Skip to main content

Questions tagged [grapple]

For questions about grappling — wrestling, or engaging in unarmed, nonlethal combat where the goal is often to incapacitate, restrain, or pin rather than kill one's opponent. Some systems may also refer to this as grabbing.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0 votes
0 answers
16 views

Does a Battlerager Grapple count as an attack for the purposes of damage resistance/immunities?

Battlerager Armor SCAG p121 When you choose this path at 3rd level, you gain the ability to use spiked armor as a weapon. While you are wearing spiked armor and are raging, you can use a bonus action ...
TheMonkeFist's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
19 views

Is there any way to initiate a grapple from a range?

I like the idea of making a grappling character, but the party I would be making the character for needs some kind of ranged attacker. Is there a way to combine the two concepts and either start ...
Phoenix Duck's user avatar
  • 1,775
10 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does an attack still succeed if the target is immune to the condition?

Working on a homebrew for Battleragers, and here's something about their armor that got me thinking: Battlerager Armor SCAG p121 When you choose this path at 3rd level, you gain the ability to use ...
TheMonkeFist's user avatar
11 votes
2 answers
1k views

If a Path of the Giant barbarian is grappled, does that count as 'not enough room to grow'?

For example, if my barbarian fairy is grappled by a small or smaller enemy, will raging free me, or is there not enough room to get bigger?
Tasi's user avatar
  • 1,665
10 votes
2 answers
443 views

How does the Corrosive Form (black pudding) damage work?

The corrosive form trait of black pudding (MM page 241) is as follows: Corrosive Form. A creature that touches the pudding or hits it with a melee attack while within 5 feet of it takes 4 (1 d8) acid ...
Leonardo's user avatar
  • 933
-4 votes
2 answers
388 views

Can I grapple someone's mouth shut if they're 2 inches (50.8 mm) tall and I'm 3.3866 mm tall?

First, I'm going to answer why I'm 3.3866 mm tall to answer the foreseeable questions I'll get from this. I'm in a campaign where the party was shrunk down 30 times, making 5 feet equivalent to 2 ...
Tasi's user avatar
  • 1,665
5 votes
2 answers
357 views

Grapple Shove or Shove Grapple?

In D&D 5e which is more efficient? This came up as a discussion mostly because I've always seen this combo written out as "Grapple+Shove" and maybe it's just because it sounds better ...
zipper fist's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
288 views

Do you need a free hand to MAINTAIN a grapple in 5e? [duplicate]

Do you need a free hand to MAINTAIN a grapple in 5e? https://rpgbot.net/dnd5/characters/grapple/ I'm trying to find the RAW definition for this but so far I can't find any confirmation. I found that ...
Zarkos's user avatar
  • 1,160
3 votes
1 answer
37 views

How does a Clinch affect DVs in Scion 1E?

Hero (pg 202) gives the stats for lots of weapons, including the three flavors of unarmed attack, which further includes the Clinch/grapple, the subject of this question. However, instead of listing a ...
Elliot's user avatar
  • 2,670
10 votes
4 answers
4k views

Does being swallowed end a grapple?

If you grapple a creature, then the creature swallows you, is the creature still grappled or does it end the grappled condition? Scenario: A creature (say, a giant toad) grapples me, then I grapple ...
Dfvx990mq321pl's user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
32 views

Is Aura of Liberation hampered from actually working to escape a grapple or restraint? [duplicate]

The Aura of Liberation feature of the Oath of the Open Sea from Tal’dorei Campaign Setting: Reborn says: Creatures that are already grappled or restrained when they enter the aura can spend 5 feet of ...
Kerrick's user avatar
  • 4,054
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

Was the grab ability nerfed? If so, which version is supposed to be used?

Archives of Nethys lists the Grab ability twice in the Creature Abilities section. The first one says: Requirements The monster's last action was a success with a Strike that lists Grab in its damage ...
Pyrotechnical's user avatar
10 votes
3 answers
3k views

Is there a way to grapple as a bonus action without attacking first?

I know there are some ways to grapple as a bonus action (like with the feat Tavern Brawler and the maneuver Grappling Strike), but I was wondering if there was a way to grapple as a bonus action ...
The Man's user avatar
  • 613
8 votes
3 answers
1k views

Intercepting a grappled Bite Swallow attack in place of an ally with Vigilant Guardian: What happens?

Let's use a Giant Toad as an example: Bite. The target is grappled, escape dc 13 Until this grapple ends, the target is restrained, and the toad can't bite another target Swallow. The toad makes one ...
VoiceChatty's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

Is a dead creature inside a Shambling Mound still Engulfed?

I was playing in a game where there was a shambling mound and after engulfing a creature and killing it, the creature goes about its turn and engulfs a second person. The DM didn't specify anything ...
ItsScottish's user avatar
  • 1,411
6 votes
5 answers
3k views

Grappling and disarming - when and why (or why not)?

I wonder if I am missing something or failing to understand the rules. Please, can someone explain to me: When and why should someone use disarming and grappling in a melee fight? Or why not at every ...
Flynxer's user avatar
  • 1,030
9 votes
1 answer
257 views

Can Abrupt Jaunt take me out of a grapple?

