Questions tagged [mounted-combat]

For questions about combat involving a rider mounted on another creature, such as a horse or other riding animal.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
21
votes
5answers
8k views

Does a controlled mount share its rider's turn?

From "Controlling a Mount" on p.198 of the Player's Handbook: The initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. It moves as you direct it, and it has only three action ...
35
votes
6answers
8k views

Is weapon reach measured from the edge of the mount's space or the rider's?

So, if a medium or small creature, like a PC, controls 25 square feet, (a 5×5' area) and a large creature, like a horse controls 100 square feet, (a 10×10' area) and tactical combat takes place on a 5'...
23
votes
6answers
27k views

Can a rider move using his mount, attack from his mount, then have the mount dash away?

I seem to have misunderstood the mounted combat rules. Reading them again it seems that the mount and rider are treated as separate entities but share initiative (this assumes a controlled mount, not ...
22
votes
8answers
50k views

Can a mount attack while it is being ridden?

This came up in my session tonight. My players all had the cash to buy war horses and outfit them, I ruled that they're readily available in Neverwinter which they were near for their last adventure. ...
16
votes
1answer
2k views

What is the cost of Dash, Disengage, and Dodge for a mounted Ranger's Companion?

I'm trying to parse out mounted combat as a ranger with a ranger's companion. From Controlling a Mount (PHB pg. 198): You can control a mount only if it has been trained to accept a rider. ... It ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

Questions about lances and mounted combat

A lance is a 2 handed reach weapon. PHB also states the following: Lance: A lance deals double damage when used from the back of a charging mount. It has reach, so you can strike opponents 10 ...
8
votes
1answer
443 views

When can you choose to control a mount?

The rules for mounted combat (PHB p.198) state: While you're mounted, you have two options. You can either control the mount or allow it to act independently. Intelligent creatures, such as dragons, ...
21
votes
5answers
92k views

What are the benefits of having a mount?

Regarding mounts, especially gained through Find Steed: They have only a few simple actions, without even Help let alone Attack. The spells you can share with them are almost only buffs to keep them ...
12
votes
3answers
7k views

Is a pegasus summoned by Find Greater Steed controlled or independent when mounted?

A pegasus is described thusly with regards to mounts: [T]hese wild and shy creatures are as intelligent as humanoids, and so can’t be traditionally broken and tamed. A pegasus must be persuaded to ...
15
votes
2answers
5k views

Do I draw opportunity attacks when my mount uses flyby?

I am a forest gnome ranger under the beast master archetype. If I have a flying mount with flyby, like the pteranodon, do I still draw opportunity attacks while riding it?
15
votes
3answers
5k views

Does a centaur PC also count as being mounted?

One of our characters created a centaur Eagle totem barbarian (level 3) - which I thought was a good idea. But to duck and weave in tight spaces, she'd need high AC, so she came up with a character ...
10
votes
2answers
6k views

How do the rules work for a centaur being a mount?

In most places online I have found that centaurs act as a mount. Though I can't find text that directly confirms this in Guildmasters' Guide to Ravnica I tend to agree. However this raises 2 ...
29
votes
2answers
4k views

Is a mount considered an “ally” for the purpose of Pack Tactics?

I suppose this applies both to NPCs and player characters. Specifically, someone proposed the idea of a PC kobold (a playable race from Volo's Guide to Monsters, p. 119) as a paladin, summoning a ...
10
votes
1answer
4k views

When a controlled mount takes the Disengage action, does the rider still provoke an opportunity attack if he or she does not also Disengage?

Per the rules for mounted combat: The initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. It moves as you direct it, and it has only three action options: Dash, Disengage,...
3
votes
2answers
577 views

Does a player control his summoned steed?

