Questions tagged [magic-items]

For questions about items imbued with magic in some way, usually beneficial but occasionally detrimental, such as a cloak which renders the wearer invisible or a hammer which returns to its wielder when thrown.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
16
votes
1answer
2k views

If a Necklace of Fireballs with 9 beads is thrown, is the resulting Fireball effect equivalent to a 9th-level casting, or an “11th-level” casting?

This question arises because the section on Spell Level in the PHB states: Every spell has a level from 0 to 9 However, the necklace of fireballs can have up to 9 fireballs on it, and its ...
8
votes
3answers
672 views

Is there an item that lets a character cast Detect Magic repeatedly, without expending spell slots or wasting time ritual-casting?

Playing Curse of Strahd, we've found that Lord Von Zarovich seems to be able to cast Alarm (or something like it) that operates from hundreds of miles away. It seems like a good strategy for our ...
11
votes
1answer
737 views

How does attunement work?

I would like to use the Gauntlets of Ogre Power, which states that the item "requires attunement". What am I supposed to attune it with? What are the requisites/requirements?
4
votes
2answers
82 views

Can a multiclassed Wizard enchant an arcane bonded weapon by qualifying with a second casting class?

Suppose that I want to have a first-level wizard school ability, and that I took an arcane bond with a weapon. Say that for whatever reasons, I take the rest of my levels in a different casting class. ...
19
votes
2answers
2k views

Drawing from the Deck of Many Things with a Simulacrum

Tl;dr: Can I use my Simulacrum to draw from a Deck of Many Things and if yes, what restrictions do apply? Longer version Imagine the following situation: You have gotten a Deck of Many Things and ...
7
votes
2answers
517 views

Can I push an enemy into a bag of holding?

Here is the scenario I envision: I hold a bag of holding in one hand and use the other to make a shove attempt against an enemy. If I succeed can I shove him into the bag of holding? He can just ...
5
votes
1answer
213 views

How does the War Caster feat interact with +1 weapons or shields? [duplicate]

Say I take the War Caster feat, which allows me to use my weapon or shield as a spellcasting focus. If my weapon or shield is a +1, then when I use it was a spellcasting focus, would it act as a +1 ...
6
votes
1answer
165 views

Can the PCs get hold of the “Piwafwi” or “Piwafwi of Fire Resistance” magic items in the Out of the Abyss adventure?

In Out of the Abyss, Appendix B: Magic Items, two magic items are listed (p. 222); the Piwafwi (which is basically just a drow-made Cloak of Elvenkind) and the Piwafwi of Fire Resistance (the same but ...
2
votes
1answer
148 views

Can a character hold a magic two-handed weapon in one hand just to leverage the weapon's boons? [closed]

Let's say that there's a magic greatsword that provides some sort of a useful boon: say, it gives you advantages on all of your saving throws vs. spells. Should I allow a character to simply hold ...
2
votes
3answers
296 views

Would this bow of Karma be considered well balanced?

I wanted to make a bow that embodies the idea of Karma: Not only the concept that one's actions can come back to bite them, but also that good actions tend to give small returns while evil actions (to ...
2
votes
3answers
215 views

Can you upgrade a +2 item to a +1 item with a +2 ability?

Let's say I have a regular +2 weapon, but I want it to have Flaming Burst, which is a +2 equivalent ability. Could I pay the 10000gp difference to have it be upgraded to a +1 Flaming Burst weapon, or ...
-4
votes
2answers
286 views

Does a ring of spell storing have a use if it is found with 0 spells?

A ring of spell storing has 1d6-1 spells. If I find the ring with 0 spells, as I actually did, does the ring still have a use?
1
vote
1answer
176 views

Immovable Rods vs. Explosives [closed]

So, having read the DMG text over the immovable rod, I know it is capable of handling 8000 pounds of force. However, my players are planning to try to destabilize a structure held by immovable rods ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

When is a reasonable level range for Gurt's Greataxe to be offered to a player?

As suggested in the title, I ran into Gurt's Greataxe. I was looking up magic items in my free time since I was curious, and I thought why not search for magic items related to greataxes, since my ...
2
votes
2answers
131 views

Homebrewing a 2-way Bag of Holding: price & balance [duplicate]

Our DM has decided that it only makes sense for a two-way Bag of Holding to exist in our world. Background: Our characters own a small shipping company that frequently makes its profits by selling ...
37
votes
3answers
4k views

What is the history behind the “single-use spell scroll”?

