Questions tagged [multi-classing]

For questions about multiclassing, the practice of advancing more than one character class on a single character either simultaneously or serially.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0
votes
1answer
72 views

What's the initiator level of a Paladin (7)/Crusader(2)?

The question is pretty simple. Multiclass characters get half their non-martial adept levels + full martial adept levels for initiator level. However, what happens when the level is odd? Do you round ...
6
votes
1answer
127 views

Question regarding Pact magic with multiclassing and a class specific bonus

I play a 6 bard/ 4 warlock multiclass. My character recently obtained a rhythm makers drum +3, giving a +3 bonus to my bard spells' DC and rolls. I am curious if I were to cast a spell I had taken on ...
0
votes
0answers
33 views

Multiclassing with artificer/sorcerer? [duplicate]

I am playing a level 13 sorcerer and take 1 level in artificer, how does that affect my spells known and spell slots of each class?
3
votes
1answer
55 views

Can Kensai Improve a Soulbow's weapon?

I am preparing to DM a D&D 3.5e game. One of my players is trying to go Soulbow into Kensai. Can Kensai actually enhance the Soulbow's weapon? I am not sure if it can do that, as it is just an ...
4
votes
2answers
101 views

Can one class' feature help another class qualify for a feature?

It's best to just give an example for this: Let's say I have levels in a rogue archetype that gives up Evasion, but I take a two level dip into monk to get Evasion. Would I qualify for the Improved ...
0
votes
1answer
235 views

Which class gives most new magical powers for 1 level dip

Background: I have a bard, who is a bit lacking in low level spell selection, so I've been looking into multiclassing to get some more. Stats (you can give +2 ASI for the benefit of multiclassing): ...
-2
votes
1answer
101 views

Do Cantrips stack when you multiclass Spellcasting class of the same casting type (Wizard, Edlrich Knight, Arcane Trickster)? [duplicate]

Do Cantrips stack when you multiclass Spellcasting class of the same casting type (Wizard, Edlrich Knight, Arcane Trickster)? Ex: Lv 10 Arcane Trickster has 4 cantrips & Lv 10 Wizard has 5. Does ...
2
votes
2answers
214 views

Are Arcane Tricksters still limited to Enchantment/Illusion spell schools when multiclassing with a Wizard at higher levels?

Please help me with Arcane Trickster Wizard multiclass spell options? I have a Rogue-Arcane Trickster Lvl 10, Wizard-Bladesinger Lvl 6. I understand they use the other spell slot chart in the ...
1
vote
0answers
39 views

Can Arcane Trickster/Wizard use their Arcane Trickster's Spell Slots to cast Wizards spells that are not Enchantments or Illusions? [duplicate]

Can multiclass Arcane Trickster/Wizard use their Arcane Trickster's Spell Slots to cast Wizards spells they know that are not Enchantments or Illusions?
4
votes
1answer
148 views

If a fighter multiclasses into sorcerer, when they cast spells do they also replace material components with somatic?

From the Sorcerer class page, Because you're a sorcerer, you can usually replace material components with somatic components, so you don't need to use a material component pouch. I interpret this to ...
5
votes
3answers
265 views

Spell Scroll Limits With Multiclassing

I have a druid with the ability to cast level 5 spells. If I multi-class this druid to be a level 1 cleric, In theory, I should be able to read and use any cleric scrolls. But in the DMG (page 200) it ...
1
vote
1answer
205 views

Will multiclassing my warlock into bard with bardic inspiration give me an effective way to use my bonus action in battle?

In a party with a level 3 Warlock Tiefling - The Fiend (Pact of the Tome). We are noticing that the party members benefit more from bonus actions than the Warlock. Since that member is the only caster ...
3
votes
1answer
696 views

How is the Soul Knife Rogue's Bonus action attack affected by a multiclass with Monk?

The Soul Knife Rogue has a feature called Psychic Blades, which includes this ability: After you attack with the blade, you can make a melee or ranged weapon attack with a second psychic blade as a ...
4
votes
0answers
46 views

Can warlock spell slots be used to cast above warlock casting level when multiclassing? [duplicate]

One of my players is considering multiclassing warlock/cleric. I have not played warlocks or had other players use them so I am looking into the casting mechanics. After looking at other threads I ...
13
votes
1answer
569 views

Can a Sorcerer multiclass use Metamagic on a Ritual Casting?

I have a character who multiclassed from a Sorcerer into a Druid. She has the Subtle Spell metamagic, and has prepared the Purify Food and Drink spell via her druid spellcasting feature - this spell ...
10
votes
3answers
4k views

How does the altered Extra Attack feature of the Bladesinger (Tasha's Cauldron version) interact with Fighter's additional Extra Attacks?

As an example, a level 6+ bladesinger wizard/11+ fighter character takes the Attack action. Are they able to use a cantrip? How many attacks do they get?
2
votes
1answer
272 views

Can you Invoke a Rune during a Rage?

