Questions tagged [multi-classing]

For questions about multiclassing, the practice of advancing more than one character class on a single character either simultaneously or serially.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
80
votes
7answers
13k views

Does this character concept involving never taking a long rest and converting spell slots to sorcery points (aka coffeelock) violate RAW?

Does the following, very cheesy character concept, violate any RAW? Please cite rules or official rulings in your answer. (Apart from RAW, I expect my DM to disallow or limit the concept, in the ...
79
votes
4answers
38k views

Can you multiclass the same class twice for different class features?

The way that 5e works, each class has a sub class that dictates a heap of class features. The question here is generally, can a character of a specific class take levels in that same class in order to ...
53
votes
6answers
47k views

What are the downsides to multi-classing?

I've been having a discussion with my players recently about the game we're running, and am having trouble answering a question that was posed to me. Why would you ever NOT multi-class in D&D5e, ...
41
votes
4answers
20k views

Can a multiclass Wizard copy any Wizard spell they find into their spellbook?

The Wizard includes the following feature: Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a level for which you ...
34
votes
3answers
11k views

Does a sorcerer's metamagic work for non-sorcerer spells?

Can a multiclass sorcerer/cleric use the Metamagic class ability with non-sorcerer spells? For example, using Twinned Spell when casting cure wounds to heal two creatures instead of just one?
32
votes
6answers
3k views

Would letting a multiclass character rebuild their character to be single-classed be game-breaking?

One of my players is a Warlock 3/Fighter 2 multiclass Half-Elf. We haven't played for a while as we have all been either busy or away on vacation and so she decided to take the opportunity to ...
30
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I resume levelling up as a paladin after taking a few levels as an Oracle? [duplicate]

I want to do a build that is Paladin and Oracle, but I can't seem to find any concrete information on going about this. If I start at Paladin, get to level 2, then level Oracle to 4, can I then ...
30
votes
2answers
45k views

Multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer: How do spell slots recover?

If you multiclass a Warlock and a Sorcerer, then you have a character with both the Spellcasting and Pact Magic features. PHB Page 101, Sorcerer, Spellcasting, Spell Slots: You regain all expended ...
26
votes
2answers
3k views

How does the November 2018 PH errata change the usage of multiclass spell slots to cast spells?

The Player's Handbook, pg. 114, once read (in the wizard's Spellcasting feature description): The Wizard table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your spells of 1st level and higher. The ...
25
votes
8answers
12k views

Is it possible to get Extra Attack or equivalent without taking at least 5 levels in a class?

I am planning a Forge Domain Cleric character and think Extra Attack would suit them, but it seems as though multiclassing is the only way that would be possible, given that Forge Domain Clerics don't ...
25
votes
3answers
11k views

If I multiclass from ranger into Druid, can I still wear metal armor?

In the proficiencies of Druid, it says Druids will not wear armor made of metal, however, if I was originally a ranger, can I still wear my metal armor or do I have to remove it?
23
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a multiclassed Warlock/Abjuration Wizard with Armor of Shadows repeatedly cast Mage Armor to recharge Arcane Ward?

The warlock's Armor of Shadows eldritch invocation (PHB, p. 110) says: You can cast mage armor on yourself at will, without expending a spell slot or material components. The School of Abjuration ...
23
votes
3answers
3k views

Is there a disadvantage I'm missing to starting outside my “main” class?

I am planning a character as a level 1 Rogue / 19 Wizard. If I take the Rogue level first, I get a bunch of skill, weapon, tool, and armour proficiencies I wouldn't get if I started Wizard and multi-...
22
votes
1answer
5k views

In this absurd multi-class, is there any other benefit to having a specific starting class?

I'm building the character Abserd, who has 1-level of all classes. He really is a useless character, got kicked out of every guild he ever joined. There are some specific benefits to starting with ...
21
votes
9answers
5k views

Can multi-classing prerequisite ability score(s) be met through a magic item?

To qualify for a new class, you must meet the ability score prerequisites for both your current class and your new one ... Without the full training that a beginning character receives, you must be a ...
21
votes
2answers
9k views

Multiclass Warlock/Wizard: Can I use Int as spellcasting ability for Pact Magic slots? [duplicate]

I would really love to play wizard/warlock multiclass with low charisma (just 13 for mutliclass). The handbook says that I can use Pact Magic slots to cast wizard spells, but doesn't specify which ...
20
votes
3answers
7k views

Can a Barbarian/Rogue Sneak Attack during a Rage?

