

Does having the Shield Master feat mean that the shield is indestructible? The Shield Master feat (PHB, p. 170) says: If you take the Attack action on your turn, you can use a bonus action to ...
2
votes
1answer
145 views

Can you perform somatic components with War Caster when wielding a single weapon or shield?

Reading the War Caster feat again, I'm having a doubt about the following sentence: You can perform the somatic components of spells even when you have weapons or a shield in one or both hands. I'...
1
vote
1answer
67 views

Does a spear fighter suffer the Power Attack penalty on parries and ripostes?

A fighter that takes the archetype spear fighter uses the feats Power Attack, Furious Focus, and Improved Furious Focus. If he uses parry and riposte, does he incur the penalties from having used ...
4
votes
1answer
102 views

Is there a way to increase fast healing?

I recently discovered the fast healer feat, and am curious if the amount of hit points regained stacks with that provided by the fast healing ability? I'm wondering if in this case fast healing ...
3
votes
1answer
65 views

Can a Shoddy Item be made into a Masterwork item?

This question concerns the feat Craft Shoddy Item and how it interacts with the spell Masterwork Transformation - in particular, can a shoddy item be the target of masterwork transformation? I ...
5
votes
1answer
205 views

What are the impacts of allowing a Warcaster to cast spells with material components while wielding a shield and spear?

The general consensus on this site is that the Warcaster feat does not grant the ability to cast spells with material components when wielding two pieces of equipment because the caster needs a free ...
8
votes
1answer
207 views

How does Sentinel interact with the Wing Attack legendary action?

An Adult Red Dragon is within melee range of a fighter with the Sentinel feat. On its turn, the dragon moves away, and the fighter takes an attack of opportunity, reducing the dragon's speed to 0. ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Would modifying the “Polearm Master” feat to work with a longsword be overpowered?

On of my players (an Eldritch Knight) wants to make a modification to the "Polearm Master" feat by replacing the weapons given with a longsword. So it would be written as such Longsword Master ...
13
votes
4answers
2k views

Does Dangerous Sorcery apply to cantrips?

Dangerous Sorcery says I get bonus damage "When you Cast a Spell from your spell slots". While cantrips don't expend slots when you cast them, do you still get a bonus from Dangerous Sorcery when ...
1
vote
0answers
113 views

Does this Eldritch Knight using Polearm (Glaive) build work? [duplicate]

EDIT: Thank you for all the links you provided answering the first part of the post, regarding the stacking of Polearm Master (PAM), War Caster (WC) work and Spell Sniper (SS) feats. [if someone didn'...
6
votes
1answer
182 views

Is this Monkey Grip port balanced as a 5e feat?

There is a feat in D&D 3.5e called Monkey Grip. I am considering this 5e feat inspired by that: Monkey Grip Wielding a weapon made for a creature one size larger than you doesn’t impose ...
6
votes
2answers
837 views

Is there an equivalent to the Monkey Grip feat in D&D 5e?

While I was DMing a D&D 3.5 adventure, one of my players played a character with the Monkey Grip feat (because he liked the manga Berserk, where the hero has a giant sword). And it turned out that ...
5
votes
2answers
164 views

Can you use Tavern Brawler to wield a 2 handed sword with one hand as an improvised weapon?

So I'm wielding a two handed sword. Can I grapple with one hand and use the 2hd sword as a improvised weapon? Obviously the damage dice would be less.
4
votes
1answer
95 views

Does Dual strike work with Vital Strike?

I saw the feat Dual Strike: Additional Prerequisite(s): Double Slice, Improved Vital Strike As a standard action, you can make two attacks, one with each weapon you’re wielding, applying the ...
5
votes
1answer
151 views

Can an Abjuration wizard with the Martial Adept feat use the Parry maneuver before their Arcane Ward absorbs damage?

If a Wizard of the School of Abjuration takes the Martial Adept feat and chooses the Parry combat maneuver, how will it interact with their Arcane Ward? Can the Wizard parry and reduce the need for ...
1
vote
1answer
80 views

Advance Weapon Training (Weapon Master + Brawler + Item Mastery combo) question

For the people that doesn't know the combo, here's the link to Cartmanbeck’s Guide to the Iron Caster; all credit goes to him. The scenario is this: the weapon master archetype gains weapon training ...
10
votes
1answer
216 views

Can the Elemental Adept feat cause the Chaos Bolt spell to chain this way?