There are many ways to create new creatures in D&D 5e, one of which is animate objects which gives the player full control of the creatures when he/she uses a bonus action: As a bonus action, ...
9
votes
2answers
15k views

Mounted Combat - Specifics for this turn

I have a level 8 paladin, mounted combatant feat, who will be riding a celestial warhorse via find steed. As level 8, my paladin gets 2 attacks per round. The horse will be fitted with horseshoes of ...
2
votes
3answers
1k views

What happens when a mount is trained for combat riding using the handle animal skill

Considering D&D 3.5 edition rules a heavy or light horse can be trained for combat riding, my question is: Does the horses stats remain the same as per page 273 of the monster manual or do they ...
16
votes
2answers
12k views

Can you dual wield lances?

If you have the dual wielder feat, and you are riding a mount can you wield two lances. Also what would the damage dice be?
9
votes
4answers
7k views

How should one handle tournament jousting? [closed]

I'd like to run a jousting tournament within a D&D game as a nonlethal (but nevertheless dangerous) sporting event, rather than as an actual combat. Specifically, two mounted contestants with ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a controlled mount make an Opportunity Attack?

According to the Player's Handbook, pg. 198: Controlling a Mount While you're mounted, you have two options. You can either control the mount or allow it to act independently. You can ...
8
votes
2answers
138 views

How does an attacker's reach interact with the Mounted Combatant feat's ability to force an attack against the mount to target the rider instead?

The second benefit of the Mounted Combatant feat says (PHB, p. 168): You can force an attack targeted at your mount to target you instead. I was playing a campaign, and my DM attacked the ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

How does the Mounted Combatant feat interact with Infernal War Machines?

The new Baldur's Gate - Descent into Avernus hardcover features a brand new mechanic: Infernal War Machines! A few things caught my eye - first off, that they have a stat block: An infernal war ...
6
votes
2answers
4k views

Can a rider attack while the mount attacks?

In a D&D 3.5 campaign I play a level 12 Paladin / level 3 Wild Planes Outrider. Can my mount make a (full) attack while I make a (full) attack? Can I make a full attack when the mount charges ...
5
votes
1answer
10k views

How does mounted combat work?

I couldn't find a direct explanation for these questions in the PHB: Is it possible to wield two-handed weapons, a shield or dual wield whilst mounted? Is it possible for a rogue to dash in, attack, ...
30
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a monkey riding a dog stab orcs?

... Or, for that matter, any other creature it doesn't like? Pathfinder's rules for mounted combat seem to ignore creatures of Tiny size (which typically have a reach of 0 ft.) riding creatures of ...
12
votes
2answers
9k views

Dodging during mounted combat

I have a question about mounted combat. The PHB says (p. 198): The initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. It moves as you direct it, and it has only three action ...
16
votes
3answers
4k views

Does casting Invisibility in a 2nd level slot targeting a mount make the rider invisible too?

The invisibility spell description says (emphasis mine): A creature you touch becomes invisible until the spell ends. Anything the target is wearing or carrying is invisible as long as it is on ...
13
votes
3answers
9k views

Do steeds summoned with Find Greater Steed have other options than the usual control rules during mounted combat?

During mounted combat, I understand there are two possible options: You can control your mount, in which case your mount cannot make an attack, or You can opt to leave it independent (and controlled ...
10
votes
2answers
341 views

Is a mounted creature unaffected by the secondary damage of the Booming Blade cantrip?

I'm designing a boss fight for the first session of my next campaign. The boss in question is a mounted warrior; one of his abilities is from the Mounted Combatant feat (PHB, p. 168), which allows him ...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens when you are knocked prone while mounted and make the saving throw to remain mounted?

The rules for mounted combat include a special effect for falling prone (emphasis added): If an effect moves your mount against its will while you’re on it, you must succeed on a DC 10 Dexterity ...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

Would it be better to target a rider or mount with a banishing arrow?

I’ve an Arcane Archer character who chose the Banishing Arrow option for the Arcane Shot feature. In our campaign we often come across hobgoblins riding worgs. If I wanted to really put a thorn in ...
15
votes
4answers
1k views

Can forced movement be used to dismount a rider?

