Questions tagged [feats]

For questions about interpreting what a feat does or understanding specific feats, which are abilities of a character that provide small bonuses in specific circumstances in Dungeons and Dragons 3rd edition and higher, as well as Pathfinder.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
46 votes
5 answers
64k views

Shield Master - Can the shield push be taken before an attack?

Can the shield push from the Shield Master feat be taken before an attack? i.e. Push prone, follow up with an attack while they're down. Shield Master You use shields not just for protection ...
Miniman's user avatar
  • 144k
54 votes
5 answers
85k views

Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots?

Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots? Say I play a wizard who learns cure wounds by taking the Magic Initiate feat. Could I cast that spell using the Wizard's ...
Tobias Fizzlewig's user avatar
60 votes
7 answers
22k views

Are features that allow −5 to attack to get +10 to damage mathematically sound?

Some class features, monster traits, and feats allow you to take a −5 to your attack roll in order to gain a +10 to your damage roll. At first glance this looks really good, but when will it deal more ...
Lokiare's user avatar
  • 1,945
31 votes
2 answers
35k views

Do the Alert and Lucky feats carry over when in Wild Shape?

I'm wondering if the Alert and Lucky feats carry over when a druid assumes a Wild Shape. PHB p.67 stipulates: Your game statistics are replaced by the statistics of the beast... So I would tend to ...
Maadiah's user avatar
  • 3,609
47 votes
7 answers
81k views

How is the "Lucky" Feat affected by Advantage/Disadvantage?

If I have the Lucky feat1, it allows me to choose to take a re-roll, to see if I might do better on a d20 check: Whenever you make an attack roll, an ability check, or a saving throw, you can spend ...
Ben's user avatar
  • 23.1k
13 votes
4 answers
6k views

Are spells learned from feats considered to be associated with your class?

The multiclassing spellcasting rules (PHB p. 164, or here in the basic rules) state: Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability of ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 94.8k
48 votes
4 answers
26k views

What is a "spellcaster" for the purpose of magic item attunement?

Several wands and other magic items in the DMG cite "spellcaster" as an attunement requirement, specifically "requires attunement by a spellcaster" while others list multiple ...
sadaqah's user avatar
  • 7,622
28 votes
3 answers
42k views

Do Booming Blade and the Spell Sniper feat stack?

If you have the spell sniper feat (doubles range of spells), and you use a weapon with reach, can you cast booming blade and hit a creature at 10ft? Can you also combine this with the feats Polearm ...
LightningColin's user avatar
13 votes
2 answers
8k views

Can Ability Score increases caused by magic items qualify me for feats?

As far as I know, only a player character's non-temporary ability scores are considered for taking feats, taking prestige classes, etc. Meanwhile, any ability bonus that comes from spells, or magic ...
Mp0int's user avatar
  • 1,939
13 votes
5 answers
5k views

Do you have to take the Attack action before you can make the bonus-action attack from the Crossbow Expert feat?

The third benefit of the Crossbow Expert feat says (PHB, p. 165): When you use the Attack action and attack with a one-handed weapon, you can use a bonus action to attack with a hand crossbow you are ...
Shem's user avatar
  • 6,572
50 votes
6 answers
80k views

Are all weapons with the "Thrown" property considered a "Ranged Weapon" for the purpose of sharpshooter?

For example a Dagger is listed in the "Melee" section of the weapons list, but has the "light", "Finesse" and "Thrown" properties. If I throw the dagger (assume ...
Al Sun's user avatar
  • 2,661
20 votes
2 answers
9k views

Can I use spell slots to cast the spell granted from the Fey Teleportation feat additional times?

I have a high-elf wizard with the Fey Teleportation feat. According to the feat "You learn the Misty Step spell, and can cast it once without expending a spell slot. You regain the ability to cast it ...
Raukus's user avatar
  • 203
14 votes
3 answers
15k views

Does wielding a shield as an improvised weapon count for Dual Wielder and Two-Weapon fighting style?

