Questions tagged [feats]

For questions about interpreting what a feat does or understanding specific feats, which are abilities of a character that provide small bonuses in specific circumstances in Dungeons and Dragons 3rd edition and higher, as well as Pathfinder.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
38
votes
5answers
43k views

Shield Master - Can the shield push be taken before an attack?

Can the shield push from the Shield Master feat be taken before an attack? i.e. Push prone, follow up with an attack while they're down. Shield Master You use shields not just for protection ...
34
votes
3answers
42k views

Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots?

Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots? Say I play a wizard who learns cure wounds by taking the Magic Initiate feat. Could I cast that spell using the Wizard's ...
27
votes
2answers
24k views

Do any feats carry over when in Wild Shape?

I'm wondering if any feats might carry over when a druid assumes a Wild Shape. I'm specifically looking at the Alert and Lucky Feats. PHB p.67 stipulates: Your game statistics are replaced by the ...
46
votes
7answers
13k views

Are features that allow −5 to attack to get +10 to damage mathematically sound?

Some class features, monster traits, and feats allow you to take a −5 to your attack roll in order to gain a +10 to your damage roll. At first glance this looks really good, but when will it deal more ...
34
votes
5answers
43k views

How is the “Lucky” Feat affected by Advantage/Disadvantage?

If I have the Lucky feat, it allows me to choose to take a re-roll, to see if I might do better on a d20 check: Whenever you make an attack roll, an ability check, or a saving throw, you can ...
41
votes
4answers
14k views

What is a “spellcaster” for the purpose of magic item attunement?

Several wands and other magic items in the DMG cite "spellcaster" as an attunement requirement, specifically "requires attunement by a spellcaster" while others list multiple spellcasting classes (e.g....
33
votes
5answers
44k views

Are weapons with the “Thrown” property considered a “Ranged Weapon” for the purpose of sharpshooter?

For example a Dagger is listed in the "Melee" section of the weapons list, but has the "light", "Finesse" and "Thrown" properties. If I throw the dagger (assume I am proficient), can I use the ...
13
votes
1answer
5k views

Can You Two-Weapon Fight With Thrown Ranged Weapons?

A spin-off question from an earlier post, can you two-weapon fight with a dart or other thrown ranged weapons? Two-Weapon Fighting When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee ...
12
votes
1answer
4k views

How are caster levels determined in concert with the feat Master Spellthief?

The first and third benefits of the feat Master Spellthief from page 79 of Complete Scoundrel are pretty straightforward (although the first's a little sad in that it only affects the level of spell ...
8
votes
3answers
3k views

Are spells learned from feats considered to be associated with your class?

The multiclassing spellcasting rules (PHB p. 164, or here in the basic rules) state: Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability ...
13
votes
3answers
7k views

Does wielding a shield as an improvised weapon count for Dual Wielder and Two-Weapon fighting style?

Let's say I am wielding a dagger and shield, and I am using the shield as an improvised weapon. Would Dual-Wielder Feat and the Dual Wielding fighting style be in effect while I am using these as ...
12
votes
2answers
7k views

Can Ability Score increases caused by magic items qualify me for feats?

As far as I know, only a player character's non-temporary ability scores are considered for taking feats, taking prestige classes, etc. Meanwhile, any ability bonus that comes from spells, or magic ...
11
votes
5answers
4k views

War Caster, a whip and a dagger, and provoking Opportunity Attacks

This related question gives an answer about provoking opportunity attacks when wielding a dagger and a whip. I am interested how this interacts with the feat War Caster (5e PHB p170): When a ...
11
votes
5answers
3k views

Bonus action before Action for Crossbow Expert?

The Crossbow Expert feat says: When you use the Attack action and attack with a one-handed weapon, you can use a bonus action to attack with a hand crossbow you are holding. While I am aware that ...
19
votes
3answers
21k views

Does Booming Blade and Spell Sniper Stack?

If you have the spell sniper feat (doubles range of spells), and you use a weapon with reach, can you cast booming blade and hit a creature at 10ft? Can you also combine this with the polearm mastery ...
18
votes
2answers
4k views

Can I use spell slots to cast the spell granted from the Fey Teleportation feat additional times?

I have a high-elf wizard with the Fey Teleportation feat. According to the feat "You learn the Misty Step spell, and can cast it once without expending a spell slot. You regain the ability to cast it ...
11
votes
3answers
9k views

What's the best magic item for punching monsters in their stupid faces?

