Questions tagged [multi-classing]

For questions about multiclassing, the practice of advancing more than one character class on a single character either simultaneously or serially.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
41
votes
4answers
20k views

Can a multiclass Wizard copy any Wizard spell they find into their spellbook?

The Wizard includes the following feature: Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a level for which you ...
9
votes
1answer
237 views

If I multiclass into 2 or more spellcasting classes, how do I determine my known/prepared spells?

If I multiclass into 2 or more classes/subclasses that can cast spells, how do I determine what spells I know or can prepare? For instance, if I am playing a multiclassed character with 1 level in ...
79
votes
4answers
38k views

Can you multiclass the same class twice for different class features?

The way that 5e works, each class has a sub class that dictates a heap of class features. The question here is generally, can a character of a specific class take levels in that same class in order to ...
11
votes
1answer
4k views

What level are spells cast at if a warlock multiclasses as another caster?

The Pact Magic paragraph on page 164 of the Player's Handbook multiclassing section reads: you can use the spell slots you gain from the Spellcasting class feature to cast warlock spells you know. ...
17
votes
3answers
5k views

Can a multi-class spellcaster have one thing be two different focuses?

In my group, I have a Cleric 1/ Bard 1 character. He bangs on his engraved shield (cleric focus) to turn it into a war drum (bard focus). What are the rules concerning if a player can have two ...
9
votes
3answers
3k views

If my Initiator Level is high enough, can I take Stances of a level higher than 1st when I take my first level in a martial adept class?

Usually, a martial adept’s Initiator Level is equal to his class level, plus his class level in any maneuver-granting Prestige Classes, plus half his level in all other classes. This means a ...
80
votes
7answers
13k views

Does this character concept involving never taking a long rest and converting spell slots to sorcery points (aka coffeelock) violate RAW?

Does the following, very cheesy character concept, violate any RAW? Please cite rules or official rulings in your answer. (Apart from RAW, I expect my DM to disallow or limit the concept, in the ...
53
votes
6answers
47k views

What are the downsides to multi-classing?

I've been having a discussion with my players recently about the game we're running, and am having trouble answering a question that was posed to me. Why would you ever NOT multi-class in D&D5e, ...
21
votes
9answers
5k views

Can multi-classing prerequisite ability score(s) be met through a magic item?

To qualify for a new class, you must meet the ability score prerequisites for both your current class and your new one ... Without the full training that a beginning character receives, you must be a ...
15
votes
5answers
53k views

How can I get the most synergy out of this Paladin/Warlock multi-class combination?

I'm planning on playing a Paladin/Warlock in an upcoming game and I've picked the Oath of Vengeance, and Great Old One Patron/Pact of Tome. I've made my backstory (island home sunk when invaded by ...
34
votes
3answers
11k views

Does a sorcerer's metamagic work for non-sorcerer spells?

Can a multiclass sorcerer/cleric use the Metamagic class ability with non-sorcerer spells? For example, using Twinned Spell when casting cure wounds to heal two creatures instead of just one?
30
votes
2answers
45k views

Multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer: How do spell slots recover?

If you multiclass a Warlock and a Sorcerer, then you have a character with both the Spellcasting and Pact Magic features. PHB Page 101, Sorcerer, Spellcasting, Spell Slots: You regain all expended ...
20
votes
3answers
47k views

Multiclassing: How do Ability Score Improvements work?

Given that every class gets a minimum of 5 ability score improvements each at levels 4, 8, 12, 16, and 19 (Rogue and Fighter get more at other levels), do these ability score improvements occur by ...
8
votes
2answers
8k views

Can you Multiattack twice with the Extra Attack Feature?

Assume the character build Any Monk 5/Moon Druid 2, wildshaped into a Brown Bear: On their turn, can they use their attack action twice to multiattack?
11
votes
4answers
6k views

How can I get more spell slots for an ultimate magus without resorting to the feat Extra Slot?

I'm planning on a wizard/warmage/ultimate magus build. By level 15 the character'll have caster level 11 in both classes, yet 5 levels remain. I want to save the character's feats for metamagic feats, ...
10
votes
1answer
24k views

While using Wild Shape, do I use Unarmored Defense or the creature's Armor Class?

I have a multi-classed Monk/Druid, and let's say I wild shape into a Giant Eagle. Will I have an AC of 13 (specified in creature statistics), or will I have an AC of 15 (10 + Dex (+3) + Wis (+2))? ...
5
votes
1answer
434 views

Can a multiclass character use either of its spellcasting modifiers for spells?

