Questions tagged [magic-items]

For questions about items imbued with magic in some way, usually beneficial but occasionally detrimental, such as a cloak which renders the wearer invisible or a hammer which returns to its wielder when thrown.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
208
votes
15answers
94k views

Without a magic item economy, what is gold for?

PHB page 144, Equipment, Wealth, Selling Treasure Magic Items. Selling magic items is problematic. Finding someone to buy a potion or a scroll isn’t too hard, but other items are out of the realm ...
116
votes
18answers
22k views

What can I do when I accidentally gave out an overpowered item?

In our last game, the players worked their way through a series of fiendish traps into a high security vault, where they recovered a Staff of the Magi. After the game I looked at the stats, and ...
41
votes
5answers
21k views

Does casting a spell from an item allow you to apply class abilities that are used when casting a spell?

This question is updated to request additional answers and details in light of information now available in the Dungeon Master's Guide. In the released DM basic rules, Lost Mine of Phandelver, Hoard ...
40
votes
7answers
17k views

Does every magic rod, wand, crystal, orb, and staff count as an arcane focus?

The various magic rods, wands, staves, etc. in the DMG all have certain abilities. But do they also count as arcane foci for the purpose of not needing material components for all your other spells?
21
votes
2answers
9k views

Can I increase an ability score above 30?

Can I increase an ability score over 30 with an item such as a Manual of Bodily Health? [After reading] this book... your Constitution score increases by 2, as does your maximum for that score.
18
votes
3answers
6k views

Can a familiar attune and wear or use a magic item?

Is it possible for a familiar to attune to and then wear or wield a magic item?
37
votes
4answers
11k views

What is a “spellcaster” for the purpose of magic item attunement?

Several wands and other magic items in the DMG cite "spellcaster" as an attunement requirement, specifically "requires attunement by a spellcaster" while others list multiple spellcasting classes (e.g....
26
votes
3answers
3k views

Is possible to Chain-Activate Pearls of Power?

I will start a campaing in a few days and my players are on the "Character Building" mode for this week, and they are asking me a lot of really creative questions regarding possible builds. That's ...
21
votes
5answers
76k views

How rare are magic items and how many should I be handing out?

What is the baseline distribution of magical treasure and at what level should a given character expect to have received or have a potential of getting a specific rarity of item? Example: Rare lvl 10+...
12
votes
2answers
7k views

Can Ability Score increases caused by magic items qualify me for feats?

As far as I know, only a player character's non-temporary ability scores are considered for taking feats, taking prestige classes, etc. Meanwhile, any ability bonus that comes from spells, or magic ...
66
votes
3answers
102k views

Who can use magic scrolls?

I'm confused about who can use scrolls in 5e. In the DMG, p139 under MAGIC ITEM CATEGORIES: SCROLLS it states "any creature that can understand a written language can read the arcane script on a ...
72
votes
10answers
21k views

What happens when an Immovable Rod is activated while in a vehicle?

The Red Bandits have boarded the train, hidden among the other passengers. They wait an hour or two - to be sure the train is far from any city - then, on the boss's signal, they all pull out their ...
34
votes
9answers
6k views

How much should a “button of Cure Light Wounds” cost (should it be available at all?)

My fellow players would like to have a command-word or use-activated "button" of Cure Light Wounds at will, i.e. unlimited uses/day. How much should this cost (if it should be available at all?) ...
17
votes
1answer
23k views

Is it possible to stuff a Bag of Holding inside another Bag of Holding?

And then stuff that Bag of Holding into another Bag of Holding, and so on ad infinitum? Earlier editions of D&D prohibit this. I haven't found similar rules for 5th edition, but perhaps I'm ...
34
votes
5answers
25k views

Does the DM have to give me magical weapons?

In the Legend and Lore articles where Mike Mearls explains the design goals of D&D 5e, he mentions in one of them that there will be no assumption that character acquire magical weapons and armor. ...
21
votes
9answers
5k views

Can multi-classing prerequisite ability score(s) be met through a magic item?

To qualify for a new class, you must meet the ability score prerequisites for both your current class and your new one ... Without the full training that a beginning character receives, you must be a ...
19
votes
1answer
9k views

What creatures can cast spells from spell scrolls?