Let's say I am wielding a dagger and shield, and I am using the shield as an improvised weapon. Would Dual-Wielder Feat and the Dual Wielding fighting style be in effect while I am using these as ...
Tobias Fizzlewig's user avatar
33 votes
2 answers
25k views

When is an ASI better than the Dual Wielder feat?

Many people ask questions about dual wielding (even though two-weapon fighting is subpar for everyone after level four). Most of them seemingly can't wait to pick up the Dual Wielder feat (PHB, p. 165)...
András's user avatar
  • 64.1k
20 votes
2 answers
19k views

Does a Grapple or Shove count as a "melee attack" for the third benefit of the Mobile feat?

The third benefit of the Mobile feat (PHB, p. 168) enables you to not provoke opportunity attacks by creatures you try to make a melee attack against. Does it still apply if the attack you made was a ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.7k
17 votes
3 answers
5k views

If a poisoned arrow's piercing damage is reduced to 0, do you still get poisoned?

I have created a fighter, who is using heavy armor and has the Heavy Armor Master feat. The Heavy Armor Master feat (PHB, p. 167) states that: While you are wearing heavy armor, bludgeoning, ...
weboy's user avatar
  • 173
16 votes
1 answer
11k views

Can You Two-Weapon Fight With Thrown Ranged Weapons?

A spin-off question from an earlier post, can you two-weapon fight with a dart or other thrown ranged weapons? Two-Weapon Fighting When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee ...
Christopher's user avatar
  • 12.2k
16 votes
1 answer
5k views

How are caster levels determined in concert with the feat Master Spellthief?

The first and third benefits of the feat Master Spellthief from page 79 of Complete Scoundrel are pretty straightforward (although the first's a little sad in that it only affects the level of spell ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
12 votes
5 answers
6k views

War Caster, a whip and a dagger, and provoking Opportunity Attacks

This related question gives an answer about provoking opportunity attacks when wielding a dagger and a whip. I am interested how this interacts with the feat War Caster (5e PHB p170): When a ...
Mala's user avatar
  • 12.5k
27 votes
2 answers
7k views

Can you retrain the Magic Initiate spell using the Spellcasting feature?

This question got me thinking about the mechanics of the Magic Initiate feat when you have class levels in the class into which you were inducted. Among the classes you can pick with this feat are ...
GoblinTheodicy's user avatar
19 votes
1 answer
33k views

Does the Savage Attacker feat let you reroll Sneak Attack damage dice?

The Savage Attacker feat (PHB, p. 169) states: Once per turn when you roll damage for a melee weapon attack, you can reroll the weapon’s damage dice and use either total. Additionally, the rogue'...
Man_Over_Game's user avatar
17 votes
2 answers
25k views

Does the Martial Adept superiority dice scale up alongside the Battle Master fighter's superiority dice if you acquire the subclass after the feat?

Assume two 1st level Rogues, Alice and Beatrice. Alice gained 3 levels of Rogue and on her 4th level of Rogue, instead of an ability score increase she picked up the Martial Adept feat. She later ...
Mindwin Remember Monica's user avatar
15 votes
6 answers
2k views

Is the Mounted Combatant feat's ability to redirect an attack at the mount limited by the reach of the attacker?

The second benefit of the Mounted Combatant feat says (PHB, p. 168): You can force an attack targeted at your mount to target you instead. My DM used a foe to attacked my mount. Imagine this was the ...
Lilabelisa's user avatar
13 votes
2 answers
4k views

Feat prerequisites when gaining the feat as bonus feat

The Dervish of Dawn gains the Feat Dervish Dance as a bonus feat at level 1. This feat has the following prerequisites: Weapon Finesse, Perform (dance) 2 ranks, proficient with scimitar. Which I can ...
ruedi's user avatar
  • 6,547
12 votes
3 answers
15k views

What's the best magic item for punching monsters in their stupid faces?

