Questions tagged [multi-classing]

For questions about multiclassing, the practice of advancing more than one character class on a single character either simultaneously or serially.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Land Druid/Cleric Multiclass interaction with spells [duplicate]

I have a Cleric 1/Druid X character and I want to make sure I'm using the multiclass rules for their spells correctly. As I've been leveling up, I've been preparing higher level cleric spells, even ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

How many spell slots does a multiclassed Cleric (4 levels)/Fighter (Eldritch Knight) (1 level) have?

Okay, I'm trying to figure out the number of spell slots a character should have that has 4 levels of Cleric and 1 level of Fighter with the Eldritch Knight Martial Archetype, and my interpretation ...
3
votes
5answers
40k views

How to optimize a bard/paladin in 5e?

I have a 9th level tiefling Valor bard, who I think would be interesting as a bard/paladin. Her current spell list is action/advantage denial heavy with a few utility spells; I'd like to enhance her ...
3
votes
1answer
5k views

When Multi-classing Paladin with Sorcerer, could I Prepare Paladin Spells at my Sorcerer Spell Level (5th level spells max)? [duplicate]

I've been playing a level 9 Stone Sorcerer, and I was about to multiclass 2 levels into paladin when I saw that when you prepare your paladin spells, you prepare spells that fit with the level of ...
3
votes
2answers
3k views

Are saving throws stacked up when multi-classing?

We are playing regular D&D 3.5 campaign and I was wondering if the saving throws are added to each other when multi-classing. For example: A barbarian gets +2 FORT, +0 REF and +0 WILL, at level ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Could a wizard multiclassed with a sorceror spontaneous cast all their wizard spells?

In D&D 3.5e, if I multiclass my wizard with a sorcerer, would I be able to spontaneously cast my spells like a sorcerer and still get the rest of the spells that a wizard gets? Or is that not ...
3
votes
1answer
4k views

Does a multiclassed rogue/barbarian get sneak attack almost always? [duplicate]

The rogue gets a sneak attack on attacks where you have advantage. Barbarians have advantage on attacks using strength with the reckless attack feature, which doesn't seem to have a limit on usage. ...
3
votes
2answers
275 views

Do multiclass Summoners still get to rearrange evolution points?

If you are a Summoner and you dip into another class, do you still get to rearrange the evo points on the eidolon? The summoner can change them whenever he gains a level (and through the ...
3
votes
1answer
273 views

When using a spellcasting archetype, do you take the Basic Spellcasting feat multiple times or once?

The rules for Basic Spellcasting state: Basic Spellcasting Feat: Available at 4th level, these feats grant a 1st-level spell slot. At 6th level, they grant you a 2nd-level spell slot. At 8th level, ...
3
votes
2answers
381 views

Can a multiclass Beastmaster/Wizard benefit from using Speak with Animals to cast Suggestion on their own animal companion?

As a Beastmaster 3 / Wizard 3, I want to use Speak with Animals to enable my using the Suggestion spell on my beast companion, for the purpose of issuing to her a two-sentence set of "marching orders"....
3
votes
3answers
8k views

Ranger/Wizard multi class in D&D 5e [closed]

I am realtively new to D&D 5e and would like to have a Ranger class who can also cast some Wizard spells. It seems this is only possible if I multi class. What is the best way to implement such a ...
3
votes
2answers
292 views

Why do some players write XP separate and does it really matter?

So me and almost everyone I play with, even when multi-classing write out our xp as, 1000, 10000, 50000 (ect) as its accumulated. But one to two players who are not in the majority of our games. Being ...
3
votes
1answer
265 views

Can a level 1 Warlock Cast a 4th level spell from 8th level Sorcerer with their warlock pact magic spell slots?

Can my player’s multiclass Warlock 1/Sorcerer 8 cast the higher level sorcerer spells from with their warlock pact magic spell slots? My player argued that he could now cast his 4th level sorcerer ...
3
votes
2answers
220 views

Cleric/Wizard character casts animate dead from scroll, which caster level bucket do the undead go to?

I am playing a character with cleric and wizard levels. If I was to cast a scroll of animate dead, where do the controled undead go? As animate dead is a cleric 3 or wizard 4 spell, it can be either ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Warlock and Hellfire Warlock stacking for Eldritch blast in D&D 3.5

The Hellfire Warlock text says: At each level, you gain new invocations known, increased damage with eldritch blast, and an increase in invoker level as if you had also gained a level in the ...
3
votes
2answers
200 views

Can a Warlock spell slot be used with the Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature?

