Skip to main content

Questions tagged [mounted-combat]

For questions about combat involving a rider mounted on another creature, such as a horse or other riding animal.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5 votes
2 answers
407 views

How does Cloak of Displacement interact with mounted combat?

The Cloak of Displacement says: While you wear this cloak, it projects an illusion that makes you appear to be standing in a place near your actual location, causing any creature to have disadvantage ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
138 views

Mounted targets interaction with spells

I'm looking for information on how spells interact with/affect mounted targets. Examples I'm most interested in (since I suspect it might vary between spells): Invisibility. Are mounted target ...
Nec Xelos's user avatar
  • 2,670
6 votes
1 answer
414 views

How does a player piggy-backing another player work in combat?

One of my PCs (a halfling) has recently taken to riding on the back of another one of my PCs (a dwarf). I allowed this, as I didn't think it had any problems and it allowed the group to go faster - ...
Redz's user avatar
  • 665
3 votes
1 answer
144 views

Does a freshly mounted creature get a new turn? [duplicate]

The rules for mounted combat say: The initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. (...) A controlled mount can move and act even on the turn that you mount it. What, ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
633 views

Is there a way to keep the versatile bonus while mounted, like a feat or anything?

I have a player who wants to wield a Warhammer in one hand while mounted, and is trying to keep the d10 for dice? Is there a feat or bonus that does it? If not would it be a problem balance wise if I ...
R4G's user avatar
  • 91
10 votes
2 answers
2k views

If you're mounted and forced to make a melee attack, do you attack your mount?

I'm a new DM running a 5e combat encounter in which the NPC attacker is mounted on a Riding Horse. One of the players' characters has just cast Confusion, which indicates that Each creature in a 10-...
Daniel Widdis's user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
2k views

What are the rules for two people riding the same mount?

What happens if two people try to ride the same mount? Is this a viable strategy? I'm interested both in what happens in exploration mode and when they enter combat. If specifics are needed, assume ...
pi4t's user avatar
  • 531
6 votes
2 answers
413 views

Mantle of Inspiration with a mounted player

If a bard applies Mantle of Inspiration to a mounted player with a controlled mount but not the mount itself, would they still get the reaction move? I had ruled that they would, but it added a bit ...
JJMar's user avatar
  • 63
3 votes
2 answers
341 views

Vampiric Touch + FS/FGS - Who gets the hit points from the damage?

Separately from my other question about where to get the spell attack modifier value from when sharing a spell with Find/Greater Steed, but similar in situation. Vampiric Touch: On a hit, the target ...
TheFallen0ne's user avatar
  • 4,405
2 votes
3 answers
411 views

Vampiric Touch while mounted on FS/FGS. What melee spell attack does my steed use?

Vampiric Touch is a Self spell. During this spell, you have the option to Make a melee spell attack against a creature within your reach. Find Steed/Find Greater Steed While mounted on it, you can ...
TheFallen0ne's user avatar
  • 4,405
11 votes
3 answers
2k views

Are there no RAW effects of a saddle, bit, or bridle?

The players recently acquired a figurine of wondrous power (elephant) and are considering using it as a combat platform in an upcoming boss fight (rather than just commanding it to attack). I noted ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 52.3k
2 votes
0 answers
31 views

If I have more than one movement speed, how do they interact with mounting a steed? [duplicate]

The rules for mounted combat state: Once during your move, you can mount a creature that is within 5 feet of you or dismount. Doing so costs an amount of movement equal to half your speed. For ...
nonymous's user avatar
  • 1,784
18 votes
2 answers
337 views

Of Lancing with a Motorcycle

Vampires can get scary old. In fact, in the society of the Camarilla, it is seen as somewhat noble to have been born before the age of industrialisation, and some of its leading cadre literally had ...
Trish's user avatar
  • 44.3k
6 votes
1 answer
673 views

Can a rider with both mounted combatant feat and saddle of the cavalier be forceably dismounted by attack actions?

If a rider was successfully grappled by an opposing threat, who had both mounted combatant feat and saddle of the cavalier would this dismount them from their steed? Context: my character with both ...
Shameless's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
489 views

What is a "double move", and how does it affect mounted combat?

From Combat: If you use two move actions in a round (sometimes called a “double move” action), you can move up to double your speed. If you spend the entire round running, you can move up to ...
hamburgerpls's user avatar
  • 1,708
10 votes
2 answers
1k views

Do riders provoke Attack of Opportunity?

Attack of Opportunity has this trigger: A creature within your reach uses a manipulate action or a move action, makes a ranged attack, or leaves a square during a move action it’s using. If you are ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.4k
6 votes
1 answer
647 views

Can you direct a controlled mount to ready a dash action?

So you're a ranged combatant riding a controlled mount, maybe a horse. Regarding "Controlling a Mount", the PHB states about controlled mounts: It moves as you direct it, and it has only ...
Pumpkinjo's user avatar
  • 732
31 votes
4 answers
4k views

If a character falls off a flying mount (e.g. a pegasus), can the mount fly down to catch them before they hit the ground?

