Questions tagged [magic-items]

For questions about items imbued with magic in some way, usually beneficial but occasionally detrimental, such as a cloak which renders the wearer invisible or a hammer which returns to its wielder when thrown.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
1answer
752 views

Does a weapon imbued with Magical Tinkering or an Infusion bypass resistance from non magic weapons?

When I apply Magical Tinkering or an Infusion to a weapon, does the weapon count as magical to bypass resistance to non-magic weapons? Magical Tinkering At 1st level, you learn how to invest a spark ...
4
votes
1answer
224 views

What should be the rarity of this Homebrew Critical Chance Item?

Several classes have access to features that improve the likelihood of rolling a Critical Hit, such as the Improved Critical feature of the Champion Fighter. All of these abilities, however, are ...
40
votes
2answers
5k views

How do I know if an ability is magical?

Often confusion arises when the Antimagic Field spell is used, an Armor of Invulnerability is worn, or the Beholder's anti-magic ray is employed, whether a given character's ability will still ...
5
votes
1answer
163 views

When you make an ability check to cast from a scroll, do you add proficiency bonus?

I am a 3rd level wizard and have a 5th level wizard spell on a scroll that I want to try and cast. I'm supposed to make an ability check (intelligence). Is it a straight check? Do I add my ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

How does the Broom of Flying behave?

Similar to this, but for 5th ed. The Broom of Flying is activated by a Command Word, has 50ft flying speed, and the hover property. It can also be remotely controlled if it is not being ridden. ...
5
votes
1answer
625 views

Does a Broom of Flying work like a mount?

Is this item considered a mount? Is the character considered to be mounted when using it? Can he be knocked off of it? Teleported off? If he teleports, does the broom come along?
3
votes
0answers
55 views

Can I force someone into my bag of holding? [duplicate]

I'm playing an artificer, and I have the bag of holding infusion. I was thinking that if I put a whole person in a bag of holding against his or her will, that would be basically an instakill, right? ...
10
votes
8answers
7k views

Can a monk's unarmed strikes be enchanted?

I see a lot of forums calling for Kensai and Amulet of Mighty Fists for a monk to enchant their unarmed strikes. I feel it is unnecessary since the SRD states: A monk’s unarmed strike is treated ...
15
votes
4answers
11k views

Does the double-bladed scimitar's special attack let you use your ability modifier for the damage of the attack?

I am using the double-bladed scimitar with the Revenant Blade feat from Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron. The double-bladed scimitar's special feature (p. 74): Special. When you take the attack action ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Is a Pact of the Blade warlock's pact weapon metal?

This came up in our last session. My pact of the blade warlock summoned a longsword to fight a grey ooze. Any nonmagical metal or wood that touches an ooze is corroded. According to the PHB, The pact ...
16
votes
1answer
3k views

If a Necklace of Fireballs with 9 beads is thrown, is the resulting Fireball effect equivalent to a 9th-level casting, or an “11th-level” casting?

This question arises because the section on Spell Level in the PHB states: Every spell has a level from 0 to 9 However, the necklace of fireballs can have up to 9 fireballs on it, and its ...
8
votes
3answers
773 views

Is there an item that lets a character cast Detect Magic repeatedly, without expending spell slots or wasting time ritual-casting?

Playing Curse of Strahd, we've found that Lord Von Zarovich seems to be able to cast Alarm (or something like it) that operates from hundreds of miles away. It seems like a good strategy for our ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

How does attunement work?

I would like to use the Gauntlets of Ogre Power, which states that the item "requires attunement". What am I supposed to attune it with? What are the requisites/requirements?
23
votes
2answers
7k views

How recoverable is Magical Ammunition?

From Xanathar's Guide to Everything: Walloping Ammunition: This ammunition packs a wallop. A creature hit by the ammunition must succeed on a DC 10 Strength saving throw or be knocked prone. ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens if you obtain a cursed item while already attuned to your maximum number of attuned items (three)?

Reference: daze413's answer to "As a monk, can I use Deflect Missiles to protect my ally?" Scenario: Monk already has his three attuned magic items. Monk picks up a shield of missile attraction, ...
12
votes
3answers
42k views

Can a non-spellcaster attune to & use a wand or staff that doesn't require a spellcaster?

I've been going through the DMG's magic item list, and I notice some wands & staves require attunement without specifying "by a spellcaster". An example is the Wand of Magic Missiles. Is it the ...
-2
votes
2answers
1k views

Is it impossible to attune to more than one copy of a magic weapon?

