Skip to main content

Questions tagged [grapple]

For questions about grappling — wrestling, or engaging in unarmed, nonlethal combat where the goal is often to incapacitate, restrain, or pin rather than kill one's opponent. Some systems may also refer to this as grabbing.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
46 votes
3 answers
35k views

How can a character escape after being engulfed by a shambling mound?

A shambling mound will be attacking the party I DM for during tonight's session, and I am unsure about how to deal with the monster's Engulf feature. The shambling mound's multiattack action states (...
Benrimi's user avatar
  • 792
43 votes
4 answers
9k views

Can a monk, falling with an enemy they have grappled, use their slow fall ability to reduce their falling damage and not that of the enemy?

This came up as a controversial topic at my table with a player creating a Zangief playstyle. The player uses an aarakocra monk that flies up with a grappled enemy, then ends his movement to fall to ...
Tommy's user avatar
  • 958
39 votes
4 answers
4k views

How can I adjudicate a character attempting a "shield crush" attack to pin a creature?

In a recent game at my table, the cleric wanted to use his shield to pin a ghoul against the wall in order to stop it hitting people and make it easier to hit. The player was thinking of it like a ...
Darth Pseudonym's user avatar
39 votes
3 answers
3k views

What balance problems arise by allowing grappling as an option for an Opportunity Attack?

In our last session (with me as the DM), a creature was surrounded by the party and was trying to flee. She cast Levitate on herself to try to float up and get away. As she was going up and thereby ...
user avatar
39 votes
4 answers
77k views

Can you grapple a creature as an opportunity attack?

This came up in a game I was in the other day, so I'm curious as to know how this works. A gnome was attempting to flee past us up the stairs and I declared that I'd like to try and stop him, by using ...
ChrisD's user avatar
  • 892
38 votes
13 answers
13k views

Why can a Gnome grapple a Goliath?

Both races have the same limits on their strength, and athletics, but it's hard to imagine why. A Goliath could feasibly lift and throw a gnome, yet the Gnome, following rules as written, can pin down ...
inthemanual's user avatar
  • 12.2k
36 votes
5 answers
7k views

Can a prone grappler both stand and move the same turn?

It's clear how a creature both grappled and prone can stand - they can't. But what about the one doing the grapple? Assuming both grappler (speed of 60 feet) and grappled are prone*, how does the ...
user avatar
33 votes
1 answer
29k views

Can a character with Extra Attack replace multiple attacks with Grapple special attacks, as part of the same Attack action?

When you want to grab a creature or wrestle with it, you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. If you're able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this ...
Temp's user avatar
  • 9,310
32 votes
5 answers
18k views

Can you shove your way out of a grapple?

The [grappled] condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler... What's stopping the grapplee from shoving the grappler? I've read that you can shove ...
Jason Stallard's user avatar
31 votes
5 answers
8k views

Is grabbing an opponent's arms to prevent casting within the "scope" 5e's combat?

Recently, my players faced off against an enemy spellcaster. During the fight, the barbarian stated that it was his intention to grab the spellcaster in a bearhug, pinning his arms to his sides to ...
proteopneum's user avatar
29 votes
5 answers
196k views

Does Grappling have any rules other than preventing movement?

I seem to remember in previous versions of D&D, Grappling would grant bonuses to attackers and make grappling creatures harder to attack and such things. However, I'm reading the rules for ...
Mag Roader's user avatar
  • 4,298
29 votes
2 answers
6k views

Can an earth elemental drown/bury its opponent underground using earth glide?

Situation The party are at an elemental cult's shrine. The cleric contributed to the desecration of the shrine when she stuck a javelin with continual flame burning into the ground (for RP reasons). ...
KorvinStarmast's user avatar
27 votes
6 answers
30k views

Can monsters with multiattack take grapple and shove actions?

If lets say... an Owlbear which has the multiattack trait wants to knock someone down and grapple them. Can the owlbear replace the 2 attack actions covered under the multiattack with a grapple and a ...
LetsHaveTea's user avatar
26 votes
3 answers
6k views

Does grappling count as a hit?

Grappling is described as a "special melee attack" that replaces a single attack in the Attack action. There are a number of features and abilities that may be activated when one combatant hits ...
Disillusioned's user avatar
26 votes
1 answer
2k views

What happens if I try to grapple an illusory duplicate from the Mirror Image spell?

A grapple attempt is an attack - a special melee attack: When you want to grab a creature or wrestle with it, you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. If you're able ...
Vylix's user avatar
  • 32.8k
25 votes
4 answers
10k views

Can I drag a grappled creature and release it after moving half of my speed, then move the remainder of my speed?

The grappling rules state: Moving a Grappled Creature. When you move, you can drag or carry the grappled creature with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller ...
Man_Over_Game's user avatar
25 votes
4 answers
3k views

Does a froghemoth's grapple attack prevent characters attacking it?