My character, a barbarian with the feat Improved Unarmed Strike,1 occasionally eschews his greataxe and punches monsters. After reading this 2009 thread and this 2009 thread, I don't know what works ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
7 votes
4 answers
23k views

Does Monkey Grip allow wielding 2 handed weapons in 1 hand?

As typical in D&D a friend and I are having a debate, this time about whether or not Monkey Grip (3.5 complete warrior feat) allows a medium creature to wield a 2-handed medium weapon with one ...
joedragons's user avatar
  • 2,964
31 votes
4 answers
104k views

How do you load a hand crossbow?

The Crossbow Expert feat states that as a bonus action, you can "attack with a loaded hand crossbow you are holding." However, nowhere in the rules does it specify a "loaded" versus "unloaded" state ...
Alex319's user avatar
  • 3,218
24 votes
3 answers
33k views

Can you take the same feat multiple times?

Can the same character take a given feat multiple times to gain the benefits all over again? It seems obviously stupid that you can't, but I can't find anywhere in the RAW that actually states that. ...
RonLugge's user avatar
  • 2,893
24 votes
1 answer
6k views

Do you lose racial feats when Reincarnated out of your race?

Xanathar’s Guide to Everything introduces racial feats (ex: Bountiful Luck for halflings). My understanding of the Reincarnate spell is that if you were a variant human and become something else, you ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.7k
20 votes
1 answer
3k views

Does the Produce Flame spell trigger the Flames of Plegethos feat's ability to cause flames to wreathe you?

I have a player in my campaign who took the Flames of Phlegethos tiefling racial feat (from Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 74-75). One of its benefits is: Whenever you cast a spell that deals ...
Andy Franklin's user avatar
16 votes
1 answer
2k views

Could a Wild Magic Surge be triggered by a Wild Magic Sorcerer using a Magic Initiate spell?

Under Wild Magic Surge it states: Immediately after you cast a sorcerer spell of first level or higher, the DM can have you roll a d20. Since Magic Initiate has you choose spells from a specific ...
zanman60's user avatar
  • 2,201
15 votes
3 answers
11k views

Can the reaction attack from the third benefit of the Sentinel feat interrupt the triggering attack by the enemy?

The third benefit of the Sentinel feat (PHB, p. 169-170) allows a melee attack when an enemy within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you (that doesn't have the feat). If you ...
Skyler's user avatar
  • 856
14 votes
3 answers
16k views

Does the War Caster feat grant ranged spell attacks in melee range without disadvantage?

An opportunity attack is described this way (PHB, p. 195): You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you ...
sippybear's user avatar
  • 893
14 votes
5 answers
15k views

Can the Green-Flame Blade cantrip be cast as a reaction using the War Caster feat?

The War Caster feat (PHB, p. 170) allows a single-target spell ("must target only that creature") to be cast instead of an opportunity attack. The Green-Flame Blade cantrip (SCAG, p. 142) ...
Derrek Bertrand's user avatar
12 votes
1 answer
3k views

Does the Durable feat improve the Constitution score of a druid in Wild Shape?

My druid has the Durable feat (PHB, p. 166): Hardy and resilient, you gain the following benefits: Increase your Constitution score by +1, to a maximum of 20. When you roll a Hit Die to regain hit ...
nitsua60's user avatar
  • 102k
8 votes
1 answer
3k views

When is +2 Dex better than Crossbow Expert?

This answer to a previous question about crossbow builds without Crossbow Expert is relevant to me; my Rogue is about to reach 4th level. If you only hit on a 20, the Crossbow Expert feat (PHB, p. ...
SpearCarrier.no2's user avatar
7 votes
4 answers
359 views

With how many of his buddies can a meldshaper share his soulmelds?

The feat Share Soulmeld (Magic of Incarnum 41) has as its prerequisite the "[a]bility to shape soulmelds and a familiar, animal companion, or mount with whom you can share spells." The feat's ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
2k views

How exactly does Burn It! (and similar effects) affect splash and ongoing damage?

