Questions tagged [magic-items]

For questions about items imbued with magic in some way, usually beneficial but occasionally detrimental, such as a cloak which renders the wearer invisible or a hammer which returns to its wielder when thrown.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
0answers
6 views

Does a Necklace of Fireballs max out at 9th level casting?

This question arises because the section on Spell Level in the PHB states "Every spell has a level from 0 to 9", but the Necklace of Fireballs can have up to 9 fireballs on it, and it says "You can ...
8
votes
3answers
637 views

Is there an item that lets a character cast Detect Magic repeatedly, without expending spell slots or wasting time ritual-casting?

Playing Curse of Strahd, we've found that Lord Von Zarovich seems to be able to cast Alarm (or something like it) that operates from hundreds of miles away. It seems like a good strategy for our ...
11
votes
1answer
705 views

How does attunement work?

I would like to use the Gauntlets of Ogre Power, which states that the item "requires attunement". What am I supposed to attune it with? What are the requisites/requirements?
21
votes
2answers
5k views

How recoverable is Magical Ammunition?

From Xanathar's Guide to Everything: Walloping Ammunition: This ammunition packs a wallop. A creature hit by the ammunition must succeed on a DC 10 Strength saving throw or be knocked prone. ...
12
votes
3answers
1k views

Do you take damage from falling while wearing Winged Boots?

In 4th Edition the magic item clearly stated that you dont take damage and that you land on your feet while wearing them, but in 5e there is no such language in the description. The description of ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens if you obtain a cursed item while already attuned to your maximum number of attuned items (three)?

Reference: daze413's answer to "As a monk, can I use Deflect Missiles to protect my ally?" Scenario: Monk already has his three attuned magic items. Monk picks up a shield of missile attraction, ...
12
votes
3answers
38k views

Can a non-spellcaster attune to & use a wand or staff that doesn't require a spellcaster?

I've been going through the DMG's magic item list, and I notice some wands & staves require attunement without specifying "by a spellcaster". An example is the Wand of Magic Missiles. Is it the ...
15
votes
5answers
9k views

Do magic weapons that require attunement count as magic (for Resistances) even if you are not attuned?

Resistance in a creatures stat block is written as follows: bludgeoning, piercing, and slashing from non magical weapons Does a weapon count as magical, even if I am not attuned to it? I know I ...
-2
votes
2answers
1k views

Is it impossible to attune to more than one copy of a magic weapon?

So I'm aware that attunement cannot be applied to more than one copy of a magic item, I.E. two rings of protection. Does the same rule apply to magic weapons that require attunement as well?
6
votes
3answers
4k views

Are there restrictions on who can attune to magical items with no prerequisite?

When a magic item requires attunement, but does not specify any prerequisite, can anyone attune to it, or does the DM make up some prerequisite for it? Example: Ring of Free Action pg 191 of the DMG ...
28
votes
1answer
2k views

Can an Awakened creature attune to items?

Question is what the title says. Basically, I have an Awakened Tree that I want to give fire resistance through an item which requires attunement. Since the trees Intelligence is 10 now, it is ...
11
votes
2answers
603 views

How does temporary magic item attunement work?

I have a wizard who has a Pearl of Power. According to the rules, it looks like he should be able to, on each day, take a short rest to attune to it, use it to recover a spell slot, then take a short ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Do bonuses stack if they come from 2 identical magic items that don't require attunement?

Do bonuses stack if they come from 2 identical magic items that don't require attunement? In particular using 2 transmuter stones with 2 different effects.What if both stones give 10 speed?
8
votes
2answers
901 views

Does spending a short rest attuning to an item have any negative effects on the rest?

Does 'concentration' used during short rests for the learning a magical item's properties or attuning to an item deny the ability to spend hit dice during those rests? Rephrased, does this ...
4
votes
2answers
77 views

Can a multiclassed Wizard enchant an arcane bonded weapon by qualifying with a second casting class?

Suppose that I want to have a first-level wizard school ability, and that I took an arcane bond with a weapon. Say that for whatever reasons, I take the rest of my levels in a different casting class. ...
41
votes
3answers
8k views

Can I use Two Immovable Rods as an infinite ladder or monkey bars?

There are already several questions concerning immovable rods, but I thought I'd add this to the list. Consider a stealthy and inventive assassin. She's on a mission to infiltrate the castle and ...
6
votes
1answer
205 views

Break DC too low?

