Questions tagged [meldshaping]

For questions about the D&D 3.5e soul-melding magic system introduced in Magic of Incarnum (2005) from Wizards of the Coast.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
3answers
486 views

Can a creature levitate (or be levitated) out of a grapple?

The 2nd-level Sor/Wiz spell levitate [trans] (Player's Handbook 248), in part, says Levitate allows you to move yourself, another creature, or an object up and down as you wish. A creature must be ...
4
votes
1answer
126 views

Can a “good” character qualify for necrocarnate just by using necrocarnum?

Is using necrocarnum such an evil act that a character who is otherwise good can qualify for the necrocarnate class solely on the basis of being willing to use necrocarnum? Sort of a the-ends-justify-...
3
votes
1answer
122 views

Are any deities associated with Incarnum?

Are any deities or similar powerful entities associated with incarnum, the magical substance from Magic of Incarnum that allows meldshapers to shape and bind soulmelds?
5
votes
1answer
199 views

How can the range of dissolving spittle be increased?

The soulmeld dissolving spittle (Magic of Incarnum 64–5) grants the meldshaper a ranged touch attack that has a range of 30 ft. Incarum and Spells, in part, says, "Soulmelds interact with spells and ...
2
votes
4answers
439 views

Adding Incarnum-like capability to my Level 1 Human Vow of Poverty Monk

I wanted to try Vow of Poverty and a monk because I liked the idea of an ascetic melee fighter, but the limitations of vow of poverty about using magic items is tough. I do not want to slow down the ...
2
votes
1answer
283 views

Melf's Acid Arrow and Bonus damage

Due to some Lucky Dice (the soulmeld) from Magic of Incarnum book, I am getting +1 generic bonus damage (a luck bonus). This seems to quite clearly apply to the initial damage of Acid Arrow, but how ...
1
vote
1answer
120 views

What can and can't Form of Doom be combined with?

The psionic power form of doom states: This power functions only while you inhabit your base form (for instance, you can’t be metamorphed or polymorphed into another form, though you can use claws ...
6
votes
1answer
278 views

How does incarnum multiclassing work?

For example: I multiclass Incarnate/Totemist. Do they share a pool of melds/essentia/chakras, or are they somehow separate (such as it is with initiators)? I can't seem to find a rules reference to ...
0
votes
1answer
199 views

Do Soul Manifesters (by RAW only) have the ability to advance a meldshaper class they formerly possessed?

If I'm a psion 3/incarnate 1 and I lose my incarnate class due to level loss, can I qualify for soul manifester using feats and then advance the incarnate class to which I belonged prior to taking my ...
2
votes
1answer
193 views

Does this homebrew incarnum feat work as intended?

Does this homebrew feat work as intended, i.e. granting a class the incarnum class level advancing ability of an incarnum prestige class (minus most of the essentia and plus new tiers of chakra binds):...
4
votes
2answers
286 views

How much essentia can a necrocarnate accumulate from harvesting souls?

The prestige class necrocarnate at level 1 gains the supernatural ability harvest souls that, in part, says [Y]ou can perform a short ritual to capture the soul energy of a newly dead corpse. This ...
7
votes
4answers
245 views

With how many of his buddies can a meldshaper share his soulmelds?

The feat Share Soulmeld (Magic of Incarnum 41) has as its prerequisite the "[a]bility to shape soulmelds and a familiar, animal companion, or mount with whom you can share spells." The feat's ...
3
votes
1answer
236 views

How does a meldshaper actually use the feat Share Soulmeld?

The feat Share Soulmeld (Magic of Incarnum 41) has as the following as its benefit: At your option, any soulmeld shaped by you and currently affecting you can also affect your familiar, animal ...
5
votes
1answer
271 views

Does a creature sharing a soulmeld benefit from a master's binding and invested essentia?

The benefit of the feat Share Soulmeld says At your option, any soulmeld shaped by you and currently affecting you can also affect your familiar, animal companion, or [presumably special] mount [...
0
votes
1answer
127 views

Can you teleport twice with two move actions and still hide?

The Totemist soulmeld blink shirt bound to his totem chakra allows you to teleport as a move action. Can you teleport twice, and still use hide/hide in plain sight?
4
votes
2answers
706 views

Can you use Girallon Arms to wield additional weapons?

The totem bind of the Girallon Arms soulmeld gives you four claw attacks. Can you use weapons with those claws? It's not given any info on this other then that you gain claw attacks so I reason that ...
2
votes
2answers
218 views

Is a totemist's ability to use armor restricted?

Can a totemist wear medium or heavy armor without it interfering with his powers? I've read online that they can't use their powers if they do, but I can't find where in Magic of Incarnum it says that....
3
votes
1answer
111 views

Can a creature benefit twice from an alignment-specific soulmeld?

If a creature takes the feat Shape Soulmeld (Magic of Incarnum 40) so it can shape a soulmeld that expects to be shaped by a creature possessing a lone alignment component, does the creature gain both ...
3
votes
1answer
141 views

Is an enhancement bonus due to invested essentia sufficient to overcome DR X/magic?

Magic of Incarnum describes several soulmelds that when shaped or bound grant the meldshaper one or more natural weapons. When a meldshaper invests essentia into some of these soulmelds, these natural ...
3
votes
2answers
612 views

Could one shape pheonix belt and bind manticore belt to the totem chakra at the same time?

Both of these soulmelds take up the waist body slot but I don't know if that matters since they're both soulmelds and the pheonix belt is only being shaped, not bound.
1
vote
2answers
228 views

Should bound urskan greaves increase the damage of all attacks upon charging?

When bound to the feet chakra, urskan greaves says When you charge, if your melee attack hits, you deal an additional +1d4 points of damage per point of essentia you invest in your urskan greaves. (...
3
votes
1answer
109 views

How does the unicorn horn soulmeld's detect evil special ability work?

When bound to the brow chakra, the soulmeld unicorn horn grants the meldshaper the following special ability: You gain the ability to detect evil once per round as a standard action. (Magic of ...
3
votes
2answers
486 views

Can a creature benefit from both pounce and the effect of bound sphinx claws?

The special ability pounce says When a creature with this special attack makes a charge, it can follow with a full attack—including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability. (Monster ...
3
votes
2answers
697 views

Does using a blink shirt to teleport provoke attacks of opportunity?

The soulmeld blink shirt says that the meldshaper gains the ability to teleport (as dimension door) up to 10 feet at will. Using this ability is a standard action. After using this ability, you can’...
7
votes
1answer
809 views

How do Incarnate-class chakra binds interact with Warforged armour?

I'm considering taking a level of Incarnate, and my race is Warforged, so it'd be good to know how chakra binds would deal with the fact that I'm permanently wearing armour everywhere. Magic of ...
6
votes
1answer
355 views

Can soulmelds of one class be bound to a chakra opened by another class?

I'm playing a totemist. I want to deal more damage and expand my versatility by multiclassing into incarnate, but I've a question. Does having the ability to bind a soulmeld to a chakra that's opened ...