Are a rider and mount considered different targets so I could push or pull one but not the other with a power? If I can push the rider off of the mount, would the "Catching yourself"(PHB p284) clause ...
13
votes
5answers
3k views

Player characters as mounts

I am asking about an edge case based on the three paragraphs under "Encounters with PC Mounts" on DMG 46. So far as I can tell these paragraphs are not reproduced anywhere else, and these ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

Who gets hit by a melee attack when you have Sanctuary and Mounted Combatant?

For this scenario, assume a level 11 Monk with the Mounted Combatant feat (and riding a mount). If a creatures attacks the Monk, and the attacker fails his/her save, the next eligible target (...
12
votes
1answer
672 views

What square does a medium sized rider occupy when mounted on a Large creature?

What square is used to reference the location of a medium-sized rider on a large-sized mount, and furthermore, how are melee attacks (range 1)resolved from adjacent foes? This is an offshoot of a ...
10
votes
1answer
3k views

How do the Mounted Combatant and Mobile feats interact with opportunity attacks?

In short, when a Mounted Combatant & Mobile feat user redirects an attack from their mount, does that attack fail? Obviously, all the conditions that allow a mobile user to avoid opportunity ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

How many hands do you use to control a mount?

When riding a horse and fighting with a longsword, can you use a longsword with two hands or do you have to use a longsword with one hand because you have to control the horse with the other? And does ...
7
votes
1answer
339 views

How can the benefit of the feat Mounted Combat be used more than once per round?

The benefit of the feat Mounted Combat says Once per round when your mount is hit in combat, you may attempt a Ride check (as a reaction) to negate the hit. The hit is negated if your Ride check ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a wolf mount grapple?

Currently an Half-orc Cavalier who rides a dire wolf. I'm thinking of grappling an enemy, but I use a two handed maul. Although the wolf does not have any grappling attacks, is it possible to have it ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

Can mounted creatures be attacked instead of their mount, and which character(s) in mounted combat receive attacks of opportunity?

This is a question I brought up with my group and although I have made a ruling, I'm hoping to get a more authoritative answer (Sage Advice perhaps?). The rules for mounted combat don't seem to ...
5
votes
1answer
956 views

What happens if an Arcane Archer fighter's Banishing Arrow hits a mounted combatant?

I’ve an Arcane Archer character who chose the Banishing Arrow option for the Arcane Shot feature. In our campaign, we often come across hobgoblins riding worgs. I’m having trouble interpreting what ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

Are there rules for attaching weapons to mounts or characters?

Let's say Bobby has a shield in his left hand and a whip in his right hand. Bobby also has a couple of nets, and is mounted on his favorite pony. It's Bobby's turn, and he sees an enemy within reach ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Ride By Attack and Pounce on a mount

Pounce would allow me to make a full attack on the end of a charge. This bonus also applies on a mounted charge. However, what happens if I combine a mounted charge with a ride-by attack? Can I still ...
5
votes
1answer
138 views

Does an already controlled mount need to roll for Initiative?

The Player's Handbook has this to say about Controlling a Mount: The initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. (...) A controlled mount can move and act even on he ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Does a Ridable Construct Exist?

I am looking for a creature of the type Construct that is explicitly capable of being ridden. A construct that is big and strong enough to carry another creature is not sufficient, I want something ...
4
votes
1answer
5k views

How does a Gnome Battle Smith artificer (UA) riding his iron defender control it?

I don't see any reason a gnome Battle Smith artificer (from the May 2019 UA) couldn't ride his iron defender RAW--it's got the appropriate anatomy and is one size larger. But how is it "Controlled"? ...
2
votes
2answers
139 views

Can you instruct your intelligent mount to independently trample?

What I don't know is if you have an magic/intelligent mount or animal companion i.e. warhorse, elephant, rhino etc, can you instruct the creature to trample on it's own? Example. A paladin in battle ...
1
vote
3answers
1k views

Does a mount gain an extra action and movement when it is mounted? [duplicate]

While you're mounted, you have two options. You can either control the mount or allow it to act independently. Intelligent creatures, such as dragons, act independently. You can control a ...