I am making a Magic Rod out of Adamantine. The normal description of a rod is as such: Physical Description: Rods weigh approximately 5 pounds. They range from 2 feet to 3 feet long and are usually ...
18
votes
4answers
378k views

Are there price lists for magic items, such as the Bag of Holding?

We are playing Hoard of the Dragon Queen. My PC's are only at level 3. They stumbled into a magic shop and asked for a Bag of Holding. I made the asker roll to beat a 15 and if he did I said that ...
19
votes
2answers
2k views

Drawing from the Deck of Many Things with a Simulacrum

Tl;dr: Can I use my Simulacrum to draw from a Deck of Many Things and if yes, what restrictions do apply? Longer version Imagine the following situation: You have gotten a Deck of Many Things and ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

If a warlock makes a Dancing Sword their pact weapon, is there a way to prevent it from disappearing if it's farther away for more than a minute?

I currently have a Pact of the Blade warlock, and recently came across a dancing sword (a rapier). I am considering making it my pact weapon, but there is still a minor inconvenience. While the ...
5
votes
1answer
212 views

How does the War Caster feat interact with +1 weapons or shields? [duplicate]

Say I take the War Caster feat, which allows me to use my weapon or shield as a spellcasting focus. If my weapon or shield is a +1, then when I use it was a spellcasting focus, would it act as a +1 ...
7
votes
2answers
513 views

Can I push an enemy into a bag of holding?

Here is the scenario I envision: I hold a bag of holding in one hand and use the other to make a shove attempt against an enemy. If I succeed can I shove him into the bag of holding? He can just ...
6
votes
1answer
164 views

Can the PCs get hold of the “Piwafwi” or “Piwafwi of Fire Resistance” magic items in the Out of the Abyss adventure?

In Out of the Abyss, Appendix B: Magic Items, two magic items are listed (p. 222); the Piwafwi (which is basically just a drow-made Cloak of Elvenkind) and the Piwafwi of Fire Resistance (the same but ...
3
votes
1answer
56 views

When using or crafting a Spellcasting item, do modifiers that apply to spellcasting apply?

Specifically, I am interested in if the Power Boost power (from the Prometheum Exxet) could interact with an item that has the Spellcasting power (though there may be other cases where interactions ...
35
votes
5answers
14k views

Can a Bag of Holding be opened from the inside?

The party rogue found a suit of armor that happened to have an evil soul bound to it. He unwittingly stuffed it into his bag of holding to sell the suit of armor later. The animated suit of armor does ...
7
votes
1answer
223 views

Can a Bag of Holding ever be habitable?

The description of the bag of holding in the DMG (p. 154) states: Breathing creatures inside the bag can survive up to a number of minutes equal to 10 divided by the number of creatures [...] Is ...
2
votes
3answers
213 views

Can you upgrade a +2 item to a +1 item with a +2 ability?

Let's say I have a regular +2 weapon, but I want it to have Flaming Burst, which is a +2 equivalent ability. Could I pay the 10000gp difference to have it be upgraded to a +1 Flaming Burst weapon, or ...
2
votes
3answers
293 views

Would this bow of Karma be considered well balanced?

I wanted to make a bow that embodies the idea of Karma: Not only the concept that one's actions can come back to bite them, but also that good actions tend to give small returns while evil actions (to ...
2
votes
1answer
146 views

Can a character hold a magic two-handed weapon in one hand just to leverage the weapon's boons? [closed]

Let's say that there's a magic greatsword that provides some sort of a useful boon: say, it gives you advantages on all of your saving throws vs. spells. Should I allow a character to simply hold ...
37
votes
3answers
4k views

What is the history behind the “single-use spell scroll”?

The concept of a spell being stored on a scroll, which can be used once and then vanishes, shows up in numerous tabletop and video game RPGs. From a game design perspective, the idea of a one-use ...
19
votes
1answer
3k views

What's the casting ability modifier of a scroll?

Based on the table in the description of the spell scroll magic item: A scroll of charm person has a spell DC of 13. A scroll of chromatic orb's attack roll should be d20+5. But what is the ...
-4
votes
2answers
285 views

Does a ring of spell storing have a use if it is found with 0 spells?

A ring of spell storing has 1d6-1 spells. If I find the ring with 0 spells, as I actually did, does the ring still have a use?
11
votes
2answers
1k views

When is a reasonable level range for Gurt's Greataxe to be offered to a player?