Say a paladin is riding on a pegasus mount from the find greater steed spell (XGtE, p. 156). The pegasus is flying 100 feet in the air, but something or someone knocks the paladin off. Can the Pegasus ...
Klopfstein54's user avatar
9 votes
1 answer
624 views

Can you unhorse a rider using involuntary movement? [duplicate]

Imagine a rider on a horse. Imagine the rider is hit with involuntary movement. Will the rider be unhorsed? At first, when contemplating this question I inferred that a rider must be grappling the ...
Foggy's user avatar
  • 135
14 votes
2 answers
847 views

Can you switch places with your mount using bait and switch?

If you made a Battle Master fighter and used Bait and Switch to switch places with your mount, would the mount or rider benefit from the effect of Bait and Switch? What would the cost be? Does this ...
aiden murdoch's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
2k views

How to get a ranged bonus action attack before/without attacking or using a combat manoeuvre?

I want to use Maneuvering Attack to move my mount, and then make an attack action on the creature I move towards. However I want the weapon attack that triggers this combat manoeuvre to be made as a ...
AncientSwordRage's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
285 views

Can I use Maneuvering Strike benefiting my mount, as a battle master?

Here's my scenario, I'm on a mount. I make a weapon attack and use Maneuvering Strike: When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can [...] choose a friendly creature who can see or hear you. ...
AncientSwordRage's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
2k views

Am I allowed to double-dip on my mount's turn, granting it extra dashes?

Here's a very silly situation that I'm sure would be easy to rule around, but as an exercise to understand the rules better, I'd still like to know how this works. It might even just be a variation of ...
AncientSwordRage's user avatar
17 votes
3 answers
1k views

Dissonant whispers targeting a mounted combatant

When a mounted target of Dissonant Whispers fails its saving throw, can it use its reaction to move the mount and itself away from the caster, or does it use its reaction to move on its own, ...
Ajohnson's user avatar
  • 1,529
8 votes
1 answer
323 views

Can a mounted combatant utilize the pouncing charge maneuver from their mount's charge?

As related to this question, can a creature utilizing a mount take advantage of pouncing charge from page 88 of Tome of Battle: The Book of Nine Swords? The relevant rules for pouncing charge are: As ...
Wannabe Warlock's user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
1k views

What can cause a rider in a Saddle of the Cavalier be unseated against their will?

Is there any circumstance that a rider on a mount, in a saddle of the cavalier, could be unseated against their will? Here are some possible things to consider: Mount is pushed (combat action), ...
interested3rdparty's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
264 views

Sneaking while mounted

So now I know that the only move action I can take while mounted is dismount. But if I am sitting on an Animal Companion that is trained at Stealth, and I am too, can we somehow Sneak together?
András's user avatar
  • 64.4k
9 votes
1 answer
670 views

Can I Tumble Through enemies while mounted?

Tumble Through: You Stride up to your Speed. During this movement, you can try to move through the space of one enemy. Attempt an Acrobatics check against the enemy’s Reflex DC as soon as you try to ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.4k
11 votes
1 answer
520 views

Rokugan's Light Cavalry

Sword and Fan does offer a lot of military background for Rokugan. Including the following excerpt: Light cavalry is a staple of any Rokugani army, even if it otherwise has little in the way of ...
Trish's user avatar
  • 44.3k
2 votes
2 answers
804 views

Does an attack against a mount that is redirected via the Mounted Combatant feat allow the mount to make use of its Sentinel feat?

Imagine a kobold who has the Mounted Combatant (PHB, page 169) feat. For this question, the relevant benefit will be: You can force an attack targeted at your mount to target you instead. The kobold ...
sbb's user avatar
  • 113
2 votes
1 answer
329 views

Do a mount and its rider share the same space?

Does a rider share the same space as its mount? The rules regarding sharing the same space are clear: Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can't willingly end your move in its space You'd ...
Guillaume F.'s user avatar
  • 10.1k
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

How does turn order work for the Beast Master ranger's alternative class feature Primal Companion?

Tasha's Cauldron of Everything contains an alternative class feature for the Beast Master ranger that replaces the Ranger's Companion feature (PHB, p. 93). The description of the new Primal Companion ...
Inkomid's user avatar
  • 61
3 votes
2 answers
1k views

Mounted Combat: Ride-by attack + Overrun possible?

Can a Cavalier declare a Ride-by attack and then use their mount to overrun the target (thus continuing the movement through the enemies square)? Is it enough for the Cavalier to have the Ride-by ...
Rando's user avatar
  • 41
8 votes
2 answers
874 views

What happens if you cast Giant Insect on a Ranger's Companion?

