Questions tagged [opportunity-attack]

For questions about opportunity attacks in D&D, Pathfinder, and related RPGs. The term "opportunity attack" generally refers to any sort of additional attack that gets triggered by an enemy leaving an opening in its defenses, either during his/her turn or while taking an opportunity action. (See also: the [opportunity-actions] tag.)

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
-2
votes
1answer
83 views

opportunity attack (D&D 5e) [closed]

My question has to do with situations where multiple "player characters" are in simultaneous combat with one or more "non-player characters". If an ally (ally 1) steps back after ...
0
votes
1answer
67 views

How effective is Spell Shield Magus Arcana in preventing attacks of opportunity from hitting?

My favorite class in Pathfinder is a Magus. I'm considering playing a reckless, Dex-based, magus who regularly carries out combat maneuvers. However, I don't want to allocate so many feats to improved ...
41
votes
9answers
113k views

Does a reach weapon allow you to threaten squares 10 feet away or not?

In D&D 5e, does a reach weapon allow you to threaten squares up to 10 feet away for the purpose of Opportunity Attacks or does it just allow you to attack squares up to 10 feet away? There is ...
5
votes
1answer
175 views

Is a creature's reach linked to the reach of its attacks?

This is an issue I've seen coming up with the addition of the Eldritch Claw Tattoo in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, though there seem like there were possible cases of it before. As far as I can ...
10
votes
2answers
591 views

Does falling provoke opportunity attacks?

Consider this scenario. A sorcerer climbs 20 foot up a tree and gets surprised by a large snake. The snake misses, and then the sorcerer wins initiative and decides to let go of the tree branches. ...
11
votes
3answers
3k views

Can you really stack all of this on an Opportunity Attack?

I've stumbled upon a character idea which has quite the potentially to screw someone if they run from you, and I want to know if it is legal in the rules. A high elf rogue/cleric with the booming ...
3
votes
2answers
164 views

Anything other than Combat Reflexes for more AoOs?

The D&D 3.5e counterpart to a previous question of mine: how do I get more attacks of opportunity as a low-Dex character? Between heavy armor, penalties from increasing my size, and grapples ...
-1
votes
1answer
175 views

No idea on how to use Attacks of Opportunity

I am a new DM. My friends are new too to the game as well, so we are trying to get familiar with the rules. One rule that we can't get is the one on attacks of opportunity. My friends say that you ...
4
votes
2answers
12k views

D&D 3.5e understanding attacks of opportunity

I am currently assisting in the DMing of the game as far as understanding rules. In the last game session we played I experienced a AoO for the first time as did the actual DM. A PC(1) was engaged in ...
4
votes
3answers
839 views

Does an Echo Knight fighter's echo provoke an opportunity attack when it moves?

Does an Echo Knight fighter's echo provoke an opportunity attack when it moves? The Echo Knight fighter's Manifest Echo feature says, in part (EGtW, p. 183; emphasis mine): At 3rd level, you can use ...
5
votes
1answer
327 views

Would a Zealot barbarian's Divine Fury feature trigger during an opportunity attack?

The Path of the Zealot barbarian (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 11) gets the Divine Fury feature at level 3, which states: At 3rd level, while you're raging, the first creature you hit on each ...
6
votes
1answer
933 views

Can a monk use the Stunning Strike feature on an opportunity attack?

The description of the monk's Stunning Strike class feature states: When you hit with a melee weapon attack, you can spend 1 ki point to make the target stunned until the end of your next turn if it ...
6
votes
1answer
276 views

Can a battlemaster use Maneuvering Attack to prevent two creatures from opportunity attacking one ally?

Maneuvering Attack. When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can expend one superiority die to maneuver one of your comrades into a more advantageous position. You add the superiority die to ...
20
votes
4answers
4k views

Can a Hydra make multiple opportunity attacks at once?

A normal creature only has one reaction that may be used as a single attack of opportunity. A Hydra, though, has one of these reactions per head. My question would be: may several reactions be ...
21
votes
1answer
6k views

Do Animated Objects make Opportunity Attacks?

Do the objects animated by the Animate Objects spell make opportunity attacks? While I believe animated objects are certainly capable of opportunity attacks, the wording "If you command an object to ...
24
votes
2answers
27k views

Do Booming Blade and the Spell Sniper feat stack?

If you have the spell sniper feat (doubles range of spells), and you use a weapon with reach, can you cast booming blade and hit a creature at 10ft? Can you also combine this with the feats Polearm ...
2
votes
1answer
192 views

Can you Ready an action with someone's reaction as a trigger?

