Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 175 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [invisibility]

Invisibility is more than transparency; it can potentially make something impossible to detect through any means. Questions about how it works, when to use it, and what can be done to stop it fit in here.

16
votes
3answers
3k views

Does casting Invisibility in a 2nd level slot targeting a mount make the rider invisible too?

The invisibility spell description says (emphasis mine): A creature you touch becomes invisible until the spell ends. Anything the target is wearing or carrying is invisible as long as it is on ...
10
votes
3answers
202 views

Does an attack redirected to an invisible target have disadvantage?

An interesting combo came up in gameplay: An invisible party member chose to defend another party member using their non-spell, non-attack reaction (arrow catching shield.) In the description for the ...
9
votes
1answer
264 views

Can my Warlock attack with their familiar and remain invisible?

I am playing a warlock. I will take the Pact of the Chain option at 3rd level to have the Find Familiar spell. If I cast invisibility on myself and then on my turn always take the Attack action to ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

What options exist for making non-equipment objects invisible?

I'm the DM of a 5th-level party whose PCs have a handful of illusion spells in their repertoire. The players have on at least one occasion mentioned the idea of using one of these spells to hide some ...
8
votes
1answer
176 views

Does a Familiar I’m carrying turn invisible with me if I cast Greater Invisibility on myself?

What happens if I have a Familiar (from the Find Familiar spell) hidden in a coat pocket (not a pocket dimension, just a regular pocket), and I use the Greater Invisibility spell on myself? Would it ...
7
votes
1answer
463 views

How powerful is the invisibility granted by the Gloom Stalker ranger's Umbral Sight feature?

The Gloom Stalker ranger's Umbral Sight feature, which is granted when a ranger chooses the Gloom Stalker archetype at level 3, states: You are also adept at evading creatures that rely on ...
14
votes
6answers
1k views

What are the balance implications behind making invisible things auto-hide?

This question was inspired by a comment on this question. Normally when a 'thing' (Usually creature, but type in my games doesn't always mean as much as it should by RAW) turns invisible anyone ...
3
votes
3answers
148 views

What effects would invisible or illusioned holy symbols have on casting for a cleric?

If a cleric decided to have their holy symbol invisible would it affect any of the uses of it? Such as the ability to channel, casting spells with divine focus, and possibly preparing spells (this one ...
7
votes
2answers
330 views

Is a Perception Check against an Invisible Target made with Disadvantage?

Here's the scenario: Creature A is invisible, in an empty room, in an arbitrary location in the room The room is adequately lit (call it Bright Light, for the sake of argument) Creature A is trying ...
2
votes
1answer
111 views

Do perception checks to locate Invisible / Hiding creatures auto fail? [duplicate]

The Invisibility condition states: For the purpose of Hiding, the creature is heavily obscured. Rules for The Environment state: A heavily obscured area—such as Darkness, opaque fog, or dense ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Is this part of the description of the Archfey warlock's Misty Escape feature redundant?

From the Archfey warlock patron feature Misty Escape (PHB, p. 109). When you take damage, you can use your reaction to turn invisible and teleport up to 60 feet to an unoccupied space you can see. ...
5
votes
1answer
114 views

How does invisibility and blur interact with ongoing visual spell effects that are not light?

How does invisibility and blur interact with ongoing visual spell effects that are not light? A character in my campaign often uses slipstream to move around because they are a merfolk, and likes the ...
21
votes
3answers
2k views

If Invisibility ends because the original caster casts a non-concentration spell, does Invisibility also end on other targets of the original casting?

A bit of a 'What-If' situation has cropped up in our group. Nothing that has caused any table drama, mainly something that has been noticed by some, and debated at the table off-line and casually, but ...
3
votes
3answers
869 views

Could a warlock use the One with Shadows warlock invocation to turn invisible, and then move while staying invisible?

In the eldritch invocation “One with Shadows”, it is stated that the player is invisible in a dim location until an action or reaction is used. Since movement is not an action, could the player use ...
8
votes
5answers
2k views

Avoiding the “invisible jet” effect with a shadow mastiff mount

One of the player characters in a game I run is a halfling rogue. I want to give her a non-evil shadow mastiff as an intelligent mount due to synergy with her rogue features. This is a case where the ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Does an invisible familiar delivering a touch spell have advantage?