My character, a barbarian with the feat Improved Unarmed Strike,1 occasionally eschews his greataxe and punches monsters. After reading this 2009 thread and this 2009 thread, I don't know what works ...
7
votes
4answers
20k views

Does Monkey Grip allow wielding 2 handed weapons in 1 hand?

As typical in D&D a friend and I are having a debate, this time about whether or not Monkey Grip (3.5 complete warrior feat) allows a medium creature to wield a 2-handed medium weapon with one ...
23
votes
2answers
5k views

Can you retrain the Magic Initiate spell using the Spellcasting feature?

This question got me thinking about the mechanics of the Magic Initiate feat when you have class levels in the class into which you were inducted. Among the classes you can pick with this feat are ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

If a poisoned arrow's piercing damage is reduced to 0, do you still get poisoned?

I have created a fighter, who is using heavy armor and has the Heavy Armor Master feat. The Heavy Armor Master feat (PHB, p. 167) states that: While you are wearing heavy armor, bludgeoning, ...
7
votes
4answers
264 views

With how many of his buddies can a meldshaper share his soulmelds?

The feat Share Soulmeld (Magic of Incarnum 41) has as its prerequisite the "[a]bility to shape soulmelds and a familiar, animal companion, or mount with whom you can share spells." The feat's ...
30
votes
2answers
18k views

When is an ASI better than the Dual Wielder feat?

Many people ask questions about dual wielding (even though two-weapon fighting is subpar for everyone after level four). Most of them seemingly can't wait to pick up the Dual Wielder feat (PHB, p. 165)...
37
votes
3answers
19k views

How important is it for a spellcaster to increase primary ability scores quickly to 20 to remain at “party level”?

One can increase ability scores at 4th and 8th level, or take a feat instead with the optional rule. Assuming player-characters are built with point-buy rules, one is probably going to start with a ...
25
votes
8answers
132k views

Is a character with the Polearm Master and Sentinel feats unbeatable in a duel?

One of the benefits of the Polearm Master feat (PHB, p. 168) is: While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, or quarterstaff, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they ...
17
votes
5answers
34k views

Build Advice For Pathfinder Oracle

I've made an Oracle, 1st level, Mystery of Lore, Haunted Curse, and I took Sidestep Secret as my first revelation. I'm trying to decide if I should focus on melee combat and take relevant feats for ...
26
votes
1answer
21k views

Shillelagh and Polearm Master Interaction

Shillelagh imbues a quarterstaff with magic for a minute. This allows a caster to attack with the quarterstaff using his casting ability. Polearm Master allows a player who attacks with a ...
10
votes
4answers
10k views

How to make sense of having one's passive Perception better than the active one? (e.g. when one takes the Observant feat)

Doesn't the Observant feat make you see more, when you're not actually looking? Or if you'd like me to rephrase that: doesn't it make you notice more, where you're not actively trying to notice ...
10
votes
3answers
8k views

Does the War Caster feat grant ranged spell attacks in melee range without disadvantage?

An opportunity attack is described this way (PHB, p. 195): You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you ...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

Feat prerequisites when gaining the feat as bonus feat

The Dervish of Dawn gains the Feat Dervish Dance as a bonus feat at level 1. This feat has the following prerequisites: Weapon Finesse, Perform (dance) 2 ranks, proficient with scimitar. Which I can ...
10
votes
3answers
7k views

War caster feat and green flame blade, is it legit?

The War Caster feat allows a single-target spell ("must target only that creature") to be cast instead of a melee strike for an opportunity attack. Green-Flame Blade appears to have a single target, ...
9
votes
4answers
2k views

Can a martial character combine a lesser style with greater style, arena training, or other at-will modifying feat?

What level of stacking is possible with at-will modifying feats? Take, for example, the fighter power: "Cleave" At-Will Martial, Weapon Standard Action Melee weapon Targets: ...
7
votes
1answer
685 views

Do negative levels bestowed by Death Devotion work like energy drain?

The feat Death Devotion says Once per day as a swift action, you can cause one of your melee weapons to radiate negative energy for 1 minute. When you make a successful attack with this weapon, the ...
4
votes
1answer
610 views

Can spells and magic items be used to satisfy a feat's prerequisites?

Seeing this question made me curious as it seems that a magic item is used to meet a feat's prerequisite. Can items or spells be used to satisfy a feat's prerequisites? I know that if the character ...
44
votes
5answers
48k views

To What Extent Can The Keen Mind Feat Replace a Wizard's Spellbook?

