Questions tagged [grapple]

For questions about grappling — wrestling, or engaging in unarmed, nonlethal combat where the goal is often to incapacitate, restrain, or pin rather than kill one's opponent. Some systems may also refer to this as grabbing.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3 votes
1 answer
125 views

Do you need a free hand to MAINTAIN a grapple in 5e? [duplicate]

Do you need a free hand to MAINTAIN a grapple in 5e? https://rpgbot.net/dnd5/characters/grapple/ I'm trying to find the RAW definition for this but so far I can't find any confirmation. I found that ...
Zarkos's user avatar
  • 1,150
3 votes
1 answer
30 views

How does a Clinch affect DVs in Scion 1E?

Hero (pg 202) gives the stats for lots of weapons, including the three flavors of unarmed attack, which further includes the Clinch/grapple, the subject of this question. However, instead of listing a ...
Elliot's user avatar
  • 2,660
10 votes
4 answers
3k views

Does being swallowed end a grapple?

If you grapple a creature, then the creature swallows you, is the creature still grappled or does it end the grappled condition? Scenario: A creature (say, a giant toad) grapples me, then I grapple ...
Dfvx990mq321pl's user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
32 views

Is Aura of Liberation hampered from actually working to escape a grapple or restraint? [duplicate]

The Aura of Liberation feature of the Oath of the Open Sea from Tal’dorei Campaign Setting: Reborn says: Creatures that are already grappled or restrained when they enter the aura can spend 5 feet of ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 3,573
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

Was the grab ability nerfed? If so, which version is supposed to be used?

Archives of Nethys lists the Grab ability twice in the Creature Abilities section. The first one says: Requirements The monster's last action was a success with a Strike that lists Grab in its damage ...
Pyrotechnical's user avatar
10 votes
3 answers
2k views

Is there a way to grapple as a bonus action without attacking first?

I know there are some ways to grapple as a bonus action (like with the feat Tavern Brawler and the maneuver Grappling Strike), but I was wondering if there was a way to grapple as a bonus action ...
The Man's user avatar
  • 613
8 votes
3 answers
1k views

Intercepting a grappled Bite Swallow attack in place of an ally with Vigilant Guardian: What happens?

Let's use a Giant Toad as an example: Bite. The target is grappled, escape dc 13 Until this grapple ends, the target is restrained, and the toad can't bite another target Swallow. The toad makes one ...
VoiceChatty's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
971 views

Is a dead creature inside a Shambling Mound still Engulfed?

I was playing in a game where there was a shambling mound and after engulfing a creature and killing it, the creature goes about its turn and engulfs a second person. The DM didn't specify anything ...
ItsScottish's user avatar
  • 1,129
6 votes
5 answers
2k views

Grappling and disarming - when and why (or why not)?

I wonder if I am missing something or failing to understand the rules. Please, can someone explain to me: When and why should someone use disarming and grappling in a melee fight? Or why not at every ...
Flynxer's user avatar
  • 668
9 votes
1 answer
238 views

Can Abrupt Jaunt take me out of a grapple?

I have a question after a combat with animated furniture: I have the ability Abrupt Jaunt Wizard specialist ability from PHB2: Abrupt Jaunt (conjuration): You teleport up to 10 feet. Activating this ...
Kark's user avatar
  • 91
5 votes
1 answer
680 views

Could you grapple a creature with the Thri-Kreen's Secondary Arms?

The secondary arms feature lists a bunch of things your secondary arms can do, but not what they can't. Does this mean that they can do and qualify for anything that requires a free hand or not? The ...
defmod's user avatar
  • 708
3 votes
3 answers
289 views

Can I use Watery Sphere to escape a grapple?

I'm theorizing a use of a spell to get out of grapple/restrain, for potential use in upcoming game. I'm playing a Warforged Artificer/Wizard and have low STR. When I am restrained by a grapple, if I ...
James Ficken's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
684 views

Will paralyzing a grappler break the grapple?

Assume you're grappled but you have a melee attack that can cause the paralyzed condition. If you successfully paralyze your grappler, will that break the grapple? Paralysis causes someone to be ...
gto's user avatar
  • 5,166
2 votes
1 answer
60 views

Does Trox Grappling Appendages stack damage?

I am in a campaign with a trox brawler and am wondering about clarification for the trox ability grabbing appendages. If the trox can maintain grapple and still make an attack roll, does that mean ...
Adam's user avatar
  • 21
3 votes
2 answers
577 views

Can you use two weapon fighting while maintaining a grapple?

Grappling just says you must use at least one free hand to initiate a grapple. But once you have successfully grappled a target, can you then engage in two-weapon fighting against that target? Or do ...
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 7,947
2 votes
1 answer
288 views

Do Grapple Checks Ignore or Include attack Modifiers?

Theory Crafting optimization time: Your attack bonus on a grapple check is: Base attack bonus + Strength modifier + special size modifier Is this a complete replacement of the attack modifier system ...
Play Patrice's user avatar
  • 4,942
4 votes
2 answers
807 views

How does one Calculate Dual Variable Probability?

