Questions tagged [fighter]

For questions about a the fighter class or character archetype that commonly appears in RPGs. The fighter is typically a skilled martial warrior.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
0answers
125 views

Is Superiority Dice Damage Doubled Due To Assassinate? [duplicate]

Critical hits double all the dice rolls. Since Superiority Dice are dice rolls too, do they get doubled on a crit? That is, if a Fighter attacks, rolls a 20, and decides to use a combat maneuver, do ...
5
votes
1answer
207 views

Is there any way to change my realm of magic?

I am currently participating in a MERP campaign in which I play a 3rd level fighter.When I generated said Fighter I researched spellcasting. Fighters can only learn very low level spells and have to ...
2
votes
3answers
9k views

What magic items are good to add non-combat versatility at high levels for a fighter?

My Sylph Mythic Champion 1/Fighter 7 (using the Mutation Warrior archetype) is having trouble deciding on good magical items to help them survive coming up on level 10 and high-end content. This is an ...
3
votes
1answer
532 views

Improving crit chance for a non-evil fighter

I'm looking to build a fighter that fights with a scythe and want to maximize his crit and damage, with more crit then damage if they conflict at any point. I read that the best thing out there for a ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Dual Wielder let an Eldritch Knight summon two bonded weapons?

Background I'm trying to make a master thrower character, and the fighter class seems to be the best option. However, since thrown weapons don't follow the same rules as ammo-based weapons, I've been ...
5
votes
2answers
903 views

Which fighter weapon groups grant weapons additional abilities?

I have been reading the rules for creating new weapons and I cant seem to find something that the rules talk about. Fighter Weapon Group: You must choose the fighter weapon group (or groups) to ...
0
votes
2answers
2k views

How to build an Elf Warpriest in Pathfinder? [closed]

Our DM wants to start a new campaign in Eberron. I want to build an Elf Warpriest since all the Asian weapons are up (only for Elves)1. Which feats should I pick for fighting with a katana (...
3
votes
1answer
94 views

Does Sure Strike damage include the value from the damage workspace?

Sure Strike seems to be the only Fighter action with 1[W] for the hit formula. Does this mean that the damage workspace value is not applied? My character's damage workspace value is 8. When I ...
3
votes
1answer
710 views

If I have -2 Intelligence modifier, do I get zero skill points if I take a level in Fighter? [duplicate]

I rolled a -2 Int mod on a level 1 fighter today and if i'm not mistaken that leaves me with 0 starting skill ranks, correct?
11
votes
1answer
9k views

Does a Critical Hit when tripping also double the Superiority die? [duplicate]

During our game, the fighter PC rolled a critical hit. After he made the critical hit, he wanted to use a superiority die to trip the enemy. Based on the below rules, is the superiority die also ...
9
votes
3answers
239 views

What are the parameters for counting as a solid object or not?

Dungeoncrasher Alternative Class Feature states: If you force an opponent to move into a wall or other solid object, he stops as normal. A wall is a no-brainer. Solid object, however, is a little ...
15
votes
1answer
52k views

Is the Purple Dragon Knight archetype as underpowered as it looks?

The Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide includes a new martial archetype for fighters, the Purple Knight of Cormyr. Comparing its traits to the fighter archetypes in the PHB, it seems really underpowered. ...
4
votes
4answers
519 views

How do I protect my squishy friends from ranged attackers?

I'm playing in a 13th Age campaign as a tank. She's a Fighter built to deal moderate damage, but have lots of hit points and good PD/AC. I have the ability that gives enemies −4 to disengage, and I ...
4
votes
2answers
6k views

Can the Battle Master fighter's Know Your Enemy feature be used repeatedly on the same target?

The Battle Master fighter's 7th-level feature Know Your Enemy (PHB, p. 73-74) allows them to spend a minute of noncombat interaction with someone to determine relative values (higher, lower, or equal ...
10
votes
2answers
14k views

Can fighter use Commander's strike when he only has one attack?

Question is about Battle Master maneuver. From PHB (74): Commander's Strike. When you take the Attack action on your turn, you can forgo one of your attacks and use a bonus action to direct one ...
64
votes
7answers
17k views

How are Fighters Linear but Wizards Quadratic?

The phrase "Linear Fighters, Quadratic Wizards" gets bandied about a lot, but I've found I don't have a good way to explain it to newer players. The tier system post has some examples of how wizards ...
18
votes
5answers
6k views

Can an Eldritch Knight use the bonus-action attack granted by War Magic before casting the spell as an action?

