Questions tagged [monsters]

This tag covers questions relating to either monstrous antagonists specifically, or all enemies of the player characters generally; which usage is correct varies depending on the traditions of specific games. Use as appropriate for the game in question.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
-3
votes
0answers
29 views

Checking CR calculation for homebrew larger version of Giant Ape

I am considering allowing a larger version of a Giant Ape, in which some of the stats have been embiggened to achieve the low end of CR8. I would appreciate a confirmation that I am calculating this ...
-1
votes
2answers
41 views

Are there any official CR 8 beasts that are not dinosaurs, for the purpose of the Polymorph spell?

Although the party wizard has had a wand of polymorph since finding it in a hand-converted U3: The Final Enemy (before the release of Ghosts of Saltmarsh), she has typically used it defensively, ...
0
votes
0answers
27 views

How can a creature's maximum hp be determined?

Is it possible to determine a creature's maximum hit points through a Knowledge skill check or another means? Related: What check to use for finding out current hit points?
2
votes
1answer
56 views

If I use the Shapechange spell to turn into a phoenix, can I use its legendary resistances to pass Con saves to maintain concentration? [duplicate]

I've been trying to make use of the Shapechange spell as a 9th-level spell with a Druid class, but concentration seems to be a major issue. Say I transform into a Phoenix, can I use its 3 Legendary ...
8
votes
2answers
591 views

Does a creature that has Possessed a character gain access to the character's feats?

The Possession action, typically found on Ghosts, includes the following description of the effects of successfully possessing a creature: The ghost now controls the body but doesn't deprive the ...
3
votes
1answer
75 views

How much damage does an Enlarged Huge Gray Ooze deal with their pseudopod?

The stat block for the Huge Gray Ooze indicates that on a hit its pseudopod deals: 6d6 acid damage plus 2d6 acid damage, or 12d6 acid damage while the ooze is enlarged. Looking at the smaller gray ...
4
votes
2answers
53 views

Can an Elder Oblex be subject to an AoE more than once?

The Elder Oblex has the Sulfurous Impersonation feature which lets it create an impersonation of a creature in another space. The feature goes on to state: For all practical purposes, the simulacrum ...
3
votes
1answer
76 views

Can a kraken cast wizard spells which require verbal and somatic components?

The Kraken, according to the monster manual, can "Understand Abyssal, Celestial, Infernal, And Primordial But Can't Speak, Telepathy 120 Ft." The Kraken also does not have hands. It seems as ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Are the Storm Giant's strength scores in the Monster Manual wrong?

The Storm Giant has a STR score of 29. According to the encumbrance rules that means the maximum weight a giant could lift is 435 lb. which really isn't that much. To put it in perspective. The Storm ...
4
votes
2answers
193 views

Do my players know the specifics of an enemy's attack

I've looked through the PHB and the RPG Stackexchange but I haven't found anything regarding the following: Many monsters have some kind of special attack or action that inflict a certain status on ...
25
votes
3answers
2k views

Feeding a flumph

My players have have decided to befriend a flumph. Flumphs feed by siphoning mental energy from psionic creatures, and they can be found lurking near communities of mind flayers, aboleths, githyanki, ...
6
votes
1answer
131 views

Utility of Proficiency Bonus in Statblock for Summoned Creatures without Proficiencies?

Looking into Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, I was reviewing the stat block of the Fey summoned by the Summon Fey spell. Amongst the statistics provided is the Proficiency Bonus of the spirit, defined ...
18
votes
4answers
3k views

Does putting an Air Elemental in a Bag of Holding create an air supply?

Elementals don't need to breathe, eat, or sleep, thanks to their Elemental Nature (MM p. 123). This means that one could survive indefinitely in a Bag of Holding. An Air Elemental using its Air Form ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Does the Protection from Evil and Good spell kill the host of an Intellect Devourer?

The Body Thief action in the Intellect Devourer's statblock in the MM and SRD says, in part: A protection from evil and good spell cast on the body drives the intellect devourer out. [...] By ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Troglodyte has two different bite stats?

I'm pretty new to this GMing thing, and am running a prebuilt Pathfinder module. I am setting up the next encounter for my party and noticed that the Troglodyte entry in the bestiary has two different ...
9
votes
1answer
268 views

What is the relationship between demons and aberrations in Forgotten Realms lore?

The relationship between devils and demons is well understood through the lore of the Blood War. Is there a similar relationship between demons and aberrations from the Far Realm? Is there a ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Do mirrors extend a Medusa's Petrifying Gaze?

