Questions tagged [magus]

For questions about the magus, a type of magic user or spellcaster in various systems; in Pathfinder, it is the name of a martial/spellcaster class. This tag should be used for questions primarily relating to a character type called a magus in a tabletop RPG.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4 votes
1 answer
213 views

Does Magus' sparkling targe only work on spells?

The Magus subclass 'Sparkling Targe' has the following abilty (emphasis mine), which increases your shields hardness when blocking: When you’re in Arcane Cascade stance with your shield raised, your ...
Slaves_of_the_Coast's user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can a Magus not recharge spellstrike while in arcane cascade?

I'm new to Pathfinder (2e) in general and I wish to understand the magus class more. So the magus spellstrike has a recharge mechanic before you can use it again, according the the action's definition ...
Shirofuji's user avatar
  • 163
5 votes
1 answer
768 views

As a Magus with Psychic dedication, can I use Shield non-amped as a cantrip?

Taking the Psychic dedication I see Shield (amped) is listed as a Focus spell in Pathbuilder. Can I cast it non amped as a cantrip? The dedication seems to say I can but the app doesn't automatically ...
Daniel Nelson's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
1k views

Does Phase Bolt allow Spellstrike to reduce the target's circumstance bonus to AC?

My Magus takes Phase Bolt as a cantrip. They use it with Spellstrike. My target has Raised a Shield for a +2 circumstance bonus to their AC. Do I Spellstrike against their AC with or without their ...
ESCE's user avatar
  • 14k
7 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can a Magus use Expansive Spellstrike with a Conflux spell, and if so what exactly happens?

All the starting conflux spells for the various Magus hybrid studies let you make a strike. As far as I can tell, these are eligible for spellstrike if you have Expansive Spellstrike (without the feat,...
StephenTG's user avatar
  • 2,793
5 votes
1 answer
671 views

Chain Lightning and Expansive Spellstrike

Expansive Spellstrike allows for using spells that can "target a creature or that [have] an area of a burst, cone, or line (abiding by any other restrictions of Spellstrike)" with ...
ESCE's user avatar
  • 14k
9 votes
1 answer
1k views

What Arcane spells can actually hit multiple targets with a Spell Attack (for Spell Swipe)?

For the Magus, Spell Swipe (and eventually Whirlwind Spell) allows you to hit multiple enemies with a Spellstrike; however, if you actually want your multiple targets to both get hit by a spell, you ...
ESCE's user avatar
  • 14k
5 votes
1 answer
938 views

Magus, Bladebound's Black Blade, and Arcane Pool Enhancement

I know there are similar Magus questions on SE, but I don't believe any address my specific question. Say I have a level 5+ Bladebound Magus. Bladebound Magus gains the the Black Blade ability at ...
goodwind's user avatar
  • 496
-1 votes
3 answers
3k views

Does the Magus' Spell-strike work on both melee and ranged touch spells?

Does the Magus' Spell-strike work on both melee and ranged touch spells? whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell list, he can deliver the spell through any weapon ...
Jhyarelle Silver's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
196 views

Magus Spellstrike through an arm mounted "grappling hook"

The Brawler archetype Constructed Pugilist grants you a prosthetic arm right off the bat that you can modify yourself through class features and crafting feats. One such class feature lets you use it ...
Donny's user avatar
  • 113
0 votes
1 answer
215 views

How effective is Spell Shield Magus Arcana in preventing attacks of opportunity from hitting?

My favorite class in Pathfinder is a Magus. I'm considering playing a reckless, Dex-based, magus who regularly carries out combat maneuvers. However, I don't want to allocate so many feats to improved ...
Dilly the great's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
480 views

Spell-Storing weapon + Magus' Spellstrike

Okay, I've seen a few questions about this but not the exact question I have so I figure it's reasonable to ask. Let's assume the following situation, I have a magus with a spell-storing weapon with, ...
Balfuset790's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
764 views

Can you use Wayang Spellhunter and Magical Lineage to make shocking grasp a level 0 cantrip?

One of my players is attempting to use Spellhunter, Magical Lineage, and Blissful Spell. His goal is to make Shocking Grasp a level 0 spell/cantrip. Is this interaction legal RAW?
Thugadin's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
370 views

How do Magus class features interact with Shadow Conjuration/Evocation?

Several of the magus class features involve casting spells from the magus spell list. They do not specify that the spell must be prepared, or cast with magus spell slots. Spell Combat: As a full-...
MikeQ's user avatar
  • 31.5k
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

Bladebound Magus and Ancestral Weapon

Can a Magus choose his ancestral weapon to be his black blade? The result would be a small buff to the black blade -- making it either cold steel or alchemical silver. In terms of flavor it's a ...
JoshuaD's user avatar
  • 4,415
0 votes
1 answer
4k views

What are the Pros and Cons of a Strength based Magus vs a Dexterity Based Magus?