The DMG outlines what it means to be a spellcaster: If the prerequisite is to be a spellcaster, a creature qualifies if it can cast at least one spell using its traits or features, not using a ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

How do you distinguish between magic effects that bypass immunity and those that don't?

This question was triggered by a question with respect to punching with Ogre Gauntlets and counting the unarmed attack as a magical attack for purposes of bypassing immunity. Basically, it goes like ...
6
votes
3answers
51k views

How to calculate the costs of a weapon enchantment?

For my new adventure I want to buy an Inspired Rapier and just do not get how to calculate it. I actually thought I calculate the costs of the weapon (20gp) plus the +1 enchantment (2000gp) and pay ...
4
votes
2answers
3k views

Are there rules for Intelligent Items with Class Levels?

So the DM gave me the option of giving this intelligent lance various abilities, including a homebrew version of a Psicrystal's Self-Propulsion and Flight abilities. He also gave me the option of ...
16
votes
1answer
15k views

Is an item's Caster Level the Minimum Required Caster Level?

Is an item's Caster Level the Minimum Required Caster Level? For example a Bag of Holding has a CL of 9th Aura moderate conjuration; CL 9th Does that mean a creator has to have a Caster Level of ...
11
votes
2answers
25k views

How does a Ring of Spell Storing function?

The Ring of Spell Storing says (DMG pg. 192): This ring stores spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. The ring can store up to 5 levels worth of spells at a time. ...
32
votes
6answers
4k views

What's a good item or spell for creating a magical surveillance state?

The mayor of Generic Fantasytown wants a means to monitor his town (population 4,000, perhaps 1 mi. (1.64 km) square). The townsfolk are cowed and submissive, fearing their mayor but fearing even more ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Can an animal attune to a magic item?

We have previously determined that an awakened creature or a familiar can attune to magic items, but one of those is a sapient creature, and the other "always obeys your commands". A paladin's steed (...
16
votes
3answers
5k views

Can an arcane trickster use a spell scroll from the wizard spell list?

Basically, we have a haste scroll, 2 warlocks, a druid, a cleric, and me, an arcane trickster. To use the spell scroll it must be on your spell list. The arcane trickster gets his spells from the ...
10
votes
5answers
5k views

From what items can a wizard learn his spells?

I'm now wondering after googling for a while, what are the different sources a Wizard can learn his spells from? Is it only limited to scrolls and tomes, or can a Wizard learn spells from other magic ...
9
votes
3answers
7k views

What's the best magic item for punching monsters in their stupid faces?

My character, a barbarian with the feat Improved Unarmed Strike,1 occasionally eschews his greataxe and punches monsters. After reading this 2009 thread and this 2009 thread, I don't know what works ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Are magic item caster levels prerequisites?

Every magic item has a listed caster level, which is generally listed alongside its prerequisites. Is this listed caster level the minimum caster level required to craft the item? For example, the ...
6
votes
2answers
3k views

How can a barbarian rage more often without taking levels or feats?

Barbarian is frequently cited as an excellent 1-level- or 2-level-long class. When the wizard can use the 2nd-level spell rope trick [trans] (PH 273) to make the adventuring day 15 min. long, a lone ...
52
votes
12answers
13k views

How can I reward a character that doesn't want magic items?

So I've got a campaign where one of the characters, a fighter, severely distrusts magical items. The party level is 6+, and it seems difficult to figure out a way to compensate this character in non-...
29
votes
2answers
23k views

Does a Mundane Arrow Fired From a Magical Bow Count as a Magical Weapon Attack?

I've seen this question asked in previous editions, but I want to ask this question specifically for D&D 5e. Apparently there is still some debate about this. If I am a fighter with a +2 bow and I ...
24
votes
1answer
114k views

Are there requirement for crafting magic items?

Are there any class, proficiency, or skill requirement to craft a magic item in D&D 5th edition other than to possess the minimum character levels? I.e. 3rd level for Common and Uncommon Magic ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a portable hole be used to get around the 10' movement restriction on Glyph of Warding?