Since a warlock's familiar can be a Quasit (which can turn invisible) and a familiar can be used to deliver the warlock's touch spell, it should be able to deliver a touch spell like plane shift1 (...
6
votes
1answer
201 views

Can you ready an attack against an invisible foe you are not aware of?

Our party entered a seemingly empty room. My PC correctly assumed invisible opponents to be in the room, so he readied an action: "If I am attacked, I strike the attacker." Then an opponent attacked ...
14
votes
1answer
845 views

When a wizard's familiar attacks, who's the attacker for the purposes of Invisibility?

The Invisibility spell states: If the subject attacks directly, however, it immediately becomes visible Who is the attacker when a familiar delivers a touch spell? The familiar, the spellcaster or ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a spell that targets a creature be cast on an area where the caster believes there is an invisible creature?

A Cleric wants to use Sacred Flame in an area where he thinks there is an invisible enemy. His logic is something like this: Sacred Flame is something similar to fire from heaven, so I can "command" ...
7
votes
3answers
713 views

Will an Amulet of Proof against Detection and Location protect an invisible character from being observed by True Sight or Robe of Eyes?

Will an Amulet of Proof against Detection and Location protect an invisible character from being observed directly with divination magic? I get that the Amulet would prevent the wearer from being ...
7
votes
2answers
268 views

If I'm invisible and use stealth, but the enemy has See Invisibility, what can I do without being detected?

I'm preparing for a large encounter in my campaign. Unfortunately, the DM likes to be a jerk to me when I try to do something spectacular, such as casting darkness over an area of enemies and then ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

Does a creature grappling an invisible foe still get disadvantage on attacks against them?

If I turn invisible and grapple a foe, does he still have disadvantage to hit me because I am invisible or does he now know where I am?
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a monk with Empty Body break the invisibility while keeping the resistances?

Monks gain the Empty Body feature (PHB, page 79): Beginning at 18th level, you can use your action to spend 4 ki points to become invisible for 1 minute. During that time, you also have resistance ...
19
votes
1answer
2k views

Can characters see themselves if invisible?

Extraneous background info: The heroes are in a chamber full of mirrors with no doors, transported there by a nefarious wizard. The entire room is colored monochrome in black and white, except the ...
28
votes
4answers
11k views

Do Nondetection and Invisibility protect you from True Seeing?

Nondetection says it hides the target from all divination spells. Invisibility hides you from normal sight. When combining both effects on one target, are they hidden from true seeing?
8
votes
1answer
118 views

Is there a penalty to ride checks on invisible mounts?

Assuming I'm correct to say that if I'm invisible and my mount is also invisible (separate spells in this case) then I can't see my mount, do I get a penalty to ride checks for that mount?
8
votes
2answers
282 views

If a mounted warlock uses the One with Shadows eldritch invocation to turn invisible, and their mount moves, do they become visible?

Say a warlock is already on an independent mount (i.e. mount chooses where to move) and then uses the One with Shadows eldritch invocation to turn invisible. On the mount’s initiative, it moves; does ...
2
votes
1answer
76 views

Can you make AoOs against targets you can't see?

In 5e, you can only make opportunity attacks against targets you can see. I can't find similar language in 3.5, but the rules are a bit scattered. Can an invisible attacker run circles around you ...
14
votes
4answers
3k views

Does a creature with blindsight have disadvantage when attacking an invisible target?

As the question states, if a creature has blindsight, do they have disadvantage on a target that is within the range of their blindsight and not otherwise hidden/covered? The wording of the invisible ...
6
votes
1answer
122 views

Can a Warblade use Wall of Blades to counter an attack from an invisible foe?

My Warblade is battling a vampire. The vampire is invisible. My Warblade is level 8, and has Uncanny Dodge, letting him keep his DEX bonus to AC. He has Wall of Blades readied. Can he use that ...
3
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a warlock use the Ghostly Gaze eldritch invocation to see invisible objects or those within a Darkness spell?

Can a warlock use the Ghostly Gaze eldritch invocation to see objects affected by the invisibility spell or those within the area of effect of the darkness spell? More specifically, do the objects ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a creature with truesight see the invisible sensor created by the Clairvoyance spell?

When you cast clairvoyance: You create an invisible sensor within range in a location familiar to you [...] If you do this near someone with truesight, which gives the following benefit: A ...
6
votes
3answers
487 views

Does Disguise Self make parts of you invisible?

