Questions tagged [multi-classing]

For questions about multiclassing, the practice of advancing more than one character class on a single character either simultaneously or serially.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
25
votes
1answer
9k views

If I multiclass into 2 or more spellcasting classes, how do I determine my known/prepared spells?

If I multiclass into 2 or more classes/subclasses that can cast spells, how do I determine what spells I know or can prepare? For instance, if I am playing a multiclassed character with 1 level in ...
54
votes
5answers
41k views

Can a multiclass character with 1 level of wizard copy any wizard spell they find into their spellbook?

The "Your Spellbook" sidebar for the wizard includes the following line: Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook ...
95
votes
4answers
66k views

Can you multiclass the same class twice for different class features?

The way that 5e works, each class has a sub class that dictates a heap of class features. The question here is generally, can a character of a specific class take levels in that same class in order to ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a multiclass character use either of its spellcasting modifiers for spells?

Can a multiclass character use either of its spellcasting modifiers for spells? When character multiclasses into multiple classes that can cast spells, which modifier do you use for casting the spell?...
13
votes
1answer
5k views

What level are spells cast at if a warlock multiclasses as another caster?

The Pact Magic paragraph on page 164 of the Player's Handbook multiclassing section reads: you can use the spell slots you gain from the Spellcasting class feature to cast warlock spells you know. ...
18
votes
3answers
11k views

Can a multi-class spellcaster have one thing be two different focuses?

In my group, I have a Cleric 1/ Bard 1 character. He bangs on his engraved shield (cleric focus) to turn it into a war drum (bard focus). What are the rules concerning if a player can have two ...
87
votes
7answers
16k views

Does this character concept involving never taking a long rest and converting spell slots to sorcery points (aka coffeelock) violate RAW?

Does the following, very cheesy character concept, violate any RAW? Please cite rules or official rulings in your answer. (Apart from RAW, I expect my DM to disallow or limit the concept, in the ...
9
votes
3answers
4k views

If my Initiator Level is high enough, can I take Stances of a level higher than 1st when I take my first level in a martial adept class?

Usually, a martial adept’s Initiator Level is equal to his class level, plus his class level in any maneuver-granting Prestige Classes, plus half his level in all other classes. This means a ...
23
votes
2answers
7k views

Can I cast a Warlock spell with another (higher) spell slot from a different multiclass?

Reviewing an answer to a recent question I posted, I had a thought about Armor of Agathys. In the event of a Sorcerer 18 / Warlock 2 build, would the character be able to cast Armor of Agathys with a ...
53
votes
6answers
63k views

What are the downsides to multi-classing?

I've been having a discussion with my players recently about the game we're running, and am having trouble answering a question that was posed to me. Why would you ever NOT multi-class in D&D5e, ...
41
votes
3answers
18k views

Does a sorcerer's metamagic work for non-sorcerer spells?

Can a multiclass sorcerer/cleric use the Metamagic class ability with non-sorcerer spells? For example, using Twinned Spell when casting cure wounds to heal two creatures instead of just one?
26
votes
9answers
10k views

Can multi-classing prerequisite ability score(s) be met through a magic item?

The multiclassing rules (PHB, p. 163) state: To qualify for a new class, you must meet the ability score prerequisites for both your current class and your new one [...] Without the full training ...
19
votes
4answers
45k views

If I multiclass into Paladin, can I use up any class's spell slots for Divine Smite?

Divine Smite: Starting at 2nd level, when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one paladin spell slot to deal radiant damage to the target, in addition to the weapon's ...
22
votes
2answers
8k views

Can a multiclassed warlock expend a Spellcasting spell slot of a non-warlock class to use the Eldritch Smite invocation?

Can a multiclassed Warlock use a spell slot from the Spellcasting feature of a non-Warlock class to perform Eldritch Smites? Eldritch Smite says: Once per turn when you hit a creature with your ...
11
votes
1answer
9k views

How do I determine how many spell slots I have when multiclassing?

How do I determine how many spell slots I have if I multiclass into more than one spellcasting class? For example, I have a character that is a level 3 Wizard, a level 5 Eldritch Knight Fighter, a ...
10
votes
2answers
11k views

Can you Multiattack twice with the Extra Attack Feature?

Assume the character build Any Monk 5/Moon Druid 2, wildshaped into a Brown Bear: On their turn, can they use their attack action twice to multiattack?
17
votes
2answers
5k views

Can a multi-class Bard/Wizard write spells known from Bard, into Wizard spellbook?

Can a multi-class Bard/Wizard write spells known from their Bard class, into their wizard spellbook? e.g. they know the Comprehend Languages as a Bard spell, and want to write it directly into their ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

Can I multiclass and cast a spell I already know as a different class?

