Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 175 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [mark]

A mark is a status effect handed out by some PCs and monsters as part of an effort to encourage an opponent to attack the marker.

2
votes
2answers
109 views

Is there official wording on whether a Hunter's Quarry affects or is affected by “marks”?

I thought I read somewhere that Hunter's Quarry worked like a mark, but I can't find this in the rules. I've just recently started DMing 4e again and can't remember where I picked that up. It may ...
1
vote
1answer
342 views

Does marking the same target with Hunter's Mark end the effect of the Cavalier fighter's Unwavering Mark on that target? [duplicate]

I'm the DM. During one of our games the party's Cavalier used Unwavering Mark on an enemy. Then the Ranger used hunter's mark (PHB, p. 251) on the same enemy. The Cavalier's Unwavering Mark feature (...
3
votes
2answers
177 views

Can you use an Opportunity Attack on a Marked enemy if you already used your Reaction?

The DMG introduces an optional rule called "Mark" (DMG, p. 271, bold added) When a creature makes a melee attack, it can also mark its target. Until the end of the attacker's next turn, any ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

How does a Cavalier fighter's Unwavering Mark feature interact with other “mark” abilities?

The Cavalier fighter's Unwavering Mark feature (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 30) says: This effect ends early if you are incapacitated or you die, or if someone else marks the creature. ...
3
votes
1answer
112 views

Does when a fighter's mark get applied permit this Tactical Superiority combo?

I read through When does marking occur?, but I'm still not sure that the sequence of events actually happens the way I'm hoping it happens for the following combo to work. I'm a level 16 heavy blade ...
9
votes
1answer
8k views

Are there any downsides to the Mark optional rule?

The Dungeon Master's Guide provides some optional Action Options (p. 271). One of those options is the Mark option, which can give a free opportunity attack with advantage that doesn't use up a ...
3
votes
2answers
233 views

If a mark is applied from another power, can a defender use his marking reaction even if the mark is not applied from his typical marking power?

In my campaign, I am playing a Hybrid Swordmage who is using the Vigilante Character Theme to allow him to apply marks with the Mark of the Vigilante power. This power reads: Effect: You assume a ...
4
votes
1answer
246 views

How do Guardian's Counter and mark punishment interact?

The Guardian's Counter power from the Guardian theme has the following text: Immediate Interrupt Trigger: An ally within 2 squares of you is hit by an attack and you are not included in the ...
3
votes
1answer
265 views

Does Divine Sanction overwrite your own Divine Challenge?

So a Paladin technically has two different special marks, Divine Challenge and Divine Sanction. Some effects only work on your Divine Challenge target, and Hybrid paladins deal less damage with their ...
1
vote
1answer
73 views

Does Righteous Challenge stack with the effects of Divine Challenge/Sanction?

"Righteous Challenge: Demons and Devils marked by your Divine Challenge/Sanction take a -2 penalty to all attack rolls" Divine Challenge/Sanction already impose a -2 attack penalty to attacks that ...
4
votes
1answer
72 views

Can Leader's Intercession trigger my ally's mark?

So a Fighter marks an orc. The orc attacks the Fighter. The Warlord interrupts with Leader's Intercession, which makes him become the target of the orc's attack. This means the orc is making an ...
3
votes
1answer
121 views

Does the mark end immediately or can immediate reaction prevent this?

Last game, during an encounter, a player which created a mark took a few to many hits and went below 0 hit-points. The bard used an immediate reaction to bring him back to the action, but for a split ...
6
votes
1answer
317 views

If I mark a target as a battlemind do I need to stay within 1 square of the marked target?

I'm a new player in the DnD world playing with a group of semi new players. I chose the battlemind as my class and the group has had questions about mark since then. Most have been answered but we ...
5
votes
1answer
400 views

Can a player mark two different targets?

I have a player who plays a multi-class swordmage/warden. Each class gives him the capability to mark a target. Last encounter he used the marking ability of the swordmage as well as the marking ...
3
votes
1answer
663 views

Does warden's mark lower enemies attack rolls?

As far as I know a warden marks his/her enemies in order to exploit Warden's Fury and Warden's Grasp immediate at-wills. But in Primal Power, page 95, Daily Evocations lvl 5, Lifebind Attack states: ...
4
votes
2answers
656 views

Does glowering threat work the same way as a mark or differently?

I'm playing a high level fighter in a long term D&D campaign and a specific issue related to one of my powers has come up regularly and been a source of dispute at our table. I have the power ...
2
votes
1answer
386 views

Can two characters mark the same enemy?

Can my friend, who is a swordmage, and I, who am a battlemind, both have the same enemy marked at the same time? I tried to read the rules and look up the answer but I am pretty new to D&D.
5
votes
1answer
252 views

Can Oath of Enmity and Divine Challenge be stacked on the same target?

We have a Paladin and an Avenger. Both aim to kill the last standing baddie. The Paladin uses Divine Challenge on the target, then the Avenger wishes to use Oath of Enmity on their next turn. The ...
8
votes
2answers
619 views

Does the Monk's Flurry of Blows trigger mark retribution?