Part of the disguise self spell says: If you use this spell to appear thinner than you are, the hand of someone who reaches out to touch you would bump into you while it was seemingly still in ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you aim for something behind an invisible creature to avoid the disadvantage?

Inspired by the question here. I wanted to ask if someone knows that there is an invisible creature in front of him can the person declare an attack on something behind the invisible creature in order ...
7
votes
1answer
378 views

How are attacks that hit invisible creatures acting as cover resolved?

| Y | - | C | - | T | Y = You C = Invisible Creature T = Target The DM rules that C provides half cover for T. The table uses the optional rules for hitting cover: If a creature is ...
18
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens when you try to target a creature with fire bolt but there is an invisible creature in between?

| Y | - | C | - | T | Y = You C = Invisible Creature T = Target What happens if you cast a firebolt on an enemy but in the line of sight between you and your target there is an invisible ...
8
votes
4answers
8k views

Does the invisibility from the warlock's “One with Shadows” Eldritch Invocation end if the area of darkness you're in becomes lit?

Warlocks get access to the following Eldritch Invocation at 5th level: When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible until you move or take an ...
2
votes
1answer
311 views

Can an artificer stay invisible when using Alchemical Fire/Acid?

Let's say a UA Artificer (Alchemist subclass) casts invisibility on himself. The description of invisibility says: A creature you touch and everything it wears or carries becomes invisible. If the ...
3
votes
1answer
209 views

How to guess the location of invisible enemies?

I ruled that if you are invisible, for example inside the darkness spell, enemies have disadvantage on attack rolls on you and enemies have to guess your location, how to deal with this second part? ...
17
votes
2answers
1k views

What is the correct way to handle someone charging through an unknown invisible enemy?

In a recent session, an enemy creature tried to charge at our spellcaster. Unknown to him, our Rogue, who had Invisibility cast on him, was in the way. What is the correct way to handle this?
11
votes
2answers
2k views

How to dispel greater invisibility?

If I know there is a creature in range under the greater invisibility effect, can I do the ready action to cast dispel magic on the invisibility effect when the invisible creature reveals his position ...
6
votes
1answer
227 views

Does the Invisibility spell hide the illusory appearance produced by the Seeming spell?

Our party was infiltrating a town under the guise of the seeming spell. We then decided that in order to further investigate an area, some of our party would go invisible. We ruled that the ...
7
votes
3answers
297 views

What happens if you scry a target that's invisible?

What happens if you scry a target with either scrying or greater scrying while the subject is under the effects of a (Greater) invisibility spell? This is assuming the target fails her will save and ...
13
votes
6answers
752 views

Does an invisible enemy within 5 feet of you still impose disadvantage on ranged attacks?

PHB, p. 195 says, under "Ranged Attacks in Close Combat": Aiming a ranged attack is more difficult when a foe is next to you. When you make a ranged attack with a weapon, a spell, or some other ...
7
votes
4answers
2k views

Invisible Rogue snuck in, stole an item, and dashed away. Did I miss any rules while handling this?

My players love putting me in situations where I have to quickly adjudicate without being able to deeply consult the rules. The downside is that we are using 5e, and most of my experience is in 3.x, ...
9
votes
1answer
906 views

How does the Disengage action interact with opportunity attacks when invisible?

I've got an encounter planned involving several creatures who were modified by magic to be able to camouflage themselves to such an extent that the only time they are visible is that instant when they ...
2
votes
2answers
592 views

RAW, does Truesight negate the Disadvantage component of attacking an Invisible Target?

The Invisible condition expressly states that it causes Disadvantage on Attackers trying to attack them, but in doing so, doesn't adjacently make reference to whether the creature in question can see ...
3
votes
2answers
112 views

Fiendish Glare vs an Invisible Creature currently outlined by Glitterdust?

A creature cast invisibility on itself. We successfully covered it with glitterdust. Can our Warlock/Acolyte of the Skin target the outlined creature with his Fiendish Glare? The source of ...
6
votes
2answers
431 views

How can I best narrate the position of an unhidden invisible skeleton?

While fighting through a wizard's tower, the party breaks into an unexplored storeroom to take cover from enemies down the corridor outside the room. Unbeknownst to them, there is an invisible ...
4
votes
1answer
81 views

How do Area Glow and Revealing Light work differently when revealing invisible creatures?

When using the magic system Spheres of Power, the sphere of Light can cause a creature or object to glow. This effect negates all the bonuses given by invisibility. If you augment it with Area Glow, ...