Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 175 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [magic-items]

Items imbued with magic in some way, usually beneficial but occasionally detrimental, such as a cloak which renders the wearer invisible or a hammer which returns to its wielder when thrown.

4
votes
2answers
208 views

Where are the rules for crafting Skill Enchantment bonus items?

I have been looking at guides for dramatically boosting a character's potential with a single skill. In addition to toolkits, I have found mention of Competence bonuses and Enchantment bonuses (or “...
6
votes
1answer
829 views

Can an Artificer make their 1st-level item for someone else?

This is concerning specifically the Alchemist's Satchel, the Thunder Cannon (and Arcane Magazine), and any other homebrew subclasses made to work with the Unearthed Arcana version of the Artificer ...
6
votes
1answer
407 views

When would a creature fail to cast a spell from a scroll?

The Variant Rule "Scroll Mishaps" in the DMG (page 140) has a header with the following text: A creature who tries and fails to cast a spell from a spell scroll must make a DC 10 Intelligence ...
13
votes
2answers
913 views

Can any magic item rod be used as an arcane focus?

Inspired by this question: Multi purpose Arcane Focus? The premise of the other question is about using the Rod of the Pact Keeper as a focus, and although it implies it can be used as a focus ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer use the Rod of the Pact Keeper as a spellcasting focus for both classes?

Warlocks and Sorcerers share Charisma as their spellcasting ability and both can use an arcane focus. The Rod of the Pact Keeper is a focus for warlocks. Can a multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer use the Rod ...
1
vote
1answer
119 views

Can you meet caster level requirements with conditional bonuses?

I am playing a level 8 Incanter from Spheres of Power. As a full caster, this gives me a caster level of 8. I have a trait which increases my caster level for the destruction sphere by 1, and I have a ...
1
vote
1answer
54 views

Do SoP wands require SP be spent on abilities that dont require SP?

The magic items in Spheres of Power (SoP) are a little incomplete for some rulings. Im currently trying to figure out if a wand always uses spell point (SP) for activating any ability, or only if the ...
7
votes
5answers
634 views

What rules are there for deciding what specific items to award when the loot table is unclear?

I'm currently creating my first completely homebrew campaign and I'm planning on using the the DMG treasure tables (p.136 - 149) to generate treasure in my campaign. I want the world to feel organic ...
2
votes
3answers
168 views

Are Voidsticks reusable after creating Voidstick Zombies?

Are voidsticks reusable? When used for their desecrate method they clearly can be. When it fails to create a zombie it seems that its been destroyed. What happens when a zombie is successfully ...
1
vote
1answer
86 views

Creating a voidstick zombie

I'm playing a necromancer in a game and a common issue is that I only have access to low HD corpses. During research into improving my matrials I came across a Voidstick which can be used to create ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

For the sake of Wild Shape, What magical gear could be worn by both a medium humanoid and a large beast? [closed]

The other side of this question: What creature(s) can a Moon Druid transform into that would benefit from their armor? (Note: the link had Apes as the only answer, but ignore that for the sake of this ...
4
votes
1answer
420 views

Group gives all rewards to one member instead of distributing them [closed]

We're playing D&D 5E. I've got a good party of 4 players. They've completed 4 mini-quests and made significance progress on the first stage of the main campaign. After each mini-quest, I've ...
10
votes
3answers
2k views

How can I manage my player's perpetual invisibility?

I'm mastering a game using the MERP second edition rules. One of the players was lucky enough to start with an Item which contains a daily spell, which he chose to be Invisibility (from the Illusion ...
14
votes
2answers
982 views

Does a sentient weapon polymorphed into a creature retain the sentience's personality/alignment?

Consider the spell true polymorph. If you turn a creature into a creature, the new creature retains its alignment and personality. If you turn an object into a creature The creature is ...
3
votes
2answers
313 views

Feat or magic item that grants turning

I am searching for a feat or magic item that grants me the ability to turn undead, just like a cleric or higher-level paladin can. Finding a feat would be preferable but I'm open to other options. ...
1
vote
1answer
333 views

Identifying scrolls [duplicate]

We've always played that scrolls are easily identifiable. ("Inside the chest you find 200gp and a scroll of fireball.") Apparently we've been doing it "wrong". The rules say, "If the spell is on your ...
7
votes
2answers
261 views

Is the spellblade weapon property permanent?