I have a question after a combat with animated furniture: I have the ability Abrupt Jaunt Wizard specialist ability from PHB2: Abrupt Jaunt (conjuration): You teleport up to 10 feet. Activating this ...
Kark's user avatar
  • 91
5 votes
1 answer
820 views

Could you grapple a creature with the Thri-Kreen's Secondary Arms?

The secondary arms feature lists a bunch of things your secondary arms can do, but not what they can't. Does this mean that they can do and qualify for anything that requires a free hand or not? The ...
defmod's user avatar
  • 830
3 votes
3 answers
301 views

Can I use Watery Sphere to escape a grapple?

I'm theorizing a use of a spell to get out of grapple/restrain, for potential use in upcoming game. I'm playing a Warforged Artificer/Wizard and have low STR. When I am restrained by a grapple, if I ...
James Ficken's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
816 views

Will paralyzing a grappler break the grapple?

Assume you're grappled but you have a melee attack that can cause the paralyzed condition. If you successfully paralyze your grappler, will that break the grapple? Paralysis causes someone to be ...
gto's user avatar
  • 5,276
2 votes
1 answer
64 views

Does Trox Grappling Appendages stack damage?

I am in a campaign with a trox brawler and am wondering about clarification for the trox ability grabbing appendages. If the trox can maintain grapple and still make an attack roll, does that mean ...
Adam's user avatar
  • 21
4 votes
2 answers
654 views

Can you use two weapon fighting while maintaining a grapple?

Grappling just says you must use at least one free hand to initiate a grapple. But once you have successfully grappled a target, can you then engage in two-weapon fighting against that target? Or do ...
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 8,555
2 votes
1 answer
348 views

Do Grapple Checks Ignore or Include attack Modifiers?

Theory Crafting optimization time: Your attack bonus on a grapple check is: Base attack bonus + Strength modifier + special size modifier Is this a complete replacement of the attack modifier system ...
Play Patrice's user avatar
  • 5,096
4 votes
2 answers
813 views

How does one Calculate Dual Variable Probability?

Or asked another way: How do we determine the probability of given grapple to succeed? In DnD 3.5 the grapple mechanic relies on double variable randomness in order to determine success or failure. ...
Play Patrice's user avatar
  • 5,096
2 votes
1 answer
323 views

Is it a viable tactic to use a flurry of blows monk to mass grapple a single target?

Can anyone help illustrate or explain the statistical advantages or disadvantages in using flurry of blows to make multiple grapple attempts against a target in the hopes of overwhelming them and &...
Play Patrice's user avatar
  • 5,096
4 votes
2 answers
596 views

Can a Harengon take a grappled creature with them when they use Rabbit Hop?

If a Harengon character grapples a target and then uses Rabbit Hop, can they drag/carry the target with them? If they can, is the distance of the hop halved like regular movement would be?
PseudoDruid's user avatar
  • 1,281
8 votes
3 answers
817 views

Fall damage from being dropped by a Large creature

Simple question this time. Or maybe not. If I am a Large creature, i.e. over 10 feet tall, I am going to grapple someone and (assuming I succeed) pick them up. If I hold them up to the level of my ...
pestival's user avatar
  • 410
7 votes
3 answers
655 views

Statting a wall-defense military fork

The party is making their way through my 5e conversion of the classic D-series. They are about to come upon a high, battlemented wall being defended by drow troopers armed with military forks. The ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 54.4k
5 votes
3 answers
784 views

Potential complications from allowing Arms of the Astral Self to interact with Grapple Rules via feats?

Preface My earlier question led to a definitive RAW answer proving that Arms of the Astral Self can't be used for grappling, even if a feat like Tavern Brawler gave you a grapple check bonus action ...
TheFallen0ne's user avatar
  • 4,620
7 votes
3 answers
1k views

Tavern Brawler + Arms of the Astral Self + Grappler = 10' Grapples/Pins?

Am I correct that specific beats general in this use-case, or is there an interaction/exclusion I'm overlooking that prevents this scene from playing as described? If I'm correct, what rules ...
TheFallen0ne's user avatar
  • 4,620
3 votes
1 answer
715 views

Moonbeam + grappling to move an enemy in and out in the same turn? [duplicate]

For reference, Moonbeam: When a creature enters the spell's area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, it is engulfed in ghostly flames that cause searing pain, and it must make a ...
Gilalar's user avatar
  • 1,502
7 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can Tempestuous Magic break a grapple?

A Storm Sorcerer's Tempestuous Magic allows: Starting at 1st level, you can use a bonus action on your turn to cause whirling gusts of elemental air to briefly surround you, immediately before or ...
nonymous's user avatar
  • 1,971
3 votes
1 answer
187 views

Does forced movement free someone from telekenesis' grip?

I was thinking about a team that was pushing and pulling folks into hazards. I'm wondering if an eldritch blast that pushes the enemy will synergize with a teammate using the telekenesis spell, or if ...
Epydemic2020's user avatar
2 votes
3 answers
1k views

In the One D&D Character Origins Playtest, does a grapple end if you shove the grappler away from you?