The 5e Medusa has a 30' Petrifying Gaze ability: When a creature that can see the medusa's eyes starts its turn within 30 ft. of the medusa, the medusa can force it to make a DC 14 Constitution ...
10
votes
4answers
754 views

How does Belashyrra's Truesight interact with its Eye Thief ability?

Eberron: Rising from the Last War includes a really interesting boss monster named Belashyrra. Belashyrra has Truesight out to 120 feet: A monster with truesight can, out to a specific range, see in ...
2
votes
0answers
157 views

Is there a way to convert MTG creatures and characters to AD&D? [closed]

There are a lot of creatures and characters from the trading card game Magic: The Gathering that I would like to incorporate into my Advanced Dungeons & Dragons campaigns. Specifically, I'm ...
12
votes
2answers
479 views

Does a fiend drop any items carried when it is killed and returned to Avernus?

I had a bearded devil carrying some keys that would open a jail cell, tied to his belt and was slain. My question is, does it drop the keys and can be retrieved by my players or would they go with it ...
4
votes
1answer
111 views

Is the megaraptor's Fortitude saving throw correct?

I'm trying to understand whether this is an error, or whether there is something I'm missing. According to the System Reference Document, a megaraptor's Fort save is +10. As an 8 hit dice animal, its ...
6
votes
2answers
995 views

Can a monster cast a higher-level spell using a lower-level spell slot?

Is there a rule for monsters that allows a higher-level spell to be cast using a lower level? I ask because I came across the "Shadow Fey Enchantress" statblock in the third-party book Tome ...
4
votes
2answers
213 views

How should I handle a Poltergeist throwing a PC into another?

I wanted to include a Poltergeist in one of my encounters but I'm not entirely sure how to handle one thing in its stat block. The Poltergeist can use its Telekinetic Thrust ability to toss a creature ...
2
votes
2answers
154 views

Water Elemental grappling a Huge creature, does it take damage from Whelm's second paragraph?

If a Water Elemental were to use the grappling rules to grapple a Huge creature (since it is Large), would that creature then take damage from this: At the start of each of the elemental's turns, ...
4
votes
1answer
140 views

Can the spell Water Walk help in the fight against a Water Elemental?

The spell Water Walk: grants the ability to move across any liquid surface--such as water, acid, mud, snow, quicksand, or lava--as if it were harmless solid ground (creatures crossing molten lava can ...
17
votes
1answer
2k views

How can you detect a Doppelganger?

First, within D&D 5e, what magic, items, or special abilities would allow player characters to detect a doppelgänger? Second, and perhaps not easily answerable, what types of clues or cue might ...
5
votes
1answer
121 views

What DC should a Skeleton's Explosive Death ability be?

What DC should a Skeleton's Explosive Death ability be? I've just been using the standard DC for a level equal to the skeleton, which is fine for the Skeletal Champion but that poses some problems for ...
13
votes
1answer
681 views

Can an orthon use its Explosive Retribution if it is reduced from 16+ HP to 0 HP at once?

The orthon's statblock states, "When it is reduced to 15 hit points or fewer, the orthon causes itself to explode." (Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes p. 169) On the one hand, 0 HP is fewer than ...
1
vote
0answers
81 views

What happens when a creature with Racial Hit Dice changes creature type?

The specific example I'm working with is a creature with RHD who takes the Human Heritage feat... and then advances by HD. The creature retains all the traits of its previous type (so far so good), ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Can Specters move into the ground to avoid Opportunity Attacks?

In 5e, Specters have the Incorporeal Movement trait, which says: The specter can move through other creatures and objects as if they were difficult terrain. It takes 5 (1d10) force damage if it ends ...
7
votes
2answers
330 views

Does Strahd von Zarovich's Move legendary action trigger damage if he moves through an area of sunlight?

I read this Q&A about legendary actions not triggering effects from spells that happen at the beginning of the monster's turn. Since I'm playing in Curse of Strahd, I wondered: Can Strahd von ...
9
votes
1answer
432 views

Can the artificer's spell-storing item affect a Rakshasa?

My character is being hunted down by 3 Rakshasa. The character is aware they possess limited magic immunity which reads as follows: Limited Magic Immunity. The rakshasa can't be affected or detected ...
6
votes
1answer
324 views

Can a ghost possess someone in the material plane while in the ethereal plane?

The possession ability of a ghost (DnD 5e) states that it can possess one humaniod it can see within 5ft. I interpreted that a ghost could use its possession ability from the etherial plane itself, ...
5
votes
1answer
209 views

What happens to an abjurer's Arcane Ward when they fail the saving throw against a Banshee's Wail?