If I start with a Celestial Warlock with Cure Wounds and then multiclass into Bard, can I cast Cure Wounds as a Bard now, or do I have to learn the spell a second time to be able to cast it as a Bard?
7
votes
3answers
14k views

Multiclass Spellcaster: Do the involved classes share the same pool of spell slots?

Introduction The eldritch knight fighter (EK) in my game is contemplating whether to dip into wizard (Wiz) for more magical versatility in combat. Spell Slots The multiclassing spellcasting rules (...
33
votes
2answers
72k views

Multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer: How do spell slots recover?

If you multiclass a Warlock and a Sorcerer, then you have a character with both the Spellcasting and Pact Magic features. PHB Page 101, Sorcerer, Spellcasting, Spell Slots: You regain all expended ...
20
votes
2answers
81k views

Multiclassing: How do Ability Score Improvements work?

Given that every class gets a minimum of 5 ability score improvements each at levels 4, 8, 12, 16, and 19 (Rogue and Fighter get more at other levels), do these ability score improvements occur by ...
17
votes
1answer
10k views

Can I use Pact Magic spell slots gained on a short rest to gain sorcery points?

I'm planning on multi-classing in Warlock as a Sorcerer in 5e. I'd like to be able to use my Warlock spell slots from Pact Magic (that I regain on a short rest) to gain sorcery points. I'm inclined ...
16
votes
6answers
90k views

How can I get the most synergy out of this Paladin/Warlock multi-class combination? [closed]

I'm planning on playing a Paladin/Warlock in an upcoming game and I've picked the Oath of Vengeance, and Great Old One Patron/Pact of Tome. I've made my backstory (island home sunk when invaded by ...
20
votes
2answers
21k views

Can you cast a 9th level spell if your multiclass spell slots have 9th level spell slots? [duplicate]

Say I play a Cleric 14/Paladin 6. I have the spell slots of a lvl 17 spellcaster, but can I cast the 9th level spells of the Cleric, or am I limited to 7th? Would this also work with other classes ...
21
votes
3answers
4k views

Can a multiclass sorcerer make spell slots for their other class using sorcery points?

Can a multiclass sorcerer make spell slots for their other class using sorcery points? For example: can a multiclassed sorcerer 3 / warlock 1 use Flexible Casting to create a warlock spell slot?
12
votes
1answer
50k views

While using Wild Shape, do I use Unarmored Defense or the creature's Armor Class?

I have a multi-classed Monk/Druid, and let's say I wild shape into a Giant Eagle. Will I have an AC of 13 (specified in creature statistics), or will I have an AC of 15 (10 + Dex (+3) + Wis (+2))? ...
14
votes
3answers
5k views

Can I copy prepared Cleric spells that are also on the Wizard spell list into my spellbook?

I'm multiclassing as a Wizard2/Cleric3. I'm wondering if it's possible to prepare a spell from the cleric spell list and then if it's also found in the Wizard spell list, would I be able to write it ...
11
votes
1answer
10k views

Can a multiclass Wizard/Fighter (Eldritch Knight) add EK known spells to the wizard spellbook?

When intending to play a Fighter (Eldritch Knight) I was dissatisfied with the spell restrictions so I devised a plan to increase my spell versatility: Start with 1 wizard level to have a spellbook ...
11
votes
4answers
7k views

How can I get more spell slots for an ultimate magus without resorting to the feat Extra Slot?

I'm planning on a wizard/warmage/ultimate magus build. By level 15 the character'll have caster level 11 in both classes, yet 5 levels remain. I want to save the character's feats for metamagic feats, ...
11
votes
3answers
931 views

How does the Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature work when multiclassed into another class with the Spellcasting feature?

The Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature states: Beginning at 3rd level, you can use your action and expend one ranger spell slot to focus your awareness on the region around you [...] However, the ...
19
votes
8answers
10k views

How can I roleplay multiclassing to explain new class features?

A nice broad question to set the scene I'm fairly new to roleplaying and I'm struggling with a valid reasons for both why and how a character would multiclass into another class independently - that ...
18
votes
4answers
4k views

How do paladin and ranger class levels add up for multiclass spellcasting?

From page 164 of the PHB (here is the equivalent section of the Basic Rules): Spell Slots. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, ...
16
votes
3answers
64k views

How do spell slots and preparation work when multi-classing between cleric and bard

I'm planning to play a multi-class bard/cleric character, and I wanted to verify how spell preparation and slots work across the two classes, particularly since they use different approaches for ...
20
votes
1answer
5k views

Is it possible to "charge up" a sorcerer/warlock by taking multiple short rests?

