Questions tagged [monsters]

This tag covers questions relating to either monstrous antagonists specifically, or all enemies of the player characters generally; which usage is correct varies depending on the traditions of specific games. Use as appropriate for the game in question.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
2answers
111 views

How does a Half-Golem's magic immunity interact with its own magic?

I've seen a lot of threads on the Internet debating about the magic immunity of Half-Golems from MM2 but none of them answered or even brought up this question: How would a Half-Golem's magic ...
2
votes
1answer
127 views

What is the number before an attack's damage roll? [duplicate]

I am very new to dungeons and dragons and for our group of friends I was picked to be the DM, I read the rules and understood them for the most part but some attacks have me stump for example if a ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a Lich create a new phylactery?

It looks like 3.5e prevented the creation of a new phylactery. It looks like some people were saying that it was possible in 4e. (as per comment in link above.) I'm interested to know whether we ...
5
votes
2answers
192 views

How can I format a single monster statblock for an adventure designed to work across multiple editions?

I'm writing a module that has hopes of being as edition-neutral as possible. However, new monsters are presented so I'm left with the very hard task of making it accessible to older and newer editions ...
7
votes
2answers
450 views

Can the “Create a Monster” table be used to accurately change a creature's CR?

Related: How do I scale up a Monster for a big Party in D&D 5e? There have been a lot of questions about Mimics, so I'll use that, but this applies to any creature that doesn't match up with the ...
16
votes
4answers
3k views

Can a Mimic (container form) actually hold loot?

I want my players to be able to kill a Mimic and get the loot from the Mimic's corpse. The Mimic has an acidic bite, and is a creature, not actually a container. Can a Mimic store items?
8
votes
1answer
424 views

Can a creature with a Burrow speed drag another creature into the ground with it? [closed]

As a follow-up to this thread, I have a couple of additional questions about creature with burrow speeds, and grappling/swallowing/suffocating hapless adventurers. To help answer this question, here ...
28
votes
2answers
2k views

Can an earth elemental drown/bury its opponent underground using earth glide?

Situation The party are at an elemental cult's shrine. The cleric contributed to the desecration of the shrine when she stuck a javelin with continual flame burning into the ground (for RP reasons). ...
6
votes
2answers
308 views

Is knowledge about monster types inherent?

Does my character inherently know what the traits of each monster type are (such as vermin or undead being immune to mind-affecting spells) or do I need to make a knowledge roll for that?
8
votes
3answers
1k views

How to make a mimic a challenging fight for high level party? [closed]

After posted this question, it turned out that mimics might be weaker than I though first. As said in this linked question, I really like mimics and I'd like to use "a lot" of these (without going ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

At what level can a party fight a mimic?

I'm actually starting to get into DnD and I may be soon buy the DnD starter set. Mimic is a monster whose concept I love, and I would like to put at least one as soon as possible when I'll DM, even if ...
10
votes
3answers
780 views

Are there any monsters that consume a player character?

So a long time ago when I played 4e, I remember certain creatures being able to "consume" a player character as an attack option. What creatures does 5e have with similar abilities?
9
votes
1answer
562 views

Can polymorphing monsters spam their ability to effectively give themselves a massive health pool?

Some creatures have an ability that lets them polymorph, such as the Couatl's Change Shape action. I am wondering if this ability could be used again whenever the form is dropped to give the creature ...
7
votes
1answer
594 views

How do creatures spend Hit Dice after a short rest (if they can do so)?

I know that enemies can take both short rests and long rests, because there is at least one enemy which recover one of its features after a rest. See the Cloaker (Monster Manual, p. 42): Phantasms (...
8
votes
1answer
299 views

What is the name of this “living planet” creature?

I remember from back when I played 4th edition more, that there exists within the lore some sort of Abberation creature that was described as being "a living planet, from the Far Realm". It's ...
10
votes
1answer
717 views

Where are a monster’s hit dice found in the stat block?

I want to bring back to consciousness an Evil Mage that my PCs have successfully rendered unconscious. My thought is that all could use a short rest and during this time the unconscious mage could ...
15
votes
5answers
2k views

Can you earn endless XP using a Flameskull and its self-revival feature?

Flameskulls have the following traits (Monster Manual, p. 135): Eldritch Rejuvenation. A flameskull's shattered fragments reform unless they are splashed with holy water or subjected to a dispel ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

What is the lore-based reason that the Spectator has the Create Food and Water trait, instead of simply not requiring food and water?

