Questions tagged [invisibility]

For questions about invisibility. Invisibility is more than transparency; it can potentially make something impossible to detect through any means. Questions about how it works, when to use it, and what can be done to stop it fit in here.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
1answer
154 views

Can my familiar turn me invisible?

If, as a multiclassed wizard/druid, I have an imp familiar from the find familiar spell and I wild shape into a rat, can the imp hold me and turn invisible?
4
votes
1answer
43 views

While I'm in the Border Ethereal, can I use See Invisibility, etc., to see invisible creatures on the Material Plane?

This is an extension to this question on invisibility and the Ethereal Plane. As the question states: While I'm in the Border Ethereal, can I use See Invisibility, True Sight, etc., to see creatures ...
6
votes
1answer
88 views

Invisibility by Correspondence

How do you do that specifies (page 34) that a mage could become invisible by using a Forces 2 effect. I would like to know if it is possible (and better if referenced in any source) to use ...
16
votes
2answers
5k views

If you know the location of an invisible creature, can you attack it?

Let's say a barbarian named Boomtar is in a room with stalkers and can’t see them because they are invisible and stealthy. Boomtar bravely lunges forward and happens to run into the stalker. May ...
8
votes
2answers
246 views

Is there any lore about whether a creature can see themselves and their gear while invisible?

I've separately asked about the mechanics of whether an invisible creature can see themselves and their own gear in D&D 5E. And from a rules perspective, it's pretty clear that they can't. But ...
17
votes
3answers
1k views

Can an invisible creature see themselves and their own gear?

Suppose there's an everyday ordinary human character who becomes invisible, either due to quaffing a potion of invisibility or from somebody casting the invisibility spell on him. These cause both he ...
15
votes
1answer
2k views

If an arcane trickster rogue uses his mage hand and makes it invisible, does that mean anything the hand picks up is also invisible? [duplicate]

From the PHB (emphasis mine): Starting at 3rd level, when you cast Mage Hand, you can make the spectral hand invisible, and you can perform the following additional tasks with it: • You ...
15
votes
3answers
831 views

Can I see due to the mundane light source that I carry while I'm invisible?

(I found a similar question about seeing with magical light while invisible, but I have a question about mundane light, based on a scenario that came up in today's session.) I'm a human (and so I don'...
18
votes
8answers
10k views

How fast does a character need to move to be effectively invisible?

One of my players wants his monk to reach blinding speed like Rock Lee from Naruto. He is so fast he's invisible when he moves between attacks, like the character in this video after he takes off his ...
7
votes
1answer
436 views

Can you cast a blanket Invisibility and let the targets see each other?

Can you use the 3rd level or higher part of Invisibility to make a small group invisible but still able to see each other, like Cloak the Gathering can? Invisibility states: A creature you touch ...
1
vote
0answers
58 views

Invisibility and spiritual weapon [closed]

Casting Spiritual weapon then invisibility the following round does using the spiritual weapon as a bonus action to hit break invisibility?
18
votes
2answers
2k views

Do I have to roll to maintain concentration if a target other than me who is affected by my concentration spell takes damage?

We had a little puzzling situation during the last session of our group (I'm DMing here), and would like an approbation/rebuttal on the rule interpretation: The Arcane Trickster of the team cast ...
4
votes
2answers
88 views

Can Listen be used to pinpoint the location of an invisible enemy?

I know I will still have to deal with the miss chance from concealment, but can I use Listen to at least find which square to attack?
16
votes
2answers
722 views

Can a character with the Polearm Master feat make an opportunity attack against an invisible creature that enters their reach?

The second benefit of the Polearm Master feat (PHB, p. 168) says: While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when ...
3
votes
0answers
112 views

How quick is the transition from one concentration spell to another? [duplicate]

While it's been established that concentration spells can't overlap (When exactly does a concentration spell end from casting another one?) this brings up the nitpicky question of 'how long is the gap ...
10
votes
3answers
284 views

Does an attack redirected to an invisible target have disadvantage?

An interesting combo came up in gameplay: An invisible party member chose to defend another party member using their non-spell, non-attack reaction (arrow catching shield.) In the description for the ...
9
votes
1answer
336 views

Can my Warlock attack with their familiar and remain invisible?

