Questions tagged [multi-classing]

For questions about multiclassing, the practice of advancing more than one character class on a single character either simultaneously or serially.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4
votes
2answers
206 views

Can an intelligent item multiclass outside of the Intelligent Item class?

Is there any reason an intelligent item taking classes in intelligent item from the book Complete Eldritch Power could not also take ranks in other classes? Say fighter or wizard, so that they could ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

How does uses of Channel Energy work for a multiclass Cleric/Paladin?

I have a Cleric/Paladin and, at the next level, my paladin should be able to use Channel Energy. On the paladin's page, it says that A paladin uses her level as her effective cleric level when ...
4
votes
1answer
132 views

Does the Master Specialist caster level increase affect cleric spells you have as well?

I am multi-classing a Cleric/(conjuration) Master Specialist. Does the Caster Level Increase class feature of the Master Specialist (6th level) increase the caster level of my chosen school for ...
4
votes
1answer
476 views

Does the Rainbow Servant give new spells per day starting at level 2, or at level 1?

I want to make a Beguiler and take a dip into Rainbow Servant. However, in the Rainbow Servant class it says this: When a new rainbow servant level is gained, the character gains new spells per ...
4
votes
1answer
849 views

How to apply the new multiclassing rules (unchained)

I want to play a battle herald and going through Realsorceror’s Guide to the Battle Herald there is the following advice: Cavalier (Variant) (6 levels) If you are using the multiclassing ...
4
votes
1answer
996 views

How does Monk damage combine with other sources?

Are the following damage calculations correct for a L17 Monk/3 Ranger (20 Dex) with Dueling, Horde Breaker, and wielding a monk weapon: Standard attack: 3d10 + 4 (from dueling) + 15 (Dex mod) + [to ...
4
votes
2answers
757 views

Can you Chain Prestige Classes

Say I was an anima mage giving wizard spell caster levels. If I was to take Eldritch Knight, could I give the Anima Mage spell caster levels and it boost both the Anima mage and Wizard, or must I ...
4
votes
2answers
6k views

Brawler and Monk Multiclassing

I am currently doing a comparison between the monk and brawler to determine which is more optimal for a current build I am working towards. I have a question regarding the Brawlers Martial Training (...
4
votes
1answer
716 views

How do Prestige class levels stack with base class levels?

About to prestige my monk in the Psionic Fist class. The only part that I am confused on is with how the "Monk Abilities" class feature stacks with my base Monk class. To my understanding it says ...
4
votes
0answers
150 views

How do Favored Classes work? [duplicate]

So, I am creating my first Pathfinder character ever right now together with some friends. We are all new at this. I figured I'd go for a half-elven Cleric. Everything good so far. But! The two ...
4
votes
0answers
103 views

Can I select alternative class features when mutliclassing? [duplicate]

Possible Duplicate: Is it possible to get Battle Cleric's Lore through Divine Healer multiclass? A person with Healer's Lore can take an alternative Battle Cleric's Lore. Can someone who has ...
3
votes
1answer
746 views

Does the multiclassing spell restriction also apply to spell replacement?

Several spellcasting classes have a clause saying "when you learn more [class] spells of your choice, each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots". They also have a clause ...
3
votes
2answers
6k views

Is my paladin/warlock multiclass a viable tank?

I'll be playing a D&D 5e Warlock/Paladin character in the Curse of Strahd adventure. I'll start off by taking 2 levels of Paladin (variant human with War Caster) and then start taking levels in ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Land Druid/Cleric Multiclass interaction with spells [duplicate]

I have a Cleric 1/Druid X character and I want to make sure I'm using the multiclass rules for their spells correctly. As I've been leveling up, I've been preparing higher level cleric spells, even ...
3
votes
3answers
922 views

Can I use mystic disciplines while wild-shaped?

Since the mystic disciplines do not need to use gestures, vocals, or components, could a druid/mystic multiclass use disciplines while in wildshape?
3
votes
4answers
12k views

Questions about an Arcane/Divine combo build [closed]

I had an idea for a character that was multiclass Wizard/Archivist(Heroes of Horror) with Prestige levels in Mystic Theurge. However, upon further examination of the Mystic Theurge class, I noticed a ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

How many spell slots does a multiclassed Cleric (4 levels)/Fighter (Eldritch Knight) (1 level) have?

Okay, I'm trying to figure out the number of spell slots a character should have that has 4 levels of Cleric and 1 level of Fighter with the Eldritch Knight Martial Archetype, and my interpretation ...
3
votes
1answer
846 views

Do an Assassin's Assassinate and a Hunter's Colossus Slayer stack?