The Ranger's Primeval Awareness feature states: Beginning at 3rd level, you can use your action and expend one ranger spell slot to focus your awareness on the region around you [...] In this case ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Pros and cons of eldritch knight or arcane trickster for throwing-weapon battle smith multiclass

So I am interested in playing a character who uses thrown weapons with the returning infusion offered by the latest artificer, but I want to focus more on throwing than artificery. Towards that end, I ...
3
votes
1answer
154 views

Can I multiclass into Planar Shepherd again to get an additional plane?

So, this is an odd little question. For this, I'd like answers to include the following, if possible: Rules as Written Rules as Intended Flavor-text/infamous DnD 3.5e Vagueness potential Now on to ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

What Non Homebrew classes Multiclass well with Necromancy Wizard? [closed]

I am trying to ask this question as non opinionated as I can. Hard to do with non rules questions which are generally direct. So currently there is a Level 2 Variant Human Wizard of the Necromancy ...
3
votes
1answer
886 views

Duskblade with a 1-level Crusader dip?

Some background: I'm playing a tiefling Duskblade, currently at lvl4 and just about to hit 5th. I'm not overly concerned about perfectly optimising the character, so there's a few things I've take ...
3
votes
1answer
357 views

Multiclassing Shaman/Invoker

I'm playing an Eagle Shaman that took the 'acolyte of divine secrets'-feat to multiclass to Invoker. Acolyte of Divine Secrets [Multiclass Invoker] Prerequisite: Wis 13 Benefit: You ...
3
votes
1answer
915 views

Does “Pact Initiate” grant the pact boon, too?

As part of this Multiclass feat it tells me to: Choose a warlock pact. You gain the pact's at-will power as an encounter power, and you can pursue the warlock paragon path based on that pact. Now ...
3
votes
1answer
149 views

What happens to a multiclass character affected by level drain?

Suppose I have a halfling that's multiclassing as a fighter/thief and has achieved 2nd level in both classes. This character has the misfortune of being struck by a wight and loses a level. What ...
3
votes
1answer
210 views

Ritual casting for a multiclass character

One of my players want to play a Druid / Wizard character. He needs Ritual Casting for both classes. Does he have to take the talent once or does he have to take it twice, once for each class?
3
votes
1answer
140 views

How do Renewing Action and Initiate of the Faith interact?

The Cleric paragon path Seldarine DedicateDDI action point feature Renewing Action states: Renewing Action (11th level): When you spend an action point to take an extra action, you also gain an ...
3
votes
1answer
4k views

How can a PaliBard be optimized for DPS/battlefield control?

I'm considering rolling a Paladin/Bard character. My aim for the character is for them to be a high damage dealer, in addition to being able to control the battlefield to provide openings & ...
3
votes
1answer
75 views

Does a multi-class wild talent gain PSP on each of their classes' level up?

Suppose Zenobia the elven bladesinger was submitted to psionic surgery when she was an infant, and gained a wild power. As a 1st level elf fighter/mage(bladesinger), she has (...) the minimum ...
3
votes
1answer
356 views

Can a character use spell slots from one class to activate a Runestaff spell that's on the spell list of another of their classes?

A runestaff (MIC p. 223) allows a character who's attuned to it to sacrifice one of their spell slots to cast a spell of equal or lower level from the staff. This allows characters to cast spells ...
3
votes
0answers
170 views

Can a multiclassed Wizard/Bard scribe a spell scroll for a spell they know as a bard, then copy it into their spellbook (if it's on both spell lists)?

I'm playing a multiclassed wizard 6, bard 1. I know that you can't copy non-wizard spells into your spellbook. What if I copied one of the 1st-level spells I have access to as a Bard that is also on ...
3
votes
0answers
71 views

What type of spellcasting bonus do I use as a multiclassed bard/cleric? [duplicate]

I'm fairly new to D&D, and I'm going to multiclass for the first time - Bard/Cleric, to be specific. What kind of spellcasting bonus do I use for spells like Healing Word which is bard and cleric?...
3
votes
0answers
131 views

Can I multiclass to a class I only meet the requirements of due to a magic item? [duplicate]

Say I have a level 18 bard and want to take the last two levels in paladin. Unfortunately my strength score is only 8, ruling me out. Fortunately a friendly fighter has a belt of hill-giant strength. ...
3
votes
0answers
2k views

At level up, can a sorcerer learn spells of a level granted by slots he has from any class? [duplicate]

The sorcerer's spells known feature says: You know two 1st-level spells of your choice from the sorcerer spell list. The Spells Known column of Table: The Sorcerer shows when you learn more ...
3
votes
0answers
133 views

What level is my multi-class character? [duplicate]

This is my build: Level 1 – Warlock 1 - otherworldy patron, pact magic Level 2 – Warlock 2 - eldritch invocations Level 3 – Warlock 3 - pact boon Level 4 – Paladin 1 - divine sense, lay on ...
3
votes
1answer
597 views

If you take a level in Warlock, do all your other spell slots suddenly start recharging over a short rest? [duplicate]

The warlock's Pact Magic feature says: Spell Slots The Warlock table shows how many spell slots you have. The table also shows what the level of those slots is; all of your spell slots are the ...
2
votes
2answers
567 views

Can I use a hand holding a focus from one class to cover somatic components for a spell from another class?

