Questions tagged [incorporeal]

Questions relating to something or someone that temporarily or permanently does not inhabit a corporeal form (is disembodied).

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0
votes
1answer
46 views

Can incorporeal creatures speak?

I got to thinking about how exactly incorporeal creatures interact with the corporeal world and I wasn't exactly coming up with anything that explicitly stated whether they could communicate or not. ...
4
votes
1answer
57 views

Would Ghost Trap revert a Psion Uncarnate to corporeal form?

Would the spell Ghost Trap revert a psion uncarnates incorporeal form if they enter the affected area ? What confuses me is this part of the wording for the ghost trap spell: All incorporeal ...
4
votes
1answer
115 views

Can telekinesis or wind affect incorporeal creatures?

Are incorporeal creatures affected by the following effects? Telekinesis Object thrown by Telekinesis Wind caused by fan Wind caused by Control Wind spell or Control Weather spell
2
votes
1answer
193 views

If my wizard casts Blink, can he better draw the attention of Incorporeal creatures?

I’m asking this question based on my answer to this other question: How can you force an incorporeal creature out of a solid surface? The spell description for Blink seems to conflate being ...
2
votes
1answer
118 views

Can incorporeal creatures interact physically with other incorporeal creatures?

So say a ghost wants to shake hands with another ghost. Can they do that? Can they attack other incorporeal creatures with physical weapons in the same way ethereal creatures can?
11
votes
3answers
494 views

How can you force an incorporeal creature out of a solid surface?

From the PFSRD: An incorporeal creature can enter or pass through solid objects, but must remain adjacent to the object’s exterior, and so cannot pass entirely through an object whose space is ...
6
votes
3answers
179 views

Can an incorporeal creature charge through a corporeal creature's space?

The Player's Handbook says that to execute a charge a creature "must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder [its] movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles)" (154). Can a ...
5
votes
1answer
859 views

Can you knock a Banshee unconscious?

In our campaign I am attempting to garner information about a spellbook from a Banshee. I've had some suggestions from NPCs to beguile it, but trying to cover all my bases, I wondered if I could knock ...
3
votes
2answers
109 views

While just the neh-thalggu's mouth is corporeal can it be attacked normally?

Long one of my favorite monsters if only for its unique language, in an upcoming adventure I finally get to run an encounter with a neh-thalggu (EL 206–8). However, the creature is not without issues. ...
4
votes
1answer
89 views

What attribute do incorporeal creatures use for strength skills?

The SRD clearly states that incorporeal creatures have no Strength score, and use their Dexterity modifier for both melee and ranged attacks. However, what about Strength-based skills? Can a spook ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a monster with Incorporeal Movement end its movement inside of another creature or object?

RAW for the specter's Incorporeal Movement (MM p 279): The specter can move through other creatures and objects as if they were difficult terrain. It takes 5 (1d10) force damage if it ends its ...
5
votes
3answers
3k views

Does a specter's Incorporeal Movement ability provoke opportunity attacks?

The Specter has the ability Incorporeal Movement, which states, The specter can move through other creatures and objects as if they were difficult terrain. It takes 5(1d10) force damage if it ends ...
1
vote
1answer
209 views

Psion Crystal Attack Powers vs. Incorporeal?

There are several crystal attacking powers for psions. They inflict damage along the lines of slashing and piercing. The incorporeal subtype says this: An incorporeal creature has no physical ...
3
votes
2answers
295 views

Does Ghostbane Dirge have a miss chance against incorporeal targets?

Ghostbane Dirge: The target coalesces into a semi-physical form for a short period of time. While subject to the spell, the incorporeal creature takes half damage (50%) from nonmagical attack ...
8
votes
1answer
332 views

Can an incorporeal creature turn any object incorporeal with the Ghostly Grasp feat?

The Ghostly Grasp feat is described in Libris Mortis (page 27) and states: You can wear, wield, and otherwise use corporeal items as though you were not incorporeal. Emphasis mine. According to ...
5
votes
1answer
399 views

Can an incorporeal creature execute a touch spell against a corporeal creature?

I am going by the definition of the incorporeal subtype from Monster Manual Ⅴ (page 213) and have a hard time coming to a definitive answer. I believe that incorporeal creatures should be able to ...
3
votes
5answers
640 views

Does Smash From the Air work against Brilliant Energy or Phase arrows?

I've been arguing with someone about the feat smash from the air. This feat allows a character to make an attack of opportunity against an incoming attack (giant boulders, hostile ray spells, arrows, ....
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a ghost or other incorporeal creature be polymorphed?

While researching this question about polymorphing a paladin's steed, I had a realization. Polymorph specifies a creature you can see as a target, and as answered here, "creature" essentially refers ...
0
votes
1answer
89 views

Is “relinquishing” an object different than throwing it?

According to Realms Help An object that the creature relinquishes loses its incorporeal quality. So if a ghost has a sword and puts it down, even if it was not physically present before, it pops ...
3
votes
2answers
558 views

Can an incorporeal creature occupy the same space as another creature?

Can an incorporeal creature occupy the same square as a normal creature? Does it matter if it's during a move (moving through another creature) or at the end of the move (stopping in the other ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Does moving behind full cover count as “leaving the opponent's reach” for purposes of Attack of Opportunity?

Suppose I am fighting an enemy with the usual 5-foot reach. He is standing next to a wall beside an open doorway. I am in next to him in the room. Without leaving his 5-foot range, I move to the ...
12
votes
2answers
664 views

Do weapon enhancing spells let them hit incorporeal opponents?

So, a party of a Fighter, a Rogue, a Barbarian and a Wizard walks into a ghost city, and meets a hostile Joystealer (or a ghost, or some other incorporeal enemy). The party only has mundane and ...
3
votes
1answer
616 views

Does an incorporeal creature take half ability damage from corporeal sources?

The rules for incorporeal creatures states that "Even when hit by spells or magic weapons, [an incorporeal creature] takes only half damage from a corporeal source (except for channel energy)." If, as ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

Can the Ghost Touch weapon property allow an attacker to perform incorporeal touch attacks?

This is a specific question: The Ghost Touch weapon property states that: ...Essentially, a ghost touch weapon counts as either corporeal or incorporeal at any given time, whichever is more ...
4
votes
1answer
511 views

How can an incorporeal creature gain a physical form and use equipment?

I'm playing a level 6 character in a gestalt game and on one side my character is an unbodied. Can I gain a physical body somehow? Is there a way I can use the special ability manifestation at will? ...
0
votes
2answers
253 views

How does a Ghostly Arm (graft) interact with Two-Weapon Fighting?

According to Libris Mortis (p. 80): ...the grafted creature can use the ghostly arm to deliver an incorporeal touch attack that deals 1d6 points of damage, the equivalent of a ghost’s corrupting ...
4
votes
1answer
419 views

Do incorporeal creatures trigger symbol spells normally?

As per symbol of death, symbol spells can have one or more of the following triggers: Creature looks at a symbol Creature reads a symbol Creature touches a symbol Creature passes over a symbol ...