Glyph of Warding states : When you cast this spell, you inscribe a glyph that later unleashes a magical effect. You inscribe it either on a surface (such as a table or a section of floor or wall) ...
13
votes
3answers
61k views

How can a character create a Spell Scroll?

How can a character create a Spell Scroll? I've read through the DMG, and the section "Creating a Magic Item" on p.284 is about creating the design of a magic item "type", rather than create an ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Can an item be both an arcane and a divine focus?

I'm building a variation on the Palalock combo build from this Q&A, and noticed that Warlocks can use an arcane focus for their spellcasting. Since Paladins already cast through a divine focus (...
19
votes
1answer
4k views

Can a magical net be destroyed?

I have been told by people that you can't destroy magic items. A net gives you the option in its rules. Dealing 5 slashing damage to the net (AC 10) also frees the creature without harming it,...
11
votes
3answers
10k views

How do you identify what spell is on a spell scroll?

Are they always unidentified, except for when a Wizard already knows the spell? If the wizard already knows it, is it already identified?
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Are there rules for creating magic items that can be activated with a swift action?

The mighty Magic Item Creation Rules. I'm looking to create a custom Wondrous Item. All the applicable cost schemes are either for standard action activation or continuous. I'd like to have ...
16
votes
3answers
5k views

What are the most important things magic items do for the players into higher levels of the campaign?

Currently I am planning for a campaign that might essentially end up with no magic items, and I wanted to get an idea of how that tends to effect game balance with the PCs. The previous campaigns I've ...
15
votes
4answers
7k views

What makes a weapon magical, for the purpose of immunity to non-magical weapons?

I am planning on having an encounter with a monster that has immunity to basically any attack from a non-magical weapon. Now, my players mostly have weapons with magical qualities, but they are not ...
14
votes
1answer
11k views

Does magical ammunition stack with a magical weapon?

One of my players has a +1 shortbow, and recently found some +1 arrows. If he fires a +1 arrow from a +1 bow, will the bonus to attack and damage be +1, or +2?
14
votes
1answer
11k views

Is there a difference between “spell scrolls” and “spells on a scroll” for copying purposes?

Wizards can copy spells to her spellbook as per the PHB and basic rules: "You could discover a spell recorded on a scroll in an evil wizard’s chest, for example, or in a dusty tome in an ancient ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

Two portable holes would rupture if one were inside the other, right?

The Dungeon Master's Guide, on page 187, says: Placing a portable hole inside an extradimensional space created by a bag of holding, Heward's handy haversack, or similar item instantly destroys ...
9
votes
2answers
3k views

Magic Items with Wishes in them

One of my characters recently received the Luck Blade magic item with 2 wishes in it. The item states Wish. The sword has 1d4-1 charges. While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 charge ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Does a magic item used as an improvised weapon count as a magic weapon? [duplicate]

Let's suppose you're facing an enemy that has resistance against non-magical weapons. Alas, you have no magical weapon, but you do have your trusty Alchemy Jug that you routinely use to produce ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Offensive magic items besides wands?

Why don't wizards use the Craft Wondrous Item feat to craft a command-word activated item that would do the same thing as a wand, but with infinite charges? (e.g. a ring of fireball, instead of a wand ...
8
votes
3answers
2k views

Are partially charged wands generally purchasable?

In the D&D 3.5 DMG rules are given for the pricing of partially charged wands, which one may explicitly purchase during character creation or sell during play. So long as the wand's final ...
7
votes
2answers
3k views

Do bonuses of the same type stack?

My group and I have a question about stacking enhancement effects of spell and items. For example: A fighter got ogre power gauntlets +2; in a fight, the wizard cast Bull's Strength on him, which ...
6
votes
1answer
459 views

Can an item be partially contained in a bag of holding?

If you have an item that is larger than the space inside a bag of holding, or if the item has dimensions (for the sake of the question, say it is largely L-shaped) that would prevent it all from ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Are punches with Gauntlets of Ogre Strength magical, improvised weapon attacks?

My Gnoll Paladin just got the Gauntlets of Ogre Strength from Phandelver the other day, and it got me wondering: Would it be possible/make sense for punches using them to count as an improvised ...