The rule for readied action says: First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Of course, it's rather hard to be ready for someone's else reactions, especially first-...
7
votes
2answers
671 views

Can an Echo Knight with the War Caster feat use spells in place of opportunity attacks made by their Echo?

The Echo Knight fighter has the Manifest Echo feature, which grants the following ability, among others (EGtW, p. 183): When a creature that you can see within 5 feet of your echo moves at least 5 ...
8
votes
1answer
240 views

When the War Caster feat lets my Echo Knight fighter cast a spell instead of the Manifest Echo feature's opportunity attack, where is it cast from?

This question is inspired by the following one: Can an Echo Knight with the War Caster feat use cantrips for opportunity attacks made by their Echo? Part of the Echo Knight fighter's Manifest Echo ...
23
votes
3answers
3k views

Can a druid get out of wild shape to avoid an opportunity attack?

Suppose a druid is shapeshifted into a beast of large size and adjacent (within 5 ft) of an enemy with a reach of 5ft. On the druid's turn, he reverts to humanoid form, reducing his size from large ...
9
votes
1answer
389 views

Does Tremorsense allow Attacks of Opportunity while Blinded?

Can a monster with tremorsense that is blinded make attacks of opportunity when an enemy leaves its reach? Tremorsense is described as: A monster with tremorsense can detect and pinpoint the origin ...
3
votes
1answer
586 views

Does the bonus damage from Spirit Shroud apply to an Echo's opportunity attacks?

The UA spell Spirit Shroud has the following effect: Until the spell ends, any attack you make deals 1d8 extra damage when you hit a creature within 10 feet of you. The Echo Knight has the following ...
22
votes
2answers
2k views

If a creature is hit by an OA by someone with the Sentinel feat, but then gains a new type of speed, does that new speed also become 0 for the turn?

The first benefit of the Sentinel feat says (PHB, p. 169-170): When you hit a creature with an opportunity attack, the creature's speed becomes 0 for the rest of the turn. If a character with the ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Can Specters move into the ground to avoid Opportunity Attacks?

In 5e, Specters have the Incorporeal Movement trait, which says: The specter can move through other creatures and objects as if they were difficult terrain. It takes 5 (1d10) force damage if it ends ...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

Does moving behind full cover count as “leaving the opponent's reach” for purposes of Attack of Opportunity?

Suppose I am fighting an enemy with the usual 5-foot reach. He is standing next to a wall beside an open doorway. I am in next to him in the room. Without leaving his 5-foot range, I move to the ...
36
votes
4answers
43k views

Can you grapple a creature as an opportunity attack?

This came up in a game I was in the other day, so I'm curious as to know how this works. A gnome was attempting to flee past us up the stairs and I declared that I'd like to try and stop him, by using ...
43
votes
4answers
74k views

Do the Tunnel Fighter UA fighting style and the Polearm Master feat combine to grant indefinite opportunity attacks?

Here's the scenario: The character in question has both the Tunnel Fighter fighting style from Unearthed Arcana: Light, Dark, Underdark!, which says: You excel at defending narrow passages, ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Opportunity Attack, Ready Action, & Eldritch Blast/Repelling Blast

Scenario: A druid ally is in melee range of an enemy berserker and decides to move away, provoking an attack of opportunity from the berserker. My character has readied an action: Cast Eldritch Blast (...
6
votes
1answer
98 views

Does the Hover action provoke?

The Hover action has a Move trait so am I right in assuming this would provoke an attack of opportunity?
1
vote
1answer
74 views

AoO from multiple Mythic abilities

I'm playing a 19th-level fighter that is Mythic 3; I have both Deadly Dodge and the feat Mythic Shield Master. I have mythic combat reflexes. In the event that I have both spent the Mythic Point for ...
7
votes
1answer
647 views

If a character with the Polearm Master feat teleports into a space within reach of an enemy, can they make an opportunity attack upon arrival?

I have a character that can swap locations with another via teleportation as an action. (Specifically, it is the UA Mystic's Transposition effect from the Nomadic Step discipline, but the School of ...
21
votes
2answers
3k views

When an invisible character leaves a blindsight creature's reach, does the creature get an Opportunity Attack?

A character in the party cast Invisibility on herself, making her invisible. She then tried to move past a Giant Spider, which has Blindsight 10 ft. Per "Does Blindsight detect Invisibility?" the ...
4
votes
1answer
296 views

Can the third benefit of the Mobile feat prevent multiple creatures you attack in a single turn from making opportunity attacks against you that turn?

I am playing a monk. I wanted to use the Mobile feat, specifically the third option that prevents opportunity attacks, to do the following: hit creature 1 with my attack, then move away from creature ...
6
votes
1answer
130 views

Does moving a grappled foe through someone's threatened area trigger an attack of opportunity?