Or asked another way: How do we determine the probability of given grapple to succeed? In DnD 3.5 the grapple mechanic relies on double variable randomness in order to determine success or failure. ...
Play Patrice's user avatar
  • 4,942
2 votes
1 answer
265 views

Is it a viable tactic to use a flurry of blows monk to mass grapple a single target?

Can anyone help illustrate or explain the statistical advantages or disadvantages in using flurry of blows to make multiple grapple attempts against a target in the hopes of overwhelming them and &...
Play Patrice's user avatar
  • 4,942
1 vote
1 answer
433 views

Can a Harengon take a grappled creature with them when they use Rabbit Hop?

If a Harengon character grapples a target and then uses Rabbit Hop, can they drag/carry the target with them? If they can, is the distance of the hop halved like regular movement would be?
PseudoDruid's user avatar
  • 1,221
6 votes
3 answers
611 views

Fall damage from being dropped by a Large creature

Simple question this time. Or maybe not. If I am a Large creature, i.e. over 10 feet tall, I am going to grapple someone and (assuming I succeed) pick them up. If I hold them up to the level of my ...
pestival's user avatar
  • 400
6 votes
3 answers
458 views

Statting a wall-defense military fork

The party is making their way through my 5e conversion of the classic D-series. They are about to come upon a high, battlemented wall being defended by drow troopers armed with military forks. The ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 48.2k
4 votes
3 answers
711 views

Potential complications from allowing Arms of the Astral Self to interact with Grapple Rules via feats?

Preface My earlier question led to a definitive RAW answer proving that Arms of the Astral Self can't be used for grappling, even if a feat like Tavern Brawler gave you a grapple check bonus action ...
TheFallen0ne's user avatar
  • 4,007
6 votes
3 answers
1k views

Tavern Brawler + Arms of the Astral Self + Grappler = 10' Grapples/Pins?

Am I correct that specific beats general in this use-case, or is there an interaction/exclusion I'm overlooking that prevents this scene from playing as described? If I'm correct, what rules ...
TheFallen0ne's user avatar
  • 4,007
3 votes
1 answer
583 views

Moonbeam + grappling to move an enemy in and out in the same turn? [duplicate]

For reference, Moonbeam: When a creature enters the spell's area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, it is engulfed in ghostly flames that cause searing pain, and it must make a ...
Jarno Porkka's user avatar
  • 1,139
7 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can Tempestuous Magic break a grapple?

A Storm Sorcerer's Tempestuous Magic allows: Starting at 1st level, you can use a bonus action on your turn to cause whirling gusts of elemental air to briefly surround you, immediately before or ...
nonymous's user avatar
  • 1,708
3 votes
1 answer
180 views

Does forced movement free someone from telekenesis' grip?

I was thinking about a team that was pushing and pulling folks into hazards. I'm wondering if an eldritch blast that pushes the enemy will synergize with a teammate using the telekenesis spell, or if ...
Epydemic2020's user avatar
1 vote
3 answers
991 views

In the One D&D Character Origins Playtest, does a grapple end if you shove the grappler away from you?

Say Alice grapples Bob. Bob then shoves Alice and pushes them 5 feet away. Which of the following occurs? A. The shove pushes the grappler out of range, breaking the grapple. B. Alice drags Bob with ...
user avatar
2 votes
3 answers
211 views

Can the Soulmonger's Tentacles grab & drop a creature into lava the same turn?

In the Tomb of Annihilation adventure, one of the last encounters is against the Soulmonger, a cylindric evil artifact suspended over lava by three adamantine struts. The artifact can defend itself ...
Guillaume F.'s user avatar
  • 9,896
8 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can Monks Use Dex to grapple and shove under the One D&D Character Origins UA?

The Character Origins UA makes Grapple and Shove an Unarmed Strike, which makes sense: UNARMED STRIKE An Unarmed Strike is a melee attack that involves you using your body to damage,...
J. A. Streich's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

Does the plasmoid's Amorphous trait grant advantage on ability checks made to avoid being grappled?

The Plasmoid's Amorphous trait (from Ch. 1 of the Astral Adventurer's Guide in Spelljammer: Adventures in Space) says, in part: [...] You have advantage on ability checks you make to initiate or ...
gto's user avatar
  • 5,166
8 votes
2 answers
811 views

What happens to a grappler when their haste effect ends? In the air?

This happened last night in our session and we couldn't find a conclusive answer: An NPC is grappling a polymorphed PC in the air (the PC polymorphed into a Quetzalcoatlus, and we didn't at the time ...
Charles Dimino's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
3k views

Does a Shove or a Grapple count as an "unarmed strike" for purposes of a Monk using a bonus action for a martial arts attack?

The Monk's Martial Arts ability says: When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon on your turn, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action. The Grapple and Shove ...
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 7,947
8 votes
2 answers
878 views

Does a bugbear's reach revert to normal between multiple consecutive attacks?

A bugbear's long-limbed trait says When you make a melee attack on your turn, your reach for it is 5 feet greater than normal. Suppose the bugbear has multiple attacks on its attack actions and ...
pyrocrasty's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
492 views

Can the Echo Knight's Echo's size dictate what it can grapple?