The spellblade weapon property from Player's Guide to Faerûn makes you immune to a single targeted spell. This part of the description When the wielder is next subjected to the chosen spell, the ...
3
votes
1answer
828 views

Is the charge cost of Wall of Ice an error in the description of the Staff of Frost?

In the description of the Staff of Frost (DMG, pg. 202), the following is included in its description, detailing spells that can be cast with charges from the staff: The staff has 10 charges. While ...
1
vote
1answer
272 views

Do attacks from Bag of Tricks creatures count as magical?

In our last session, the party was fighting a Ghost. A ghost has, among other characteristics, damage resistance to "Bludgeoning, Piercing, and Slashing from Nonmagical Attacks". The Druid had ...
2
votes
1answer
136 views

How does the spell thievery ability work when you don't have a blank scroll or page?

(Pathfinder Playtest pg 172) Spell Thievery If you use Palm an Object or Steal an Object on a scroll, spellbook, or similar item, you can remove the magical writing without disturbing the ...
2
votes
2answers
501 views

Does Desna's Divine Fighting technique advanced benefit apply flaming or other enchantments multiple times?

Desna's Shooting Star: Advanced Benefit: You can impart a powerful spin to a thrown starknife so that multiple blades strike the target rather than just a single blade of the four, dealing extra ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

Are there official prices for all common magic items in Eberron?

The default list of common magic items is very short (and the PHB effectively has prices for 3 of the 4). My assumption has been that these are actually purchasable, unlike anything of a higher tier. ...
2
votes
0answers
183 views

Does the Oathbow count as a magical source of damage? [duplicate]

Does the Oathbow count as a magical source of damage to bypass resistance/immunity to nonmagical attacks? While it is in the Magic Items section of the DMG, it does not actually state that it is a ...
7
votes
2answers
441 views

Does Cyclops Helm actually qualify for Automatic Hits (and Failures)?

Does a 20 from a cyclops helm actually qualify as an automatic hit? Cyclops Helm: Once per day as an immediate action, the wearer can choose the result of the die roll instead of rolling her next ...
5
votes
2answers
703 views

Can the Oathbow's Sworn Enemy feature outlast the attunement?

Consider the Oathbow: Requires Attunement [...] When you use this weapon to make a ranged attack, you can, as a command phrase, say, "Swift death to you who have wronged me." The target ...
2
votes
3answers
389 views

How does the Ring of Jumping combine with Tabaxi Feline Agility?

The Tabaxi racial trait "Feline Agility" (Volo's Guide to Monsters, p. 115) says: When you move on your turn in combat, you can double your speed until the end of the turn. The Ring of Jumping (...
5
votes
2answers
171 views

Does Spirit Rush protect against Power Word Kill?

In a recent session of my game, a point came up where the BBEG cast Power Word Kill on an NPC that the players had given some Spirit Rush to drink within enough time before the encounter. After some ...
14
votes
2answers
5k views

What rarity would the Staff of Defense be?

The Staff of Defense is described in the Lost Mine of Phandelver adventure (on p. 53), but the magic items in Appendix A have no rarity mentioned. The Staff of Defense, particularly, is unique to LMoP ...
20
votes
2answers
788 views

Are (most) published adventure rewards consistent with Awarding Magic Item guidelines from core books?

This is probably a hard question that requires experience with lots of published adventures (or lots of researching), but the question itself is simple: Both the Dungeon Master Guide (DMG) and ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Are there any prices given for the Tomes of Clear Thought, Leadership, and Influence?

The source 'Sane Magical Prices' by Saidoro lists prices for many of the magic items found in the DMG, but the Tomes are inexplicably omitted. The suggested prices for a 'Very Rare' item in the DMG ...
4
votes
4answers
309 views

Was the old version of the maiming weapon enchantment unbalanced?

This question asks about the maiming weapon enchantment, which was updated in Magic Item Compendium: Miniatures Handbook: If the weapon normally has a ×2 critical multiplier, roll 1d4 each time ...
1
vote
0answers
134 views

A Question on the limits of the Fates card [closed]

At level ten, with my first D&D character I play in a homebrew world as part of a group I've been in for over a year. I've drawn a Fates card out of the Deck of Many Things. Since he was my ...
9
votes
4answers
826 views

Can you enchant a shield for defense and offense?

Can I enchant a Light Spiked Steel Shield with +1 for AC and ACP, and another +1 for Attack and Damage Rolls? What would the price be, and how would that be calculated? Two separate +1’s or would ...
6
votes
2answers
649 views

Does this legendary action of Acererak's function this way?

