All Questions

Tagged with
Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
7
votes
1answer
548 views

How do the Durable and Dwarven Fortitude feats interact?

How do the Durable and Dwarven Fortitude feats interact? While the Durable feat (PHB, p. 166) states that you gain a minimum of double your Constitution modifier from using your Hit Dice to heal, the ...
0
votes
0answers
60 views

Could a character lose hit points when spending hit dice? [duplicate]

The rules allow a character to spend hit dice during a short rest to recover hit points. The rule is that you roll the die matching the hit die you wish to spend, add your constitution modifier, then ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a multiclass character get to pick which hit dice they recover after a long rest?

This question came up in our last game. In 5e, after a long rest you get to recover half your spent hit dice. My assumption would be is that if you are multiclass you get to pick the hit dice you ...
19
votes
2answers
132k views

Where are the rules for using hit dice to heal in 5th edition?

I have read questions that allude to spending hit dice on healing in 5th edition, and seen twitch streams of games where this mechanic is employed, but have not been able to find it in the Dungeon ...
24
votes
3answers
3k views

When healing during a short rest, what happens if the total of my hit die roll plus my Constitution modifier is 0 or less?

The question's been asked before elsewhere, but for lack of an authoritative answer: If a character has a sufficiently small constitution score, it's conceivable that, when they use a hit die to heal ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

What order do multiclass characters spend Hit Dice at the end of a short rest?

This is a followup question to "What Hit Dice do multiclass characters spend at the end of a short rest?". Under the rules for Short Rest (PHB p. 186, or here in the basic rules): A character can ...
17
votes
2answers
13k views

What Hit Dice do multiclass characters spend at the end of a short rest?

Under the rules for Short Rest you are able to heal: A character can spend one or more Hit Dice at the end of a short rest, up to the characters maximum number of Hit Dice, which is equal to the ...
13
votes
1answer
6k views

When leveling, is the hit die only added to the maximum dice, not current dice?

How are hit dice added when leveling takes place? Hit Points are pretty straightforward in that the new hit points that are gained through a level advancement are only added to the character's "...
49
votes
1answer
8k views

At level one, can you really never recover hit dice?

I was reading a review of 5e game play here from our RSS Feed. And in it he makes an observation about a strange rule: Weird rule thing. You recover half your level in hit dice during a long rest,...
9
votes
5answers
5k views

How can I associate Hit Dice with healing?

My first version of D&D was 4th Edition and one of the things that was new to me during the Next playtest period was the inclusion of Hit Dice (which I understand were present in earlier editions)....