I am playing a warlock. I will take the Pact of the Chain option at 3rd level to have the Find Familiar spell. If I cast invisibility on myself and then on my turn always take the Attack action to ...
12
votes
2answers
330 views

Does a Familiar I’m carrying turn invisible with me if I cast Greater Invisibility on myself?

What happens if I have a Familiar (from the Find Familiar spell) hidden in a coat pocket (not a pocket dimension, just a regular pocket), and I use the Greater Invisibility spell on myself? Would it ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

How powerful is the invisibility granted by the Gloom Stalker ranger's Umbral Sight feature?

The Gloom Stalker ranger's Umbral Sight feature, which is granted when a ranger chooses the Gloom Stalker archetype at level 3, states: You are also adept at evading creatures that rely on ...
3
votes
3answers
160 views

What effects would invisible or illusioned holy symbols have on casting for a cleric?

If a cleric decided to have their holy symbol invisible would it affect any of the uses of it? Such as the ability to channel, casting spells with divine focus, and possibly preparing spells (this one ...
8
votes
2answers
658 views

Is a Perception Check against an Invisible Target made with Disadvantage?

Here's the scenario: Creature A is invisible, in an empty room, in an arbitrary location in the room The room is adequately lit (call it Bright Light, for the sake of argument) Creature A is trying ...
2
votes
1answer
172 views

Do perception checks to locate Invisible / Hiding creatures auto fail? [duplicate]

The Invisibility condition states: For the purpose of Hiding, the creature is heavily obscured. Rules for The Environment state: A heavily obscured area—such as Darkness, opaque fog, or dense ...
14
votes
6answers
1k views

What are the balance implications behind making invisible things auto-hide?

This question was inspired by a comment on this question. Normally when a 'thing' (Usually creature, but type in my games doesn't always mean as much as it should by RAW) turns invisible anyone ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Is this part of the description of the Archfey warlock's Misty Escape feature redundant?

From the Archfey warlock patron feature Misty Escape (PHB, p. 109). When you take damage, you can use your reaction to turn invisible and teleport up to 60 feet to an unoccupied space you can see. ...
21
votes
3answers
2k views

If Invisibility ends because the original caster casts a non-concentration spell, does Invisibility also end on other targets of the original casting?

A bit of a 'What-If' situation has cropped up in our group. Nothing that has caused any table drama, mainly something that has been noticed by some, and debated at the table off-line and casually, but ...
3
votes
3answers
941 views

Could a warlock use the One with Shadows warlock invocation to turn invisible, and then move while staying invisible?

In the eldritch invocation “One with Shadows”, it is stated that the player is invisible in a dim location until an action or reaction is used. Since movement is not an action, could the player use ...
6
votes
1answer
210 views

Can you ready an attack against an invisible foe you are not aware of?

Our party entered a seemingly empty room. My PC correctly assumed invisible opponents to be in the room, so he readied an action: "If I am attacked, I strike the attacker." Then an opponent attacked ...
5
votes
1answer
130 views

How does invisibility and blur interact with ongoing visual spell effects that are not light?

How does invisibility and blur interact with ongoing visual spell effects that are not light? A character in my campaign often uses slipstream to move around because they are a merfolk, and likes the ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

Will an Amulet of Proof against Detection and Location protect an invisible character from being observed by True Sight or Robe of Eyes?

Will an Amulet of Proof against Detection and Location protect an invisible character from being observed directly with divination magic? I get that the Amulet would prevent the wearer from being ...
7
votes
2answers
433 views

If I'm invisible and use stealth, but the enemy has See Invisibility, what can I do without being detected?

I'm preparing for a large encounter in my campaign. Unfortunately, the DM likes to be a jerk to me when I try to do something spectacular, such as casting darkness over an area of enemies and then ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a monk with Empty Body break the invisibility while keeping the resistances?

Monks gain the Empty Body feature (PHB, page 79): Beginning at 18th level, you can use your action to spend 4 ki points to become invisible for 1 minute. During that time, you also have resistance ...
20
votes
1answer
2k views

Can characters see themselves if invisible?

Extraneous background info: The heroes are in a chamber full of mirrors with no doors, transported there by a nefarious wizard. The entire room is colored monochrome in black and white, except the ...
8
votes
1answer
125 views

Is there a penalty to ride checks on invisible mounts?

Assuming I'm correct to say that if I'm invisible and my mount is also invisible (separate spells in this case) then I can't see my mount, do I get a penalty to ride checks for that mount?
8
votes
2answers
341 views

If a mounted warlock uses the One with Shadows eldritch invocation to turn invisible, and their mount moves, do they become visible?

