Questions tagged [multiattack]

For questions about multiattacks. In various editions of D&D, multi-attacking is the result of any of a variety of similar features/abilities that allow a creature to attack more than once on its turn.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5 votes
1 answer
372 views

How does the Multiple Attack Penalty apply to the Chain Reaction feat?

The Chain Reaction feat available to the Unexpected Sharpshooter dedication allows a character to, as a 3-action ability, make a shot, and then make additional strikes against new targets as long as ...
9 votes
3 answers
1k views

How do on-hit pushback effects interact with multiattacks?

Do "on-hit" effects which allow you to push a creature backwards get decided immediately when you roll the hit? Or after all attack rolls are made for multiattacks? If you have to decide ...
1 vote
1 answer
77 views

Does the Deep Impact feat apply to multiple attacks made as part of a full attack action?

I got a psychic warrior character who has taken the Deep Impact feat. This allows a character to make an attack vs touch AC by expending their psionic focus. Additionally, my character's base attack ...
  • 10.9k
2 votes
0 answers
350 views

Can a fighter/Eldritch Knight cast spells between attacks? [duplicate]

Recently been playing an Battle Master in a campaign and was rewarded with some spellwrought tattoos, and one of them was for Silence. A pretty great spell for fighter I figured, since my Athletics is ...
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does Thirsting Blade Stack With Twinned Blades?

Does Twinned Blades from the Compendium of Forgotten Secrets: Awakening stack with Thirsting Blade? Twinned Blades says both weapons are pact weapons, and Thirsting Blade affects my pact weapon. So ...
15 votes
2 answers
606 views

Can a creature with Multiattack use Disarm with one of its attacks?

Noteably a creature with multiattack cannot Grapple or Shove instead of one of its attacks, because these are other types of attacks than those the creature can use multiattack for. However Disarm (...
  • 719
8 votes
1 answer
568 views

In what way does two weapon fighting reduce the penalty of natural attacks?

https://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat#TOC-Natural-Attacks States the following (emphasis mine): You can make attacks with natural weapons in combination with attacks made with a melee ...
  • 315
17 votes
1 answer
1k views

Extra attack timing: can it be interrupted?

I am trying to figure out if an extra attack can be interrupted by another effect and terminate the attack action before all attacks are completed. The specific example I'm dealing with is thus: I ...
-7 votes
2 answers
2k views

Is the Artificer Armorer's Extra Attack feature limited to the Arcane Armor's simple weapons or any weapon the Armorer is proficient in?

Is the Artificer Armorer's Extra Attack feature limited to the Arcane Armor's simple weapons or any weapon the Armorer is proficient in? Extra Attack: Starting at 5th level, you can attack twice, ...
3 votes
1 answer
377 views

Does the Dual Wield Talent modify the rules about multi-attacks?

In the The Core Rulebook for Wrath & Glory 2nd edition, the dual wield talent is described as such: Dual Wield Talent You can wield two weapons with uncanny accuracy. When you wield one weapon in ...
  • 227
3 votes
1 answer
353 views

Can I multi-attack against a Mob?

In the Core Rulebook for Wrath & Glory 2nd edition, the rules about attacking state the following: Attacking Normally you make one attack per Round using your Combat Action. Special actions such ...
  • 227
4 votes
1 answer
129 views

How does the penalty for multiple actions work?

On page 6, the Mini Six rules state: Multiple Actions Characters may attempt to do more than one thing on a turn by withholding one die from every action they attempt for each action beyond the first....
  • 161
8 votes
1 answer
580 views

If a character can make multiple attacks as part of an Attack action, do all of them need to be done with a light weapon to use Two-Weapon Fighting?

The Two-Weapon Fighting rule states: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light ...
  • 6,281
1 vote
1 answer
328 views

Power Attack, Rage and Bite Attack together

We are looking at a Lvl4 Unchained Barbarian (BAB: +4, no multiple attacks yet) STR Bonus +3 Dwarven Longhammer-esque weapon that does not have the Reach Special Weapon Feature Animal Fury Rage Power ...
  • 1,381
16 votes
1 answer
4k views

How does the altered Extra Attack feature of the Bladesinger (Tasha's Cauldron version) interect with the Eldritch Knight Fighter's War Magic feature?

The Extra Attack feature of the Bladesinger allows you to replace one of your weapon attacks with casting a cantrip. The Eldritch Knight's War Magic feature checks if you have "use[d] your action ...
6 votes
2 answers
12k views

Can the Soulknife's psychic blades be used with extra attack as a thrown weapon?

The Soulknife (p63 TCoE) has the ability to manifest Psychic Blades Whenever you take the Attack action, you can manifest a psychic blade from your free hand and make the attack with that blade... .....
  • 10.5k
9 votes
2 answers
652 views

Can a multi-attack pounce be done twice?