The Spectator has the Create Food and Water action (Monster Manual, p. 31): Create Food and Water. The spectator magically creates enough food and water to sustain itself for 24 hours. I don't ...
6
votes
1answer
650 views

Can a Spectator be a bodyguard? Can the treasure/item it guards be a person/person's item?

Basically, my question if is it possible to summon a spectator as a bodyguard. But let me first explain it: Monster Manual p. 31 says, about Spectators: A spectator is a lesser beholder that is ...
2
votes
1answer
69 views

Monster Spells per day [closed]

I was just looking up the Barlgura and stumbled on the 1/day casts for entangle, phantasmal force. Does that mean that once per day it is able to cast either spell (like a spell slot it can use once ...
18
votes
3answers
3k views

Is there a lava-breathing lizard creature (that could be worshipped by a cult) in 5e?

I am trying to come up with a creature that is worshiped by a cult for my character, and because I am not particularly creative, I decided to rip off Team Magma from third generation pokemon. For ...
7
votes
1answer
624 views

Is a creature that sees a Medusa's eyes automatically subjected to a saving throw?

Famously, the gaze of a Medusa's eyes turns hapless adventurers to stone. However, is this save automatic upon seeing her eyes? The Medusa's Petrifying Gaze feature says (emphasis mine): ...
11
votes
4answers
683 views

What natural barriers could help when running away from a lightning elemental?

Players are trying to steal magical items from Powerful Elemental Beings. They are not able to fight with them, so they need to somehow find a way to outrun them, preferably using environmental ...
10
votes
3answers
493 views

Can an attached stirge deal no more than 10 HP of damage before it detaches?

An attached stirge deals 5 (1d4+3) HP of damage at the start of its turn each round. The statblock states: The stirge can detach itself by spending 5 feet of its movement. It does so after it ...
20
votes
4answers
3k views

Can a Hydra make multiple opportunity attacks at once?

A normal creature only has one reaction that may be used as a single attack of opportunity. A Hydra, though, has one of these reactions per head. My question would be: may several reactions be ...
5
votes
1answer
139 views

Will bloody skeleton remain under control after being destroyed?

Animate dead allows you to create a bloody skeleton variant instead of a regular skeleton, which has the Deathless (Su) ability. Deathless (Su) A bloody skeleton is destroyed when reduced to ...
2
votes
1answer
266 views

If my character is psychically linked to an Elder Brain, does it also take any psychic damage my character takes?

My PC is currently Psychic Linked to what I believe is an Elder Brain. If I were to take psychic damage on purpose, would that affect the Elder Brain? Also, could the actual determination to go ...
15
votes
5answers
2k views

Where can I educate myself on D&D universe lore, specifically on vampires and supernatural monsters?

It turns out my first campaign will be Curse of Strahd (5e). I'd like to play a vampire hunter who is knowledgeable about supernatural monsters as a matter of profession. Furthermore, I have a vampire ...
6
votes
1answer
127 views

How does the Flying Dagger Swarm's aura work?

The Flying Dagger Swarm (dungeon magazine #195, pag 18) aura states: Aura 1 - any enemy that starts his turn in the aura takes ongoing 5 damage (save ends). If that enemy is already taking untyped ...
9
votes
1answer
193 views

Do regular mummies reform when destroyed?

When reading the lore on Mummies (MM, p. 227), it says: Ending a Mummy's Curse. Rare magic can undo or dispel the ritual that gave rise to a mummy, allowing it to truly die. Now clearly the Mummy ...
2
votes
1answer
309 views

Would a poison-immune creature be affected by Myconid spores?

One of my players has a Yuan-ti Pureblood character. We've read somewhere that poison immunity extends to many substances and we've gone with this interpretation, for instance we're considering this ...
24
votes
2answers
2k views

When a wildshaped Druid is affected by a Ghost's Horrifying Visage, which form ages?

So this came up in yesterday's game; the Druid, while Wildshaped into a dinosaur, rolled a 1 on his save against a Ghost's Horrifying Visage and then aged 20 years. There was some confusion about ...
6
votes
1answer
393 views

Does the Bugbear’s “Surprise Attack” feature apply on its first round of combat or the players'?

The Bugbear's Surprise Attack feature reads: Surprise Attack: If the bugbear surprises a creature and hits it with an attack during the first round of combat, the target takes an extra 7 (2d6) ...
4
votes
2answers
794 views

How much does adding the Pack Tactics trait to this homebrew monster affect its CR?