The concept of a spell being stored on a scroll, which can be used once and then vanishes, shows up in numerous tabletop and video game RPGs. From a game design perspective, the idea of a one-use ...
6
votes
4answers
290 views

Is there any spell or method to teleport land?

I've been searching on Google, and the closest thing I've been able to find has been 3.5e homebrew. I want to see if there is anything official for this that I am missing, or something that wouldn't ...
5
votes
1answer
116 views

Can an artificer use Magical Tinkering on a weapon before infusing it (and have it stay)?

This is mainly a question related to narrative/creative license so the reality is that it probably requires a discussion with a DM. But, so as to have a firmer idea of how to interpret the rules ...
0
votes
2answers
117 views

What items could help against fighting a dragon? [closed]

Getting ready to battle a horde of dragons. What are the best magic weapons to fight dragons? Found arrows and some charms against dragon breath. What non-homebrew items could help?
8
votes
1answer
176 views

Is the orientation inside of a Bag of Holding the same as the outside world?

Gravity's a funny thing. It Makes all sorts of things fall and stay there. Does the pocket dimension in the Bag of holding have the same gravity directions as we do? For example. I have a pile of ...
22
votes
4answers
10k views

Is there anything that can create a fire that burns underwater?

Is there any fire-related item or spell in D&D 5e that can create a fire that can burn underwater?
0
votes
0answers
41 views

Can a creature exit a bag of holding on its own, or must it be pulled out? [duplicate]

There are a few ways a creature could be in a bag, put in a bag, leave a bag. Lets say a familiar is placed in a bag of holding, the bag is loosely placed in a backpack or saddlebag. Can the ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

Is this homebrew Druid's Staff of Thorns appropriate for a level 3 Druid?

I'm new to D&D and have been running the Dragon of Icespire Peak adventure for my wife. She is playing a Druid and I'm playing a DMPC Barbarian. I wanted to make a staff for her so she can keep a ...
22
votes
4answers
3k views

Can the Immovable Rod be/stay activated (immovable) without releasing the button?

The immovable rod doesn't move without a very large amount of force. We know this. One of my players is asking if the button on the immovable rod has to be pressed and then released to activate it, ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Do the Gloves of Swimming and Climbing grant you a swimming speed?

The rules on Underwater Combat (PHB pg. 198) state: When making a melee weapon attack, a creature that doesn't have a swimming speed (either natural or granted by magic) has disadvantage on the ...
7
votes
1answer
223 views

Can a Bag of Holding ever be habitable?

The description of the bag of holding in the DMG (p. 154) states: Breathing creatures inside the bag can survive up to a number of minutes equal to 10 divided by the number of creatures [...] Is ...
6
votes
1answer
207 views

Break DC too low?

I am making a Magic Rod out of Adamantine. The normal description of a rod is as such: Physical Description: Rods weigh approximately 5 pounds. They range from 2 feet to 3 feet long and are usually ...
8
votes
1answer
351 views

What is the best way for an evil NPC to avoid the effects of a Talisman of Pure Good?

I'm a first time DM and perhaps foolishly gave one of my PCs (whose backstory is that his family was killed by a demon) a talisman of pure good after completing a quest. Now I am regretting it, ...
12
votes
4answers
1k views

Is there a spell that can permanently freeze an area?

Is there any spell or magic item effect that can permanently freeze an area? (Freeze as in ice and snow).
5
votes
1answer
263 views

What happens if a Cube of Force intersects with creatures?

The cube of force states that a barrier of invisible force springs into existence, forming a cube 15 feet on a side. And the effect of the 5th face says: Nothing can pass through the barrier. ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Tiny Servant use a Wand of Magic Missiles?

Is it possible for a creature created by the tiny servant spell (XGtE, p. 168) to wield and use a magic item, such as a wand of magic missiles?
17
votes
1answer
2k views

Which originally published items would meaningfully benefit a 'Thief' Rogue that had Use Magic Device?

This class feature seemed to me to be dead-on-arrival when published. It's unclear exactly which items originally presented in the DMG that this feature was intended to work with. Exactly which ...
3
votes
2answers
77 views

Is lighting a Drift Globe a bonus action?

I'm in a combat...running towards an enemy. I use the first activating word (light vs Daylight)...is it a bonus action? Am I still able to attack when I reach my enemy? For reference, the Drift Globe ...
0
votes
2answers
129 views

Can a magic item require attunement twice?