Can a Barbarian/Fighter (Rune Knight) multiclasser invoke a rune (for example the Fire Rune) while raging? I don't see anything to suggest otherwise, since invoking a rune is not casting a spell and ...
12
votes
2answers
4k views

Can an 8th level Monk/Barbarian (Path of the beast) really make 5 attacks per turn?

In Tasha‘s Cauldron of Everything, WotC released a new Primal Path for the babarian, the "Path of the Beast" which has the following rage feature: Until the rage ends, you manifest a ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Does learning the same spell from different sources allow it to benefit from bonuses from all sources?

For example, an Arcana cleric takes Firebolt with Arcane Initiate, then multiclasses with Artillerist artificer, and also takes Firebolt as one of the Artificer cantrips. Assuming this character has 5 ...
0
votes
1answer
80 views

If you multiclass into two spell casting classes, what level of spells can you choose? [duplicate]

If you multiclassed into two different spell casting classes, would the level of spells you are allowed to choose depend on your total level of spell slots or the highest you could have from the ...
5
votes
1answer
313 views

Would the 6th level Shepherd Druid's Mighty Summoner feature works on summoned creatures not made from spells

To clarify, when I say "summoned creatures not made from spells", I mean summons that are from class features and the like, so the Shadow Sorcerer's Hound of Ill Omen, the Hexblade's ...
6
votes
2answers
267 views

Is Stumbling Feint a misprint?

Luce Bri is a human fighter, who decided to take the Martial Artist archetype dedication. This means Luce doesn't have access to Flurry of Blows, as it's only available if Luce instead takes the Monk ...
8
votes
1answer
445 views

Does a PF2e spellcaster who takes multiclass dedications into other spellcasting classes, and related spellcasting feats, gain more spell slots?

Ezren is a level 10 evocation wizard, and hence would have spell slots of the following levels: ...
3
votes
0answers
96 views

How can I create a Viking/Saiyan that creates his own weapons with energy, ki or magic? [closed]

I'm going to play on a table with some friends and I wish to create a Viking-type warrior that is able to use energy/ki/magic to create weapons and fight like a barbarian but without being one. The ...
2
votes
0answers
35 views

How does multiclassing affect the damage scaling of Hexblade's curse? [duplicate]

So,I am playing a multiclass character with level 14 in fighter and level 1 in Warlock. Now Hexblade's curse damage depends on player's proficiency bonus.My level 15 character's proficiency bonus is +...
1
vote
1answer
360 views

Would a multiclassed Arcane Trickster rogue 3 / wizard 1 have only three 1st-level spell slots? [duplicate]

I am new to multiclassing and new to spells with 5e. Currently I am a Level 3 Rogue (Arcane Trickster) and just leveled up to level 4. For my fourth level, I was going to put a level into the wizard ...
3
votes
2answers
591 views

Can a multiclassed Divine Soul sorcerer/wizard add cleric spells to their spellbook?

I am in a campaign where I am a multiclassed Divine Soul sorcerer 2/wizard 1. I have a paladin, a cleric, and a druid in my party. As a Divine Soul sorcerer, I have access to the cleric spell list. ...
3
votes
1answer
115 views

Does a cleric's alignment restriction extend to spells learned via multiclassing into an arcane spellcasting class?

A Cleric can only cast spells of the same alignment to his own or his deity’s. However, what happens when a character multiclasses into another spellcasting class? Does the Cleric's alignment ...
2
votes
1answer
4k views

Echo Knight multiclass damage calculations

I am currently working on a new character concept for an upcoming game and was unsure about what damages the Echo Knight's echo would actually be able to do. For this scenario, the build will be a ...
2
votes
1answer
388 views

How can I optimise my multi-class build for damage and survivability? (Rogue-Druid-Warlock)

I need some support with optimising this multi-class build. I'm playing in a D&D 5e party where we receive high incoming damage.Our GM is allowing us to multi-class and use feats and spells from ...
8
votes
2answers
711 views

What is the maximum number of known spells (that can be cast with spell slots and use Charisma) a character can have?

I often find it frustrating how few spells sorcerers have. This has led me to trying to increase the number of spells they have with a few multiclassing dips. I was then inspired to ask this question: ...
4
votes
1answer
230 views

In 5th ed would a bard who multi-class as a life domain cleric have his bard healing spells improved? [duplicate]

I have a 9th level bard. Hypothetically, if when I reached 10th level I took a level in cleric and chose the life domain, so I would be bard 9/cleric 1. The multi-classing rules state "When you ...
32
votes
4answers
9k views

Is Bard level 20 utterly worthless, mechanically?

Bard's level 20 "capstone" ability: Superior Inspiration At 20th level, when you roll initiative and have no uses of Bardic Inspiration left, you regain one use. It seems quite possible ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Is there an upper limit to the damage that Eldritch Smite can deal?