Acererak in Tomb of Annihilation (Appendix D, p. 209) has this Legendary Action: In the description of the item, it says: It's unclear whether he can move it only in one direction, or whether he ...
6
votes
2answers
267 views

Is there a way to create linked 'vanishing cabinets', or an effective alternative, without homebrew? [duplicate]

I'm about to start running a homebrew seafaring campaign in which my PC's will spend the vast majority of the narrative travelling on a boat, far from the mainland, on a diplomatic mission to explore ...
6
votes
2answers
231 views

Does the shrink effect caused by the Wand of Wonder last the full minute?

One player in my campaign just used the Wand of Wonder and got the effect: 66-69 — You shrink yourself as if you had cast enlarge/reduce on yourself. Enlarge/reduce has a duration of: ...
0
votes
2answers
141 views

Are intelligent items affected by spells that affect mental stats?

I got the idea from another question someone asked. Could you increase an intelligent items ability scores using magic or other items (likely slotless) or lower them? They are clearly allowed to be ...
5
votes
2answers
216 views

Can you remove the sentience from an intelligent item?

If you take something like the "dagger of denial", which will work against a player if their goals are not aligned, can you remove the sentience, by the 3.5 rules and extended rules, to make it a ...
8
votes
2answers
544 views

Which dice do the Potion of Giant Size triple when making a weapon attack?

Consider the Potion of Giant Size, from Storm King's Thunder (p. 236, Appendix B): Everything you are carrying and wearing also increases in size for the duration. When rolling damage for weapons ...
3
votes
0answers
242 views

Damage Weapon Crystals for 5e (custom magic item) [closed]

I am running a West Marches-style campaign and due to a lack of clerics and wizards enchanting weapons is beginning to be a hindrance on the party. As such I would like to create single use stored ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you store a Wished spell inside a Ring of Spell Storing?

The wish spell enables you to emulate any spell of 8th level or lower. A Ring of Spell Storing enables you to store up to a 5th level spell inside it for later use. My question is: can you store a ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

Question about Dawnbringer and Out of the Abyss [Minor Spoilers]

This question contains spoilers for the Lost Tomb of Khaem from the Out of the Abyss adventure, hence why this question's title is quite ambiguous as well. If you do not want this to be spoiled, avoid ...
6
votes
2answers
190 views

Would a Decanter of Endless Water propel a boat? [closed]

In Pathfinder this magical item was recently purchased by our party member. It says that it can put out of 5 gallons of water per second from a 1ft diameter circle. How would you go about ...
11
votes
1answer
243 views

Can you Contingency a spell from a Ring of Spell Storing?

The contingency spell requires that you "can cast" the contingent spell (of fifth level or lower). A Ring of Spell Storing lets you store up to a single 5th-level spell by any caster (for example, a ...
20
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a Warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation add unintelligible spell scrolls to their book?

Can a warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets eldritch invocation copy spells from a spell scroll from another class' spell list? For example: could a level three warlock copy a spell scroll of ...
16
votes
1answer
2k views

Does this paragraph about the Wand of Orcus in Out of the Abyss add to or replace this part of its DMG description? [Major Spoilers]

This question contains spoilers for Out of the Abyss, hence why this question's title is quite ambiguous as well. If you do not want this adventure spoiled, avoid this question. So, the Wand of Orcus ...
30
votes
6answers
2k views

Is it impossible to escape the Rod of Lordly Might's paralysis effect early?

On a hit, the Rod of Lordly Might can: ...force the target to make a DC 17 Strength saving throw. On a failure, the target is paralyzed for 1 minute. The target can repeat the saving throw at the ...
110
votes
4answers
12k views

Is there a maximum attainable beard thickness?

This other question asks if attuning to a Belt of Dwarvenkind grants the following benefit (and literally nothing else): you have a 50 percent chance each day at dawn of growing a full beard if ...
33
votes
3answers
4k views

What benefits do you get from the Belt of Dwarvenkind without attuning to it?

The description of the Belt of Dwarvenkind (DMG, pg. 155) says the following: Belt of Dwarvenkind Wondrous item, rare (requires attunement) While wearing this belt, you gain the following ...
3
votes
1answer
273 views

Do items that benefit you when “on your person” still grant those benefits when in a Bag of Holding or Glove of Storing?

A Luckstone gives a +1 to ability checks and saves, a Pact of the Tome warlock's Book of Shadows grants them extra access to cantrips, and a Rod of the Pact Keeper (DMG p. 197) gives bonuses to ...