Skip to main content

Questions tagged [grapple]

For questions about grappling — wrestling, or engaging in unarmed, nonlethal combat where the goal is often to incapacitate, restrain, or pin rather than kill one's opponent. Some systems may also refer to this as grabbing.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
36 votes
5 answers
7k views

Can a prone grappler both stand and move the same turn?

It's clear how a creature both grappled and prone can stand - they can't. But what about the one doing the grapple? Assuming both grappler (speed of 60 feet) and grappled are prone*, how does the ...
5 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can an aarakocra grapple using their feet?

Can an aarakocra player character grapple using their feet? I've gotten into debates on this subject. Some (including myself) say that it should be possible to do. However, most - if not all - of the ...
11 votes
3 answers
10k views

How does grappling work in the air?

It seems that RAW a high-flying creature falls the very moment it becomes grappled. The rules for grappling state you subject the target to the grappled condition and the grappled condition is ...
10 votes
2 answers
425 views

How does the Corrosive Form (black pudding) damage work?

The corrosive form trait of black pudding (MM page 241) is as follows: Corrosive Form. A creature that touches the pudding or hits it with a melee attack while within 5 feet of it takes 4 (1 d8) acid ...
11 votes
2 answers
1k views

If a Path of the Giant barbarian is grappled, does that count as 'not enough room to grow'?

For example, if my barbarian fairy is grappled by a small or smaller enemy, will raging free me, or is there not enough room to get bigger?
6 votes
1 answer
591 views

Can the Echo Knight's Echo's size dictate what it can grapple?

This question assumes your table rules that the echo of the echo knight can grapple. Purely RAW, I would not ask this. Say you are a medium creature and you want to grapple something gargantuan, like ...
-4 votes
2 answers
382 views

Can I grapple someone's mouth shut if they're 2 inches (50.8 mm) tall and I'm 3.3866 mm tall?

First, I'm going to answer why I'm 3.3866 mm tall to answer the foreseeable questions I'll get from this. I'm in a campaign where the party was shrunk down 30 times, making 5 feet equivalent to 2 ...
4 votes
3 answers
10k views

Can a Way of the Astral Self monk grapple with its Arms of the Astral Self?

In the Unearthed Arcana version of the Way of the Astral Self, the monk's Astral Arms were treated as monk weapons. Under that wording, the monk probably couldn't grapple/shove with them because ...
7 votes
3 answers
647 views

Statting a wall-defense military fork

The party is making their way through my 5e conversion of the classic D-series. They are about to come upon a high, battlemented wall being defended by drow troopers armed with military forks. The ...
8 votes
3 answers
796 views

Fall damage from being dropped by a Large creature

Simple question this time. Or maybe not. If I am a Large creature, i.e. over 10 feet tall, I am going to grapple someone and (assuming I succeed) pick them up. If I hold them up to the level of my ...
5 votes
2 answers
320 views

Grapple Shove or Shove Grapple?

In D&D 5e which is more efficient? This came up as a discussion mostly because I've always seen this combo written out as "Grapple+Shove" and maybe it's just because it sounds better ...
4 votes
2 answers
580 views

Can a Harengon take a grappled creature with them when they use Rabbit Hop?

If a Harengon character grapples a target and then uses Rabbit Hop, can they drag/carry the target with them? If they can, is the distance of the hop halved like regular movement would be?
3 votes
1 answer
272 views

Do you need a free hand to MAINTAIN a grapple in 5e? [duplicate]

Do you need a free hand to MAINTAIN a grapple in 5e? https://rpgbot.net/dnd5/characters/grapple/ I'm trying to find the RAW definition for this but so far I can't find any confirmation. I found that ...
3 votes
1 answer
36 views

How does a Clinch affect DVs in Scion 1E?

Hero (pg 202) gives the stats for lots of weapons, including the three flavors of unarmed attack, which further includes the Clinch/grapple, the subject of this question. However, instead of listing a ...
6 votes
2 answers
997 views

Is a dead creature inside a Shambling Mound still Engulfed?

I was playing in a game where there was a shambling mound and after engulfing a creature and killing it, the creature goes about its turn and engulfs a second person. The DM didn't specify anything ...
17 votes
2 answers
19k views

Does shoving a creature break its grapple on another?

A situation came up in my session where a fighter used his Shield Master Shove feature to shove a Giant Crocodile that was currently restraining another PC using it's bite+grapple ability. I did a ...
7 votes
3 answers
1k views

Tavern Brawler + Arms of the Astral Self + Grappler = 10' Grapples/Pins?