This question assumes your table rules that the echo of the echo knight can grapple. Purely RAW, I would not ask this. Say you are a medium creature and you want to grapple something gargantuan, like ...
Azalea's user avatar
  • 135
1 vote
1 answer
5k views

Does grappling a prone creature effectively create the restrained condition?

I need some clarification. I’m playing a barbarian (5e), Path of the Storm Wielder (Journey to Ragnarok) level 5 as of now. If he uses an attack action to shove an opponent prone (and wins the ...
Nattyone's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
350 views

Can a grappled creature attack the grappler's appendage if the grappler is out of the grappled creature's reach? [duplicate]

This question has been answered by a Jeremy Crawford tweet here, but it is my understanding that those rulings are not valid here, so I'm hoping to find an answer in the game rules themselves. To use ...
Sten's user avatar
  • 346
4 votes
1 answer
663 views

Can an Echo Knight's Echo use a weapon with two hands if the Knight is grappling?

I am about to play an Echo Knight in a game, and have been doing my research. The gist of my understanding is that Echoes are unable to make grappling checks, and I am prepared to work with this. The ...
Huskarl Pearce's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
401 views

How are armor spikes used in a grapple?

Armor spikes' page says: Armor spikes deal extra piercing damage (see “spiked armor” on Table: Weapons) on a successful grapple attack. The spikes count as a martial weapon. Which seems to imply ...
hamburgerpls's user avatar
  • 1,698
8 votes
1 answer
718 views

Can animal companion use grapple in Pathfinder 2e?

Rules of grapple state: Requirements You have at least one free hand or have your target grappled or restrained. Your target isn't more than one size larger than you. Obviously, animals don't have ...
Sarge's user avatar
  • 2,560
6 votes
2 answers
13k views

What are the mechanics for attacking a creature grappled by someone else?

I've successfully grappled a creature. What are the mechanics for someone else attacking said creature? Do they get advantage on the attack? Is there a higher chance that they hit me? Or do I just ...
Trevor Dangberg's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
306 views

Can an attacker with Greater Grapple or Rapid Grapple make a full attack action?

This is specifically for Pathfinder 1e. So, I haven't been able to find the exact answer I'm looking for. I'm a Druid with two ranks in Brawler (technically, it's a home brew Brawler called Beastial ...
Mynock1108's user avatar
10 votes
3 answers
2k views

Does The Amazing Lightspeed Grapple Relay work, RAW?

Inspired by Does The Amazing Lightspeed Horse work, RAW? I thought up a different exploit and I hope someone can find a RAW flaw in it. N Medium humanoids have gathered on an arbitrarily long field, ...
yesennes's user avatar
  • 462
2 votes
0 answers
132 views

Can I push myself away from me? [duplicate]

In their extensive comments on this answer, V2Blast explains that including yourself in the area of effect of a thunderwave is possible, but asks, perhaps rhetorically, why one would ever want to. ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 48.2k
2 votes
0 answers
37 views

Is it a free action for a monster to release a grapple? [duplicate]

Here's the scenario that elicited this question. A Roc swoops in and lands a Talon attack, which grapples the target on hit. Roc flies up with remaining movement and then, as a free action, releases ...
Trekkie's user avatar
  • 1,938
10 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can Bigby's Hand / Arcane Hand lift an object?

Arcane Hand has a lot of text. Among it, it says: It has a Strength of 26 (+8) When you cast the spell and as a Bonus Action on your subsequent turns, you can move the hand up to 60 feet and then ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
4k views

How does variant encumbrance affect monsters like Grells?

I'm running a game with variant encumbrance, and I'm wondering how the monsters would be affected. Obviously, heavily armed and armoured enemies would be hampered, but what about "drug and drag&...
BigBurgerBoy's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
679 views

Does Goliath Beast Barbarian synergize with Tavern Brawler feat as well as I think? [duplicate]

I'm considering playing a Goliath barbarian, Path of the Beast. As I've played mostly arcanists since D&D 3.0, and when I DMed I trusted my players with their PC rules, I'm having a bit of a ...
Mołot's user avatar
  • 23.6k
3 votes
0 answers
69 views

Does the weight of the grapplee factor into the speed the grappler can drag them? [duplicate]

Does the weight of the grapplee (the one being grappled) factor into the speed the grappler can drag them? Or conversely, is a low strength grappler limited by their dragging/listing capacity when ...
AncientSwordRage's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
335 views

Does escaping a concealed grappler require a flat check?

Suppose your character is grappled by a creature with the concealed condition. Normally, targeting such a creature with an attack requires a DC 5 flat check. A creature that you're concealed from ...
MikeQ's user avatar
  • 31.5k
8 votes
2 answers
855 views

If someone is knocked unconscious by a Mind Flayer's tentacles and grappled, then healed, do they still make a saving throw against being stunned?

This seems to be a fairly unusual situation and I have not been able to find a ruling. The description of the Mind Flayer's Tentacles attack states, in part: [...] If the target is Medium or smaller, ...
Roenith's user avatar
  • 81

1
2 3 4 5
10