Character level 6 - Rogue / Assassin 3 and Ranger / Hunter 3 Assassinate. Starting at 3rd level, you are at your deadliest when you get the drop on your enemies. You have advantage on attack ...
3
votes
5answers
34k views

How to optimize a bard/paladin in 5e?

I have a 9th level tiefling Valor bard, who I think would be interesting as a bard/paladin. Her current spell list is action/advantage denial heavy with a few utility spells; I'd like to enhance her ...
3
votes
1answer
4k views

When Multi-classing Paladin with Sorcerer, could I Prepare Paladin Spells at my Sorcerer Spell Level (5th level spells max)? [duplicate]

I've been playing a level 9 Stone Sorcerer, and I was about to multiclass 2 levels into paladin when I saw that when you prepare your paladin spells, you prepare spells that fit with the level of ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

Are saving throws stacked up when multi-classing?

We are playing regular D&D 3.5 campaign and I was wondering if the saving throws are added to each other when multi-classing. For example: A barbarian gets +2 FORT, +0 REF and +0 WILL, at level ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Could a wizard multiclassed with a sorceror spontaneous cast all their wizard spells?

In D&D 3.5e, if I multiclass my wizard with a sorcerer, would I be able to spontaneously cast my spells like a sorcerer and still get the rest of the spells that a wizard gets? Or is that not ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Does a multiclassed rogue/barbarian get sneak attack almost always? [duplicate]

The rogue gets a sneak attack on attacks where you have advantage. Barbarians have advantage on attacks using strength with the reckless attack feature, which doesn't seem to have a limit on usage. ...
3
votes
2answers
251 views

Do multiclass Summoners still get to rearrange evolution points?

If you are a Summoner and you dip into another class, do you still get to rearrange the evo points on the eidolon? The summoner can change them whenever he gains a level (and through the ...
3
votes
2answers
315 views

Can a multiclass Beastmaster/Wizard benefit from using Speak with Animals to cast Suggestion on their own animal companion?

As a Beastmaster 3 / Wizard 3, I want to use Speak with Animals to enable my using the Suggestion spell on my beast companion, for the purpose of issuing to her a two-sentence set of "marching orders"....
3
votes
3answers
7k views

Ranger/Wizard multi class in D&D 5e [closed]

I am realtively new to D&D 5e and would like to have a Ranger class who can also cast some Wizard spells. It seems this is only possible if I multi class. What is the best way to implement such a ...
3
votes
2answers
289 views

Why do some players write XP separate and does it really matter?

So me and almost everyone I play with, even when multi-classing write out our xp as, 1000, 10000, 50000 (ect) as its accumulated. But one to two players who are not in the majority of our games. Being ...
3
votes
1answer
995 views

Warlock and Hellfire Warlock stacking for Eldritch blast in D&D 3.5

The Hellfire Warlock text says: At each level, you gain new invocations known, increased damage with eldritch blast, and an increase in invoker level as if you had also gained a level in the ...
3
votes
1answer
79 views

How many charges does a multiclass character imbue a staff with?

This is a Pathfinder Second Edition question. Let's say that we have a fourth-level cleric who has taken Wizard Dedication and Basic Wizard Spellcasting (both CRB pg. 231) at second and fourth levels ...
3
votes
1answer
150 views

Can I multiclass into Planar Shepherd again to get an additional plane?

So, this is an odd little question. For this, I'd like answers to include the following, if possible: Rules as Written Rules as Intended Flavor-text/infamous DnD 3.5e Vagueness potential Now on to ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

What Non Homebrew classes Multiclass well with Necromancy Wizard? [closed]

I am trying to ask this question as non opinionated as I can. Hard to do with non rules questions which are generally direct. So currently there is a Level 2 Variant Human Wizard of the Necromancy ...
3
votes
1answer
827 views

Duskblade with a 1-level Crusader dip?

Some background: I'm playing a tiefling Duskblade, currently at lvl4 and just about to hit 5th. I'm not overly concerned about perfectly optimising the character, so there's a few things I've take ...
3
votes
1answer
353 views

Multiclassing Shaman/Invoker

I'm playing an Eagle Shaman that took the 'acolyte of divine secrets'-feat to multiclass to Invoker. Acolyte of Divine Secrets [Multiclass Invoker] Prerequisite: Wis 13 Benefit: You ...
3
votes
1answer
906 views

Does “Pact Initiate” grant the pact boon, too?

