Questions tagged [invisibility]

For questions about invisibility. Invisibility is more than transparency; it can potentially make something impossible to detect through any means. Questions about how it works, when to use it, and what can be done to stop it fit in here.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
7
votes
1answer
287 views

Can the Guiding Bolt spell be aimed at an invisible target?

Most spells state that the target must be something you can see. for example the magic missile spell says: Each dart hits a creature of your choice that you can see within range. But recently I ...
12
votes
5answers
4k views

How do we kill what we can't see?

Large party, level 6 Storm Sorcerer, Shadow Sorcerer, Lore Bard, Dual wielding DEX fighter, Thief, Moon Druid, Forge Cleric We are repeatedly running into a problem encounter, that we've had to run ...
26
votes
2answers
1k views

Moving through the space of an invisible enemy creature in combat

In my last session the party was fighting some Wyverns. When one got near the sorcerer, he became invisible and moved out of its reach, but stayed between the Wyvern and the warlock. On its next turn, ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you tell the difference between plane shift and invisibility?

Should/could a creature tell the difference between an enemy gone invisible and an enemy that switched to the ethereal plane? For example when someone uses blink, would an enemy NPC continue attacking ...
4
votes
1answer
157 views

Do Area of Effect spells reveal hidden or invisible enemies?

As a question that came up from this discussion about whether Mind Blank foils all attempts to gain information about the target, can area of effect spells be used to reveal enemies? In the example ...
9
votes
2answers
148 views

Can an invisible creature with the Mind Blank spell cast on it be seen by a creature with the True Seeing spell cast on it?

True Seeing is a divination spell that states: For the duration, the creature has truesight [...] While Mind Blank states: Until the spell ends, one willing creature you touch is immune to ...
2
votes
0answers
48 views

Does the caster know when an Invisibility spell ends? [duplicate]

If a spell caster puts invisibility on someone else, and that person leaves the caster's immediate area, and somehow becomes visible--by attacking, presumably--does the caster know that the spell if ...
6
votes
1answer
239 views

Can my familiar turn me invisible?

If, as a multiclassed wizard/druid, I have an imp familiar from the find familiar spell and I wild shape into a rat, can the imp hold me and turn invisible?
6
votes
1answer
127 views

While I'm in the Border Ethereal, can I use See Invisibility, etc., to see invisible creatures on the Material Plane?

This is an extension to this question on invisibility and the Ethereal Plane. As the question states: While I'm in the Border Ethereal, can I use See Invisibility, True Sight, etc., to see creatures ...
7
votes
1answer
105 views

Invisibility by Correspondence

How do you do that specifies (page 34) that a mage could become invisible by using a Forces 2 effect. I would like to know if it is possible (and better if referenced in any source) to use ...
16
votes
2answers
5k views

If you know the location of an invisible creature, can you attack it?

Let's say a barbarian named Boomtar is in a room with stalkers and can’t see them because they are invisible and stealthy. Boomtar bravely lunges forward and happens to run into the stalker. May ...
7
votes
2answers
254 views

Is there any lore about whether a creature can see themselves and their gear while invisible?

I've separately asked about the mechanics of whether an invisible creature can see themselves and their own gear in D&D 5E. And from a rules perspective, it's pretty clear that they can't. But ...
17
votes
3answers
2k views

Can an invisible creature see themselves and their own gear?

Suppose there's an everyday ordinary human character who becomes invisible, either due to quaffing a potion of invisibility or from somebody casting the invisibility spell on him. These cause both he ...
15
votes
1answer
2k views

If an arcane trickster rogue uses his mage hand and makes it invisible, does that mean anything the hand picks up is also invisible? [duplicate]

From the PHB (emphasis mine): Starting at 3rd level, when you cast Mage Hand, you can make the spectral hand invisible, and you can perform the following additional tasks with it: • You ...
15
votes
3answers
847 views

Can I see due to the mundane light source that I carry while I'm invisible?

(I found a similar question about seeing with magical light while invisible, but I have a question about mundane light, based on a scenario that came up in today's session.) I'm a human (and so I don'...
18
votes
8answers
10k views

How fast does a character need to move to be effectively invisible?

One of my players wants his monk to reach blinding speed like Rock Lee from Naruto. He is so fast he's invisible when he moves between attacks, like the character in this video after he takes off his ...
7
votes
1answer
447 views

Can you cast a blanket Invisibility and let the targets see each other?

