Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 175 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [magic-items]

For questions about items imbued with magic in some way, usually beneficial but occasionally detrimental, such as a cloak which renders the wearer invisible or a hammer which returns to its wielder when thrown.

11
votes
1answer
164 views

What's the difference between a rift to the Astral Plane and a gate to the Astral Plane?

In the description for the Portable Hole both "a rift to the Astral Plane" and "a gate to the Astral Plane" are mentioned. See the exert below (emphasis mine): If a bag of holding is placed within ...
8
votes
3answers
244 views

What are the mechanical differences between the uncommon Medallion of Thoughts and the rare Potion of Mind Reading?

An uncommon Medallion of Thoughts lets you cast detect thoughts up to three times a day, while a rare Potion of Mind Reading is a one-use item. Are there any mechanical advantages to using the more ...
6
votes
1answer
151 views

Is this homebrew magical Cape of Defense balanced?

This is basically a dialed down version of the Bracers of Defense: Cape of Defense Wondrous Item, uncommon (requires attunement) While wearing these cape, you gain a +1 bonus to AC if you ...
23
votes
7answers
19k views

Can a warlock use Pact of the Blade to restructure a magical pact weapon into a different form?

I don't have the exact text, but I'm going to be running a Fey Warlock for an upcoming campaign. I remember this for Pact of the Blade at level 3: You may create your pact weapon in any form you wish, ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a Centaur wear (and benefit from) magical horseshoes?

Related: Can a Minotaur wear (and benefit from) Horseshoes of Flame? Items in Question Horseshoes of Speed These iron shoes come in sets of four like ordinary horseshoes. When affixed to an ...
12
votes
5answers
1k views

Can this homebrew-race centaur thief wear magic pants?

For this question, I am using this homebrew centaur race on DNDBeyond. One of its traits is Equine Weakness, part of which states: As you lack the lower body of a humanoid, you are unable to wear ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Can the Grave cleric's Sentinel at Death's Door feature turn a critical hit into a miss, while adamantine armor does not?

I have asked a question before about this Grave Cleric feature in the past, and was inclined to believe that you are able to turn critical hits into misses by way of the feature, but upon looking into ...
-4
votes
0answers
156 views

Is this homebrew equipment, Amulet of Honour, balanced? [on hold]

In a recent campaign that I am running one player is a Cleric with the War Domain. I made a special quest for him, which starts with his god making a request. If completed he will receive an amulet. ...
4
votes
2answers
113 views

What magic items give the owner the ability to possess others like the spell Possession?

Are there any items that allow the wielder to possess another as if casting the spell Possession? Pathfinder or D&D 3.5 items are accepted.
5
votes
3answers
699 views

Does the Amulet of Mighty Fists apply to spell touch attacks?

Does the bonus from an Amulet of Mighty Fists apply to touch attacks made with spells, such as Shocking Grasp?
33
votes
4answers
2k views

What would happen to my Intelligence score if I am affected by Feeblemind and attuned to a Headband of Intellect?

The description of the Headband of Intellect says: Your Intelligence score is 19 while you wear this headband. It has no effect on you if your Intelligence is already 19 or higher. The ...
3
votes
1answer
41 views

When using or crafting a Spellcasting item, do modifiers that apply to spellcasting apply?

Specifically, I am interested in if the Power Boost power (from the Prometheum Exxet) could interact with an item that has the Spellcasting power (though there may be other cases where interactions ...
6
votes
1answer
606 views

Can a wizard copy a spell without first identifying it?

Let's say a Wizard finds a trove of spell scrolls. Rather than spending an hour per scroll identifying and then additional time and money copying it into their spellbook, can they simply copy the ...
5
votes
1answer
120 views

Does Feeblemind prevent items that raise intelligence from functioning? [duplicate]

From Feeblemind's spell description, On a failed save, the creature’s Intelligence and Charisma scores become 1. The spell's effects are listed as "Instantaneous", which leads me to my question: ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

Does the double-bladed scimitar's special attack let you use your ability modifier for the damage of the attack?

I am using the double-bladed scimitar with the Revenant Blade feat from Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron. The double-bladed scimitar's special feature (p. 74): Special. When you take the attack action ...
10
votes
2answers
544 views

Can a ring of spell storing and access to Find spells produce an endless menagerie?

This is looking at what appears to be a somewhat bizarre rules exploit, and attempting to determine if it is, in fact, viable under the rules. Premise We have a Bard who likes having friends - a lot ...
3
votes
1answer
84 views

Do magic weapons have a slot for the purpose of Eidolons?

