Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 174 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Items imbued with magic in some way, usually beneficial but occasionally detrimental, such as a cloak which renders the wearer invisible or a hammer which returns to its wielder when thrown.

4
votes
2answers
454 views

Does learning a spell through the Magic Initiate feat allow me to cast that spell from a spell scroll?

Bob the Fighter takes the Magic Initiate feat and selects hex as his once-per-day spell given by the feat. Bob later finds a Spell Scroll of hex. Can Bob use that spell scroll, or not?
6
votes
2answers
620 views

What happens if I use Dispel Magic on a magic item? [duplicate]

I saw this question recently and I was wondering if a magic item, such as a Longsword +1, could be dispelled with dispel magic such that it would it lose the +1? A common item would require a formula,...
16
votes
2answers
2k views

Do magic items lose their magical durability in an Antimagic Field?

The DMG says this about magic item durability: Most magic items are objects of extraordinary craftsmanship. Thanks to a combination of careful crafting and magical reinforcement, a magic item is at ...
3
votes
1answer
156 views

Does a Flame Tongue sword stay ablaze if you unattune to it while still holding it?

A Flame Tongue sword is a magic item that requires attunement. You can use a bonus action to speak this magic sword's command word, causing flames to erupt from the blade. These flames shed bright ...
2
votes
1answer
75 views

Hammer of Moradin - Hammer return and additional attacks

What kind of magic enchantment would make my war hammer return immediately before my next attack so I can make four ranged attacks? Few details: I would like to have my character (22 lvl multi class ...
3
votes
2answers
123 views

Which artisan's tools would be used to create Restorative Ointment?

I'm playing D&D 5e. I'm trying to figure out which artisan's tools - and respective proficiency - would be used in making Restorative Ointment (also known as Keoghtom's Ointment; DMG, p. 179). I ...
8
votes
5answers
1k views

Is this Onyx Spear homebrew magic weapon overpowered for a low-level (3-5) character?

I'm building a unique weapon that can be looted off a boss creature in a very early portion of my campaign (expected for characters level 3-5), and I want to ensure that I can fairly hand it out to ...
6
votes
1answer
101 views

Can a sorcerer spell cast from a magic item trigger a Wild Magic Surge?

A Wild Magic Surge may happen when a Wild Magic sorcerer (PHB, p. 103-104) casts a sorcerer spell of 1st level or higher: Once per turn, the DM can have you roll a d20 immediately after you cast a ...
5
votes
1answer
185 views

Can I cast a spell from a spell scroll without holding it?

This question was inspired by the question "Does using a Spell Scroll always include a verbal component?" Here is Jeremy Crawford's ruling on the components for a spell cast from a spell scroll: ...
6
votes
1answer
217 views

Does using a Spell Scroll always include a verbal component?

I've been told that, when you use a Spell Scroll, there's always a de facto verbal component involved, as you have to read the scroll's contents out loud. That would mean that a Sorcerer using a ...
6
votes
1answer
203 views

Can you dispel the effects of a potion of heroism?

The potion of heroism says: For 1 hour after drinking it, you gain 10 temporary hit points that last for 1 hour. For the same duration, you are under the effect of the bless spell (no concentration ...
22
votes
1answer
3k views

Where did the ability “Paper cut” come from?

One of the players in my group uses PCGen to make her sheets, and she seems to have accidentally added a weird property to her bow for free. It claims to be from the Bestiary 3 and be called "Paper ...
10
votes
2answers
361 views

Can the Staff of the Woodlands be used as a druidic focus?

First of all, I play in Adventurers League, so if anyone answers this - please no house rules. I have a druid character that, for the most part, fights in melee range (up close and very personal). ...
3
votes
1answer
118 views

What can a Rope of Climbing fasten to?

The Rope of Climbing description states: If you hold one end of the rope and use an action to speak the command word, the rope animates. As a bonus action, you can command the other end to move ...
1
vote
2answers
250 views

Looking for non-overpowered spell-like effects on a weapon instead of +1 weapon [closed]

Starting a 4-5 level rogue, D&D 5e. Problem to solve: a magical spell-like effect to put on a weapon, instead the standard +1 weapon, with a rarity of uncommon. It is unclear what can or should ...
4
votes
1answer
130 views

What kinds of rods can be crafted?

I get that a wand stores one spell, a staff several spells and a rod can have other effects attached to it. This makes you rather free in creating staves and wands, by which I mean that as long as you ...
5
votes
2answers
90 views

Can multiple individuals contribute non-spell prerequisites during item creation?