Can you sneak attack and rage at the same time? Honestly, I only ask because it seems like one of those things that you just shouldn't be able to do, but I can't find any rule preventing it. Am I ...
20
votes
2answers
4k views

Can I cast a Warlock spell with another (higher) spell slot from a different multiclass?

Reviewing an answer to a recent question I posted, I had a thought about Armor of Agathys. In the event of a Sorcerer 18 / Warlock 2 build, would the character be able to cast Armor of Agathys with a ...
20
votes
2answers
14k views

Can you cast a 9th level spell if your multiclass spell slots have 9th level spell slots? [duplicate]

Say I play a Cleric 14/Paladin 6. I have the spell slots of a lvl 17 spellcaster, but can I cast the 9th level spells of the Cleric, or am I limited to 7th? Would this also work with other classes ...
20
votes
1answer
4k views

Is it possible to “charge up” a sorcerer/warlock by taking multiple short rests?

So according to the wonders of multiclassing, it is possible to take levels in both Sorcerer (granting us sorcery points) and Warlock (giving us Pact Magic) which creates the handy combo of turning ...
20
votes
3answers
47k views

Multiclassing: How do Ability Score Improvements work?

Given that every class gets a minimum of 5 ability score improvements each at levels 4, 8, 12, 16, and 19 (Rogue and Fighter get more at other levels), do these ability score improvements occur by ...
20
votes
1answer
11k views

Do you gain any proficiencies when multi-classing other than weapon and armor?

When multi-classing, do you gain any other proficiencies outside of weapon and armor. In particular do you gain saving throw proficiencies?
19
votes
4answers
3k views

Does a Multiclassed spell slot higher than your choosable spells enable you to use a Spell Scroll without making an ability check?

I am aware that, to use a Spell Scroll, you must have the related spell on (at least one of) your spell list(s). Then, if you have the spell slot to cast it, you succeed automatically; else, you must ...
19
votes
2answers
2k views

For a multiclassed cleric/wizard, can cleric class features be applied to my wizard spells, and vice versa?

I play a D&D 5e campaign. My Tempest Cleric is about to take his first multi-class dip into Wizard. Am I able to use my Cleric class and domain features on my Wizard spells, and vice-versa? Both ...
19
votes
1answer
2k views

Excessively multiclassed character - how many spell slots?

One of my friends is willing to run a truly insane campaign where I get to play a "jack of all trades" character, called Jack Sedart of course, who is the following classes; lv 1 Barbarian lv 3 Bard (...
19
votes
2answers
2k views

Why can only humans dual-class and only demihumans multiclass?

Is there an in-game explanation as to why some races can multi-class and others can dual-class? For example, is there an explanation in an article or book somewhere saying that It's the will of the ...
18
votes
8answers
8k views

How can I roleplay multiclassing to explain new class features?

A nice broad question to set the scene I'm fairly new to roleplaying and I'm struggling with a valid reasons for both why and how a character would multiclass into another class independently - that ...
18
votes
8answers
5k views

Do Two Class Features That Add The Same Modifier to Damage Double It?

I've had a question that I can't seem to find an answer to and it's hard to formulate a question that I feel is clear enough without explaining the setup. Lets use a 6/2 Sorc/Warlock as an example. ...
18
votes
3answers
4k views

Do you get the equipment of your new class when you multi-class?

When multi-classing, do you take the equipment from your new class and add it to the equipment you got from your main class?
17
votes
2answers
13k views

What Hit Dice do multiclass characters spend at the end of a short rest?

Under the rules for Short Rest you are able to heal: A character can spend one or more Hit Dice at the end of a short rest, up to the characters maximum number of Hit Dice, which is equal to the ...
17
votes
3answers
5k views

Can a multi-class spellcaster have one thing be two different focuses?

In my group, I have a Cleric 1/ Bard 1 character. He bangs on his engraved shield (cleric focus) to turn it into a war drum (bard focus). What are the rules concerning if a player can have two ...
16
votes
5answers
31k views

Does the level prerequisite for Invocations refer to class or character level?

The level requirements for Warlock invocations stated in the PHB are refering to which level, character or Warlock class? Example: If I multiclassed into Warlock, Monk6/Warlock2, would I be able to ...
16
votes
2answers
2k views

Does multi-classing into Fighter give you heavy armor proficiency?

A lot of build guides I've seen suggest you should dip into Fighter in order to get heavy armor proficiency. But that doesn't seem right since the multi-class rules in the PHB (p164) does not list ...
16
votes
5answers
27k views

Does a multiclass Sorcerer/Wizard have something that a single-class Wizard or Sorcerer doesn't have?