According to pathfinder, Eidolons may use magic items, but share slots with the summoner. So if you put 2 rings on your eidolon your summoner can use 0 rings since the Eidolon used up both of your ...
1
vote
2answers
76 views

Can caster level increases meet the caster level prerequisites for specific magic items?

Some magic items have a caster level prerequisite. For example, the adamantine golem notes that "the creator must be caster level 20th." Is it possible for the creator of such a magic item to inflate ...
5
votes
1answer
363 views

Can you store a Bag of Holding or a Handy Haversack in a Pathfinder Pouch?

Can you store a Bag of Holding or a Handy Haversack in a Pathfinder Pouch? My idea is, that a PC would like to travel light but still have access to their gear.
1
vote
1answer
70 views

Since you can store a Bag Holding or Handy Haversack in a Pathfinder Pouch, how the do these containers' weights factor in?

Since you can store a Bag Holding or Handy Haversack in a Pathfinder Pouch, how the do these containers' weights factor in? A Pathfinder Pouch has vol cap of 2 cubic feet & weight cap of 10 ...
-2
votes
2answers
2k views

What magic items are there that help a Sorcerer summon or control undead?

I am trying to compile the short list of items that a Sorcerer can use to summon / control undead. Which magic items support this Sorcerer concept? The character is currently a Divine Sorcerer, ...
7
votes
1answer
198 views

What can be done with the Staff of Adornment? [closed]

I'm blessed/cursed with a creative player who received the Staff of Adornment (XGE, p. 139). I originally assumed it was a mostly decorative minor magical item but it became their favorite toy. (The ...
7
votes
1answer
189 views

What are the requirements for a wizard to successfully copy a spell from a scroll into their spell book?

What are the requirements for a wizard to successfully copy a spell from a scroll into their spell book? First, I’m thinking that copying a spell from a scroll is similar to copying a spell from my ...
4
votes
2answers
182 views

Is raising the undead an evil act for lawful good characters? [duplicate]

Situation: A character playing a lawful good (Oath of Devotion) paladin found a wondrous item called "Night caller". (This item is a whistle that allows you to cast "Animate dead" at night and call ...
3
votes
2answers
460 views

What is the CL information of Metamagic Rods for?

In the header of the metamagic rod description is a section CL, e.g for the Quicken Rod Aura strong (no school); CL 17th; Weight 5 lbs. What is the CL information for? First of I thought it is a ...
5
votes
2answers
214 views

How would crafting a Spell Scroll of Guiding Bolt work for a multiclassed (2019) UA Archivist artificer / Forge cleric?

I'm playing an Archivist Artificer (8) / Forge Cleric (2) in a short campaign. I was trying to figure out how or whether it is possible to create a spell scroll of guiding bolt (or any other spell ...
2
votes
1answer
83 views

Do Mass versions of spells count as the base spell for magic item creation?

Certain magic items require that the crafter know certain spells. From the rules on magic item creation These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the ...
1
vote
1answer
46 views

Can a Lute of the Battle Ready be used to perform when it is transformed?

I'm playing a Bard and was given a Lute of the Battle Ready at level 1. However, I haven't been really able to use it because I focus on Performing instead of fighting. Is it possible to maintain a ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

How can I make a Deck of Many Things?

I'm wanting to make a Deck of Many Things but I can't figure it out. I'm playing 5e and my GM said if I can figure it out they would let me do it. I know my character has to be 17th level to even ...
8
votes
1answer
176 views

Can an Arcane Trickster rogue use Gloves of Thievery with the Mage Hand Legerdemain feature?

The description of the Gloves of Thievery (DMG, p. 172) says: These gloves are invisible while worn. While wearing them, you gain a +5 bonus to Dexterity (Sleight of Hand) checks and Dexterity ...
2
votes
1answer
72 views

Can you craft or buy enchanted barding?

In reviewing the rules for barding, I came across the below statement: Barding can be made of any of the armor types found on Table: Armor and Shields. Now this is interesting because of magic ...
1
vote
2answers
67 views

Does the level increase from Bracers of the Merciful Knight increase the number of rounds of Fast Healing for the Injured Mercy?

I know that the Bracers of the Merciful Knight increase the base healing of Lay on Hands and the number of times per day that a Paladin can use it. Do you also take the +4 levels into consideration ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the wearer know what items are in which patch in the Robe of Useful items?