Can an item require attunement twice to be used? NOTE: This question is a revisit of an existing question: Can an armblade require double attunement if it integrates a magic weapon that normally ...
9
votes
4answers
305 views

How does Ring of X-Ray Vision interact with Illusion spells and similar effects?

Specifically, the ring states that "solid Objects within that radius appear transparent and don't prevent light from passing through them". Does it apply to solid objects created through illusion? It ...
7
votes
2answers
391 views

How do Dimensional Shackles interact with an Arcane Archer fighter's Banishing Arrow?

An Arcane Archer fighter hits a creature with a Banishing Arrow, and they vanish into the Feywild. A man in the middle places dimensional shackles on the target (in the Feywild) for 10 minutes. ...
5
votes
1answer
178 views

What happens when a lich uses the Blackstaff?

The description of the Blackstaff magic item in the Waterdeep: Dragon Heist adventure (p. 190) states: If a lich is worthy enough to attune to the staff, then when it dies, does the Blackstaff have ...
2
votes
1answer
145 views

Who is able to cast a spell from a spell scroll in D&D 5e? [duplicate]

Back in AD&D, a spell scroll was created by basically casting a spell onto a specially prepared scroll. The next person to read said scroll was able to cast the spell exactly as the original ...
27
votes
2answers
4k views

What happens to a lich's soul when it dies with a Ring of Mind Shielding?

What happens to a lich's soul when it dies with a Ring of Mind Shielding? Normally, a lich's soul goes to the phylactery. But the Ring of Mind Shielding also takes a soul. Does the lich choose where ...
6
votes
1answer
217 views

Can you force out a soul that is occupying a Ring of Mind Shielding?

Per the description: If you die while wearing the ring, your soul enters it, unless it already houses a soul. You can remain in the ring or depart for the afterlife. As long as your soul is in the ...
11
votes
1answer
247 views

What happens when the additional Avatars of Death are defeated?

The Skull card from the Deck of Many Things summons an avatar of death, which attempts to face its summoner in single combat. The description states: The avatar fights until you die or it drops to ...
4
votes
3answers
342 views

On D&D Beyond, how to create a shield that gives a ranged attack?

In D&D Beyond, I’m trying to essentially create a captain America shield. If I make its type a shield, then I can’t seem to make it give a ranged attack as an option. I’ve tried to add a ...
4
votes
2answers
203 views

Do an Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature and a multiclassed Thief Rogue's Use Magic Device feature let them benefit from a Rod of the Pact Keeper?

The Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature (E:RftLW, p. 58; WGtE, p. 180) states the following: At 14th level, your skill with magic items deepens more: [...] You ignore all class, race, ...
6
votes
4answers
249 views

Do an Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature and a Thief Rogue's Use Magic Device feature let them benefit from a Holy Avenger's 30-foot aura?

The Artificer's Magic Item Savant feature (E:RftLW, p. 58; WGtE, p. 180) states the following: At 14th level, your skill with magic items deepens more: [...] You ignore all class, race, ...
1
vote
1answer
133 views

Are a dragon's attacks considered magical? [duplicate]

Are these attacks considered magical? Bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +14 to hit, reach 15 ft., one target. Hit: 19 (2d10 + 8) piercing damage. Claw. Melee Weapon Attack: +14 to hit, reach 10 ft., one ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Does +1 armor give resistance to damage?

Based on the answers from this question Is a +1 chain shirt strictly inferior to a breastplate? Does +1 armor give resistance to damage? DMG pg. 141 Most magic items are objects of extraordinary ...
10
votes
5answers
4k views

Is a +1 chain shirt strictly inferior to a nonmagical breastplate?

My character really likes chain shirts. He much prefers them to other armor, such as a breastplate. I thought maybe I could make up for his tastes with a piece of magical armor, since usually magic ...
5
votes
1answer
133 views

How long does a Dancing Sword remain animated if not used to attack?

I use my action to toss a Dancing Sword in the air and choose not to attack. It now hovers there. If I stay within 30' of it, and use my bonus action to have it keep up with my speed of 30', but not ...
5
votes
1answer
108 views

Staff of the Python: Can the owner communicate with the snake?

My character just got a Staff of the Python. He has been using his familiar (owl) and a friendly pseudodragon as a little army. I'm thinking of using the snake as an ally as well--but there's no ...
4
votes
2answers
251 views

What effects would casting Enlarge on a bag of holding have?

I was watching a video about underrated spells, and one of the spells listed was Enlarge/Reduce. One of the examples given was reducing a large, heavy statue, then the party carrying the statue away, ...

1 2 3 4 5 45