Say Alice grapples Bob. Bob then shoves Alice and pushes them 5 feet away. Which of the following occurs? A. The shove pushes the grappler out of range, breaking the grapple. B. Alice drags Bob with ...
user avatar
3 votes
3 answers
225 views

Can the Soulmonger's Tentacles grab & drop a creature into lava the same turn?

In the Tomb of Annihilation adventure, one of the last encounters is against the Soulmonger, a cylindric evil artifact suspended over lava by three adamantine struts. The artifact can defend itself ...
Guillaume F.'s user avatar
  • 10.2k
8 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can Monks Use Dex to grapple and shove under the One D&D Character Origins UA?

The Character Origins UA makes Grapple and Shove an Unarmed Strike, which makes sense: UNARMED STRIKE An Unarmed Strike is a melee attack that involves you using your body to damage,...
J. A. Streich's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

Does the plasmoid's Amorphous trait grant advantage on ability checks made to avoid being grappled?

The Plasmoid's Amorphous trait (from Ch. 1 of the Astral Adventurer's Guide in Spelljammer: Adventures in Space) says, in part: [...] You have advantage on ability checks you make to initiate or ...
gto's user avatar
  • 5,276
9 votes
2 answers
849 views

What happens to a grappler when their haste effect ends? In the air?

This happened last night in our session and we couldn't find a conclusive answer: An NPC is grappling a polymorphed PC in the air (the PC polymorphed into a Quetzalcoatlus, and we didn't at the time ...
Charles Dimino's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
3k views

Does a Shove or a Grapple count as an "unarmed strike" for purposes of a Monk using a bonus action for a martial arts attack?

The Monk's Martial Arts ability says: When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon on your turn, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action. The Grapple and Shove ...
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 8,555
8 votes
2 answers
894 views

Does a bugbear's reach revert to normal between multiple consecutive attacks?

A bugbear's long-limbed trait says When you make a melee attack on your turn, your reach for it is 5 feet greater than normal. Suppose the bugbear has multiple attacks on its attack actions and ...
pyrocrasty's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
604 views

Can the Echo Knight's Echo's size dictate what it can grapple?

This question assumes your table rules that the echo of the echo knight can grapple. Purely RAW, I would not ask this. Say you are a medium creature and you want to grapple something gargantuan, like ...
Azalea's user avatar
  • 155
2 votes
1 answer
7k views

Does grappling a prone creature effectively create the restrained condition?

I need some clarification. I’m playing a barbarian (5e), Path of the Storm Wielder (Journey to Ragnarok) level 5 as of now. If he uses an attack action to shove an opponent prone (and wins the ...
Nattyone's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
429 views

Can a grappled creature attack the grappler's appendage if the grappler is out of the grappled creature's reach? [duplicate]

This question has been answered by a Jeremy Crawford tweet here, but it is my understanding that those rulings are not valid here, so I'm hoping to find an answer in the game rules themselves. To use ...
Sten's user avatar
  • 365
6 votes
1 answer
773 views

Can an Echo Knight's Echo use a weapon with two hands if the Knight is grappling?

I am about to play an Echo Knight in a game, and have been doing my research. The gist of my understanding is that Echoes are unable to make grappling checks, and I am prepared to work with this. The ...
Huskarl Pearce's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
472 views

How are armor spikes used in a grapple?

Armor spikes' page says: Armor spikes deal extra piercing damage (see “spiked armor” on Table: Weapons) on a successful grapple attack. The spikes count as a martial weapon. Which seems to imply ...
hamburgerpls's user avatar
  • 1,708
8 votes
1 answer
861 views

Can animal companion use grapple in Pathfinder 2e?

Rules of grapple state: Requirements You have at least one free hand or have your target grappled or restrained. Your target isn't more than one size larger than you. Obviously, animals don't have ...
Sarge's user avatar
  • 2,560
6 votes
2 answers
16k views

What are the mechanics for attacking a creature grappled by someone else?

I've successfully grappled a creature. What are the mechanics for someone else attacking said creature? Do they get advantage on the attack? Is there a higher chance that they hit me? Or do I just ...
Trevor Dangberg's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
368 views

Can an attacker with Greater Grapple or Rapid Grapple make a full attack action?

This is specifically for Pathfinder 1e. So, I haven't been able to find the exact answer I'm looking for. I'm a Druid with two ranks in Brawler (technically, it's a home brew Brawler called Beastial ...
Mynock1108's user avatar
10 votes
3 answers
2k views

Does The Amazing Lightspeed Grapple Relay work, RAW?

Inspired by Does The Amazing Lightspeed Horse work, RAW? I thought up a different exploit and I hope someone can find a RAW flaw in it. N Medium humanoids have gathered on an arbitrarily long field, ...
yesennes's user avatar
  • 462
4 votes
0 answers
142 views

Can I push myself away from me? [duplicate]

In their extensive comments on this answer, V2Blast explains that including yourself in the area of effect of a thunderwave is possible, but asks, perhaps rhetorically, why one would ever want to. ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 54.4k

1
2 3 4 5
10