Say a warlock is already on an independent mount (i.e. mount chooses where to move) and then uses the One with Shadows eldritch invocation to turn invisible. On the mount’s initiative, it moves; does ...
2
votes
1answer
77 views

Can you make AoOs against targets you can't see?

In 5e, you can only make opportunity attacks against targets you can see. I can't find similar language in 3.5, but the rules are a bit scattered. Can an invisible attacker run circles around you ...
6
votes
1answer
138 views

Can a Warblade use Wall of Blades to counter an attack from an invisible foe?

My Warblade is battling a vampire. The vampire is invisible. My Warblade is level 8, and has Uncanny Dodge, letting him keep his DEX bonus to AC. He has Wall of Blades readied. Can he use that ...
3
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a warlock use the Ghostly Gaze eldritch invocation to see invisible objects or those within a Darkness spell?

Can a warlock use the Ghostly Gaze eldritch invocation to see objects affected by the invisibility spell or those within the area of effect of the darkness spell? More specifically, do the objects ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a creature with truesight see the invisible sensor created by the Clairvoyance spell?

When you cast clairvoyance: You create an invisible sensor within range in a location familiar to you [...] If you do this near someone with truesight, which gives the following benefit: A ...
6
votes
3answers
564 views

Does Disguise Self make parts of you invisible?

Part of the disguise self spell says: If you use this spell to appear thinner than you are, the hand of someone who reaches out to touch you would bump into you while it was seemingly still in ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you aim for something behind an invisible creature to avoid the disadvantage?

Inspired by the question here. I wanted to ask if someone knows that there is an invisible creature in front of him can the person declare an attack on something behind the invisible creature in order ...
7
votes
1answer
418 views

How are attacks that hit invisible creatures acting as cover resolved?

| Y | - | C | - | T | Y = You C = Invisible Creature T = Target The DM rules that C provides half cover for T. The table uses the optional rules for hitting cover: If a creature is ...
18
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens when you try to target a creature with fire bolt but there is an invisible creature in between?

| Y | - | C | - | T | Y = You C = Invisible Creature T = Target What happens if you cast a firebolt on an enemy but in the line of sight between you and your target there is an invisible ...
14
votes
4answers
4k views

Does a creature with blindsight have disadvantage when attacking an invisible target?

As the question states, if a creature has blindsight, do they have disadvantage on a target that is within the range of their blindsight and not otherwise hidden/covered? The wording of the invisible ...
2
votes
1answer
368 views

Can an artificer stay invisible when using Alchemical Fire/Acid?

Let's say a UA Artificer (Alchemist subclass) casts invisibility on himself. The description of invisibility says: A creature you touch and everything it wears or carries becomes invisible. If the ...
3
votes
1answer
273 views

How to guess the location of invisible enemies?

I ruled that if you are invisible, for example inside the darkness spell, enemies have disadvantage on attack rolls on you and enemies have to guess your location, how to deal with this second part? ...
17
votes
2answers
1k views

What is the correct way to handle someone charging through an unknown invisible enemy?

In a recent session, an enemy creature tried to charge at our spellcaster. Unknown to him, our Rogue, who had Invisibility cast on him, was in the way. What is the correct way to handle this?
11
votes
2answers
2k views

How to dispel greater invisibility?

If I know there is a creature in range under the greater invisibility effect, can I do the ready action to cast dispel magic on the invisibility effect when the invisible creature reveals his position ...
6
votes
1answer
271 views

Does the Invisibility spell hide the illusory appearance produced by the Seeming spell?

Our party was infiltrating a town under the guise of the seeming spell. We then decided that in order to further investigate an area, some of our party would go invisible. We ruled that the ...
7
votes
3answers
343 views

What happens if you scry a target that's invisible?

What happens if you scry a target with either scrying or greater scrying while the subject is under the effects of a (Greater) invisibility spell? This is assuming the target fails her will save and ...
14
votes
6answers
838 views

Does an invisible enemy within 5 feet of you still impose disadvantage on ranged attacks?

PHB, p. 195 says, under "Ranged Attacks in Close Combat": Aiming a ranged attack is more difficult when a foe is next to you. When you make a ranged attack with a weapon, a spell, or some other ...