Questions tagged [fighter]

For questions about a fighter class or character archetype that commonly appears in RPGs. The fighter is typically a skilled martial warrior.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2
votes
1answer
83 views

Where can you find Swords Secret online?

I was reading the Lore Warden (PRG:AG) archetype (careful, there is another Lore Warden archetype for fighter) and one of its features is the swords secret, but I cant find any of them online. Swords ...
0
votes
1answer
83 views

How exactly Power Attack and critical hit works together for 2-hand fighter?

I tried to follow the rules and check FAQs but now I need a help: I got a 13° liv THF (two-hand fighter) and 6° liv Aegis (BAB=19) and 5° Mithic tier, with Power Attack and Mithic Power Attack (but ...
5
votes
1answer
469 views

Can the Rune Knight's runes only be placed on materials that can be carved?

TCoE's Rune Knight fighter subclass gains proficiency in smith's tools (i.e. metalworking), and its first major feature is called Rune Carver, which says: ...you can touch a number of objects equal ...
0
votes
1answer
68 views

Greater Power Attack

I'm using a 14th liv two-hand fighter with 5 Mythic tiers that allow him to add the Mythic Feat: Power Attack (Mythic) to Power Attack. When a two-handed fighter makes a full-attack with a two-handed ...
2
votes
0answers
50 views

In D&D 5e, does the superiority dice from the new superior technique fighting style become a d8 if you are a battlemaster? [duplicate]

I was just wondering if it functions the same as the martial adept feat's dice, which do become d8s as confirmed by Jeremy Crawford. https://twitter.com/jeremyecrawford/status/1250815333331382274?lang=...
8
votes
2answers
4k views

With Blind Fighting style from Tasha's Cauldron Of Everything, can you cast spells that require a target you can see?

Blind Fighting, as phrased in Tasha's Cauldron Of Everything, contains additional wording beyond the description of mere Blindsight. The entry for Blind Fighting reads: You have blindsight with a ...
1
vote
1answer
144 views

How can I optimize my dual wield fighter for damage?

Ok so I'll be concise with this but tl;dr I'm starting a new campaign at level 5 as a fighter, would like to duel wield and want to optimize myself so I deal damage and don't fall off late game. Also ...
-4
votes
1answer
99 views

Is the grappling strike maneuver a part of an attack or used after the hit?

Battlemaster says Maneuvers. You learn three maneuvers of your choice, which are listed under "Maneuvers" below. Many maneuvers enhance an attack in some way. You can use only one maneuver ...
6
votes
1answer
342 views

Can a rune knight give runes to allies?

It doesn't disallow the rune knight from putting runes on ally's equipment, or giving inscribed equipment to allies, but there's also the difference of language from Artificer infusions, with ...
2
votes
1answer
127 views

Does either ability of the thrown weapon fighting style affect boomerangs?

The thrown weapon fighting style says: You can draw a weapon that has the thrown property as part of the attack you make with the weapon. In addition, when you hit with a ranged attack using a thrown ...
3
votes
1answer
95 views

Does Brace trigger when an enemy enters my echo's reach?

The subclass feature Manifest Echo explicitly covers attacking from the Echo's location when taking the Attack action or when taking a specific reaction: When you take the Attack action on your turn, ...
3
votes
2answers
246 views

Fighter - Two Weapon Fighting/Hex/Booming Blade

So I’m in a campaign and the DM is helping out one of our players. He helped them build their character and at lvl 5 he has him doing something insane. Now I’m relatively new myself so I can’t ...
5
votes
0answers
154 views

Can an Eldritch Knight Attack Twice With Green Flame Blade and War Magic? [duplicate]

An 8th-level Eldritch Knight has a sword. The War Magic class ability says: When you use your action to cast a cantrip, you can make one weapon attack as a bonus action And the cantrip Green Flame ...
5
votes
2answers
206 views

When I'm mounted, can I use the Bait and Switch maneuver exchanging the mount and my ally's position?

Tasha's Cauldron of Everything added one of my favourite maneuvers Bait and Switch. In my game as a player I used it while mounted and the DM was like "Nice, like in chess [The king and rook ...
2
votes
1answer
626 views

Does turning around count as moving for triggering Brace?

My fighter took Superior Technique as Fighting Style. This gives me the the Combat Maneuver Brace, which says (emphasis mine): When a creature you can see moves into the reach you have with the melee ...
0
votes
2answers
294 views

Is the Echo of a Echo Knight actually a creature? [duplicate]

I've always been certain that the echo created by an Echo Knight fighter using their 3rd-level feature Manifest Echo is not defined in game terms as a creature, since the description of the echo never ...
3
votes
0answers
271 views

Do both superiority dice from Superior Technique and Martial Adept only increase die size when a character reaches 10th level Battlemaster? [duplicate]

Also, does that mean that dice gained from either of these features never become d8's?
4
votes
2answers
189 views

Does the Psi Warrior Telekinetic movement let you move an item you're standing on?

as title, the telekinetic movement option says "One loose object that is Large or smaller or one willing creature other than yourself", does that mean that if say, i placed my shield on the ...
9
votes
1answer
290 views

Does the Psi Warrior Fighter's Telekinetic Movement feature allow you to move a grappled or restrained willing creature?