As part of this Multiclass feat it tells me to: Choose a warlock pact. You gain the pact's at-will power as an encounter power, and you can pursue the warlock paragon path based on that pact. Now ...
3
votes
1answer
170 views

Ritual casting for a multiclass character

One of my players want to play a Druid / Wizard character. He needs Ritual Casting for both classes. Does he have to take the talent once or does he have to take it twice, once for each class?
3
votes
1answer
138 views

How do Renewing Action and Initiate of the Faith interact?

The Cleric paragon path Seldarine DedicateDDI action point feature Renewing Action states: Renewing Action (11th level): When you spend an action point to take an extra action, you also gain an ...
3
votes
1answer
3k views

How can a PaliBard be optimized for DPS/battlefield control?

I'm considering rolling a Paladin/Bard character. My aim for the character is for them to be a high damage dealer, in addition to being able to control the battlefield to provide openings & ...
3
votes
1answer
70 views

Does a multi-class wild talent gain PSP on each of their classes' level up?

Suppose Zenobia the elven bladesinger was submitted to psionic surgery when she was an infant, and gained a wild power. As a 1st level elf fighter/mage(bladesinger), she has (...) the minimum ...
3
votes
1answer
330 views

Can a character use spell slots from one class to activate a Runestaff spell that's on the spell list of another of their classes?

A runestaff (MIC p. 223) allows a character who's attuned to it to sacrifice one of their spell slots to cast a spell of equal or lower level from the staff. This allows characters to cast spells ...
3
votes
0answers
68 views

What type of spellcasting bonus do I use as a multiclassed bard/cleric? [duplicate]

I'm fairly new to D&D, and I'm going to multiclass for the first time - Bard/Cleric, to be specific. What kind of spellcasting bonus do I use for spells like Healing Word which is bard and cleric?...
3
votes
0answers
1k views

At level up, can a sorcerer learn spells of a level granted by slots he has from any class? [duplicate]

The sorcerer's spells known feature says: You know two 1st-level spells of your choice from the sorcerer spell list. The Spells Known column of Table: The Sorcerer shows when you learn more ...
3
votes
0answers
126 views

What level is my multi-class character? [duplicate]

This is my build: Level 1 – Warlock 1 - otherworldy patron, pact magic Level 2 – Warlock 2 - eldritch invocations Level 3 – Warlock 3 - pact boon Level 4 – Paladin 1 - divine sense, lay on ...
3
votes
0answers
682 views

Can a multiclass Wizard copy (and then use) a spell of a higher level than their Wizard level alone would permit? [duplicate]

The 5e rules for multiclassing (PHB p. 164) state that your spells known and prepared are based on your class level for each class, but your spell slots are based on your combined levels, which may ...
3
votes
1answer
497 views

If you take a level in Warlock, do all your other spell slots suddenly start recharging over a short rest? [duplicate]

The warlock's Pact Magic feature says: Spell Slots The Warlock table shows how many spell slots you have. The table also shows what the level of those slots is; all of your spell slots are the ...
2
votes
2answers
457 views

Can I use a hand holding a focus from one class to cover somatic components for a spell from another class?

I want to try playing a multiclass Hexblade 2 / College of Swords Bard 18, but I'm concerned about how focused will work. I intend to hold a shield in one hand with a sword in the other. Thanks to ...
2
votes
1answer
542 views

What stats do cross-class cantrips use?

If you pick up a different class's cantrip through multi-classing, or Magic Initiate, etc, what stats do the cantrips use for determining if the attack hits? Does it matter if it's a melee or ranged ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Improved Pact Weapon only count as a focus for warlock spells?

In Unearthed Arcana: Revised Class Options, one of the Blade pact warlock's invocations is Improved pact weapon part of the description is: You can use any weapon you summon with your Pact of the ...
2
votes
3answers
10k views

Is a Barbarian 1/Warlock n effective as a tank?

Playing my first 5e game soon. We're using PHB material only for characters. Is it possible to have a character that is sort of the main tank/off tank with a character who will start as a barbarian ...
2
votes
3answers
476 views

Can a chameleon qualify for blighter?

An ex-druid 1 / chameleon (Races of Destiny) wants to take levels in blighter (Complete Divine). Can he?
2
votes
1answer
3k views

Does multiclassing have an effect on exp/levelling up?

My understanding of the multiclassing system is a little vague, so I wanted to clarify. If I was to use multiclassing to level up, and increase my overall level, how does the exp get dispersed between ...