Can you use the 3rd level or higher part of Invisibility to make a small group invisible but still able to see each other, like Cloak the Gathering can? Invisibility states: A creature you touch ...
1
vote
0answers
77 views

Invisibility and spiritual weapon [closed]

Casting Spiritual weapon then invisibility the following round does using the spiritual weapon as a bonus action to hit break invisibility?
18
votes
2answers
2k views

Do I have to roll to maintain concentration if a target other than me who is affected by my concentration spell takes damage?

We had a little puzzling situation during the last session of our group (I'm DMing here), and would like an approbation/rebuttal on the rule interpretation: The Arcane Trickster of the team cast ...
4
votes
2answers
90 views

Can Listen be used to pinpoint the location of an invisible enemy?

I know I will still have to deal with the miss chance from concealment, but can I use Listen to at least find which square to attack?
16
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a character with the Polearm Master feat make an opportunity attack against an invisible creature that enters their reach?

The second benefit of the Polearm Master feat (PHB, p. 168) says: While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when ...
3
votes
0answers
118 views

How quick is the transition from one concentration spell to another? [duplicate]

While it's been established that concentration spells can't overlap (When exactly does a concentration spell end from casting another one?) this brings up the nitpicky question of 'how long is the gap ...
10
votes
3answers
315 views

Does an attack redirected to an invisible target have disadvantage?

An interesting combo came up in gameplay: An invisible party member chose to defend another party member using their non-spell, non-attack reaction (arrow catching shield.) In the description for the ...
9
votes
1answer
361 views

Can my Warlock attack with their familiar and remain invisible?

I am playing a warlock. I will take the Pact of the Chain option at 3rd level to have the Find Familiar spell. If I cast invisibility on myself and then on my turn always take the Attack action to ...
12
votes
2answers
419 views

Does a Familiar I’m carrying turn invisible with me if I cast Greater Invisibility on myself?

What happens if I have a Familiar (from the Find Familiar spell) hidden in a coat pocket (not a pocket dimension, just a regular pocket), and I use the Greater Invisibility spell on myself? Would it ...
10
votes
1answer
5k views

How powerful is the invisibility granted by the Gloom Stalker ranger's Umbral Sight feature?

The Gloom Stalker ranger's Umbral Sight feature, which is granted when a ranger chooses the Gloom Stalker archetype at level 3, states: You are also adept at evading creatures that rely on ...
3
votes
3answers
167 views

What effects would invisible or illusioned holy symbols have on casting for a cleric?

If a cleric decided to have their holy symbol invisible would it affect any of the uses of it? Such as the ability to channel, casting spells with divine focus, and possibly preparing spells (this one ...
8
votes
2answers
930 views

Is a Perception Check against an Invisible Target made with Disadvantage?

Here's the scenario: Creature A is invisible, in an empty room, in an arbitrary location in the room The room is adequately lit (call it Bright Light, for the sake of argument) Creature A is trying ...
3
votes
1answer
226 views

Do perception checks to locate Invisible / Hiding creatures auto fail? [duplicate]

The Invisibility condition states: For the purpose of Hiding, the creature is heavily obscured. Rules for The Environment state: A heavily obscured area—such as Darkness, opaque fog, or dense ...
13
votes
6answers
1k views

What are the balance implications behind making invisible things auto-hide?

This question was inspired by a comment on this question. Normally when a 'thing' (Usually creature, but type in my games doesn't always mean as much as it should by RAW) turns invisible anyone ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Is this part of the description of the Archfey warlock's Misty Escape feature redundant?

From the Archfey warlock patron feature Misty Escape (PHB, p. 109). When you take damage, you can use your reaction to turn invisible and teleport up to 60 feet to an unoccupied space you can see. ...
21
votes
3answers
3k views

If Invisibility ends because the original caster casts a non-concentration spell, does Invisibility also end on other targets of the original casting?

A bit of a 'What-If' situation has cropped up in our group. Nothing that has caused any table drama, mainly something that has been noticed by some, and debated at the table off-line and casually, but ...
3
votes
3answers
965 views

Could a warlock use the One with Shadows warlock invocation to turn invisible, and then move while staying invisible?

In the eldritch invocation “One with Shadows”, it is stated that the player is invisible in a dim location until an action or reaction is used. Since movement is not an action, could the player use ...
6
votes
1answer
217 views

Can you ready an attack against an invisible foe you are not aware of?