The Eldritch Invocation "Eldritch Smite" says the following: Eldritch Smite Prerequisite: 5th level, Pact of the Blade feature Once per turn when you hit a creature with your pact weapon, ...
7
votes
2answers
549 views

Does the artificer's Enhanced Weapon stack on top of hexblade's Improved Pact Blade?

I play a hexblade warlock with an Improved Pact Blade longsword. I like the idea of the eldritch tinkerer, who builds his patron's gifts into his gadgets, which fits in a warlock/artificer multiclass. ...
2
votes
0answers
47 views

Casting a cantrip on a higher level when multiclassing [duplicate]

Some cantrips such as 'Thunderclap' says in higher level(not in higher spell slot), we can give more damage. Thunderclap Casting Time: 1 action Range: Self (5-foot radius) Components: S Duration: ...
2
votes
1answer
160 views

What would be the balance implications of allowing multiclassing with the same class (e.g. for access to multiple subclasses)? [closed]

The rules for Multiclassing on page 163 of the PHB state: With this rule, you have the option of gaining a level in a new class whenever you advance in level, instead of gaining a level in your ...
3
votes
1answer
93 views

Can a hybrid character replace his only encounter attack power belonging to one of his classes?

Assume a Paladin|Swordmage with Cha and Con dumping Int, or a Driud|Runepriest with Wis and Con dumping Str. As the relevant ability is very low, it would make sense not to pick any power from the ...
11
votes
4answers
834 views

Are there any game breaking consequences in this house rule for multiclass spell slots?

Follow up to this question. So, as stated in that question, I feel that it is quite weird that a 3rd level paladin + 2nd level Ranger is not equivalent to a 5th level Half-caster (such as a 5th level ...
8
votes
1answer
369 views

Multi-classing doesn't generalize Single-class spellcasting?

I am aware of our go to question about spellcasting and multiclassing, and I am aware of the rules. I am nonetheless confused about something: If we use the multi-class rules, in particular You ...
7
votes
2answers
264 views

Does a multiclassed Hexblade warlock/paladin's Cha modifier stack with their Str or Dex modifier for attack rolls? Or does it replace Str/Dex mods?

I'm creating a fun villainous figure for my campaign. The choice has fallen on a Paladin-Warlock hybrid. The general idea is to take 2 levels in Paladin for Divine Smite, and then pound 4-5 levels ...
12
votes
1answer
830 views

Multiclass Paladin + Pact Magic = What paladin spells can I prepare and cast?

I'm sure this has been asked somewhere already, but I couldn't find it. Let's say I'm Paladin 5 / Warlock 7. https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/customization-options#Spellcasting When I ...
4
votes
1answer
212 views

Can a multiclassed Dreams druid/Storm Herald barbarian activate their Tundra Storm Aura while in Wild Shape?

In my next campaign, I will be the solo healer, as a Circle of Dreams Druid. I hope that will provide enough Goodberry and other healing skills to keep the party alive. But I really want to fight too....
13
votes
3answers
7k views

How does multiclassing work for an artificer?

I am making a character for a campaign that is starting soon. The character is going to start out as a cleric (War Domain) and will multiclass into artificer (Battle Smith). I have looked at the ...
6
votes
1answer
585 views

Does multiclassing suddenly allow you to cast spells from Magic Initiate (or other similar features/feats) using more spell slots?

The following question already exists and explains that you can cast spells gained from the Magic Initiate feat if and only if the class you choose is the same as one of your own: Can you cast a ...
4
votes
2answers
948 views

RAW can a Eldritch Knight 9/Wizard 2 multiclass cast/learn 3rd level spells? [duplicate]

Title is the main question, loosely an extension of a previous question I'd asked about Eldritch Knight/Wizard multiclass and their access to spells. Note: I'm NOT asking if the proposed character of ...
2
votes
1answer
911 views

Can I use the Samurai fighter's Fighting Spirit feature to make a Sneak Attack if I am also multiclassed into rogue?

I'm thinking about playing a fallen samurai in a D&D 5e campaign. If the character multiclasses into rogue, can the Samurai fighter's Fighting Spirit feature be used to trigger the rogue feature ...
3
votes
2answers
121 views

How can I get the Defend the Line power if I'm not a Knight?

If I am not a Knight, how can I get Defend the Line (Fighter Utility)? Human bonus at will power does not help, as it is not a 1st-level power, and not an attack power.
7
votes
2answers
1k views

How many levels of wizard does my player need, from 7 levels of eldritch knight, to be able to action surge fireball?

I'm DMing for a group that has a player who is an eldritch knight level 7 and wants to multiclass into wizard to expand his spellcasting abilities. The short version of my question is as given in the ...
5
votes
1answer
320 views

Multiclass spell casting and spell modifiers

I know that you use your spellcasting modifier from the class you gained the spell from. However, for something like Tempest Domain cleric gaining the use of thunderwave from their subclass (...

1
2 3 4 5
11