Questions tagged [grapple]

For questions about grappling — wrestling, or engaging in unarmed, nonlethal combat where the goal is often to incapacitate, restrain, or pin rather than kill one's opponent. Some systems may also refer to this as grabbing.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4 votes
1 answer
172 views

Do bonuses to grappling CMD apply to enemy's rolls to escape grapple?

Human alternate fighter favored class bonus states: Add +1 to the fighter’s CMD when resisting two combat maneuvers of the character’s choice. If I want to make one of the choices to be grapple ...
PnP's user avatar
  • 2,542
13 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does the Robe of Stars's ability to enter the Astral Plane with "everything you are [...] carrying" let you do so with a grappled creature?

One of my Players has the Robe of Stars. Can he, for example, put a rabbit in his bag and take it with him to the Astral Plane, because he carries it in his bag? I would think not, but I am not sure. ...
BexTech's user avatar
  • 131
1 vote
0 answers
50 views

What is the combined movement speed of multiple grapplers moving a single grappled creature? [duplicate]

So specifically, there are two or three Bullywugs that are going to grab a gnome and then drag him around 200 feet away from where he currently is. Assuming the Bullywugs successfully grapple and ...
LokiMokiUkulele's user avatar
4 votes
3 answers
725 views

Can you grapple or shove a non-creature?

The rules for grappling and shoving clearly apply to creatures: Grappling. When you want to grab a creature or wrestle with it, you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple....
Guillaume F.'s user avatar
  • 9,896
2 votes
0 answers
111 views

Can an Astral Self Monk/Stars Druid apply the dragon starry form to grapples? [duplicate]

Arms of the Astral Self While the spectral arms are present, you gain the following benefits: You can use your Wisdom modifier in place of your Strength modifier when making Strength checks and ...
PseudoDruid's user avatar
  • 1,221
8 votes
1 answer
4k views

Is it an action to voluntarily end a grapple?

If a monster, such as a Chuul, has grappled a character can they end the grapple for free? EG a Chuul attacks a halfling with a pincer attack and hits, the halfling is now considered grappled, trapped ...
Richard C's user avatar
  • 6,266
4 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can I move a grappled creature so that they precede me towards a destination, rather than following behind?

Background In a comment on this answer, user V2Blast suggests that you could circumnavigate* a creature, then push them into a hazard. This would enable moving a grappled creature into a hazard ...
Lovell's user avatar
  • 5,627
4 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can the Grappling Strike maneuver option be used with the Thorn Whip cantrip to grapple a creature from up to 30 feet away?

Grappling Strike is a maneuver option for Battle Master fighters (and others with access to maneuvers) that reads (Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, p. 42; emphasis mine): Immediately after you hit a ...
semi colon's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
61 views

Can someone use the Telekinesis power with an Area modifier to attempt an Area Grapple?

If I have the Telekinesis power with an Area modifier (also Selective and Damaging, why not?), can I attempt grappling multiple opponents in the area with it like an enraged Sith Lord?
Aguinaldo Silvestre's user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
9k views

How does grappling work in the air?

It seems that RAW a high-flying creature falls the very moment it becomes grappled. The rules for grappling state you subject the target to the grappled condition and the grappled condition is ...
enkryptor's user avatar
  • 67.1k
8 votes
1 answer
233 views

Does Catfolk's ancestry feat Lucky Break work with the Grapple action?

For reference: Grapple action Lucky Break feat I argue that when grappling with the Lucky Break feat, you are able to reroll the Grapple attack action (when failing or critical failing), because the ...
Pantheos Max's user avatar
  • 1,379
3 votes
1 answer
991 views

Full attacking with natural while grappling or being grappled

My GM said that a creature with several appenges can full attack with all of their natural attacks towards me? I know that the grapple rules specify "Instead of attempting to break or reverse the ...
Simon's user avatar
  • 4,252
1 vote
1 answer
173 views

How many actions does a Bida need to use to sustain its Improved Grab on multiple creatures?

A Bida has grabbed three people with its tail via its Eight Coils and Improved Grab ability. How many actions does it need to use to keep all three of those people grabbed? 1? 3? I'd guess it works ...
ESCE's user avatar
  • 14k
8 votes
3 answers
522 views

Do you have to specify what kind of attack or weapon you will Ready?

It seems logical that you can use the Ready action to prepare to grapple or shove an opponent if triggered. But can you just Ready an attack, and then decide when it's triggered whether to attack as ...
Erïch Jacoby-Hawkins's user avatar
11 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does this lake event in the "Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden" adventure allow a grapple as an opportunity attack?

There is an event in Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden (an official D&D 5e adventure by Wizards of the Coast) that seems to allow for a grapple attack as an opportunity attack. In the Lake ...
Erïch Jacoby-Hawkins's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
104 views

Which Spheres of Might talents give a Vector attacks through Kinetic Overload?

The vector symbiat archetype, from Champions of the Spheres, has the ability Kinetic Overload, which reads, in part: When a Brute, Scoundrel, or Wrestling talent would grant the vector an attack ...
Klinkin's user avatar
  • 97
2 votes
2 answers
842 views

Can a player character grapple a ship?