A Fighter with the Eldritch Knight martial archetype gets the feature War magic at 7th level (and Improved War Magic at 18th level). The War Magic feature (PHB, p. 75) states: Beginning at 7th ...
16
votes
1answer
3k views

Can other party members wield a warlock's pact weapon?

Lets say the group's Great Weapon Fighter and Bladelock have their weapons confiscated. Can the Warlock call his pact weapon and, assuming it is the type of weapon the Fighter uses mostly, give it to ...
14
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a Fighter use their Action Surge while Surprised to get an Action?

I was reading Rules Answers: November 2015 | Dungeons & Dragons and in the Combat section and someone had asked "Does surprise happen outside the initiative order as a special surprise round?". ...
10
votes
4answers
32k views

How can I move an enemy?

In close combat I often want to flip or trip enemies across my body. For instance last night I wanted to flip an enemy that was in front of me into a fire that was burning behind me. This seems in the ...
19
votes
4answers
10k views

Can the Eldritch Knight bond with his shield?

Basically title. I'm a shield master who frequently uses his shield to slam people down prone. I want to minimize my chances of having my shield taken away from me. Jeremy Crawford states something ...
8
votes
2answers
4k views

Can Battle Master's maneuvering attack choose to move the Battle Master (self) who is using the maneuver?

Taken from the Player's Handbook (p. 74) Maneuvering Attack. When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can expend one superiority die to maneuver one of your comrades into a more ...
-5
votes
1answer
2k views

Champion Fighter's Remarkable Athlete and Hit Point Calculation

The Champion Fighter's Remarkable Athlete ability states: add half your proficiency bonus (round up) to any Strength, Dexterity, or Constitution check you make that doesn't already use your ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

How does the Phalanx Soldier ability work with 2 handed weapons and power attack?

The Phalanx Soldier archetype for fighters gains the following ability At 3rd level, when a phalanx soldier wields a shield, he can use any polearm or spear of his size as a one-handed weapon. ...
22
votes
3answers
3k views

Can you make a weapon bond with an improvised weapon?

The Eldritch Knight Fighter archetype has the ability Weapon Bond where they bond with a weapon, making it summonable and you cannot be disarmed of it. My question is, can you make a bond with an ...
9
votes
1answer
6k views

How does a Battle Master's Parry work with multiple damage types? [duplicate]

Suppose an attack does 5 piercing and 5 poison damage (or 5 slashing and 5 fire, etc.) and the player parries the attack, and rolls to reduce 6 points of damage. Which type of damage is reduced first?...
4
votes
1answer
7k views

Eldritch Knight/Warlock multiclass spellcasting

If a Fighter 3 (Eldritch Knight) levels up as a Warlock for the rest of the way to 20, making him an 18th level caster according to the multiclass spell slot table provided, would he in turn be able ...
20
votes
3answers
7k views

Can I switch out my Level 1 any-school spell as an Arcane Trickster or Eldritch Knight?

The Arcane Trickster gains access to Wizard spells, primarily limited to the enchantment and illusion schools of magic. Four of the spells he knows can come from any school, however: one of his ...
5
votes
3answers
4k views

How many weapons should I have and how many attacks should I list on my character sheet?

Fairly new to D&D and my question relates to what should be listed on my character sheet for weapons in equipment and what attacks should be listed. Given a Fighter's Equipment listing under ...
13
votes
2answers
12k views

Can more than one Battle Master maneuver be used in the same attack?

Some of the battle master maneuvers can be used whenever you make a weapon attack. My question is, could I use multiple superiority dice and do multiple maneuvers with a single strike?
6
votes
3answers
934 views

As a level 4 Barbarian/Level 16 Fighter how many total ability point increases does my character receive?

I calculate it as seven 1 from Barbarian level 4 and then 6 from 16 levels in Fighter "When you reach 4th level, and again at 6th, 8th, 12th, 14th, 16th, and 19th level" Someone keeps telling me it's ...
5
votes
2answers
934 views

Is this battlemaster houserule balanced?

I don't like the fact that a battlemaster can burn through his superiority dice in the first two rounds, and is forced to wait until the next short rest to use them again. So I'm considering the ...
7
votes
2answers
5k views

Do bonuses from proficiency and Fighting Style stack?

One of the pregen fighters in the Starter Set has proficiency in simple & martial weapons, giving a +2 bonus, but also has the Archery fighting style, giving a +2 bonus. I don't see these added ...
19
votes
2answers
16k views

Can an Eldritch Knight fighter throw a bonded weapon, then summon it to their hand, and throw it again?