So according to the wonders of multiclassing, it is possible to take levels in both Sorcerer (granting us sorcery points) and Warlock (giving us Pact Magic) which creates the handy combo of turning ...
8
votes
2answers
8k views

Can you use Magical Secrets to choose high level spells when multiclassing as a Bard?

Say you have a Wizard 7/Bard 9. You gain your 17th level and choose to gain the level in Bard (which grants you Magical Secrets). According to the Multiclass Spellcaster: Spell Slots per Spell Level ...
6
votes
2answers
579 views

Can a multiclass Warlock/Wizard add spells known from Warlock to the Wizard spellbook?

I have a Pact of the Chain Warlock/Evocation Wizard character. All of my current Warlock spells are also on the Wizard spell list, except Eldritch Blast of course. I've found a related question ...
6
votes
1answer
602 views

Can a multiclassed Wizard/Bard scribe a spell scroll for a spell they know as a bard, then copy it into their spellbook (if it's on both spell lists)?

I'm playing a multiclassed wizard 6, bard 1. I know that you can't copy non-wizard spells into your spellbook. What if I copied one of the 1st-level spells I have access to as a Bard that is also on ...
6
votes
4answers
778 views

What effects would allowing same-class multiclassing have on interclass balance?

In Pathfinder, taking multiple copies of a class is controversial from a rules-based perspective. Most of the groups I have played with allow same-class multiclassing in 3.5 but not Pathfinder. I ...
6
votes
1answer
258 views

Do druid levels stack with Unearthed Arcana ranger variant for wild shape?

I had to make a weird build to get what I needed for my character: The character has levels in both druid and the simple variant ranger that trades some ranger class features for a modified version of ...
3
votes
3answers
373 views

Can a Warlock spell slot be used with the Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature?

The Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature states: Beginning at 3rd level, you can use your action and expend one ranger spell slot to focus your awareness on the region around you [...] In this case ...
12
votes
3answers
57k views

Is playing a paladin / sorcerer multi-class viable?

I would like know if it is viable and sustianable to mutliclass paladin with Sorcerer. But I am unsure if these two would mesh well together and end up becoming good or if it would just lead to a sub ...
19
votes
4answers
13k views

Are there ever reasons to multiclass, from an optimization perspective?

I have been playing AD&D (and some other systems) for a long time, but I am new to 3.5/Pathfinder. I have just started looking at the optimization material, and it seems that multiclassing with ...
16
votes
1answer
4k views

Can a sorc 19 / cleric 1 cast cleric spells at higher sorcerer levels?

Inspired by this answer Sorc 19/Cleric 1 has a bit more issues. You only have the few L1 cleric spells, and lots of Sorcerer spells, make sure you took cleric spells that scale (so you can cast ...
13
votes
1answer
10k views

If I have Extra Attacks, when can I decide which one is a sneak attack?

So, if a character multiclasses to a point where they have multiple attacks in a round, I assume you can decide once the hit has been confirmed by the DM, but before you roll damage, whether you make ...
10
votes
2answers
614 views

Can a spell being cast via a magic item be considered to be more than one class' spell at the same time?

Can a spell being cast via a magic item be considered to be more than one class' spell at the same time? Specifically, items phrased along the lines of "While holding it, you can use an action [...] ...
28
votes
3answers
15k views

If I multiclass from ranger into Druid, can I still wear metal armor?

In the proficiencies of Druid, it says Druids will not wear armor made of metal, however, if I was originally a ranger, can I still wear my metal armor or do I have to remove it?
21
votes
5answers
57k views

Does the level prerequisite for Invocations refer to class or character level?

The level requirements for Warlock invocations stated in the PHB are refering to which level, character or Warlock class? Example: If I multiclassed into Warlock, Monk6/Warlock2, would I be able to ...
14
votes
3answers
7k views

Does multiclassing into Cleric grant Domain Bonus Proficiencies?

I know that the Multiclassing Proficiencies are listed on p. 164 of the Player's Handbook: Proficiencies When you gain a level in a class other than your first, you gain only some of that class's ...
13
votes
3answers
7k views

Can I multi-class between a class and an archetype of that class?

Background I am playing Pathfinder with a character who is a Fighter with the Polearm Master archetype. There is an ability that the Fighter (sans archetype) earns at third level called "Armor ...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a multiclass Cleric/Warlock hold a Holy Shield and an Arcane Staff and still cast spells?

The PHB (pg. 151) states that a Cleric may use a shield with a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus: A cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10....