In the Players Handbook I noticed Giant Insect spell. I was interested in Spider and Scorpion (I will further mention only the Scorpion), since they can be Beastmaster's pets. It looks like ...
Carpetman's user avatar
  • 325
5 votes
2 answers
811 views

When I'm mounted, can I use the Bait and Switch maneuver exchanging the mount and my ally's position?

Tasha's Cauldron of Everything added one of my favourite maneuvers Bait and Switch. In my game as a player I used it while mounted and the DM was like "Nice, like in chess [The king and rook ...
Aslatiel's user avatar
3 votes
0 answers
68 views

RAW, can you break up turns between a rider and their controlled mount? [duplicate]

Can't seem to find clarification on this, it always just directs me to the Mounted Combat rule. Mounted Combat [...] The initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. It ...
field158's user avatar
  • 1,949
7 votes
1 answer
260 views

Shielded Stride while Mounted

Pathfinder 2E I'm building a Human Fighter into a sort of Knight character. I was curious about the 4th-level Class Feat Shielded Stride. The feat reads When your shield is up, your enemies' blows ...
Sumner18's user avatar
  • 285
13 votes
2 answers
753 views

Does mounted combat require a willing rider as well as mount?

The Mounted Combat rules say... A willing creature that is at least one size larger than you and that has an appropriate anatomy can serve as a mount, using the following rules..." This ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 52.3k
6 votes
1 answer
994 views

What happens if a Cavalier fighter or their mount is knocked prone?

The rules for mounted combat (PHB, p. 198) give direction in the following cases: Mount moved against its will: rider makes Dex save vs falling off and landing prone Rider knocked prone: rider makes ...
ChumpNicholson's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
109 views

Mounted creature vs. the Giant Killer feature from the Hunter ranger?

Does a mounted creature count as "large or larger", if it attacks a Hunter ranger with Giant Killer, but the mounted creature is normally medium without the mount (such as a human on a horse)...
Cyanic's user avatar
  • 3,802
2 votes
2 answers
932 views

What happens when I redirect an attack with mounted combatant but I am outside the reach of their weapon on a grid? [duplicate]

The mounted combatant feat (PHB 168) allows someone to "force an attack targeted at your mount to target you instead." Suppose I am playing on a grid. Let E be enemies without reach/ranged ...
kent's user avatar
  • 2,358
3 votes
1 answer
144 views

Mounted Harbinger Teleportation

I am currently playing an Omen Rider Harbinger in a campaign. I have the Veiled Moon Style combat feat allowing me to teleport 10-ft as part of a movement. Would this teleport include my mount, or ...
John-D-Frogman's user avatar
15 votes
6 answers
2k views

Is the Mounted Combatant feat's ability to redirect an attack at the mount limited by the reach of the attacker?

The second benefit of the Mounted Combatant feat says (PHB, p. 168): You can force an attack targeted at your mount to target you instead. My DM used a foe to attacked my mount. Imagine this was the ...
Lilabelisa's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
436 views

Does the Frog Rider trait of a Bullywug Royal work with Giant Toads?

The Ghosts of Saltmarsh WOTC Hardcover contains a few new statblocks, including the Bullywug Royal, who has the following trait: Frog Rider. The royal has advantage on melee attacks made while ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
7 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you throw yourself off your mount?

The mounted combat rules for normal ("safe") dismounting are as follows: Once during your move, you can [...] dismount. Doing so costs an amount of movement equal to half your speed. Some external ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
3 votes
1 answer
322 views

From how far away can I attack an opponent, after dismounting and using Shield Master?

I have a lvl 6 Half Orc Paladin with the Shield Master feat riding a worg. The paladin has a speed of 30ft, the worg has 50ft. I move forward \$x\$ft and attack the opponent with my lance, dealing ...
Leslie Ball's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
632 views

How does the spell Earthquake interact with a mounted PC, if the mount is knocked prone?

If you are on a mount and it is knocked prone, do you automatically get knocked prone too? To set the scene, I am mounted on my Warhorse when an evil NPC casts Earthquake below where we stand. My ...
Thank-Glob's user avatar
  • 1,890
5 votes
1 answer
478 views

Ride-by attack with a lance

I am currently mastering a game of Pathfinder with a few friends, and a situation occured during a game. The cavalier which has a few mounted feats (including ride-by attack), charges. He asked if ...
B-right's user avatar
  • 71
18 votes
2 answers
2k views

Would it be better to target a rider or mount with a banishing arrow?

I’ve an Arcane Archer character who chose the Banishing Arrow option for the Arcane Shot feature. In our campaign we often come across hobgoblins riding worgs. If I wanted to really put a thorn in ...
Amethyst Wizard's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

What happens if an Arcane Archer fighter's Banishing Arrow hits a mounted combatant?

I’ve an Arcane Archer character who chose the Banishing Arrow option for the Arcane Shot feature. In our campaign, we often come across hobgoblins riding worgs. I’m having trouble interpreting what ...
Amethyst Wizard's user avatar