The Elemental Adept feat (PHB, p. 166) allows one to change treat results of 1 in damage dice for spells with a matching element as 2: In addition, when you roll damage for a spell you cast that ...
5
votes
2answers
960 views

Does the patient need to be immobile during the tending action from the Healer feat?

To me, it does not make sense, but nothing in the feat's description mentions that the target creature receiving the healing (aka the patient) needs to be immobile. Does a patient need to be ...
-1
votes
1answer
124 views

What damaged a creature that is in an antimagic field from which it is excluded?

I read a lot about this topic, more precisely I base myself on what is stated here: Does the feat Extraordinary Spell Aim affect the creature's space or the creature? (and other linked discussion) ...
9
votes
4answers
581 views

Arcane Adept: is this proposed Warlock feat balanced as compared to PHB feats?

While discussing Warlocks and the new Uneartherd Arcana at GiTP forums, we were kicking around the idea of a class only feat (versus the Xanather's race based feats) and I arrived at the following ...
8
votes
1answer
187 views

Would I have neither advantage nor disadvantage when attacking a grappled creature when opting to restrain via the Grappler feat?

The Grappler Feat states: You’ve developed the Skills necessary to hold your own in close-quarters Grappling. You gain the following benefits: You have advantage on Attack rolls against a ...
1
vote
1answer
52 views

If I have the Diverse Obedience feat, can I take lower level boons?

If I have the Diverse Obedience feat I can obtain the deity's boons of any list assumed I have the Deific Obedience feat and no levels in the evangelist, exalted, or sentinel prestige classes. But can ...
7
votes
1answer
277 views

How do the War Caster feat and the Enemies Abound spell interact when an opportunity attack is provoked?

The enemies abound spell states: [...] If an enemy provokes an opportunity attack from the affected creature, the creature must make that attack if it is able to [...] - Xanathar's Guide to ...
-10
votes
4answers
250 views

RAW is it against the rules to take another class's class feature as a feat?

For example, I want to play a Firbolg life cleric (because our party desperately needs more healing) but for roleplay purposes I don't want him to wear armor so I was thinking that I could take the ...
-1
votes
1answer
40 views

Does the Kineticist feat Augmented Elements function as Expanded Element for choosing Infusion and Utility Wild Talents?

Does the Kineticist feat Augmented Elements function as Expanded Element (Su) for choosing Infusion and Utility Wild Talents? Augmented Elements simply put is... you get your choice of an additional ...
6
votes
2answers
196 views

Spell Sniper and Melee Spell Attacks With Range

The first benefit of the Spell Sniper feat says (PHB, p. 170; emphasis mine): When you cast a spell that requires you to make an attack roll, the spell’s range is doubled. Spells: ...
2
votes
2answers
94 views

Can the Selective Spell metamagic feat be used to exclude a swarm from targeting?

I'm researching the attack spells available to druids. Creeping Doom looks very useful for some situations, but it seems like it doesn't combine well with other spells like Flame Strike and Fire Storm ...
1
vote
2answers
79 views

Can the Sidestep feat be used to avoid attacks?

The sidestep feat states the following: Once per round, when you make an attack of opportunity, you may take a 5- foot step after you attack. This 5-foot step doesn't count against your limit of ...
1
vote
2answers
112 views

How does Wolf Stance help with Trip?

Wolf Stance monk feat (CRB p159) : You enter the stance of a wolf, low to the ground with your hands held like fanged teeth. You can make wolf jaw unarmed attacks. These deal 1d8 piercing damage; ...
11
votes
4answers
964 views

How does the second benefit of the Mounted Combatant feat interact with total cover?

The second benefit of the Mounted Combatant feat (PHB, p. 168) lets you force an enemy to attack you rather than your mount when they attempt to attack the latter. What happens if you do that while ...
5
votes
1answer
94 views

Does the multilingual feat allow me to choose a language I don't have access to?

The Pathfinder 2e multilingual feat says: You easily pick up new languages. You learn two new languages, chosen from common languages, uncommon languages, and any others you have access to. ...
7
votes
2answers
188 views

How can a ranger have the Snare Crafting feat at level 1?

The Snare Crafting skill feat is required to create snares. The only requirement is that the character be trained in Crafting. How can I build a level 1 ranger with Snare Crafting? Typically initial ...