All Questions

Tagged with
Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
14
votes
1answer
508 views

Are you required to spend hit dice to take a short rest?

Are you required to spend hit dice to take a short rest? I couldn't find this anywhere, but my DM is adamant on the idea that in order to benefit from a short rest, you have to spend a hit die. I ...
7
votes
1answer
574 views

How do creatures spend Hit Dice after a short rest (if they can do so)?

I know that enemies can take both short rests and long rests, because there is at least one enemy which recover one of its features after a rest. See the Cloaker (Monster Manual, p. 42): Phantasms (...
0
votes
0answers
59 views

Could a character lose hit points when spending hit dice? [duplicate]

The rules allow a character to spend hit dice during a short rest to recover hit points. The rule is that you roll the die matching the hit die you wish to spend, add your constitution modifier, then ...
9
votes
2answers
5k views

Medic feat: does it only work for one hit die, or more?

The Medic feat (from Unearthed Arcana: Feats for Skills) has the following description: During a short rest, you can clean and bind the wounds of up to six willing beasts and humanoids. Make a DC ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Does a multiclass character get to pick which hit dice they recover after a long rest?

This question came up in our last game. In 5e, after a long rest you get to recover half your spent hit dice. My assumption would be is that if you are multiclass you get to pick the hit dice you ...
24
votes
3answers
3k views

When healing during a short rest, what happens if the total of my hit die roll plus my Constitution modifier is 0 or less?

The question's been asked before elsewhere, but for lack of an authoritative answer: If a character has a sufficiently small constitution score, it's conceivable that, when they use a hit die to heal ...
48
votes
1answer
7k views

At level one, can you really never recover hit dice?

I was reading a review of 5e game play here from our RSS Feed. And in it he makes an observation about a strange rule: Weird rule thing. You recover half your level in hit dice during a long rest,...