So I'm aware that attunement cannot be applied to more than one copy of a magic item, I.E. two rings of protection. Does the same rule apply to magic weapons that require attunement as well?
5
votes
3answers
4k views

Are there restrictions on who can attune to magical items with no prerequisite?

When a magic item requires attunement, but does not specify any prerequisite, can anyone attune to it, or does the DM make up some prerequisite for it? Example: Ring of Free Action pg 191 of the DMG ...
28
votes
1answer
2k views

Can an Awakened creature attune to items?

Question is what the title says. Basically, I have an Awakened Tree that I want to give fire resistance through an item which requires attunement. Since the trees Intelligence is 10 now, it is ...
11
votes
2answers
634 views

How does temporary magic item attunement work?

I have a wizard who has a Pearl of Power. According to the rules, it looks like he should be able to, on each day, take a short rest to attune to it, use it to recover a spell slot, then take a short ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

Do bonuses stack if they come from 2 identical magic items that don't require attunement?

Do bonuses stack if they come from 2 identical magic items that don't require attunement? In particular using 2 transmuter stones with 2 different effects.What if both stones give 10 speed?
9
votes
2answers
986 views

Does spending a short rest attuning to an item have any negative effects on the rest?

Does 'concentration' used during short rests for the learning a magical item's properties or attuning to an item deny the ability to spend hit dice during those rests? Rephrased, does this ...
4
votes
2answers
100 views

Can a multiclassed Wizard enchant an arcane bonded weapon by qualifying with a second casting class?

Suppose that I want to have a first-level wizard school ability, and that I took an arcane bond with a weapon. Say that for whatever reasons, I take the rest of my levels in a different casting class. ...
41
votes
3answers
9k views

Can I use Two Immovable Rods as an infinite ladder or monkey bars?

There are already several questions concerning immovable rods, but I thought I'd add this to the list. Consider a stealthy and inventive assassin. She's on a mission to infiltrate the castle and ...
6
votes
1answer
231 views

Break DC too low?

I am making a Magic Rod out of Adamantine. The normal description of a rod is as such: Physical Description: Rods weigh approximately 5 pounds. They range from 2 feet to 3 feet long and are usually ...
20
votes
2answers
3k views

Drawing from the Deck of Many Things with a Simulacrum

Tl;dr: Can I use my Simulacrum to draw from a Deck of Many Things and if yes, what restrictions do apply? Longer version Imagine the following situation: You have gotten a Deck of Many Things and ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

If a warlock makes a Dancing Sword their pact weapon, is there a way to prevent it from disappearing if it's farther away for more than a minute?

I currently have a Pact of the Blade warlock, and recently came across a dancing sword (a rapier). I am considering making it my pact weapon, but there is still a minor inconvenience. While the ...
5
votes
1answer
237 views

How does the War Caster feat interact with +1 weapons or shields? [duplicate]

Say I take the War Caster feat, which allows me to use my weapon or shield as a spellcasting focus. If my weapon or shield is a +1, then when I use it was a spellcasting focus, would it act as a +1 ...
8
votes
2answers
746 views

Can I push an enemy into a bag of holding?

Here is the scenario I envision: I hold a bag of holding in one hand and use the other to make a shove attempt against an enemy. If I succeed can I shove him into the bag of holding? He can just ...
6
votes
1answer
210 views

Can the PCs get hold of the “Piwafwi” or “Piwafwi of Fire Resistance” magic items in the Out of the Abyss adventure?

In Out of the Abyss, Appendix B: Magic Items, two magic items are listed (p. 222); the Piwafwi (which is basically just a drow-made Cloak of Elvenkind) and the Piwafwi of Fire Resistance (the same but ...
35
votes
5answers
15k views

Can a Bag of Holding be opened from the inside?

The party rogue found a suit of armor that happened to have an evil soul bound to it. He unwittingly stuffed it into his bag of holding to sell the suit of armor later. The animated suit of armor does ...
2
votes
3answers
235 views

Can you upgrade a +2 item to a +1 item with a +2 ability?

Let's say I have a regular +2 weapon, but I want it to have Flaming Burst, which is a +2 equivalent ability. Could I pay the 10000gp difference to have it be upgraded to a +1 Flaming Burst weapon, or ...
2
votes
3answers
327 views

Would this bow of Karma be considered well balanced?