The froghemoth from Volo's Guide to Monsters has a tentacle attack that can grapple a target from 20ft away. Grappling means that a targets speed is reduced to 0. Does that mean that characters cannot ...
user28536's user avatar
  • 3,468
24 votes
1 answer
74k views

Who wins a Grapple contest if the checks tie?

A Grapple is performed by: you try to seize the target by making a grapple check instead of an attack roll: a Strength (Athletics) check contested by the target’s Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (...
BlueMoon93's user avatar
  • 46.7k
24 votes
4 answers
18k views

Can Bigby's Hand move creatures that are Grappled into the air?

Bigby's hand can grapple via Grasping Hand. This allows: The hand attempts to grapple a Huge or smaller creature within 5 feet of it. You use the hand's Strength score to resolve the grapple. If ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 126k
23 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does grappling an enemy into an AOE also subject the grappler to the AOE?

Suppose the Fighter is successfully grappling an Orc. The Fighter then drags the Orc into the area of his Druid friend's Moonbeam so that, grid-wise, the Orc's space is fully inside the Moonbeam's AOE ...
Pitzy's user avatar
  • 3,481
22 votes
5 answers
2k views

Can a horse start a grapple?

I know it defies suspension of disbelief, but what official rule can I show a rules lawyer player that "proves" a horse can't start a grapple? If the answer needs to distinguish between animal ...
psr's user avatar
  • 2,890
22 votes
4 answers
20k views

Can a monster with a flying speed lift a Grappled PC and then drop them?

Can a monster with a flying speed grapple a PC, use half its movement to fly directly up, and then drop the player in the same turn? Would this be allowed? Or if any 5th edition core book ruling ...
user21214's user avatar
  • 651
22 votes
3 answers
11k views

Is Freedom of Movement hampered from actually working to escape a grapple?

The 5e D&D spell Freedom of Movement says: The target can also spend 5 feet of movement to automatically escape from nonmagical restraints, such as manacles or a creature that has it grappled. ...
mattdm's user avatar
  • 30k
21 votes
3 answers
29k views

Does carrying/dragging a willing/unconscious creature cause half movement as per the grapple rules?

When you carry/drag an unwilling creature that you have grappled, your movement speed is halved. Is the same true when you carry/drag a willing or unconscious creature (ex: move your friend out of ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
21 votes
2 answers
31k views

Can multiple creatures grapple a single target?

I'm creating a druid and came across an interesting tactic that seems to be both overpowered and allowed as the rules are written. (Our characters will be level 5 due to people wanting to keep their ...
James Duke Schaap's user avatar
21 votes
1 answer
3k views

Can you grapple a swarm?

While it doesn't make sense from a rules as intended perspective, I haven't seen anything in the Grapple section or your average swarm's stat-block that protect it from being grappled.
Dumpcats's user avatar
  • 6,664
21 votes
1 answer
3k views

Can a Grappled Monk viably use Open Hand Technique to end the grapple?

If I'm a monk that is being grappled by a monster, can my Way of the Open Hand Flurry of Blows effect to push a creature 15ft away from me break that monster's grapple on me?
lordoftime's user avatar
21 votes
1 answer
4k views

Can you cast Sanctuary after initiating a grapple without causing the spell to immediately end?

I think it's pretty well established that if you cast Sanctuary on yourself, then initiate a grapple, sanctuary is broken because initiating a grapple is a "special melee attack." However, a situation ...
Flerby_of_blows's user avatar
20 votes
9 answers
9k views

Is there a way to eliminate opponents through grappling?

I am playing a monk in our Oriental Adventures campaign, and recently we had a situation where another player was grappling a wu jen spell caster. We thought about breaking her neck to quickly get rid ...
Maurycy's user avatar
  • 4,862
20 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you really not move between grapples/shoves?

The rule on moving between attacks specifically says: If you take an action that includes more than one weapon attack, you can break up your movement even further by moving between those attacks. ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.5k
20 votes
2 answers
19k views

Does a Grapple or Shove count as a "melee attack" for the third benefit of the Mobile feat?

The third benefit of the Mobile feat (PHB, p. 168) enables you to not provoke opportunity attacks by creatures you try to make a melee attack against. Does it still apply if the attack you made was a ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
19 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you move a creature you're grappling but frightened of?

A situation came up in our game where a PC cast cause fear (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 151) on an enemy that was grappling the PC and trying to push them towards a torture device. This made ...
Agent DM's user avatar
  • 193
19 votes
3 answers
521 views

What happens when a grabbed target of Avalanche Stomp is teleported?

Avalanche Stomp is a power of the Stone Titan (all quotes are from the DDI Compendium): Close burst 3; +21 vs Fortitude; 3d10+7 damage, and the target is grabbed by earth and stone. The stone titan ...
Trey Kirk's user avatar
  • 1,191
19 votes
2 answers
4k views

When you grapple an enemy, where are they?