I am making a new magus. Here are the things that are set in stone for campaign/preference/story reasons: Race - Elf Ability Scores - 15 Point Buy Archetype - Blade Bound (others are also welcome) ...
JoshuaD's user avatar
  • 4,415
0 votes
2 answers
271 views

Does Bladebound Magus blade's masterwork bonus adds to Arcane Pool enchantment? [closed]

So I've recently come up with a concept for a Magus but a question I've encountered is that if a 5th level Magus uses his Arcane Pool to gain a +2 Enhancement Bonus, and the Flaming Burst property ...
AHappyTeddyBear's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can the Magus cast a spell using the Spell Combat feature while holding a one-handed weapon with two hands?

The Magus' Spell Combat feature says in part: To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), while wielding a light or ...
ninjahX's user avatar
  • 1,276
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can a magus use spellstrike on an attack of opportunity?

A magus casts Shocking Grasp, uses the arcane pool (for +1) and walks into battle. The baddie runs past the Magus, and the Magus gets an attack of opportunity, can he use Spellstrike and deliver the ...
TigerDM's user avatar
  • 1,936
4 votes
3 answers
269 views

Spell combat in confined spaces, are there penalties?

I've got a Brute Vigilante who also enjoys taking an Enlarge Person potion now and then (we've ruled that the brute ability is not magical and can stack with the magical enlargement). I've read and ...
TigerDM's user avatar
  • 1,936
3 votes
1 answer
593 views

Can Spellstrike be applied to Reach weapons?

Can a Magus deliver touch spells via Spellstrike(Su) while using a melee reach weapon such as the whip? At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell ...
DanceSC's user avatar
  • 1,949
7 votes
1 answer
908 views

What happens to the Black Blade of a slain Magus?

My party has just killed a Bladebound Magus. What will happen to the Black Blade? Can we take the blade? What would be the requirements for wielding it? Can we sell it? and if so, how would we ...
EdJoJob's user avatar
  • 173
3 votes
1 answer
2k views

Eldritch Archer / Ranged Spellstrike - is a ray cast in this way subject to armor now?

I have a Magus using the Eldritch Archer archetype. If I cast Ray of Enfeeblement (which is normally a ranged touch attack) using the Ranged Spellstrike feature, does my opponent now get the benefit ...
JoshuaD's user avatar
  • 4,415
3 votes
2 answers
874 views

Can a Magus's Black Blade perform skill checks other than the ones listed on the Bladebound page?

I've just made a Bladebound Magus in Pathfinder, and I could not find a lot of information on whether the Magus's black blade could perform skill checks other than the ones listed on the Bladebound ...
Pak's user avatar
  • 33
6 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can a Magus learn Wizard spells by conducting independent research?

By the rules of non-downtime Independent Research: Independent Research A wizard can also research a spell independently, duplicating an existing spell or creating an entirely new one. The cost to ...
Brandon Olson's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

How does sneak attack work with spellstrike?

If you hit someone with a sneak attack that has a touch spell on it would both instances of sneak attack go off or would just one?
austin's user avatar
  • 41
7 votes
1 answer
491 views

When a magus uses spellstrike, can they decide the order for resolving the weapon damage and spell effect?

When a magus makes a successful hit with spellstrike, it is ambiguous whether the weapon damage resolves before or after the effects of the spell. If successful, this melee attack deals its normal ...
MikeQ's user avatar
  • 31.5k
3 votes
2 answers
562 views

Are 0-Level Spell Scars Free?

I am playing Pathfinder and I have a Rogue 7 Magus 3 build. I have a Magus Arcana called Spell Scars which says I can add a total of 18 level spells (adding spells is similar to a Scribe Scroll feat). ...
Garrett Jackson's user avatar
4 votes
3 answers
660 views

Spell Combat with a held charge vs casting a spell

My level 1 Magus has cast Shocking Grasp during the first round and missed his touch attack so is still holding the charge. On his second turn, can he use Spell Combat to attack with the spell in his ...
Nick Brown's user avatar
  • 8,201
9 votes
1 answer
489 views

What is the largest size of creature that can be used as a weapon for Spellstrike?

If a magus can wield a one-handed weapon, then they can use it with their Spellstrike ability. And the larger a creature is, the larger their weapons can be. Could a sufficiently large magus wield ...
MikeQ's user avatar
  • 31.5k
8 votes
1 answer
8k views

How exactly does a magus arcane pool point, to enhance weapons, work?

I am playing a magus in pathfinder. I am new to this class so I need clarification with links to support. I know that the pool point can enhance the weapon with shock, fire, keen, bonuses, etc. What ...
jiggles caliente's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
789 views

Can I use both the arcana Empowered Magic (Su) and the Empower Spell (Metamagic) on one spell?

My magus has Magical Lineage (Shocking Grasp) and Intensified Spell. My magus can cast a Shocking Grasp with a 1 level spell slot up to 10CL. At level 6, I chose the magus arcana Empowered Magic (Su):...
aloisdg's user avatar
  • 3,084
6 votes
2 answers
785 views

Can I recall an Empowered by Empowered Magic (Su) Shocking Grasp with a Pearl of Power (1st)?

