Questions tagged [immediate-actions]

The tag has no usage guidance.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
1answer
62 views

Interactions between Reposition and Trip Maneuvers when making both with a Flowing Monk's Reposition

This question about the Flowing Monk's Redirection already lightens the mechanic when one combat maneuver is used. However the order of the actions and their interactions remains ambiguous to me when, ...
2
votes
1answer
184 views

Does counterspelling as an immediate action allows you to cast another spell the same turn?

I have this doubt. For what I have been reading it seems so, indeed you can counterspell and cast the same turn. So, whoever can counter as an immediate action like the abjurer (counterspell) or the ...
14
votes
1answer
541 views

Is an attack of opportunity an immediate action?

If you make an attack of opportunity, can you take an immediate action in the same round? It would make sense because immediate actions were invented after the PH (and therefore AoOs), but is this RAW?...
1
vote
1answer
399 views

Timing of Slayer Studying Target after/during Sneak Attack

I find this statement from the slayer's Studied Target ability confusing: If a slayer deals sneak attack damage to a target, he can study that target as an immediate action, allowing him to apply ...
2
votes
2answers
298 views

How to use Mirror Dodge or other immediate actions?

Let us say my Archmage wins the Initiative and acts first. He uses Wild Arcana to cast Fox Cunning. But he has not perceived the rogue coming from behind. The rogue hits my Wizard. Now he could use ...
6
votes
1answer
207 views

Is fully-errata'd Hybrid Divine Challenge a No Action or an Immediate Action?

According to the Essentials update 2 (November 2010), both the original Divine Challenge and the Hybrid Divine Challenge damage instance appear to have been errata-ed to be a no action event (yes, ...
2
votes
0answers
190 views

Can an Immediate action be taken after an attack hits but before damage is rolled? [duplicate]

So I intend to take Wave shield. It takes an immediate action to activate. I already know questions will come up with my DM when I try to use this ability... The way I understand the mechanics ...
3
votes
1answer
708 views

Can I use Hero's Defiance (or an immediate action) before I've had a chance to take my turn?

Suppose I have a paladin in a fight with a tiger. We roll initiative, and the paladin is going to go last. In the first round, the tiger charges and deals 54 damage to my paladin, and takes them down. ...
6
votes
1answer
895 views

Are you flat-footed after taking an action but before your first turn?

This might seem like an odd question. Ordinarily, you can't take any actions before your first turn. However, I can think of at least two ways that you can take an immediate action while flat-footed: ...
4
votes
1answer
253 views

Chameleon + Cloud of Darkness

My question is about the interaction between the Rogue Utility Chameleon (below and PHB 120) and the Drow racial Cloud of Darkness. Chameleon (Rogue Utility 6) You blend into your surroundings....
1
vote
1answer
6k views

Opportunity attacks and immediate interupts per round [duplicate]

I read this in an online article, which sounded incorrect to me. The Fighter takes his free attack and gets all the additional bonuses that come with Combat Superiority. Needless to say, my ...
1
vote
2answers
792 views

Immediate action right after damage

Damp Power (psionic): Manifesting Time: 1 immediate action An amber aura quickly spreads over your body, moderating the effects of the environment. When you manifest this power, you are protected ...
9
votes
1answer
420 views

Can a creature use an Immediate Interrupt (Trigger: Enemy Movement) against his own forced Move Action?

If a creature has an Immediate Interrupt action with a Trigger: Enemy Movement - can the creature use an ability that forcefully pulls the target - then immediately after pulling the target, invoke ...
10
votes
4answers
5k views

What is the best way to maintain the threat of a Defender after your immediate action is spent?

The PHB1 fighter and most other pre-essentials defenders use immediate actions to enforce their marks. Unfortunately for this strategy Defenders are limited to only enforcing a single mark violation ...
6
votes
2answers
819 views

Does an opportunity attack that stuns prevent the movement?

If I make an opportunity attack with some combination of riders that will cause a hit to stun (or if the victim has already taken some action, daze) can the target of my attack continue their movement?...
5
votes
1answer
145 views

Can Pursuit of the Hunter be triggered in the middle of the enemy's movement?

From Pursuit of the Hunter: Trigger: An enemy within 2 squares of you moves on its turn Does the triggering enemy have to start its movement within two squares, or can the power be triggered mid-...
5
votes
2answers
391 views

Can shifting trigger immediate actions?

The primary benefit of using shift instead of move, is this: No Opportunity Attacks: Your movement doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks. Despite the above, can shifting still trigger immediate ...