Telekinetic Movement. You can move an object or a creature with your mind. As an action, you target one loose object that is Large or smaller or one willing creature, other than yourself. If you can ...
4
votes
3answers
774 views

Does an Echo Knight fighter's echo provoke an opportunity attack when it moves?

Does an Echo Knight fighter's echo provoke an opportunity attack when it moves? The Echo Knight fighter's Manifest Echo feature says, in part (EGtW, p. 183; emphasis mine): At 3rd level, you can use ...
8
votes
5answers
1k views

Can an Arcane Archer choose to activate arcane shot after it gets deflected?

Inspired by Can I use deflect missile if I get an ally to shoot me? and Can a monk catch and throw an Arcane Archer's active Arcane Shot back at them with Deflect Missiles?, can a (friendly) ...
5
votes
1answer
659 views

Can the Battle Master fighter's Precision Attack maneuver be used on a melee spell attack?

I've searched here and in various reference books but can't find the answer to this specific question. The description of the Battle Master fighter's Precision Attack maneuver (PHB, p. 74) states that ...
10
votes
3answers
3k views

How does the altered Extra Attack feature of the Bladesinger (Tasha's Cauldron version) interact with Fighter's additional Extra Attacks?

As an example, a level 6+ bladesinger wizard/11+ fighter character takes the Attack action. Are they able to use a cantrip? How many attacks do they get?
8
votes
2answers
623 views

Is the Psi Warrior Fighter's Psionic Strike compatible with the Brace Combat Maneuver?

Psionic Strike. You can propel your weapons with psionic force. Once on each of your turns, immediately after you hit a target within 30 feet of you with an attack and deal damage to it with a weapon, ...
2
votes
0answers
37 views

How does the Fighter's Interception style work against attacks with multiple damage types? [duplicate]

The Fighter's Interception fighting style reads: When a creature you can see hits a target, other than you, within 5 feet of you with an attack, you can use your reaction to reduce the damage the ...
27
votes
3answers
1k views

Is this recommendation for a fighter to take the Weapon Master feat entirely useless?

Tasha's Cauldron of Everything includes some recommendations for building a Battle Master fighter. The introduction to the section says: Below are recommendations for how you might build a Battle ...
7
votes
1answer
61 views

Shielded Stride while Mounted

Pathfinder 2E I'm building a Human Fighter into a sort of Knight character. I was curious about the 4th-level Class Feat Shielded Stride. The feat reads When your shield is up, your enemies' blows ...
17
votes
1answer
1k views

Does Action Surge reset the Gloom Stalkers Dread Ambusher Attack?

If a level 2+ Fighter uses an Action surge would they be able to reset the Dread Ambushers free attack when taking an "attack Action" on their first turn of combat? Dread Ambusher (emphasis ...
0
votes
1answer
732 views

Does the reaction melee attack from the Sentinel feat's third benefit trigger through an Echo Knight fighter's echo?

The third benefit of the Sentinel feat reads (PHB, p. 169-170): When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you (and that target doesn't have this feat), you can ...
6
votes
1answer
640 views

For a multiclassed Ancestral Guardians barbarian/Echo Knight fighter, how do the Ancestral Protectors and Manifest Echo features interact?

Let's say I have three levels in Barbarian and three in Fighter. As a barbarian, I choose the Path of the Ancestral Guardian subclass, so I gain the Ancestral Protectors feature (XGtE, p. 10): While ...
6
votes
1answer
394 views

What happens if a Cavalier fighter or their mount is knocked prone?

The rules for mounted combat (PHB, p. 198) give direction in the following cases: Mount moved against its will: rider makes Dex save vs falling off and landing prone Rider knocked prone: rider makes ...
0
votes
0answers
65 views

when do I attack i can choose attack with offhand? [duplicate]

when do I attack an normal action i can choose attack with offhand? looks a little weird an fighter dual wielder attack 4 times with one hand and just one with offhand
1
vote
0answers
102 views

How does the action economy for a hasted Fighter using action surge work in DND 5e? [duplicate]

My player's fighter has just reached 11th level, He duel wields Scimitars. On his normal attack action, he gets 3 attacks plus one additional attack for his bonus action. If he then decides to use ...
-8
votes
3answers
162 views

Can an Arcane Archer fighter's Shadow Arrow be used like a Wand of Enemy Detection?