Can a multiclass character use either of its spellcasting modifiers for spells? When character multiclasses into multiple classes that can cast spells, which modifier do you use for casting the spell?...
18
votes
8answers
8k views

How can I roleplay multiclassing to explain new class features?

A nice broad question to set the scene I'm fairly new to roleplaying and I'm struggling with a valid reasons for both why and how a character would multiclass into another class independently - that ...
20
votes
2answers
4k views

Can I cast a Warlock spell with another (higher) spell slot from a different multiclass?

Reviewing an answer to a recent question I posted, I had a thought about Armor of Agathys. In the event of a Sorcerer 18 / Warlock 2 build, would the character be able to cast Armor of Agathys with a ...
20
votes
1answer
4k views

Is it possible to “charge up” a sorcerer/warlock by taking multiple short rests?

So according to the wonders of multiclassing, it is possible to take levels in both Sorcerer (granting us sorcery points) and Warlock (giving us Pact Magic) which creates the handy combo of turning ...
12
votes
3answers
39k views

How do spell slots and preparation work when multi-classing between cleric and bard

I'm planning to play a multi-class bard/cleric character, and I wanted to verify how spell preparation and slots work across the two classes, particularly since they use different approaches for ...
7
votes
2answers
5k views

Can you use Magical Secrets to choose high level spells when multiclassing as a Bard?

Say you have a Wizard 7/Bard 9. You gain your 17th level and choose to gain the level in Bard (which grants you Magical Secrets). According to the Multiclass Spellcaster: Spell Slots per Spell Level ...
20
votes
2answers
14k views

Can you cast a 9th level spell if your multiclass spell slots have 9th level spell slots? [duplicate]

Say I play a Cleric 14/Paladin 6. I have the spell slots of a lvl 17 spellcaster, but can I cast the 9th level spells of the Cleric, or am I limited to 7th? Would this also work with other classes ...
18
votes
8answers
5k views

Do Two Class Features That Add The Same Modifier to Damage Double It?

I've had a question that I can't seem to find an answer to and it's hard to formulate a question that I feel is clear enough without explaining the setup. Lets use a 6/2 Sorc/Warlock as an example. ...
15
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a sorc 19 / cleric 1 cast cleric spells at higher sorcerer levels?

Inspired by this answer Sorc 19/Cleric 1 has a bit more issues. You only have the few L1 cleric spells, and lots of Sorcerer spells, make sure you took cleric spells that scale (so you can cast ...
14
votes
3answers
5k views

Does multiclassing into Cleric grant Domain Bonus Proficiencies?

I know that the Multiclassing Proficiencies are listed on p. 164 of the Player's Handbook: Proficiencies When you gain a level in a class other than your first, you gain only some of that class'...
13
votes
3answers
5k views

Can I multi-class between a class and an archetype of that class?

Background I am playing Pathfinder with a character who is a Fighter with the Polearm Master archetype. There is an ability that the Fighter (sans archetype) earns at third level called "Armor ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

How to decide which of my intended classes to start as when multiclassing in D&D 5e?

I'm putting together a Shadow Monk/Assassin Rogue character concept for a new game of D&D 5e but I have little experience with multi-classing. So, what should I consider when deciding which class ...
8
votes
1answer
6k views

Can a multiclass Wizard/Fighter (Eldritch Knight) add EK known spells to the wizard spellbook?

When intending to play a Fighter (Eldritch Knight) I was dissatisfied with the spell restrictions so I devised a plan to increase my spell versatility: Start with 1 wizard level to have a spellbook ...
5
votes
3answers
3k views

How do the Cleric and Druid's Spontaneous Casting interact with other classes' spells?

This is a very RAW vs. RAI question. When the descriptions of both clerics and druids discuss how prepared spells are instead converted into specific kinds of spells, they always talk about "a" or "...
12
votes
3answers
26k views

Is playing a paladin / sorcerer multi-class viable?

I would like know if it is viable and sustianable to mutliclass paladin with Sorcerer. But I am unsure if these two would mesh well together and end up becoming good or if it would just lead to a sub ...
13
votes
3answers
5k views

Is a Fighter/Wizard/Thief viable in Pathfinder?

I'm looking for a decent build for a Fighter/Wizard/Thief in Pathfinder. The goal is to have a "jack of all trades" PC. I'd like to enhance these aspect if possible: Fighter: melee dps Wizard: ...
20
votes
3answers
7k views

Can a Barbarian/Rogue Sneak Attack during a Rage?