Am I correct that specific beats general in this use-case, or is there an interaction/exclusion I'm overlooking that prevents this scene from playing as described? If I'm correct, what rules ...
13 votes
4 answers
14k views

Can you grapple-drag someone out of a grapple?

You are grappled by an enemy. You cannot move (Grappled Condition), though he could move you. Moving a Grappled Creature. When you move, you can drag or carry the grappled creature with you, but ...
10 votes
4 answers
4k views

Does being swallowed end a grapple?

If you grapple a creature, then the creature swallows you, is the creature still grappled or does it end the grappled condition? Scenario: A creature (say, a giant toad) grapples me, then I grapple ...
1 vote
0 answers
32 views

Is Aura of Liberation hampered from actually working to escape a grapple or restraint? [duplicate]

The Aura of Liberation feature of the Oath of the Open Sea from Tal’dorei Campaign Setting: Reborn says: Creatures that are already grappled or restrained when they enter the aura can spend 5 feet of ...
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

Was the grab ability nerfed? If so, which version is supposed to be used?

Archives of Nethys lists the Grab ability twice in the Creature Abilities section. The first one says: Requirements The monster's last action was a success with a Strike that lists Grab in its damage ...
10 votes
3 answers
3k views

Is there a way to grapple as a bonus action without attacking first?

I know there are some ways to grapple as a bonus action (like with the feat Tavern Brawler and the maneuver Grappling Strike), but I was wondering if there was a way to grapple as a bonus action ...
8 votes
3 answers
1k views

Intercepting a grappled Bite Swallow attack in place of an ally with Vigilant Guardian: What happens?

Let's use a Giant Toad as an example: Bite. The target is grappled, escape dc 13 Until this grapple ends, the target is restrained, and the toad can't bite another target Swallow. The toad makes one ...
8 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can Monks Use Dex to grapple and shove under the One D&D Character Origins UA?

The Character Origins UA makes Grapple and Shove an Unarmed Strike, which makes sense: UNARMED STRIKE An Unarmed Strike is a melee attack that involves you using your body to damage,...
15 votes
3 answers
2k views

Does the penalty to movement speed while grappling stack if you grapple two opponents?

In 5e, a player who is grappling has their movement speed halved. However, a player with two hands can grapple two opponents. As the wording seems to indicate that the movement speed penalty applies ...
17 votes
5 answers
3k views

Does Grappling Halve Your Remaining Speed?

This question acts as a clarification to another question on this site. Here's the scenario: You have 60' of movement at the start of your turn You move 30' to any direction You grapple someone at ...
11 votes
4 answers
14k views

What happens after an Echo Knight fighter grapples using its echo?

This question occurred to me after reading another one: Can the Echo Knight's Echo make Ability Checks? That question asks whether the Echo Knight fighter's echo can make ability checks. A ...
25 votes
4 answers
10k views

Can I drag a grappled creature and release it after moving half of my speed, then move the remainder of my speed?

The grappling rules state: Moving a Grappled Creature. When you move, you can drag or carry the grappled creature with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller ...
6 votes
5 answers
3k views

Grappling and disarming - when and why (or why not)?

I wonder if I am missing something or failing to understand the rules. Please, can someone explain to me: When and why should someone use disarming and grappling in a melee fight? Or why not at every ...
9 votes
1 answer
254 views

Can Abrupt Jaunt take me out of a grapple?

I have a question after a combat with animated furniture: I have the ability Abrupt Jaunt Wizard specialist ability from PHB2: Abrupt Jaunt (conjuration): You teleport up to 10 feet. Activating this ...
5 votes
1 answer
799 views

Could you grapple a creature with the Thri-Kreen's Secondary Arms?

The secondary arms feature lists a bunch of things your secondary arms can do, but not what they can't. Does this mean that they can do and qualify for anything that requires a free hand or not? The ...
3 votes
3 answers
299 views

Can I use Watery Sphere to escape a grapple?

I'm theorizing a use of a spell to get out of grapple/restrain, for potential use in upcoming game. I'm playing a Warforged Artificer/Wizard and have low STR. When I am restrained by a grapple, if I ...
4 votes
1 answer
795 views

Will paralyzing a grappler break the grapple?

Assume you're grappled but you have a melee attack that can cause the paralyzed condition. If you successfully paralyze your grappler, will that break the grapple? Paralysis causes someone to be ...
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

How do I set DCs for attempted grappling kills?