Robert, a 3rd level human druid possessing the feat Craft Wondrous Item, desires to make Boots of Striding and Springing (DMG p.251). However, he lacks the necessary 5 ranks in Jump called for in the ...
6
votes
1answer
272 views

Can one wear multiple items of the same type?

Would it be possible to wear 2 (or more) magical items of the same type, e.g. a Belt of Dwarvenkind and a Belt of Giant Strength, and gain the benefits of both?
4
votes
1answer
214 views

Player characters used a Devastation Orb of Water underground

The player characters got their hands on a Devastation Orb of Water. They decided that they wanted to use it against which is underground. If they do use it underground, would the rain appear ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

Searching for a lore-backed mineral that generates heat

In my current D&D campaign, I'm an artificer. Part of our role playing is me inventing numerous weak magical trinkets for my allies. I like to write the item descriptions for these in a WotC-style ...
6
votes
1answer
126 views

Can you use a Ring of Spell Storing to store a spell cast from a magic item?

Some magic items, like the Staff of the Magi, let you cast spells. The Ring of Spell Storing lets you store spells for latter use (by yourself, or somebody else). Can you store spells cast from ...
1
vote
2answers
141 views

Does a cantrip absorbed by a Staff of the Magi give back a charge to said Staff?

A Staff of the Magi can absorb a spell targeted only at its wearer, gaining back a number of charges equivalent to the absorbed spell's level. Cantrips are spells. In some occasions, like for the ...
-1
votes
2answers
70 views

Does the shared simulacrum/familar attunement rule of Adventurers League allow use of an item by both?

The Adventurers League FAQ states: Can My Familiar Attune to a Magic Item? Any item attuned to an NPC under your control (such as, but not limited to, familiars, beast companions, simulacrums, ...
13
votes
2answers
335 views

Does the vorpal/defender rune also give a +X attack/damage bonus to a Moonblade?

One of the randomly obtainable runes on a Moonblade (DMG, p. 217) is: The moonblade functions as a vorpal sword. A regular vorpal sword has a +3 bonus to attack and damage rolls. If you get the ...
5
votes
2answers
265 views

Can you benefit from a Ring of Spell Storing if you already have a Moonblade that functions as it?

One of the random possible runes on a Moonblade (DMG, p. 217) is: The moonblade functions as a ring of spell storing. I think there's a rule (at least enforced in Adventurers League, not sure if ...
31
votes
1answer
2k views

Is an attack made with an unheld Dancing Sword considered made by the character or by the sword itself?

A Dancing Sword can be launched by its controller to make melee attacks at range: You can use a bonus action to toss this magic sword into the air and speak the command word. When you do so, the ...
2
votes
0answers
36 views

SoP Staff, caster, and feat talent stacking

This is a rather cheesy question about min-maxing. Staffs in SoP work a little differently than plain Pathfinder ones. The enhancement bonus applies to CL of the sphere effect, and extra talents can ...
2
votes
1answer
223 views

If I use the Oathbow on targets other than my sworn enemy, do I have disadvantage on the attack?

The Oathbow (DMG, p. 183) allows you to declare one enemy as your sworn enemy until the next dawn, and its description adds: While your sworn enemy lives, you have disadvantage on attack rolls with ...
4
votes
2answers
97 views

Where are the rules for crafting Skill Enchantment bonus items?

I have been looking at guides for dramatically boosting a character's potential with a single skill. In addition to toolkits, I have found mention of Competence bonuses and Enchantment bonuses (or “...
6
votes
1answer
255 views

Can an Artificer make their 1st-level item for someone else?

This is concerning specifically the Alchemist's Satchel, the Thunder Cannon (and Arcane Magazine), and any other homebrew subclasses made to work with the Unearthed Arcana version of the Artificer ...
6
votes
1answer
257 views

When would a creature fail to cast a spell from a scroll?

The Variant Rule "Scroll Mishaps" in the DMG (page 140) has a header with the following text: A creature who tries and fails to cast a spell from a spell scroll must make a DC 10 Intelligence ...
12
votes
2answers
375 views

Can any magic item rod be used as an arcane focus?

Inspired by this question: Multi purpose Arcane Focus? The premise of the other question is about using the Rod of the Pact Keeper as a focus, and although it implies it can be used as a focus ...
6
votes
2answers
268 views

Can a multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer use the Rod of the Pact Keeper as a spellcasting focus for both classes?