If one has grappled a foe, and then succeeds on a check to maintain it, one of the options is: You can move both yourself and your target up to half your speed. At the end of your movement, you can ...
1
vote
1answer
172 views

To “rescue” a fallen ally, do you have to enter their 5' square?

Apologies if this has been answered elsewhere, but I did spend a couple of hours researching this online and didn't find anything definitive. I DM a campaign in which a party member has fallen ...
10
votes
3answers
2k views

Can you combine Polearm Master, Tunnel Fighter, and Warcaster (with Repelling Blast)?

We have a player who is playing a Fighter with a level of Warlock, wielding a polearm, and they say they should be able to get the initial opportunity attack from Polearm Master when a foe enters ...
14
votes
4answers
1k views

Are there any class abilities that allow a character to negate/disable the Disengage action?

Are there any class abilities I'm not aware of that allow a character to negate/disable the Disengage action?
7
votes
2answers
434 views

Can the creature from a Bag of Tricks make opportunity attacks?

The bag of tricks description includes the following: You can use an action to pull the fuzzy object from the bag and throw it up to 20 feet. When the object lands, it transforms into a creature you ...
11
votes
2answers
653 views

Do opportunity attacks have disadvantage if I use my action to Dodge and then move out of melee range?

I am currently playing a multi-class Cleric 5 / Rogue 2 and at times I have managed to kite melee mobs successfully using my Cunning Action to Disengage, then my movement and then using a ranged ...
5
votes
2answers
261 views

Can a Gelatinous Cube's Engulf be stoppend by sentinel?

The first part of the Gelatinous Cube’s Engulf reads: Engulf. The cube moves up to its speed. While doing so, it can enter Large or smaller creatures' spaces. Whenever the cube enters a creature's ...
12
votes
3answers
21k views

Does Sentinel's opportunity attack trigger when I shove someone? [duplicate]

Alright, so me and my pal are working through making a 5e fighty Cleric. He wants to take the Sentinel and Shield Master feats. Sentinel and Shield Master's relevant parts read: Sentinel You have ...
9
votes
5answers
26k views

When using a reach weapon, which squares around me can I attack?

Considering a medium creature, with 5ft of reach, wielding a reach weapon such as a longspear. By the rules: With a typical reach weapon, you can strike opponents 10 feet away, but you can't strike ...
17
votes
3answers
2k views

How to describe that an enemy can avoid opportunity attacks?

I'm the DM of my group. When we are playing I try to describe the effects and actions of enemies and npcs without spelling out exactly what they are to keep some mystique to the actions. Like ...
4
votes
2answers
249 views

Does the Blink spell provoke an opportunity attack from someone with the Polearm Master feat?

Would reappearing from blink allow for an attack of opportunity against the caster from someone with Polearm Master? While wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures ...
13
votes
3answers
4k views

Does teleporting into a Polearm Master’s reach provoke attack of opportunity?

I understand the Player’s Handbook’s ruling on teleportation and attack of opportunity when teleporting out of someone’s reach. My question however is, does teleporting into someone’s reach when they ...
12
votes
1answer
409 views

Can I still choose to allow an opportunity attack against me if I have the Mobile feat?

The third benefit of the Mobile feat says (PHB, p. 168): When you make a melee attack against a creature, you don’t provoke opportunity attacks from that creature for the rest of the turn, whether ...
6
votes
1answer
97 views

If an attack of opportunity is provoked by an enemy using a ranged weapon while in a threatened square, what order do the attacks happen in?

Character A is using a ranged weapon while he is within the threatened area of character B. For that reason, character B can make an attack of opportunity against character A. Regarding the order of ...
14
votes
2answers
12k views

Does a Grapple or Shove count as an attack for the Mobile feat?

The Mobile feat enables you to not get opportunity attacks from creatures you try to attack. Does it still apply if the attack you made was a Grapple or Shove ?
2
votes
1answer
108 views

Leaving threatened range with Opportunistic Withdrawal

The Opportunistic Withdrawal feat from D&D 4e PHB3 says: While you are adjacent to an enemy granting combat advantage to you your movement doesn't provoke opportunity Attacks from that enemy. ...
4
votes
1answer
679 views

If I'm only holding a whip and have the War Caster feat, can I cast a spell as a reaction when an enemy moves out of unarmed strike range?

This is a follow up to War Caster, a whip and a dagger, and provoking Opportunity Attacks, but without the dagger part. Question: If I'm holding a Whip but not other melee weapon, can I still cast a ...

1
2 3 4 5
9