The description of the Robe of Useful Items (BR 195) states that the wearer can detach a patch causing it to become the object or creature it represents. Does the wearer know which patch contains ...
6
votes
1answer
183 views

Is there any way I can increase my griffon's AC?

I’m a level 3 Sorcerer and I have a griffon figurine that allows me to summon a griffon. My DM allows me to use it once a day (lasting 6 hours) and it has a base AC of 12. I can increase it to 13+Dex ...
-1
votes
1answer
114 views

Can a Ring of Force Shield be activated and deactivated multiple times in the same round?

I am a little unclear about the rules covering ring of force shield with archery. Can the ring be activated and deactivated multiple times in the same round? Is the following possible with a 10th-...
41
votes
3answers
4k views

Does a Bag of Holding look full?

You have a Bag of Holding, which you would like to store inside a small wooden chest. Can you fill the bag with various items, then fold it as if it were empty and put it into the chest? Or does it ...
18
votes
1answer
4k views

Can a Bag of Holding destroy a Sphere of Annihilation?

So looking at the description of a Sphere of Annihilation, it says: If the sphere comes into contact with a planar portal, such as that created by the gate spell, or an extradimensional space, such ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

Two portable holes would rupture if one were inside the other, right?

The Dungeon Master's Guide, on page 187, says: Placing a portable hole inside an extradimensional space created by a bag of holding, Heward's handy haversack, or similar item instantly destroys ...
16
votes
3answers
2k views

Can I escape from a bag of holding with Banishment?

Related: If I cast Banishment on myself while in a demiplane, where exactly do I exit? If I am trapped in the extradimensional space of a bag of holding, can I escape by casting Banishment on myself? ...
27
votes
4answers
51k views

Handy Haversack vs. Bag of Holding

The Bag of Holding (DMG pg.153) is an uncommon magic item and has a significantly greater volume than any of the pouches (or even all combined) of Heward's Handy Haversack (DMG pg.174), which is rare. ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens when you put a bag of devouring inside of a bag of holding?

According to the books, if you place a bag of holding within a portable hole or any other type of extra dimensional storing device, it creates a hole that opens up to the astral plane. My question ...
13
votes
1answer
22k views

Is it possible to stuff a Bag of Holding inside another Bag of Holding?

And then stuff that Bag of Holding into another Bag of Holding, and so on ad infinitum? Earlier editions of D&D prohibit this. I haven't found similar rules for 5th edition, but perhaps I'm ...
9
votes
2answers
4k views

Can Fireballs be saved for later in the Bag of Holding?

My heroes are well on their way to becoming champions of the realm. On their adventures they finally found a Bag of Holding. Being new to D&D they didn't really know the limitations of the bag ...
117
votes
9answers
24k views

PC ate a necklace of fireballs bead. How dead should they be?

So one of my loony players found a necklace of fireballs. He is a suicidally over-confidant Tiefling sorcerer. Against all logic and reason, and probably just to prove that he could, he ate one of ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you attune to a magic item that does not require attunement?

Even though you could use magic items like the wand of magic missiles without attunement, you would benefit from attunement by knowing the number of charges in it (emphasis mine): Charges Some ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Does depleting an Ioun Stone's hit points knock it away, or destroy it?

Ioun Stones fly 1-3 feet around the wearer's head, and are susceptible to attack (AC 24, HP 10, resistance to all damage), or being grabbed (DC 24 Acrobatics). It is considered to be an object that is ...
8
votes
2answers
906 views

Can Ioun stones be targeted by “save vs. damage” spells/abilities?

@New_DM_Tryingtobesneaky recently asked a question about damaging Ioun stones. ...and left this side note, which the answers don't address: it's hard to believe that some rare/legendary items ...
5
votes
2answers
816 views

Does the Star card from the Deck of Many Things increase your ability score above 20?

Inspired by this question regarding the Star card from the Deck of Many Things and an Ioun Stone: The Star card reads: Increase one of your ability scores by 2. The score can exceed 20 but can't ...
20
votes
2answers
1k views

Can the Contingency spell be used with a spell cast from an Ioun Stone?

Contingency says: Choose a spell of 5th level or lower that you can cast, that has a casting time of 1 action, and that can target you. You cast that spell--called the contingent spell--as part of ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a non-caster class gain a familiar from a Reserve Ioun Stone containing the Find Familiar spell?

A Reserve Ioun Stone can store up to three levels worth of spells and can be used by anyone. While the spell uses the same stats as the original caster (DC, spell attack, and ability modifier, slot ...