I want to try playing a multiclass Hexblade 2 / College of Swords Bard 18, but I'm concerned about how focused will work. I intend to hold a shield in one hand with a sword in the other. Thanks to ...
2
votes
1answer
613 views

What stats do cross-class cantrips use?

If you pick up a different class's cantrip through multi-classing, or Magic Initiate, etc, what stats do the cantrips use for determining if the attack hits? Does it matter if it's a melee or ranged ...
2
votes
1answer
570 views

How are spell slots for an Eldritch Knight fighter 3/Arcane Trickster rogue 3 determined?

The multi-classing rules subsection on spell slots says: Spell Slots. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, and wizard ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Improved Pact Weapon only count as a focus for warlock spells?

In Unearthed Arcana: Revised Class Options, one of the Blade pact warlock's invocations is Improved pact weapon part of the description is: You can use any weapon you summon with your Pact of the ...
2
votes
3answers
11k views

Is a Barbarian 1/Warlock n effective as a tank?

Playing my first 5e game soon. We're using PHB material only for characters. Is it possible to have a character that is sort of the main tank/off tank with a character who will start as a barbarian ...
2
votes
3answers
248 views

Multiclassing Cleric LvL 4 with Warlock lvl 1 [duplicate]

I am having a nice argument with my buddy about multiclassing. I am new to the game so there is a lot of things I don't know, he is quite versed though. Our argument is centered in the amount of LvL 1,...
2
votes
1answer
252 views

What are the most effective use of L1-3 spell slots for healing multiple party members for a Cleric/Druid multi-class build?

What are the most effective use of L1-L3 spell slots for healing multiple party members for a Cleric/Druid multi-class build? I'm looking for some guidance on the most "cost" effective use of my L1 ...
2
votes
3answers
536 views

Can a chameleon qualify for blighter?

An ex-druid 1 / chameleon (Races of Destiny) wants to take levels in blighter (Complete Divine). Can he?
2
votes
1answer
4k views

Does multiclassing have an effect on exp/levelling up?

My understanding of the multiclassing system is a little vague, so I wanted to clarify. If I was to use multiclassing to level up, and increase my overall level, how does the exp get dispersed between ...
2
votes
3answers
723 views

Can Class-granted templates stack with other templates that would negate the original?

ok. Potential Rules Break here. Playing a gestalt 3.5 game. I am a Cleric and Dread Necromancer. At level 15, I have 9 levels of Walker in the Waste from cleric on one side of the progression, 12 ...
2
votes
2answers
6k views

When multiclassing a Cleric/Wizard, can I prepare wizard spells from the cleric list that the wiz could learn but didn't? [duplicate]

As a concrete example, let's say I have a multiclassed Cleric and Wizard (Theurgy), meaning that a common spell they could both have is Cure Wounds, but let's say that I didn't have the wizard learn ...
2
votes
1answer
846 views

Can a multiclassed Sorcerer prepare spells using slots from Flexible Casting?

Let's take the example of a Sorcerer 2/Cleric 1. The Sorcerer/Cleric can "burn" his or her spell slots in order to obtain a single 5th level spell slot using Flexible Casting. Would RAW only allow ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I have 2 variants of the same class?

Unearthed Arcana has the classes Druid Variant and Druidic Avenger. Can I start my character as an Avenger, and later get the other variant? If it is possible, will my bonus spells be separate? How ...
2
votes
2answers
4k views

Dipping in these ranger archetypes mechanically permissible?

The Trapper gains very useful abilities while losing access to spells that he wouldn't have access to anyways for many levels to come. Essentially [unless you don't want to deprive the party rogue of ...
2
votes
1answer
63 views

Does multiclassing into Specialist Wizard need you to pick at character level 1 or wizard level 1?

Okay, I want to create a Mystic Theurge in 3.5, going Cleric/Wizard 3/3. I would start with 3 levels of Cleric and then do 3 levels of Wizard. On the Wizard side I also want to be a Wizard with ...
2
votes
1answer
295 views

How many spell slots should a Fighter 11/Ranger 9 have?

I've been DM for like 2-3 months and one player who's playing a Fighter (arcane archer) wants to multiclass into Ranger. Arcane Archer is not a spellcaster so assuming he will go Fighter 11/Ranger 9 ...

1 6 7 8 9 10