Warlocks and Sorcerers share Charisma as their spellcasting ability and both can use an arcane focus. The Rod of the Pact Keeper is a focus for warlocks. Can a multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer use the Rod ...
1
vote
1answer
60 views

Can you meet caster level requirements with conditional bonuses?

I am playing a level 8 Incanter from Spheres of Power. As a full caster, this gives me a caster level of 8. I have a trait which increases my caster level for the destruction sphere by 1, and I have a ...
1
vote
0answers
10 views

Do SoP wands require SP be spent on abilities that dont require SP?

The magic items in Spheres of Power (SoP) are a little incomplete for some rulings. Im currently trying to figure out if a wand always uses spell point (SP) for activating any ability, or only if the ...
7
votes
5answers
485 views

What rules are there for deciding what specific items to award when the loot table is unclear?

I'm currently creating my first completely homebrew campaign and I'm planning on using the the DMG treasure tables (p.136 - 149) to generate treasure in my campaign. I want the world to feel organic ...
0
votes
0answers
14 views

SoP Staves, do they require the base sphere for advanced talents?

In the Spheres of Power Magic items, staves are very useful but also expensive. It is not clear on one point when adding an advanced talent to the stave. Is it required to have the base sphere added? ...
0
votes
0answers
18 views

SoP Wands, do they benefit from your talents?

In spheres of power, wands are built to contain a base sphere, and then can be upgraded to have talents within that sphere. Its clear that your caster level has no effect when using a wand (this ...
2
votes
3answers
116 views

Are Voidsticks reusable after creating Voidstick Zombies?

Are voidsticks reusable? When used for their desecrate method they clearly can be. When it fails to create a zombie it seems that its been destroyed. What happens when a zombie is successfully ...
1
vote
1answer
52 views

Creating a voidstick zombie

I'm playing a necromancer in a game and a common issue is that I only have access to low HD corpses. During research into improving my matrials I came across a Voidstick which can be used to create ...
1
vote
1answer
153 views

For the sake of Wild Shape, What magical gear could be worn by both a medium humanoid and a large beast? [closed]

The other side of this question: What creature(s) can a Moon Druid transform into that would benefit from their armor? (Note: the link had Apes as the only answer, but ignore that for the sake of this ...
0
votes
0answers
15 views

Cryptic Strike Caster Level

Lets take a 5th level Inchanter from Spheres of Power, this gives them 5 CL. Lets assume they have taken the spheres destruction and death, as well as the Cryptic Strike talent from the death sphere. ...
0
votes
0answers
31 views

How are SoP wands affected by the SoP feat Wand Wielder?

The Spheres of Power (SoP) expanded rules for Pathfinder make some changes to the normal magic items. The required information is below, but here are the questions. When a character who has Wand ...
4
votes
1answer
365 views

Group gives all rewards to one member instead of distributing them [closed]

We're playing D&D 5E. I've got a good party of 4 players. They've completed 4 mini-quests and made significance progress on the first stage of the main campaign. After each mini-quest, I've ...
8
votes
3answers
2k views

How can I manage my player's perpetual invisibility?

I'm mastering a game using the MERP second edition rules. One of the players was lucky enough to start with an Item which contains a daily spell, which he chose to be Invisibility (from the Illusion ...
14
votes
2answers
604 views

Does a sentient weapon polymorphed into a creature retain the sentience's personality/alignment?

Consider the spell true polymorph. If you turn a creature into a creature, the new creature retains its alignment and personality. If you turn an object into a creature The creature is ...
3
votes
2answers
90 views

Feat or magic item that grants turning

I am searching for a feat or magic item that grants me the ability to turn undead, just like a cleric or higher-level paladin can. Finding a feat would be preferable but I'm open to other options. ...
1
vote
1answer
106 views

Identifying scrolls [duplicate]

We've always played that scrolls are easily identifiable. ("Inside the chest you find 200gp and a scroll of fireball.") Apparently we've been doing it "wrong". The rules say, "If the spell is on your ...
7
votes
2answers
141 views

Is the spellblade weapon property permanent?

The spellblade weapon property from Player's Guide to Faerûn makes you immune to a single targeted spell. This part of the description When the wielder is next subjected to the chosen spell, the ...
3
votes
1answer
758 views

Is the charge cost of Wall of Ice an error in the description of the Staff of Frost?

In the description of the Staff of Frost (DMG, pg. 202), the following is included in its description, detailing spells that can be cast with charges from the staff: The staff has 10 charges. While ...