My Magus reached level 6! As new arcana, I choose Empowered Magic. Benefit: The magus can cast one spell per day as if it were modified by the Empower Spell feat. This does not increase the casting ...
aloisdg's user avatar
  • 3,084
2 votes
1 answer
403 views

Do Kensai's and Inspired Blade's capstones stack?

This will never occur in normal gameplay, but a situation has come up in a Level 20 Gestalt game I'm playing in that may also apply to Level 40 Epic games (should such a thing happen). A player has ...
Brandon Olson's user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
402 views

I'm building my first Magus in Pathfinder. How many archetypes/prestige classes are too much? [closed]

I'm sure the answer, as with many classes, is "slight to none." Paizo really punishes one for multiclassing. Please indulge me, this is my first post here. I'm making my first magus, and I'm after ...
Jasonite's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
854 views

Can I recall a Magical Lineage Intensified Shocking Grasp with a Pearl of Power (1st)?

Like a lot a Magus, I picked Magical Lineage on Shocking Grasp. Like a lot of Magus, I use this with Intensified Spell. So I am the owner of a Pearl of Power (1st). Can I use it to recall the ...
aloisdg's user avatar
  • 3,084
2 votes
1 answer
3k views

Does Two Weapon Fighting negate the -2 penalty for a Magus' Spell Combat?

I'm building a half-orc Kensai and I'm wondering about something. Spell Combat states the following: This functions much like two-weapon fighting, but the off-hand weapon is a spell that is being ...
Aria Nicholas's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
294 views

Can a magus wear a gauntlet to open doors without losing a held touchspell?

I am playing a magus who specializes in held touch spells. We are chasing down some enemies in a city and need to enter buildings. I am higher than second level so I have spellstrike. Is there any way ...
Fering's user avatar
  • 27.1k
4 votes
3 answers
2k views

Dimension Door and Spell Combat

So, to start, I'm aware of the feat Dimensional Agility, but that doesn't seem exactly right with how it works with Spell Combat. Dimensional Agility makes Dimension Door basically not count as your ...
Aleck's user avatar
  • 765
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

Are you always making a concentration check every time you use the Magus' Spells Combat ability and if so what is the DC of the check?

Are you always making a concentration check every time you use the Magus' Spells Combat ability and if so what is the DC of the check?
Jhyarelle Silver's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
6k views

How does vital strike work with magus spellstrike?

The magus class allows them to do two very special things, add weapon damage to spells that normally would not benefit, and have higher crit ranges. However it occurs to me that it might also allow ...
Fering's user avatar
  • 27.1k
4 votes
1 answer
978 views

Can a magus employ in his off-hand a ring of force shield and still use Spell Combat?

Is there anything preventing a magus from using Ring of Force Shield with Spell Combat?
Masakan's user avatar
  • 2,353
10 votes
2 answers
832 views

Is there any way for a Magus to get Dance of a Hundred Cuts added to his spell list?

Dance of a Hundred Cuts is a level 4 spell for bards only. You would think this spell would be perfect for a magus with the Dervish Dance feat. Is it possible for a magus to learn or cast this spell? ...
Masakan's user avatar
  • 2,353
5 votes
1 answer
422 views

Can an esoteric magus tattoo his chosen spell at 6th level?

The Esoteric Magus has a feature that reads Tattooed Spell (Sp) At 5th level and every 6 levels thereafter, an esoteric can permanently tattoo one spell from his magus spellbook onto his ...
Jean-Luc Nacif Coelho's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

Card Caster Magus Harrowed Spellstrike and Ranged Spells

The Card Caster archetype of magus gets an ability that replaces the normal spellstrike, called Harrowed Spellstrike. Beginning at 2nd level, a card caster can invest a single thrown weapon with a ...
Erudaki's user avatar
  • 5,854
5 votes
2 answers
3k views

Magus Spellstrike and Missing Target

Touch spells, even those specifically channeled through a weapon for purposes of Spellstrike, are retained if the spell does not make contact with the target. d20pfsrd Spellstrike entry: At 2nd ...
Aleck's user avatar
  • 765
2 votes
2 answers
640 views

Can a Magus combine a Whirlwind Attack with Spellstrike?

Can a Magus use Whirlwind attack to deliver a spell to multiple opponents with Spell strike? And secondly, Is Whirlwind Attack even worth taking if it can't do the above?
user1949329's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
2k views

Scroll Creation Pricing

Now, I've read several threads that sound similar to this one, but none of them really touch on the question I have and I can't find a proper response to it. I am a Magus, using Spell-Scars to make "...
Aleck's user avatar
  • 765
3 votes
2 answers
405 views

Can a Magus use Knowledge Pool to Learn a racial spell from the magus list?

I'm trying to understand the effective use of this ability, as my magus is about to hit level 7. And there are a few spells on the spell lists that are un-available except to certain races. 1) Racial ...
user2316707's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can you create spell-scars from spells prepared with knowledge pool?

I'm playing a magus, and I'm considering taking the spell-scar arcana, but I'm not entirely sure how it functions. Is it possible to prepare a spell through Knowledge pool and then create a spell-...
Freddy's user avatar
  • 59