The level 1 goblin feat Burn It! gives a status damage bonus to all spells and alchemical items that deal fire damage. It also gives a status damage bonus of +1 to all ongoing fire effects. How does ...
Ben Barden's user avatar
  • 25.6k
7 votes
1 answer
994 views

Do negative levels bestowed by Death Devotion work like energy drain?

The feat Death Devotion says Once per day as a swift action, you can cause one of your melee weapons to radiate negative energy for 1 minute. When you make a successful attack with this weapon, the ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
37 votes
3 answers
26k views

How important is it for a spellcaster to increase primary ability scores quickly to 20 to remain at "party level"?

One can increase ability scores at 4th and 8th level, or take a feat instead with the optional rule. Assuming player-characters are built with point-buy rules, one is probably going to start with a ...
mattdm's user avatar
  • 29.9k
36 votes
9 answers
199k views

Is a character with the Polearm Master and Sentinel feats unbeatable in a duel?

One of the benefits of the Polearm Master feat (PHB, p. 168) is: While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, or quarterstaff, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.1k
30 votes
2 answers
34k views

Shillelagh and Polearm Master Interaction

Shillelagh imbues a quarterstaff with magic for a minute. This allows a caster to attack with the quarterstaff using his casting ability. Polearm Master allows a player who attacks with a ...
Mala's user avatar
  • 12.5k
28 votes
1 answer
5k views

At higher levels, can the Eldritch Blast cantrip be cast as a reaction with the War Caster feat if all the beams are directed at a single target?

The final benefit of the War Caster feat says (PHB, p. 170): The spell [...] must target only one creature. If my character is level 5+, does a spell like eldritch blast still meet this condition as ...
wax eagle's user avatar
  • 104k
26 votes
2 answers
3k views

Is the spell from the third benefit of the War Caster feat still considered an opportunity attack for the Sentinel feat?

The third benefit of the War Caster feat (PHB, p. 170) allows you to cast a spell when an enemy provokes an opportunity attack from you. The spell must target only the provoking creature, and can ...
Man_Over_Game's user avatar
25 votes
2 answers
21k views

Crossbow Expert Feat... for Spells?

I was thinking about creating a wizard character. Reviewing the spellcasting rules, I saw this: Most spells that require attack rolls involve ranged attacks. Remember that you have disadvantage on a ...
DPB's user avatar
  • 443
24 votes
1 answer
12k views

Which spells trigger the second benefit of Shield Master?

The Shield Master feat includes the following benefit: lf you aren't incapacitated, you can add your shield's AC bonus to any Dexterity saving throw you make against a spell or other harmful ...
Miniman's user avatar
  • 144k
23 votes
7 answers
71k views

Does the Eldritch Knight need the Warcaster feat to cast spells when using 2h or sword/shield?

Many of the spells that an Eldritch Knight can cast have a somatic component. If I am playing as an Eldritch Knight with a two-handed sword or weapon/shield combo, would I require the Warcaster feat? ...
Extrakun's user avatar
  • 7,047
23 votes
1 answer
12k views

Does Sentinel work against creatures who can avoid Opportunity Attacks?

Sentinel states: Creatures within 5 feet of you provoke opportunity attacks from you even if they take the Disengage action before leaving your reach. Does this mean any creature at any time ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k
22 votes
1 answer
8k views

Does the extra attack from Great Weapon Master apply to all melee weapons?

The Great Weapon Master feat (PHB, pg. 167) states: On your turn, when you score a critical hit with a melee weapon or reduce a creature to 0 hit points with one, you can make one melee weapon ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79k
19 votes
2 answers
15k views

Does Spell Sniper and Distant Spell quadruple your range on attack spells?

Spell Sniper says When you cast a spell that requires you to make an attack roll, the spell’s range is doubled. Distant Spell says When you cast a spell that has a range of 5 feet or greater, ...
Voromir Kadien's user avatar

1
2 3 4 5
11