Can you sneak attack and rage at the same time? Honestly, I only ask because it seems like one of those things that you just shouldn't be able to do, but I can't find any rule preventing it. Am I ...
20
votes
1answer
11k views

Do you gain any proficiencies when multi-classing other than weapon and armor?

When multi-classing, do you gain any other proficiencies outside of weapon and armor. In particular do you gain saving throw proficiencies?
14
votes
3answers
3k views

How do paladin and ranger class levels add up for multiclass spellcasting?

From page 164 of the PHB (here is the equivalent section of the Basic Rules): Spell Slots. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, ...
7
votes
2answers
4k views

Can a Monk utilize touch based cantrips with their Unarmed Attacks?

While preparing for my group's first 5e game I was looking at the different classes and stumbled on a question I couldn't answer. For this example I will use druid as the class that the monk multi-...
4
votes
1answer
6k views

Eldritch Knight/Warlock multiclass spellcasting

If a Fighter 3 (Eldritch Knight) levels up as a Warlock for the rest of the way to 20, making him an 18th level caster according to the multiclass spell slot table provided, would he in turn be able ...
25
votes
3answers
11k views

If I multiclass from ranger into Druid, can I still wear metal armor?

In the proficiencies of Druid, it says Druids will not wear armor made of metal, however, if I was originally a ranger, can I still wear my metal armor or do I have to remove it?
21
votes
2answers
9k views

Multiclass Warlock/Wizard: Can I use Int as spellcasting ability for Pact Magic slots? [duplicate]

I would really love to play wizard/warlock multiclass with low charisma (just 13 for mutliclass). The handbook says that I can use Pact Magic slots to cast wizard spells, but doesn't specify which ...
16
votes
1answer
5k views

Are Blastlocks not Special?

I am making a character for D&D 5e and I am thinking about playing an Abjurer Eldritch Knight with a dip of Warlock for some refluffed flavor, out of combat utility, in combat utility, and I just ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a multiclass Cleric/Warlock hold a Holy Shield and an Arcane Staff and still cast spells?

The PHB (pg. 151) states that a Cleric may use a shield with a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus: A cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10....
9
votes
1answer
8k views

Does the same fighting style stack with itself?

Suppose I have a ranger with the style Archery, and I take a one level dip into fighter and also pick Archery. Do I get an additional +4 to my attack rolls, or just +2? More generally, does the same ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Which spells can a multiclass bard cast with an instrument focus?

If I were to multiclass Sorcerer 9 Bard 1, could I use an instrument (per Bard Level 1 feature) as my focus for spells that appear on both class spell lists? For example, Polymorph, Confusion, and ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

How many spell slots does a multiclassed Cleric (4 levels)/Fighter (Eldritch Knight) (1 level) have?

Okay, I'm trying to figure out the number of spell slots a character should have that has 4 levels of Cleric and 1 level of Fighter with the Eldritch Knight Martial Archetype, and my interpretation ...
25
votes
8answers
12k views

Is it possible to get Extra Attack or equivalent without taking at least 5 levels in a class?

I am planning a Forge Domain Cleric character and think Extra Attack would suit them, but it seems as though multiclassing is the only way that would be possible, given that Forge Domain Clerics don't ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

How do I calculate proficiency advancement for multiclass characters?

My question is about my multiclass character, a cleric/thief. I read that the cleric class gains 1/4 weapon and 1/3 nonweapon proficiencies, while the thief class gains 1/4 for both kinds of ...
5
votes
3answers
329 views

How to implement dual-classing in a non-levelled RPG game? [closed]

I'm working on an alternate ruleset for a tabletop pen-and-paper RPG (like D&D). Recently I've been toying the idea of abolishing a level system. However, I don't want to remove the ability for a ...
16
votes
1answer
5k views

Can I use Pact Magic spell slots gained on a short rest to gain sorcery points?

I'm planning on multi-classing in Warlock as a Sorcerer in 5e. I'd like to be able to use my Warlock spell slots from Pact Magic (that I regain on a short rest) to gain sorcery points. I'm inclined ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Multiclassing with feats you already possess

If you multiclass and the new class grants a feat you already possess can you choose to pick another feat that stacks with the existing one? For example: you have evasion and multiclass that has ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Does a Magus/Sorcerer still have to prepare some spells?

If I multiclass a Magus and a Sorcerer in Pathfinder, how do my casting mechanics end up? Do I get a certain amount of slots that I must prepare in advance in addition to a few I can improvise with, ...