A deinonychus has 40 feet movement speed so can it: move 20 ft> multiattack> 1st claw> pounce> bonus action bite> move 20 ft to another creature> 2nd claw>pounce>multiattack ...
  • 91
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

What would be the ramifications of replacing Multiattack with Extra Attack?

There are a lot of questions on "Extra Attack vs Multiattack" and it's become my opinion that the act of separating the two generates more confusion than value as a gameplay and balancing lever. It ...
  • 11.4k
10 votes
1 answer
2k views

Using Extra Attack feature with two-handed weapon and additional thrown weapon

As the title states, I have a question about how the rules handle using the Extra Attack class feature to make two separate attacks with a two-handed weapon and a thrown weapon. PHB Errata. Two-...
  • 103
3 votes
1 answer
470 views

A Thri-Kreen wielding two long swords two handedly, damage bonus calculation

A Thri Kreen has multiple limbs according to page 15 of the expanded psionics handbook: Multiple Limbs thri-kreen have four arms and thus can take the Multiweapon Fighting feat page 304 of the ...
  • 1,226
1 vote
1 answer
417 views

Thri-Kreen multi-attack total attack bonus calculation

Would you mind casting an eye over this and check my understanding is correct? This question refers to an NPC I'm modelling from AD&D Pegasus magazine #8. It's a 5th level Thri Kreen fighter and ...
  • 1,226
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can the Improved Cleaving Finish feat be triggered again by the attack it grants?

The Improved Cleaving Finish feat says: If you make a melee attack, and your target drops to 0 or fewer hit points as a result of your attack, you can make another melee attack using your highest ...
  • 1,381
8 votes
4 answers
3k views

Order of attacks when using Two Weapon Fighting and Extra Attack

Both Two Weapon Fighting and Extra Attack give additional attacks in a turn, but in what order do those attacks take place? Is it up to the player, or must it be a specific order? My initial ...
  • 213
6 votes
1 answer
276 views

Can a shapechanging creature multiattack when some attacks are not available?

When the Monster Manual's "Multiattack" action of a creature with a shape-changing ability lists attacks that are restricted to one or more forms, can the creature take the "Multiattack&...
  • 443
1 vote
1 answer
145 views

Does being slowed prevent using multiple shoves/grapples during an attack action?

If a creature has been slowed either from the slow spell or a stone golem's slow ability, it can't make more than one attack per turn. If a character can make multiple attacks per turn however (eg. ...
  • 25.2k
4 votes
3 answers
650 views

Can the Bandit Captain make a Multiattack after they're out of daggers?

The Bandit Captain has the following Multiattack text: Multiattack. The captain makes three melee attacks: two with its scimitar and one with its dagger. Or the captain makes two ranged attacks ...
2 votes
2 answers
851 views

What is the cost of Multiattack on Unarmed Attacks?

It may be a newbie question but nontheless... How much does the Multiattack Extra cost on Unarmed Strikes, if it is even possible? I have a Unarmed Attack based character, with the current strength of ...
  • 51
8 votes
2 answers
171 views

For a creature's natural attacks, is it possible to change the order of attacks?

As a Master of Many Forms, I recently started to use the Harpoon Spider as a form. Full attack is : Bite +11 melee and 2 fangs +2 ranged The ex attack harpooning works like this Harpooning (Ex): ...
  • 473
6 votes
1 answer
996 views

Would every head of a Hydra be affected by the Dragon's Breath spell?

I'm a DM setting up a oneshot. I have an idea to spice up combat a bit by giving a hydra a breath weapon. So far, the least homebrew option I've thought of is to have an enemy spellcaster cast dragon'...
  • 5,620
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can Orcus use Multiattack with any melee weapon?

This is kind of a fussy question, but I was reading through the stat blocks for some of the demon lords in D&D 5e today and came across a seeming edge case that I hadn't thought of before. Orcus ...
  • 21.5k
8 votes
1 answer
4k views

Does Reckless Attack work with Multiattack when wild shaped?

A druid/barbarian turns into an animal with multiattack and each of the attacks count as melee weapon attack. Reckless attack states When you make your first attack on your turn, you can decide to ...
  • 505
4 votes
1 answer
8k views

Can a dragon use its multiattack and its breath weapon in the same turn, or is it a choice between the two?

In the Monster Manual, it states that a dragon can use a multiattack of Frightful Presence, then a bite and two claw attacks. Can it use its breath weapon in the same turn? Or does it use its breath ...
  • 703
3 votes
2 answers
850 views

If I have multiple attacks, does the penalty from Combat Expertise apply to all attacks?

We're playing using the D&D 3.5 rules. In the rulebook for "Combat Expertise" it states that When you use the attack or full attack action in melee, you can take a penalty of -5 on your attack ...
11 votes
3 answers
947 views

Are there serious balance implications to allowing a multiclassed character get the Extra Attack feature directly at level 5?