I have a character concept (for roleplaying reasons primarily) of a Sorcerer who started to study the Arcane in an intellectual way and gained a few levels as a Wizard. He is Sorcerer 3 / Wizard 3 now....
16
votes
1answer
5k views

Are Blastlocks not Special?

I am making a character for D&D 5e and I am thinking about playing an Abjurer Eldritch Knight with a dip of Warlock for some refluffed flavor, out of combat utility, in combat utility, and I just ...
16
votes
3answers
9k views

Multiclassed character with all classes - any reason this can't be done in 12 levels?

I was recently watching some Youtube gaming videos and came across this one in which the narrator created a character he said was book legal: a 14th level character who had at least one level in each ...
16
votes
1answer
5k views

Can I use Pact Magic spell slots gained on a short rest to gain sorcery points?

I'm planning on multi-classing in Warlock as a Sorcerer in 5e. I'd like to be able to use my Warlock spell slots from Pact Magic (that I regain on a short rest) to gain sorcery points. I'm inclined ...
16
votes
2answers
4k views

Can an arcane trickster/wizard multiclass use an arcane focus for their arcane trickster spells?

By default, an arcane trickster cannot use an arcane focus to cast their spells, as they lack the class feature that wizards and warlocks have that allows them to; this forces them to use a component ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens when it's time to level up and I no longer meet a multiclass prerequisite?

Suppose I'm playing a multiclass fighter/druid (because that's how I Range). I've got both Wisdom and Dexterity above 13, but Strength's only 10. I annoy an efreet, who uses wishes to reduce both my ...
15
votes
4answers
3k views

What do I lose by going Paladin 17 / Warlock 3, instead of taking 1 additional level or 1 fewer level in Warlock?

Background I have a 9th Level Oath of Redemption Scourge Aasimar Paladin. Due to the way the story has evolved, I will need to multiclass into warlock. My intention was to take levels 10, 11 and 12 ...
15
votes
5answers
53k views

How can I get the most synergy out of this Paladin/Warlock multi-class combination?

I'm planning on playing a Paladin/Warlock in an upcoming game and I've picked the Oath of Vengeance, and Great Old One Patron/Pact of Tome. I've made my backstory (island home sunk when invaded by ...
15
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a druid use powers from other classes while in beast form?

I'm a first-level Druid, and I'm thinking of using my next feat to multiclass into Paladin (specifically to be able to take some helpful Encounter powers later on). Regardless of how smart this is, or ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a multiclassed wizard start with a spellbook?

If I multiclass into Wizard, do I automatically begin with a spellbook? I'm looking for support within the written rules. Designer intent is a consideration, but their intent should be well supported ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a 9th-level multiclassed monk move along vertical surfaces while wearing armor?

I have design for a character, that is multiclassed into monk. I'm interesting the "wall running" ability that a monk has. However, I'm uncertain about what this means. If I'm wearing armor, do I ...
15
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a sorc 19 / cleric 1 cast cleric spells at higher sorcerer levels?

Inspired by this answer Sorc 19/Cleric 1 has a bit more issues. You only have the few L1 cleric spells, and lots of Sorcerer spells, make sure you took cleric spells that scale (so you can cast ...
14
votes
3answers
7k views

Can a rogue multiclass into druid?

My young son is stuck playing a 4th level rogue when he really wants to play a druid. He inherited the character from me when he joined the game and the GM is saying he can't swap* (the same GM who ...
14
votes
1answer
3k views

Can you multiclass out of your starting class if you don't have the required stats for it?

I am aware that you can only multiclass into a class that you have the required stats for (ex : dex 13 + wis 13 to multiclass into monk). I am also aware that your initial class can be one that you ...
14
votes
1answer
33k views

Proficiency bonuses and multiclassing: highest, add all together, or what?

When you multiclass, do you only use the highest proficiency bonus of any of the classes you have, do you add together all the proficiency bonuses from any classes you might have levels in or do you ...
14
votes
3answers
3k views

How do paladin and ranger class levels add up for multiclass spellcasting?

From page 164 of the PHB (here is the equivalent section of the Basic Rules): Spell Slots. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, ...
14
votes
3answers
5k views

Does multiclassing into Cleric grant Domain Bonus Proficiencies?

I know that the Multiclassing Proficiencies are listed on p. 164 of the Player's Handbook: Proficiencies When you gain a level in a class other than your first, you gain only some of that class'...