What would be the DC be for crushing a creature of the same size category to death during a grapple? What about choking another character to death during a grapple? How do I determine DCs and what ...
3 votes
3 answers
222 views

Can the Soulmonger's Tentacles grab & drop a creature into lava the same turn?

In the Tomb of Annihilation adventure, one of the last encounters is against the Soulmonger, a cylindric evil artifact suspended over lava by three adamantine struts. The artifact can defend itself ...
24 votes
4 answers
18k views

Can Bigby's Hand move creatures that are Grappled into the air?

Bigby's hand can grapple via Grasping Hand. This allows: The hand attempts to grapple a Huge or smaller creature within 5 feet of it. You use the hand's Strength score to resolve the grapple. If ...
2 votes
1 answer
63 views

Does Trox Grappling Appendages stack damage?

I am in a campaign with a trox brawler and am wondering about clarification for the trox ability grabbing appendages. If the trox can maintain grapple and still make an attack roll, does that mean ...
4 votes
2 answers
643 views

Can you use two weapon fighting while maintaining a grapple?

Grappling just says you must use at least one free hand to initiate a grapple. But once you have successfully grappled a target, can you then engage in two-weapon fighting against that target? Or do ...
2 votes
1 answer
312 views

Is it a viable tactic to use a flurry of blows monk to mass grapple a single target?

Can anyone help illustrate or explain the statistical advantages or disadvantages in using flurry of blows to make multiple grapple attempts against a target in the hopes of overwhelming them and &...
4 votes
2 answers
813 views

How does one Calculate Dual Variable Probability?

Or asked another way: How do we determine the probability of given grapple to succeed? In DnD 3.5 the grapple mechanic relies on double variable randomness in order to determine success or failure. ...
2 votes
1 answer
338 views

Do Grapple Checks Ignore or Include attack Modifiers?

Theory Crafting optimization time: Your attack bonus on a grapple check is: Base attack bonus + Strength modifier + special size modifier Is this a complete replacement of the attack modifier system ...
4 votes
4 answers
1k views

Improved grab and moving a creature without grapple check

Improved Grab from The MM, page 310 states: When a creature gets a hold after an improved grab attack, it pulls the opponent into its space. This act does not provoke attacks of opportunity. It can ...
11 votes
3 answers
12k views

How does moving a grappled creature work?

Only relevant rule as far as I can tell (pg. 195). Moving a Grappled Creature. When you move, you can drag or carry the grappled creature with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is ...
4 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can I move a grappled creature so that they precede me towards a destination, rather than following behind?

Background In a comment on this answer, user V2Blast suggests that you could circumnavigate* a creature, then push them into a hazard. This would enable moving a grappled creature into a hazard ...
5 votes
3 answers
774 views

Potential complications from allowing Arms of the Astral Self to interact with Grapple Rules via feats?

Preface My earlier question led to a definitive RAW answer proving that Arms of the Astral Self can't be used for grappling, even if a feat like Tavern Brawler gave you a grapple check bonus action ...
3 votes
1 answer
694 views

Moonbeam + grappling to move an enemy in and out in the same turn? [duplicate]

For reference, Moonbeam: When a creature enters the spell's area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, it is engulfed in ghostly flames that cause searing pain, and it must make a ...
7 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can Tempestuous Magic break a grapple?

A Storm Sorcerer's Tempestuous Magic allows: Starting at 1st level, you can use a bonus action on your turn to cause whirling gusts of elemental air to briefly surround you, immediately before or ...
2 votes
3 answers
1k views

In the One D&D Character Origins Playtest, does a grapple end if you shove the grappler away from you?

Say Alice grapples Bob. Bob then shoves Alice and pushes them 5 feet away. Which of the following occurs? A. The shove pushes the grappler out of range, breaking the grapple. B. Alice drags Bob with ...
3 votes
1 answer
185 views

Does forced movement free someone from telekenesis' grip?

I was thinking about a team that was pushing and pulling folks into hazards. I'm wondering if an eldritch blast that pushes the enemy will synergize with a teammate using the telekenesis spell, or if ...
10 votes
2 answers
2k views

If I am grappled by an enemy with 10' + reach, how does our movement work?

Inspired by: If you are grappled by a creature with 10'+ reach, can you make a ranged attack without disadvantage? Also related, but targets a standard 5' reach: When you grapple an enemy, where ...

1
2 3 4 5
10