There you are, in melee combat. You're 5 feet away from your opponent. The swords go snicker-snack. You decide to grapple. You succeed! Are you still 5 feet away? I had always assumed the ...
Jack's user avatar
  • 34.9k
19 votes
3 answers
5k views

Can a grappler grapple the same target multiple times?

The PHB states: Using at least one free hand, you try to seize the target by making a grapple check But if the grappler has another free hand, can he grapple the same target again, with the ...
Nadim Hussami's user avatar
19 votes
3 answers
4k views

Can a warlock use one of their Thirsting Blade attacks to grapple or shove?

As a Warlock with the Thirsting Blade Invocation, can I replace one of the Attacks with my pact weapon with a Grapple/Shove? The only wording difference between Thirsting Blade and Extra attack is: "...
Lichtbringer's user avatar
18 votes
2 answers
5k views

Does grapple end the Invisibility spell for the grappler?

I was looking through the Sage Advice Compendium when I noticed this: When you make a Strength (Athletics) check to grapple or shove someone, are you making an attack roll? Again, the answer is no. ...
Timi's user avatar
  • 4,321
18 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can you escape a grapple during a time stop (without teleporting or similar effects)?

Some context: during our last game a hidden creature (not the BBEG, but kind of a mini-boss, CR23) charged and grappled (with improved grab) one of the PCs (a 20th-level Sha-ir/Cleric/Dweomerkeeper) ...
Yopi Lapi's user avatar
  • 3,817
18 votes
2 answers
3k views

How does grappling interact with the Armor of Agathys spell?

The description of the Armor of Agathys spell says (PHB 215, emphasis mine): A protective magical force surrounds you, manifesting as a spectral frost that covers you and your gear. You gain 5 ...
Sam Lacrumb's user avatar
  • 11.1k
18 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can Strahd use his Unarmed Strike (that grapples) as an opportunity attack?

New player here and I'm confused about how this works. Any help would be appreciated. Playing a campaign and we encounter Strahd from Curse of Strahd. The party tries to retreat to sunlight. One ...
Kingpo's user avatar
  • 181
18 votes
3 answers
10k views

Can you use the Telekinetic feat from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything to break grapples?

With the new 5e book, Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, there exists a new feat, Telekinetic (emphasis mine): You learn to move things with your mind, granting you the following benefits... As a bonus ...
Melendowski's user avatar
18 votes
1 answer
6k views

Does Dissonant Whispers cause the target to release a grapple?

Pg. 234 PHB, highlights are mine.. You whisper a discordant melody that only one creature of your choice within range can hear, wracking it with terrible pain. The target must make a Wisdom saving ...
jfunk's user avatar
  • 527
17 votes
5 answers
15k views

Is it possible for a PC to become Huge or larger, in order to try and grapple a Tarrasque?

The way our game is going, it is entirely feasible we may end up fighting a Tarrasque. When it comes to grappling, RAW says the following: The target of your grapple must be no more than one size ...
Pyrotechnical's user avatar
17 votes
2 answers
3k views

Why does nobody understand the grapple rules?

It's a common joke that nobody understands the grapple rules, but in reality it's only two or three pages of the PHB. What is it about these rules that has caused so much confusion and annoyance?
J. Mini's user avatar
  • 6,304
17 votes
3 answers
2k views

Do attacks that give the Grappled condition work against creatures more than 1 size larger?

Many creatures, such as the Giant Frog, have attacks that grapple on a hit: Bite. Melee Weapon Attack: [...] Hit: (1d6 + 1) piercing damage. The target is grappled (escape DC 11). Does this ...
Guillaume F.'s user avatar
  • 10.1k
17 votes
5 answers
3k views

Does Grappling Halve Your Remaining Speed?

This question acts as a clarification to another question on this site. Here's the scenario: You have 60' of movement at the start of your turn You move 30' to any direction You grapple someone at ...
user avatar
17 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does Sunlight Sensitivity affect special melee attacks (such as grappling)?

I'm currently playing a Duergar Barbarian who I'm playing as a grappler, great fun, but neither me or the DM are entirely sure how the Duergar's sunlight sensitivity affects a special melee attack. It ...
Benny's user avatar
  • 225
17 votes
2 answers
19k views

Does shoving a creature break its grapple on another?

A situation came up in my session where a fighter used his Shield Master Shove feature to shove a Giant Crocodile that was currently restraining another PC using it's bite+grapple ability. I did a ...
GPPK's user avatar
  • 3,374
16 votes
5 answers
11k views

Is It Possible To Lift A Grappled Opponent Multiple Times On The Same Turn?

This question follows from this question: What Are The Minimum Stats To Cause Fall Damage When Grappling Plus Jumping? In my answer to that question, I came up with the following minimum stats to ...
user avatar
16 votes
3 answers
3k views

Can Mirror Image still work on someone already grappling the caster?

A player in my group had grappled a caster. The caster then cast mirror image. The player says since he grappled the creature he's unaffected by the illusion: he can feel the one that he had grabbed. ...
Pupizz's user avatar
  • 163

1
2 3 4 5
10