Consider an Eldritch Knight fighter that has a bonded thrown weapon. Once the Knight gets Extra Attack, can they throw the weapon, use a bonus action to retrieve it, and then throw it again? Or does ...
26
votes
8answers
89k views

Does an Action Surge grant a second bonus action?

We were trying to understand how the "Action Surge" rule works, and after some discussion we came to a standstill. Starting at 2nd level, you can push yourself beyond your normal limits for a ...
2
votes
2answers
413 views

Does Backswing work with double weapons?

Backswing (Ex): At 7th level, when a two-handed fighter makes a full attack with a two-handed weapon, he adds double his Strength bonus on damage rolls for all attacks after the first. All double ...
2
votes
1answer
4k views

How many times can a Fighter hit while using Two Weapon Fighting, Extra Attack and Action Surge on the same turn? [duplicate]

I've come to multiple conclusions while reading how these three mechanics work in conjunction with one another. I see ways to argue that one might be able to attack up to 6 different times in one turn....
4
votes
1answer
708 views

Can the Battle Master's “Manoeuvring Strike” move an ally in any direction?

Taken from the Player's Handbook (p. 74) Manoeuvring Attack. When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can expend one superiority die to manoeuvre one of your comrades into a more ...
6
votes
1answer
14k views

How does Fighter Strength work in Advanced Dungeons & Dragons 2nd Edition and Baldur's Gate Enhanced Edition?

I'm currently playing Baldur's Gate: Enhanced Edition, which uses a modified version of AD&D 2nd edition. Please note that even though it's a modified version, most of the modifications were made ...
5
votes
2answers
4k views

Level 1 fighter seems over powered

I have a level 1 fighter who can do a ridiculous amount of damage and easily fight monsters with CR of two or three. I am completely new to pathfinder so I feel that I might be calculating some damage ...
4
votes
2answers
277 views

Can brawler fighters sustain grabs from their powers?

The brawler fighter attack powers that enable grabbing contain the following line: ... The grab ends automatically at the end of your next turn. Can players sustain these grabs with a minor action ...
37
votes
4answers
64k views

Is an Unarmed Strike considered a Weapon attack?

For the purposes of the fighter Battle Master archetype, whenever a maneuver calls for a "weapon attack" does that include an unarmed strike?
21
votes
4answers
31k views

Can a fighter two-weapon fight unarmed?

I want to make a fighter whose primary weapons are his unarmed attacks using the Tavern Brawler feat. If I take the Two Weapon Fighting style would that work with 2 unarmed strikes? In the weapons ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Improved unarmed strike damage bonus?

My character is a level 1 fighter with improved unarmed strike and I just wanted to know if that makes his damage 1D6 rather than 1D3 because I was told that it does but everywhere I've looked all it ...
3
votes
2answers
5k views

How can I specialize in tripping/disarming people with a spiked chain?

I'd like to make my fighter character better; my goal is to focus on tripping, but reach, more damage, and disarming would also be good improvements. He's a level 2 human, with the Improved Trip, ...
40
votes
2answers
91k views

How many attacks can a fighter with two-weapon fighting make at 5th level?

I have a 5th level fighter with the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style. What is the number of attacks I can make? I say 4 attacks, but others say 3 because they say the rule on page 72 states that ...
18
votes
4answers
13k views

Does Great Weapon Fighting allow extra damage from a Battle Master fighter's Superiority Dice to be rerolled? [duplicate]

Great Weapon Fighting states: When you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an attack you make with a melee weapon that you are wielding with two hands, you can reroll the die and must use the new ...
10
votes
4answers
1k views

How can I make fighters and monks better in 3.5e D&D?

So I'm planning to DM a 3.5e D&D game for casual non-optimizing people in a setting I'm creating. In this setting, the base classes I've retained are Fighter, Monk, Wizard, Sorcerer, Cleric, ...
19
votes
1answer
9k views

Are Battle Master maneuvers usable once per attack, or per attack action?

It says in the PHB that you can use only one maneuver per attack. If that's per attack, not per attack action, that seems somewhat powerful, since after 5th level you get multiple attacks per attack ...
2
votes
2answers
177 views

Can I interrupt a charge with Combat Challenge?

An enemy who has a mark from Combat Challenge is adjacent to my fighter and attempts to charge a distant enemy. Combat Challenge says that I can get an attack as an immediate interrupt whenever "an ...