Background: The situation contemplates engaging with a huge or gargantuan ship, by means such as an 18th level Rune Knight using the Runic Juggernaut feature as described in Tasha's Cauldron of ...
Weiramon's user avatar
  • 1,237
6 votes
2 answers
655 views

Fangs of Fire Snake + Tavern Brawler?

If you use Fangs of the Fire Snake it increases your unarmed attack by 10 feet (presumably to 15ft) When you use the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to cause tendrils of flame to ...
joshua's user avatar
  • 61
15 votes
2 answers
3k views

Do you need a free hand to Shove?

I don't know if I'm crazy or what, but if you had asked me "Do you need a free hand to Shove?" I would answered with a resounding of course before I reread the PHB and noticed it said ...
OmniVictor's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
4k views

Does forced movement break Grabbed from Grapple/Grab?

It's the age-old question. The all-powerful-wizard seems about to be eaten and didn't prepare a spell to escape. Fighterbro wants to save the fool day by punting grapplemon the grapple monster (or the ...
Ifusaso's user avatar
  • 42.7k
18 votes
3 answers
10k views

Can you use the Telekinetic feat from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything to break grapples?

With the new 5e book, Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, there exists a new feat, Telekinetic (emphasis mine): You learn to move things with your mind, granting you the following benefits... As a bonus ...
Melendowski's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

What happens when you have a creature grappled and use the Bait and Switch Maneuver to move 5 feet away from the creature?

The Bait and Switch Maneuver (Battlemaster Fighter feature): Bait and Switch. When you're within 5 feet of a creature on your turn, you can expend one superiority die and switch places with that ...
Cyanic's user avatar
  • 3,762
4 votes
1 answer
377 views

Does the Hunter Ranger's Giant Killer allow you to grapple or shove with the reaction?

The Hunter Ranger's Giant Killer feature says: When a Large or larger creature within 5 feet of you hits or misses you with an attack, you can use your reaction to attack that creature immediately ...
Cyanic's user avatar
  • 3,762
18 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can you escape a grapple during a time stop (without teleporting or similar effects)?

Some context: during our last game a hidden creature (not the BBEG, but kind of a mini-boss, CR23) charged and grappled (with improved grab) one of the PCs (a 20th-level Sha-ir/Cleric/Dweomerkeeper) ...
Yopi Lapi's user avatar
  • 3,616
3 votes
2 answers
10k views

Can a Way of the Astral Self monk grapple with its Arms of the Astral Self?

In the Unearthed Arcana version of the Way of the Astral Self, the monk's Astral Arms were treated as monk weapons. Under that wording, the monk probably couldn't grapple/shove with them because ...
Rykara's user avatar
  • 29.4k
3 votes
1 answer
2k views

Spell which causes grapple

Let me start by pointing out that I'm new to Pathfinder. I've played some Dnd and now our DM is migrating our campaing to PF2e. I'm planning to build a new character, some necromancer of sorts, and I ...
Lucas Baldo's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
480 views

Does the Orc's 'Aggressive' racial trait allow you to move with a grappled target as long as you move toward it?

Aggressive. As a bonus action, you can move up to your movement speed toward a hostile creature you can see or hear. You must end this move closer to the enemy than you started. That last clause ...
Cyanic's user avatar
  • 3,762
1 vote
1 answer
87 views

Does Grapple / Constrict apply other Attack Effects?

Reefclaws have 2 Claws +2 (1d4 + Grab + Poison) as their melee attack. They also have Constrict (1d4) as a Special Attack If a Reefclaw succesfully grapples an opponent, decides to maintain the ...
Pantheos Max's user avatar
  • 1,379
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can the spell Water Walk help in the fight against a Water Elemental?

The spell Water Walk: grants the ability to move across any liquid surface--such as water, acid, mud, snow, quicksand, or lava--as if it were harmless solid ground (creatures crossing molten lava can ...
Tiggerous's user avatar
  • 25.1k
5 votes
0 answers
69 views

Can a grappling creature cause a prone creature it is grappling to be unprone? [duplicate]

If my character is grappling a creature who has been knocked prone, that creature can't stand back up unless they succeed in first breaking free of the grapple. Do the rules for moving a grappled ...
Rykara's user avatar
  • 29.4k
13 votes
4 answers
5k views

My DM wouldn't let my character use Acrobatics to escape an Ankheg's grapple, even after it was asleep. Can my DM do this, or am I overreacting?

Now, I know this sounds like something small, but it did annoy me. We were fighting an Ankheg. We killed one, and after combat ended the DM had another one come up from the ground and grapple me ...
John LeCates's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Does the Grappler feat give advantage on a subsequent shove attempt vs. your grappled target?

The Grappler feat says it gives advantage on attack rolls against a creature you are grappling. Does this include attempts to shove the grappled creature?
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 7,937
5 votes
1 answer
488 views

Is the Midgard Heroes Handbook Centaur race considered as Medium, or Large, for the purpose of grappling and shoving?