Scenario: Monk is marked by Fighter. Monk attacks Fighter. Monk uses Flurry of Blows on a different creature. Does the Fighter get to use Combat Challenge to attack the Monk? UPDATE: I found this ...
0
votes
1answer
186 views

Can a defender counter on a multiple attack power where only one attack includes her as a target? [duplicate]

Possible Duplicate: How do marks interact with dual attacks? Defenders usually have a power with a trigger like: Trigger: An enemy marked by you makes an attack that does not include you as ...
5
votes
1answer
323 views

Do attack powers that have an effect of marking a target use the class's defender mark or some other version of a mark?

Do attack powers that have an effect of marking a target use the class's defender mark (e.g. Aegis of Assault) or some other version of a mark? Powers like Swordmage: Dual Lightning Strike, lvl 3 ...
7
votes
1answer
330 views

Can you choose to not apply your divine sanction from a power?

I have a hybrid blackguard, and am looking to add a little defender to my repertoire. I wouldn't want to do this all the time though. If I choose some paladin powers that say the target is "subject ...
1
vote
1answer
168 views

Can a Fighter use their Mark feature with a Grenade?

If a Fighter player character attacks with a grenade-like weapons, e.g. Acidic Fire [ddi], can they still Mark the target(s)?
10
votes
2answers
399 views

Can a mark be maintained when the target succeeds on a Stealth check and becomes Hidden?

In a similar vein to my previous question , can a mark from a Fighter, Battlemind, etc. be maintained when the target succeeds on a Stealth check vs. a Defender's passive Perception and becomes Hidden ...
4
votes
1answer
242 views

Can a mark be maintained when the target is invisible?

Can a mark from a Fighter, Battlemind, etc. be maintained when the target goes invisible?
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Combat Challenge vs Opportunity Attack - which happens first?

If a fighter has marked an enemy, and the enemy does a ranged attack against someone other than the fighter, I believe the fighter can attack using Combat Challenge ...
6
votes
1answer
296 views

Does a double attack described as “make an X attack against two creatures” violate a defender's mark? [duplicate]

Possible Duplicate: How do marks interact with dual attacks? The Yuan-Ti as referenced here makes a slam attack against a defender and a non-defender as a single action. Would that "single ...
11
votes
1answer
331 views

How much damage does mind spike do against an AoE type attack?

My players are fighting a dragon who naturally has a breath attack, which is a close blast. The defender in this case is a battlemind, having the dragon marked with his Battlemind's demand. The ...
6
votes
3answers
3k views

What are the options for giving a Battlemind the ability to mark at range?

Basically I wanted to be able to mark a target up to 10 squares away so I can then use the Battlemind level 6 utility power Psionic Ambush to teleport next to it. The only potential option I see is ...
10
votes
4answers
5k views

What is the best way to maintain the threat of a Defender after your immediate action is spent?

The PHB1 fighter and most other pre-essentials defenders use immediate actions to enforce their marks. Unfortunately for this strategy Defenders are limited to only enforcing a single mark violation ...
9
votes
1answer
298 views

Do marks apply to attacks that would benefit the marking party?

In our last session, there were, among the monsters, a defender and a vampire. The defender marked one of the PCs. After that, the vampire used an attack on this PC that commanded him to attack ...
6
votes
3answers
479 views

Why use Battlemind's Demand on a Ranged Target?

I'm in a party of mainly new D&Ders, one of which is playing a Battlemind. One of his attacks, Battlemind's Demand, marks one or two targets in a close blast 3 for the duration of the encounter. ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

When does marking occur?

When a fighter attacks a creature, that creature is marked. When does the marking happen in the sequence of events? If the creature does an interrupt, is the creature marked during that interrupt ...
9
votes
2answers
709 views

Does a defender get to respond to a marked target making an opportunity attack on another PC?

Had a moment in my last session where the Striker provoked an Opportunity Attack from a Monster that was marked by the Defender. After the attack was resolved, our Defender wanted to respond with his ...
5
votes
1answer
355 views

Does Cleave trigger an adjacent enemy's mark?

I am playing a level 5 great weapon fighter and had a question that hasn't come up yet, but I wanted clarification in case it did. One of my at-will powers is Cleave. My question is if I am marked ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a creature use an immediate reaction after another creature's opportunity action on a third creature's turn?

My battlemind and a cleric were engaged in a melee battle with a Deathdog the other day. The cleric was knocked down on a previous turn, so that when her turn began she attempted to stand up. The ...
1
vote
1answer
342 views

Other than its class feature, what powers allow the battlemind to place encounter-long marks?

I'm trying to find out which powers allow the Battlemind to place encounter-long marks. I know that the class feature Battlemind's Demand lets you do this to two ...
18
votes
2answers
594 views

How do marks interact with dual attacks?

The specific example from last night involved a Demon ManipulatorDDI using his Deceptive Attack to attack both my paladin and an ally. Would this violate the mark and trigger Divine ChallengeDDI? My ...
19
votes
3answers
767 views

Do marks go away when one of the parties is dead or incapacitated?

While DMing for DnD Encounters, I had an interesting rules concern come up, that I can't see handled in the rules specifically. We always assumed that when a character or monster goes unconscious via ...