I wanted to make a bow that embodies the idea of Karma: Not only the concept that one's actions can come back to bite them, but also that good actions tend to give small returns while evil actions (to ...
2
votes
1answer
153 views

Can a character hold a magic two-handed weapon in one hand just to leverage the weapon's boons? [closed]

Let's say that there's a magic greatsword that provides some sort of a useful boon: say, it gives you advantages on all of your saving throws vs. spells. Should I allow a character to simply hold ...
37
votes
3answers
5k views

What is the history behind the “single-use spell scroll”?

The concept of a spell being stored on a scroll, which can be used once and then vanishes, shows up in numerous tabletop and video game RPGs. From a game design perspective, the idea of a one-use ...
19
votes
1answer
4k views

What's the casting ability modifier of a scroll?

Based on the table in the description of the spell scroll magic item: A scroll of charm person has a spell DC of 13. A scroll of chromatic orb's attack roll should be d20+5. But what is the ...
-4
votes
2answers
307 views

Does a ring of spell storing have a use if it is found with 0 spells?

A ring of spell storing has 1d6-1 spells. If I find the ring with 0 spells, as I actually did, does the ring still have a use?
11
votes
2answers
2k views

When is a reasonable level range for Gurt's Greataxe to be offered to a player?

As suggested in the title, I ran into Gurt's Greataxe. I was looking up magic items in my free time since I was curious, and I thought why not search for magic items related to greataxes, since my ...
6
votes
2answers
602 views

How does an artificer's Magic Item Savant feature interact with spell scrolls?

Does an artificer's Magic Item Savant feature allow the artificer to cast a spell that is higher than he can normally cast from a spell scroll without making an ability check to cast it? The relevant ...
1
vote
1answer
182 views

Immovable Rods vs. Explosives [closed]

So, having read the DMG text over the immovable rod, I know it is capable of handling 8000 pounds of force. However, my players are planning to try to destabilize a structure held by immovable rods ...
14
votes
7answers
4k views

Item Creation Without Experience Points

Suppose you're playing an RPG with item creation rules that require you to spend experience points as part of creating the item, such as D&D or Numenera. Suppose further that your gaming group has ...
22
votes
4answers
10k views

Is there anything that can create a fire that burns underwater?

Is there any fire-related item or spell in D&D 5e that can create a fire that can burn underwater?
7
votes
3answers
13k views

Can a wish spell create a legendary magic item?

One of the PCs in the adventure Curse of Strahd found a luckblade with one wish remaining. He wants to use that wish to get a staff of the magi, a legendary item (Dungeon Master's Guide 203). The ...
2
votes
2answers
136 views

Homebrewing a 2-way Bag of Holding: price & balance [duplicate]

Our DM has decided that it only makes sense for a two-way Bag of Holding to exist in our world. Background: Our characters own a small shipping company that frequently makes its profits by selling ...
22
votes
4answers
3k views

Can the Immovable Rod be/stay activated (immovable) without releasing the button?

The immovable rod doesn't move without a very large amount of force. We know this. One of my players is asking if the button on the immovable rod has to be pressed and then released to activate it, ...
0
votes
2answers
259 views

What items could help against fighting a dragon? [closed]

Getting ready to battle a horde of dragons. What are the best magic weapons to fight dragons? Found arrows and some charms against dragon breath. What non-homebrew items could help?
18
votes
3answers
3k views

Can I escape from a bag of holding with Banishment?

Related: If I cast Banishment on myself while in a demiplane, where exactly do I exit? If I am trapped in the extradimensional space of a bag of holding, can I escape by casting Banishment on myself? ...
12
votes
4answers
2k views

Is there a spell that can permanently freeze an area?

Is there any spell or magic item effect that can permanently freeze an area? (Freeze as in ice and snow).
8
votes
1answer
191 views

Is the orientation inside of a Bag of Holding the same as the outside world?

Gravity's a funny thing. It Makes all sorts of things fall and stay there. Does the pocket dimension in the Bag of holding have the same gravity directions as we do? For example. I have a pile of ...
0
votes
0answers
45 views

Can a creature exit a bag of holding on its own, or must it be pulled out? [duplicate]

There are a few ways a creature could be in a bag, put in a bag, leave a bag. Lets say a familiar is placed in a bag of holding, the bag is loosely placed in a backpack or saddlebag. Can the ...

1
3 4
5
6 7
47