Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 174 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [initiative]

The rules governing the order of action in turn-based combat systems.

3
votes
1answer
623 views

Can I use Hero's Defiance (or an immediate action) before I've had a chance to take my turn?

Suppose I have a paladin in a fight with a tiger. We roll initiative, and the paladin is going to go last. In the first round, the tiger charges and deals 54 damage to my paladin, and takes them down. ...
28
votes
3answers
28k views

Can I delay my turn in D&D 5e?

Has the delay rule to change initiative order been removed from 5th edition? I cannot find it in the PHB. In 4th edition, you can delay your turn to trigger on an action or another turn.
4
votes
4answers
979 views

Conditions of readied actions

The fighter archetype, Crossbowman, has abilities called deadshot and greater deadshot. These abilities give bonus damage on crossbow attacks that come from readied actions. This gave me an ...
-5
votes
1answer
332 views

Does haste trump first strike, or vice versa?

I've added a new enchantment to my AD&D game based on the "first strike" ability from Magic: The Gathering. It's simply defined as the ability to always go first in the round, every round. If a ...
4
votes
2answers
444 views

Should Players declare their actions once Initiative is dealt?

I've been wondering this for a long time... What is usualy the order things should take on the game table? Should the GM handle the cards and then players declare what they want to do and lastly ...
4
votes
1answer
313 views

How much can ambushers do before losing the advantage of surprise?

I am unsure of how the surprise round works when only the ambushing party is aware, but will need to actually move to get within melee distance of their ambush victims. For example: a group of orcs ...
7
votes
2answers
793 views

When does a surprise round start?

The PC's are in hiding behind a cliff, they can see the unaware monsters but cannot attack them from their position. If they move out of hiding in the open (in order to have a line-of-effect on the ...
1
vote
0answers
509 views

Magic items that grant initiative bonuses? [closed]

What are the magic items in D&D 4th edition that grant an item bonus on initiative?
7
votes
3answers
2k views

How to handle some new NPCs who enter a fight in progress?

I am GMing for the second time in my life, and do not know how to handle this situation: There are 5 PCs who walk through this map. In almost every room there are a couple of NPCs who might or might ...
15
votes
5answers
2k views

Should drawing weapons involve an initiative roll when combat isn't going to happen?

I need some advice on how to handle a troublesome situation. If my PCs are in a tense situation, and an NPC suddenly draws a weapon, should I ask my players to roll for initiative? Is this the most ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

The Mysteries of AD&D 1e Initiative

Out of all the concepts I have learnt in AD&D 1e, I find initiative to be the most difficult to wrap my head around in a realistic way. I understand thus far that combat is divided into rounds of ...
3
votes
2answers
256 views

When taking a non-combat action, do you move to the end of rank order first, or only after acting?

Sorry if it seems like a stupid question but I'm genuinely confused. On Page 62 of the core rule book it says: Once the fight has begun, if a combatant wishes to do something else besides ...
2
votes
2answers
483 views

Is a Technomancer's Matrix Initiative limited by Resonance?

I am aware Shadowrun 4e says none of the Technomancer's Persona's attributes may exceed their Resonance attribute, but what of its "Other Ratings"? Are Biofeedback Filter and Matrix Initiative limited ...
9
votes
6answers
5k views

Why “roll for initiative” in Pathfinder?

Perhaps related to this other question, what is the point in rolling for initiative in Pathfinder (so far the only RPG I've played)? It would seem that certain characters would "automatically" ...
24
votes
3answers
2k views

Does your initiative change if your dex changes?

After combat has started will changes to your DEX stat (sufficent to change your dex bonus) change your initiative score? Example: Wizard Bob sees a goblin approaching and initiative is rolled; the ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Do Improved Initiative & Superior Initiative stack?

Does Improved Initiative (+4 on initiative checks) stacks with Superior Initiative (+8 on initiative checks)? Is it possible (if it's a good idea) to retrain Improved Initiative to Superior on epic ...