As suggested in the title, I ran into Gurt's Greataxe. I was looking up magic items in my free time since I was curious, and I thought why not search for magic items related to greataxes, since my ...
6
votes
2answers
283 views

How does an artificer's Magic Item Savant feature interact with spell scrolls?

Does an artificer's Magic Item Savant feature allow the artificer to cast a spell that is higher than he can normally cast from a spell scroll without making an ability check to cast it? The relevant ...
1
vote
1answer
176 views

Immovable Rods vs. Explosives [closed]

So, having read the DMG text over the immovable rod, I know it is capable of handling 8000 pounds of force. However, my players are planning to try to destabilize a structure held by immovable rods ...
6
votes
4answers
289 views

Is there any spell or method to teleport land?

I've been searching on Google, and the closest thing I've been able to find has been 3.5e homebrew. I want to see if there is anything official for this that I am missing, or something that wouldn't ...
14
votes
7answers
3k views

Item Creation Without Experience Points

Suppose you're playing an RPG with item creation rules that require you to spend experience points as part of creating the item, such as D&D or Numenera. Suppose further that your gaming group has ...
22
votes
4answers
10k views

Is there anything that can create a fire that burns underwater?

Is there any fire-related item or spell in D&D 5e that can create a fire that can burn underwater?
7
votes
3answers
11k views

Can a wish spell create a legendary magic item?

One of the PCs in the adventure Curse of Strahd found a luckblade with one wish remaining. He wants to use that wish to get a staff of the magi, a legendary item (Dungeon Master's Guide 203). The ...
2
votes
2answers
130 views

Homebrewing a 2-way Bag of Holding: price & balance [duplicate]

Our DM has decided that it only makes sense for a two-way Bag of Holding to exist in our world. Background: Our characters own a small shipping company that frequently makes its profits by selling ...
22
votes
4answers
3k views

Can the Immovable Rod be/stay activated (immovable) without releasing the button?

The immovable rod doesn't move without a very large amount of force. We know this. One of my players is asking if the button on the immovable rod has to be pressed and then released to activate it, ...
5
votes
1answer
114 views

Can an artificer use Magical Tinkering on a weapon before infusing it (and have it stay)?

This is mainly a question related to narrative/creative license so the reality is that it probably requires a discussion with a DM. But, so as to have a firmer idea of how to interpret the rules ...
0
votes
2answers
116 views

What items could help against fighting a dragon? [closed]

Getting ready to battle a horde of dragons. What are the best magic weapons to fight dragons? Found arrows and some charms against dragon breath. What non-homebrew items could help?
18
votes
3answers
3k views

Can I escape from a bag of holding with Banishment?

Related: If I cast Banishment on myself while in a demiplane, where exactly do I exit? If I am trapped in the extradimensional space of a bag of holding, can I escape by casting Banishment on myself? ...
12
votes
4answers
1k views

Is there a spell that can permanently freeze an area?

Is there any spell or magic item effect that can permanently freeze an area? (Freeze as in ice and snow).
8
votes
1answer
176 views

Is the orientation inside of a Bag of Holding the same as the outside world?

Gravity's a funny thing. It Makes all sorts of things fall and stay there. Does the pocket dimension in the Bag of holding have the same gravity directions as we do? For example. I have a pile of ...
0
votes
0answers
41 views

Can a creature exit a bag of holding on its own, or must it be pulled out? [duplicate]

There are a few ways a creature could be in a bag, put in a bag, leave a bag. Lets say a familiar is placed in a bag of holding, the bag is loosely placed in a backpack or saddlebag. Can the ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

Is this homebrew Druid's Staff of Thorns appropriate for a level 3 Druid?

I'm new to D&D and have been running the Dragon of Icespire Peak adventure for my wife. She is playing a Druid and I'm playing a DMPC Barbarian. I wanted to make a staff for her so she can keep a ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Do the Gloves of Swimming and Climbing grant you a swimming speed?

The rules on Underwater Combat (PHB pg. 198) state: When making a melee weapon attack, a creature that doesn't have a swimming speed (either natural or granted by magic) has disadvantage on the ...
8
votes
5answers
2k views

Can a long rest immediately follow a short rest to attune to an item?

A situation recently came up in my weekly game where a PC who had just discovered a new magic item after a series of encounters took a short rest to identify the magic item's properties. Per the DMG, ...

1 2 3 4 5 45