Magic exists which can divine the intentions of other creatures toward me. For instance, the description of the wand of enemy detection magic item says, in part: While holding it, you can use an ...
6
votes
2answers
304 views

Does the Arcane Archer's Shadow Arrow inhibit blindsight, tremorsense, and/or truesight?

Shadow Arrow: You weave illusion magic into your arrow, causing it to occlude your foe’s vision with shadows. The creature hit by the arrow takes an extra 2d6 psychic damage, and it must succeed on a ...
10
votes
2answers
474 views

Does the Piercing Arrow of a multiclassed Arcane Archer fighter/Assassin rogue crit against surprised creatures?

My character has 3 levels in Fighter and chose the Arcane Archer archetype. That allows him to use the Arcane Shot option Piercing Arrow (XGtE, p. 29): Piercing Arrow. You use transmutation magic to ...
3
votes
1answer
208 views

Can an Echo Knight fighter with two echoes created by the Legion of One feature move both echoes 30 feet each on the same turn?

Upon reaching 18th level, the Echo Knight fighter gains the Legion of One feature, whose description says in part (EGtW, p. 184): You can use a bonus action to create two echoes with your Manifest ...
4
votes
2answers
695 views

Can you use combat maneuvers on attacks granted by Polearm Master but not made with the Attack action?

Been enjoying the Battle Master Fighter, but have a question about use of maneuvres with the two parts of Polearm Master: Polearm Master You can keep your enemies at bay with reach weapons. You gain ...
8
votes
1answer
333 views

Can the Lucky feat be used on attacks made against an Echo Knight's Echo?

So, the question is regarding the Lucky Feats 2nd use. You can also spend one luck point when an attack roll is made against you. Roll a d20, and then choose whether the attack uses the attacker’s ...
19
votes
5answers
3k views

How can I consistently deal bludgeoning damage with DEX, WIS, INT, CHA?

Inspired by the newly introduced UA I am considering an build where my character randomly gets into a "precision-flow". So I aim for critical chance, high number of attacks and advantage. ...
2
votes
1answer
242 views

Given several restrictions, what's the highest amount of ranged attacks a fighter can make in one turn consistently?

I've been working on a 20th level character concept for a while and trying to optimize it for use in a future game, the requirements would be as follows: Only 3.X WotC handbooks (No 3rd party books, ...
2
votes
1answer
95 views

Grappling strike fighter power with brawler style - attack roll bonus

I (the DM) have a player with a level 11 fighter (brawler style). She uses the power "Grappling strike" (Martial Power 2 p7) with a bastard sword (+2), and we disagree on bonuses to attack ...
2
votes
3answers
276 views

Is there a Monk or Fighter subclass similar to the Black Butler character? [closed]

The Black Butler anime series centers around a bodyguard / butler with, shall we say, a demonic flair. I would love to play a similar class in our upcoming Avernus campaign (say a subclass of fighter ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

What happens after an Echo Knight fighter grapples using its echo?

This question occurred to me after reading another one: Can the Echo Knight's Echo make Ability Checks? That question asks whether the Echo Knight fighter's echo can make ability checks. A ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Can the Echo Knight's Echo make Ability Checks?

In the Echo Knight subclass it states that the Echo "uses your saving throw bonus for [saving throws]", but says nothing about being able to make ability checks with the Echo. I'm primarily concerned ...
9
votes
4answers
2k views

Can an Echo Knight move its echo vertically or through walls?

The Echo Knight archetype of the fighter class has the ability to manifest an echo of the knight. The Manifest Echo feature includes the following text (Explorer's Guide to Wildemount, p. 183): You ...
1
vote
1answer
493 views

Does the Echo Knight fighter's Manifest Echo feature create a snapshot of the character when creating it, or does it change as the Echo Knight does?

The Echo Knight fighter's Manifest Echo feature (Explorer's Guide to Wildemount, p. 183) lets you "manifest an echo of yourself". Does Manifest Echo create a snapshot of the character when creating ...
8
votes
1answer
605 views

Is an Echo Knight fighter's “echo” a tangible object, for the purpose of physical interaction?

The Explorer's Guide to Wildemount sourcebook contains a new Fighter subclass, the Echo Knight. Echo Knights have the ability to summon an "echo" of themselves; per the overall subclass description (p....
1
vote
1answer
157 views

What would be a “good” build for a dual weapon battlemaster half-orc? [closed]

I've started playing DnD for the first time two months ago (hey, coronavirus). My character is a half-orc fighter, currently level 3. His attributes are STR 19, DEX 14, CON 16, INT 9, WISDOM 10, CHA ...
4
votes
2answers
765 views

RAW can a Eldritch Knight 9/Wizard 2 multiclass cast/learn 3rd level spells? [duplicate]

Title is the main question, loosely an extension of a previous question I'd asked about Eldritch Knight/Wizard multiclass and their access to spells. Note: I'm NOT asking if the proposed character of ...

1
2 3 4 5
8