In my campaign, a player has informed me that they plan to play a multiclassed Barbarian/Monk as their character. I've already informed them of the potential issues that might arise from the (relative)...
  • 51.5k
9 votes
1 answer
748 views

Is there a limit to how many enemies can be attacked using the Hunter ranger's Volley, Horde Breaker, and the second attack?

From other questions on here, I know that both Horde Breaker and Volley can be used together, as discussed here: Do the Hunter ranger's Horde Breaker and Volley features interact? Is there any ...
  • 91
4 votes
4 answers
803 views

If a Chuul grapples a creature as a result of its Multiattack, can it make a tentacle attack on the same turn?

One of my players and I differed on how we interpreted the Chuul's multiattack the other night. Below is the MM text: Multiattack. The chuul makes two pincer attacks. If the chuul is grappling a ...
  • 352
6 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can I use multiple hands for one attack, using this 6-Handed-Ones homebrew race?

I am playing D&D 5e, with some homebrew elements. I happen to have started a character with the 6-Handed Ones homebrew race by monrester. This race has the Multihands feature: You have 6 hands....
10 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can a vampire attack twice with their claws using Multiattack?

In Monster Manual p. 295-298, it talks about PCs becoming Vampires. The Vampire stat block says: Multiattack. The vampire makes two attacks, only one of which can be a bite attack. (The Vampire ...
  • 101
12 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can a monster with multiattack use this ability if they are missing a limb?

For example, could a Giant Ape with one arm still use Multiattack even though it is listed as "two fist attacks"?
1 vote
1 answer
362 views

Can a Human Shapeshift Variant Druid take Multiattack at 1st level?

Does Shapeshift Variant Druid (From PHB2) with access to Beast Claws spell (Spell Compendium) qualify for Multiattack (and by, extension Imp. Multiattack) at 1st level (By using the spell for 2 claw ...
  • 335
11 votes
1 answer
495 views

On a multiattack, if the first hit imposes a specific condition, is the second attack affected by that condition?

On a multiattack, if the first hit imposes a specific condition, does the second attack need to be adjusted based on the condition from the first? For example: A Carrion Crawler can make a multi-...
  • 901
33 votes
4 answers
7k views

Is there a meaningful difference between giving a monster multiattack and giving it multiple turns per round?

I'm creating a CR21 boss for my medium-level party of six players to fight. I know that action economy is a big disadvantage for a single enemy fighting an entire party, so I'm giving the boss the ...
  • 2,311
9 votes
3 answers
16k views

How does the bonus damage of the Great Weapon Master feat combine with the Extra Attack feature?

The Great Weapon Master feat adds +10 damage on melee attacks that hit. Say I subtract my -5 and still hit. If I am a fighter and attacking 2 or 3 times in one action, do I add +20 or +30 damage, or ...
  • 752
8 votes
6 answers
4k views

Does reincarnating into a race with multiattack grant you bonus attacks if you're a fighter?

I'm a level 15 fighter and I have Extra Attack(2): Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. The number of attacks increases to ...
5 votes
3 answers
1k views

How do I account for attack distribution when calculating CR?

When calculating a monster's CR, how do I account for whether the monster deals all its damage in one attack or via several attacks? Based on the DMG, it doesn't matter how the damage is distributed, ...
  • 2,144
2 votes
5 answers
2k views

How to build a rogue unchained to be able to fight with 2 blade boots and 2 daggers?

How to build an Elf rogue (unchained) to be able to fight with two "Blade boot" and (in my case) two "Dagger" at the same time? I am doing a two-weapon fighting Rogue Unchained. I found in the list ...
  • 372
18 votes
1 answer
5k views

Does casting Slow make a creature with Multiattack get only one attack?

Can someone use the slow spell on an entity that has multiattack so they only have one attack? For example, would a slowed hydra only get 1 attack? This came up in an argument with friends after ...
19 votes
2 answers
4k views

Can a reaction interrupt multiattack?

Last night, an Owlbear attacked us. It was injured, then attacked my Warlock. Obviously it uses its Multiattack action (MM, pg. 249): Multiattack. The owlbear makes two attacks: one with its beak and ...
  • 77.6k
15 votes
2 answers
6k views

Does a multiattack count as a single source of damage?

The rules for maintaining concentration on spells after getting hit state that: If you take damage from multiple sources, such as an arrow and a dragon’s breath, you make a separate saving throw ...
  • 465
27 votes
9 answers
49k views

Is it possible to get Extra Attack or equivalent without taking at least 5 levels in a class?

I am planning a Forge Domain Cleric character and think Extra Attack would suit them, but it seems as though multiclassing is the only way that would be possible, given that Forge Domain Clerics don't ...
  • 77.6k