Our party entered a seemingly empty room. My PC correctly assumed invisible opponents to be in the room, so he readied an action: "If I am attacked, I strike the attacker." Then an opponent attacked ...
5
votes
1answer
139 views

How does invisibility and blur interact with ongoing visual spell effects that are not light?

How does invisibility and blur interact with ongoing visual spell effects that are not light? A character in my campaign often uses slipstream to move around because they are a merfolk, and likes the ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

Will an Amulet of Proof against Detection and Location protect an invisible character from being observed by True Sight or Robe of Eyes?

Will an Amulet of Proof against Detection and Location protect an invisible character from being observed directly with divination magic? I get that the Amulet would prevent the wearer from being ...
7
votes
2answers
528 views

If I'm invisible and use stealth, but the enemy has See Invisibility, what can I do without being detected?

I'm preparing for a large encounter in my campaign. Unfortunately, the DM likes to be a jerk to me when I try to do something spectacular, such as casting darkness over an area of enemies and then ...
9
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a monk with Empty Body break the invisibility while keeping the resistances?

Monks gain the Empty Body feature (PHB, page 79): Beginning at 18th level, you can use your action to spend 4 ki points to become invisible for 1 minute. During that time, you also have resistance ...
20
votes
1answer
2k views

Can characters see themselves if invisible?

Extraneous background info: The heroes are in a chamber full of mirrors with no doors, transported there by a nefarious wizard. The entire room is colored monochrome in black and white, except the ...
8
votes
1answer
126 views

Is there a penalty to ride checks on invisible mounts?

Assuming I'm correct to say that if I'm invisible and my mount is also invisible (separate spells in this case) then I can't see my mount, do I get a penalty to ride checks for that mount?
8
votes
2answers
365 views

If a mounted warlock uses the One with Shadows eldritch invocation to turn invisible, and their mount moves, do they become visible?

Say a warlock is already on an independent mount (i.e. mount chooses where to move) and then uses the One with Shadows eldritch invocation to turn invisible. On the mount’s initiative, it moves; does ...
2
votes
1answer
88 views

Can you make AoOs against targets you can't see?

In 5e, you can only make opportunity attacks against targets you can see. I can't find similar language in 3.5, but the rules are a bit scattered. Can an invisible attacker run circles around you ...
6
votes
1answer
143 views

Can a Warblade use Wall of Blades to counter an attack from an invisible foe?

My Warblade is battling a vampire. The vampire is invisible. My Warblade is level 8, and has Uncanny Dodge, letting him keep his DEX bonus to AC. He has Wall of Blades readied. Can he use that ...
3
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a warlock use the Ghostly Gaze eldritch invocation to see invisible objects or those within a Darkness spell?

Can a warlock use the Ghostly Gaze eldritch invocation to see objects affected by the invisibility spell or those within the area of effect of the darkness spell? More specifically, do the objects ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a creature with truesight see the invisible sensor created by the Clairvoyance spell?

When you cast clairvoyance: You create an invisible sensor within range in a location familiar to you [...] If you do this near someone with truesight, which gives the following benefit: A ...
6
votes
3answers
608 views

Does Disguise Self make parts of you invisible?

Part of the disguise self spell says: If you use this spell to appear thinner than you are, the hand of someone who reaches out to touch you would bump into you while it was seemingly still in ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you aim for something behind an invisible creature to avoid the disadvantage?

Inspired by the question here. I wanted to ask if someone knows that there is an invisible creature in front of him can the person declare an attack on something behind the invisible creature in order ...
7
votes
1answer
430 views

How are attacks that hit invisible creatures acting as cover resolved?

| Y | - | C | - | T | Y = You C = Invisible Creature T = Target The DM rules that C provides half cover for T. The table uses the optional rules for hitting cover: If a creature is ...
18
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens when you try to target a creature with fire bolt but there is an invisible creature in between?

| Y | - | C | - | T | Y = You C = Invisible Creature T = Target What happens if you cast a firebolt on an enemy but in the line of sight between you and your target there is an invisible ...
15
votes
4answers
4k views

Does a creature with blindsight have disadvantage when attacking an invisible target?

As the question states, if a creature has blindsight, do they have disadvantage on a target that is within the range of their blindsight and not otherwise hidden/covered? The wording of the invisible ...