An abjuration wizard has the Arcane Ward class feature (PHB, p. 115): Starting at 2nd level, you can weave magic around yourself for protection. When you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or ...
6
votes
1answer
636 views

What happens when an unconscious creature fails their saving throw against a Banshee's Wail?

A Banshee (MM, p. 23) has the Wail action: Wail (1/Day). The banshee releases a mournful wail, provided that she isn’t in sunlight. This wail has no effect on constructs and undead. All other ...
13
votes
4answers
4k views

My DM wouldn't let my character use Acrobatics to escape an Ankheg's grapple, even after it was asleep. Can my DM do this, or am I overreacting?

Now, I know this sounds like something small, but it did annoy me. We were fighting an Ankheg. We killed one, and after combat ended the DM had another one come up from the ground and grapple me ...
7
votes
1answer
472 views

Can Legendary Actions be used after a dead creature's turn?

If a monster has Legendary Actions, can it use one at the end of a dead creature's turn? And would it matter if the dead creature is an ally of the monster or a PC? Relevant section from the Monster ...
3
votes
1answer
69 views

What ability is raised by an imp familiar?

the AD&D Monster Manual (p.54) states that if an imp is within 1 mile of the "master", he/she gains an additional level of ability. What ability are they referring to?
8
votes
1answer
208 views

Engulfed while Gust of Wind is in effect

Recently my party was exploring a dungeon when we were attacked. My druid cast Gust of Wind to drive some of the enemies back, but shortly afterwards was engulfed by a gelantinous cube. What should ...
4
votes
1answer
201 views

Can a Flesh Golem benefit from the 7th-level Regenerate spell?

Traditionally, the flesh golem is alive... it's ALIVE!!. Not so with 5e D&D of course, it is just another automaton but made with soggy RAW parts. Too bad of course (some amazing clips and reels ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

If a character takes the (accurate) form of an aboleth, does the character gain their ancestral-genetic memories?

Via the spells true polymorph and shapechange, it is possible for any qualified recipient to gain a very accurate form of an aboleth. (A CR or level of 10+ is required to use true polymorph this way - ...
18
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a creature use Legendary Resistance to succeed on the saving throw against a Scrying spell?

My players recently decided that they would like to cast the scrying spell on a creature that has the Legendary Resistance trait. Does the Legendary Resistance trait function outside of combat? My ...
2
votes
0answers
92 views

Pathfinder 1x: Needing to upscale a dungeon [closed]

I have an old module (The Ring of Brodgar) I'm trying to drop into my campaign. We're using the Pathfinder 1e ruleset in a home brew world. I have no drow or underdark, but an ancient evil (...
12
votes
1answer
761 views

Are there phoenixes in D&D 5E? [duplicate]

I looked for a phoenix in the Monster Manual, but I can't seem to find anything. I want to see if I can use one in my adventure, but I couldn't find a phoenix anywhere. Are there phoenixes in D&D ...
0
votes
3answers
145 views

What creatures copy themselves?

I found the dopplerat which is perfect, but it's from a 3rd party book. The only official creature I can find that does anything like this is the black pudding with its split rule. Are there any ...
19
votes
1answer
513 views

What's the difference between a jelly, a pudding, and other oozes?

Several types of named oozes exist in 5th edition, but the naming conventions are strange. Black puddings and ochre jellies exist, alongside simple grey oozes. Do these names signify anything? ...
1
vote
0answers
96 views

Discover a Monsters Weakness? [duplicate]

As a D&D5e newbie player, I'm getting to grips with all my skills and abilities and when to use them. One thing that's come up is when we encounter monsters ... what do you roll against when ...
12
votes
4answers
2k views

Are a Redcap's boots actually its feet?

The Redcap described in Volo's Guide to Monsters is a chaotic evil fey that looks like a demonic garden gnome. They have a strange property - they burst out of the ground wearing heavy iron boots. ...
7
votes
1answer
84 views

Is a grappling Redcap considered a Large creature while under the effect of Enlarge/Reduce?

The Redcap is a Small creature, but it has an ability called Outsize Strength: While grappling, the redcap is considered to be Medium. The spell enlarge/reduce, when using the enlarge effect, says: ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

If a player's character is absorbed by a gibbering mouther, do they make death saving throws as normal, or are they instantly killed?

I am a DM for the Tomb of Annihilation published adventure. My group will be exploring an abandoned mine near Fort Beluarian, so I wanted to create a level mini-dungeon for a party of five people. ...

1
2 3 4 5
38