Some of the feats in D&D 5e are seemingly less useful or otherwise not always as reliable relative to the other feats, although they are very flavorful. Keen Mind is one such feat, granting your ...
20
votes
6answers
152k views

Extra Attack, Crossbow Expert, and hand crossbow: 4 shots per turn?

In D&D 5e, can a 5th level fighter shoot a hand crossbow 4 times per turn using the Crossbow Expert feat? Extra Attack, PHB p. 72: Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once,...
30
votes
5answers
48k views

Does the Resilient (Con) feat or the War Caster feat most improve the chances of maintaining concentration?

The Resilient feat (PHB, p. 168) allows you to increase one ability score by 1 and gain proficiency in saving throws using the corresponding ability. In essence, taking the Resilient feat and picking ...
23
votes
1answer
5k views

Which spells trigger the second benefit of Shield Master?

The Shield Master feat includes the following benefit: lf you aren't incapacitated, you can add your shield's AC bonus to any Dexterity saving throw you make against a spell or other harmful ...
10
votes
2answers
16k views

Wielding a Hand Crossbow and a Rapier with Crossbow Expert Feat while dropping & picking up the Rapier

I am trying to see if I am breaking any rules of D&D 5e here. I am a Swashbuckler Rogue (possibly irrelevant). I am wielding a hand crossbow and a rapier in each hand, with the Crossbow Expert ...
28
votes
4answers
84k views

How do you load a hand crossbow?

The Crossbow Expert feat states that as a bonus action, you can "attack with a loaded hand crossbow you are holding." However, nowhere in the rules does it specify a "loaded" versus "unloaded" state ...
24
votes
1answer
4k views

Do you lose racial feats when Reincarnated out of your race?

Xanathar’s Guide to Everything introduces racial feats (ex: Bountiful Luck for halflings). My understanding of the Reincarnate spell is that if you were a variant human and become something else, you ...
24
votes
4answers
11k views

Would a monk with the Tavern Brawler feat have improvised weapons count as monk weapons?

Would a monk with the Tavern Brawler feat have improvised weapons count as monk weapons? It states in the monk's Martial Arts feature (PHB, p. 78) that: At 1st level, your practice of martial arts ...
22
votes
1answer
5k views

Does the extra attack from Great Weapon Master apply to all melee weapons?

The Great Weapon Master feat (PHB, pg. 167) states: On your turn, when you score a critical hit with a melee weapon or reduce a creature to 0 hit points with one, you can make one melee weapon ...
14
votes
2answers
9k views

Does a Grapple or Shove count as an attack for the Mobile feat?

The Mobile feat enables you to not get opportunity attacks from creatures you try to attack. Does it still apply if the attack you made was a Grapple or Shove ?
13
votes
1answer
15k views

Does the Mage Slayer feat interrupt the triggering spell?

If a mage casts a spell within 5 feat of a character with the Mage Slayer feat, does the reaction of attacking the casting character go off first, or does the spell go off first? The Mage Slayer feat ...
12
votes
6answers
5k views

Why does Quick Draw not apply to alchemical items?

From the Quick Draw feat description: Benefit: You can draw a weapon as a free action instead of as a move action. (...) Alchemical items, potions, scrolls, and wands cannot be drawn quickly using ...
12
votes
2answers
12k views

Can you attack twice using the same hand crossbow if you have the Crossbow Expert feat?

I have searched for the words Hand Crossbow and Crossbow Expert but didn't find this Q&A, which is awkward as it's cited many times.1 The Crossbow Expert feat states: When you use the Attack ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Have the requirements for building a portal changed?

The Forgotten Realms Campaign Setting is the only source I'm aware of for the feat Create Portal (34). The feat is untouched by errata and has as its only prerequisite the feat Craft Wondrous Item (PH ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Can metamagic be acquired at first level?

In D&D 3.5, can I acquire a metamagic feat at lvl 1? I'm wondering this because I am playing a cleric and would like to get Empower spell to increase my healing to my party
7
votes
2answers
998 views

Are feats explicitly Extraordinary by default?

In both Pathfinder and D&D 3.5e that it’s based on, abilities are often tagged as extraordinary (Ex), supernatural (Su), or spell-like (Sp). There are a few other categories (e.g. psi-like ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

When is +2 Dex better than Crossbow Expert?

This answer to a previous question about crossbow builds without Crossbow Expert is relevant to me; my Rogue is about to reach 4th level. If you only hit on a 20, the Crossbow Expert feat (PHB, p. ...

1
2 3 4 5
7