In the "Midgard Heroes Handbook" from the Kobold Press, there is a playable character race, the Centaur (not to be confused with the somewhat different Centaur published in Guildmaster's ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.6k
8 votes
1 answer
486 views

Do grappled/grappling creatures bypass Ballbearings/Caltrops?

Ballbearings/Caltrops requires a dex save or fall prone/take damage unless you move at half speed. Moving with a Grappled Creature your speed is halved. Mechanically, does this count as moving half ...
bonfire's user avatar
  • 752
9 votes
1 answer
3k views

Can the Create Bonfire cantrip damage a creature more than once per turn, by RAW? If so, how many times at most?

The description of the create bonfire cantrip says: You create a bonfire on ground that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the magic bonfire fills a 5-foot cube. Any creature in the ...
bonfire's user avatar
  • 752
2 votes
1 answer
463 views

How should I handle a PC attempting to strangle a creature?

Last session, one of my PCs succeeded on a grapple check against a rust monster and wanted to strangle it in retribution for damaging the PC's sword, which has sentimental value. There are suffocation ...
David Gay's user avatar
  • 1,081
3 votes
1 answer
76 views

Does Improved Grab pull in the grappled regardless of weight?

Reviewing the choker I noticed the default strength is only 16. It caused me to wonder if an improved grab can pull a creature up in the air even if the strength does not have enough to carry (...
joedragons's user avatar
  • 2,964
6 votes
1 answer
383 views

Does moving a grappled foe through someone's threatened area trigger an attack of opportunity?

If one has grappled a foe, and then succeeds on a check to maintain it, one of the options is: You can move both yourself and your target up to half your speed. At the end of your movement, you can ...
Jeff Fry's user avatar
  • 8,469
8 votes
1 answer
215 views

Do Black Tentacles "protect" you from ranged attacks as creatures grappling you do?

If you are trying to shoot some creature, and your target is grappling, rules say: "roll randomly to see which grappling combatant you strike". Does Black Tentacles spell's effect count as a ...
annoying imp's user avatar
  • 3,376
15 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can a character shove or grapple while prone?

This is similar to the question "Can a character shove an enemy who is already prone?". If your character is prone, can you grapple or shove an enemy in range? I haven't read anything that ...
Bovard's user avatar
  • 415
3 votes
4 answers
3k views

Grabbing & releasing with dragons

I'm planning a combat situation with a dragon and trying to understand what happens if the dragon grabs and attempts to drop players from height. So far this is how I'm thinking about ruling it: The ...
Peteris's user avatar
  • 196
2 votes
1 answer
837 views

Does using the Tavern Brawler feat with a rope give you a 20'+ grapple attack?

If I gain the Tavern Brawler feat, and use it with a rope as an improvised weapon, can I initiate a Grapple at 20+ feet away (depending on the length of rope) When you hit a creature with an unarmed ...
Sam Lacrumb's user avatar
  • 10.9k
8 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a grapple be released?

According to the Grappling rules, once all the initial checks and movement are resolved, there's no distinction between "grappler" and "graplee", at least that's how I've always ...
Yopi Lapi's user avatar
  • 3,616
1 vote
1 answer
2k views

One PC Grappling multiple creatures [duplicate]

In my D&D 5e campaign I'm playing a Barbarian that I've focused on grappling and pulling enemies around the battlefield. Can I grapple multiple enemies at once, one in each hand for example? If I ...
Wolfsbane's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
10k views

Pure Monk Grappler Build

I was thinking about making a pure monk grappler build and I hope that it is possible to do without being too weak for the table. What I want from the build: Pure monk build, so no multi-classing (I ...
mahe4's user avatar
  • 343
2 votes
1 answer
183 views

Grappling strike fighter power with brawler style - attack roll bonus

I (the DM) have a player with a level 11 fighter (brawler style). She uses the power "Grappling strike" (Martial Power 2 p7) with a bastard sword (+2), and we disagree on bonuses to attack ...
Eric's user avatar
  • 23
9 votes
2 answers
1k views

How far can you drag a grappled, heavy opponent?

A mostly theoretical rules question. Assume a Medium creature ("Grappler") has grappled another Medium creature ("Heavyweight"). For unimportant reasons, Heavyweight is very heavy- heavier than ...
Carcosa's user avatar
  • 3,159
11 votes
4 answers
14k views

What happens after an Echo Knight fighter grapples using its echo?

This question occurred to me after reading another one: Can the Echo Knight's Echo make Ability Checks? That question asks whether the Echo Knight fighter's echo can make ability checks. A ...
Rykara's user avatar
  • 29.4k
2 votes
0 answers
110 views

Does the grappled creature have to be the one that is moved in order to force the grapple to end, or can the grappler be the one that is moved? [duplicate]

The description of the grappled condition reads, in part: The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler or grappling effect, such as when a ...
mdrichey's user avatar
  • 10.8k
7 votes
1 answer
492 views

Can I force a creature out of prone during a grapple?

If I am in a grapple with a prone creature, can I use an action to remove the prone state from the creature, while maintaining the grapple? I ask because I run a grappling barbarian build. Sometimes ...
BobaJFET's user avatar
  • 183

1
2
3 4 5
10