I am using this Beowolf homebrew monster as a basis to create a Large Mountain Wolf. It currently has a CR of 3, if I add the Pack Tactics trait (as listed below) to this monster, how does that ...
3
votes
2answers
173 views

Does Incorporeal Subtype protect against the divine damage from Flame Strike?

So my party encountered wraiths the other day for the first time and the Favoured Soul used Flame Strike, also for the first time. I was a bit stumped by the half "divine" damage as I've never seen it ...
17
votes
2answers
1k views

Can modify memory be used to change a revenant's target?

I am GMing a homebrew story and was trying to think of an enemy that my party could encounter that would be more story driven than just one that gets more dice to hurt them with. I have been ...
13
votes
5answers
2k views

What happens if I cast Planar Binding on a creature who was brought by a spell that has ended?

Planar Binding states: You attempt to bind a celestial, elemental, fey, or fiend to your service. It must be within range for the entire casting of the spell. At completion, it makes a ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

Are there any demons of CR 1/2?

Summon Lesser Demons will summon for the caster a number of demons based on a d6 roll; either 2 CR 1 (or less) demons, four CR 1/2 (or less), or eight CR 1/4 (or less). CR 1 demons include Quasits ...
9
votes
2answers
5k views

Is Summon Lesser Demons strictly worse than Conjure Animals?

Summon Lesser Demons and Conjure Animals both summon creatures of equal CR (with CA potentially summoning a single CR 2 creature where SLD cannot), however: Conjure Animals summons creatures that are ...
3
votes
1answer
107 views

What are the conditions under which a Lion can pounce and rake?

A lion has the pounce extraordinary ability. It says that a lion can make a full attack including two rake attacks upon a charge. Which interpretation is correct? A lion charges and gets five attacks ...
7
votes
4answers
2k views

Is this Variant Monstrosity Druid balanced?

In my current campaign, I introduced a crazy scientist that uses mutagens in order to transform into different monsters. It’s really cool and really creepy. One of the characters in the party recently ...
5
votes
1answer
426 views

Is this conversion of a Cloud Ray Elder CR 16?

In the finale of the 3 part series on Cloud Rays, we take a look at the stat line of the largest pancake in the universe. From Pup to Adult to finally Elder, I am hoping to gain insight on the balance ...
1
vote
1answer
159 views

Is CR 14 accurate for this conversion of a Cloud Ray Adult?

In a series of three questions involving the largest flying pancake of D&D, I am looking to gain some insight into the balance for a conversion of the Cloud Ray. In this question, I ask about the ...
3
votes
1answer
207 views

Is CR 8 accurate for this conversion of a Cloud Ray Pup?

So I have been running a campaign that I wanted to focus in on a super cool unique "monster" that the party could utilize for narrative, combat, and transportation purposes. So I looked through my old ...
2
votes
1answer
674 views

Which creature type appears most frequently as enemies in the Storm King's Thunder adventure?

I am going to be playing Storm King's Thunder as a Ranger (Revised) soon. We are starting the campaign at level 1 and playing the introduction adventure to the campaign. Of course I will be picking ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a Werewolf survive being burnt at the stake?

As this answer to another question points out, the MM errata replaces resistance/immunity to "non-magical weapons" with resistance/immunity to "non-magical attacks". Does this mean that a werewolf ...
15
votes
2answers
633 views

Would a Disintegrate spell work on an Iron Golem?

The Iron Golem has the following feature: Immutable Form. The golem is immune to any spell or effect that would alter its form. Does this feature protect the Golem from the effects of the ...
1
vote
0answers
330 views

Need help/Ideas for fighting adult red dragon [closed]

So I am in a campaign with 4 other players, and we are all pretty experienced with D&D. Recently we found out that we will be fighting an adult red dragon soon (possibly in its lair). The problem ...
4
votes
1answer
107 views

When a creature's proficiency bonus is doubled for a skill, is it marked as such in its statblock?

I'm very new to the books of D&D 5e. I see in the introduction of the MM that they specify the proficiency bonus for CR, and that at times it will be doubled to account for the creature's "...
6
votes
1answer
122 views

Can a Warforged Charger use weapons?

I found a relatively simple way to enlarge my Warforged, by using Alter Self through the Transformation domain. On caster level 4, I can transform myself into Warforged Charger. Can it handle my ...