Questions tagged [opportunity-attack]

In d20 and similar games, an opportunity attack refers to any sort of extra attack that gets triggered by an enemy opening up his/her defenses either during his/her turn or while taking an opportunity action.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
48
votes
1answer
141k views

When can I make opportunity attacks?

What provokes an opportunity attack? In 3.X moving out of a threatened square, standing up from prone, casting a spell (unless cast defensively), or making a ranged attack provoked, while in 4e ...
32
votes
1answer
18k views

Can I trigger an Opportunity Attack by forcing an opponent to move out of my reach?

If I cause an opponent to leave my reach with an ability, spell, or effect can I use my reaction to take an Opportunity Attack against them?
37
votes
3answers
51k views

Do rogues get sneak attack damage added to attacks made outside their turn?

PHB says 'once per turn,' so, it would seem that a Rogue with Sentinel, for example, could "consistently" deal Sneak attack twice per round (whether the enemy triggers an OA or the melee weapon attack ...
42
votes
9answers
20k views

When are Opportunity Attacks provoked while holding a reach and a non-reach weapon?

Assume I wield a Whip in one hand and a dagger in the other. If a creature moves from 5ft to 10ft it has technically moved out of my reach (dagger), but at the same time it is still inside my reach (...
37
votes
7answers
79k views

Does a reach weapon allow you to threaten squares 10 feet away or not?

In D&D 5e, does a reach weapon allow you to threaten squares up to 10 feet away for the purpose of Opportunity Attacks or does it just allow you to attack squares up to 10 feet away? There is ...
11
votes
5answers
3k views

War Caster, a whip and a dagger, and provoking Opportunity Attacks

This related question gives an answer about provoking opportunity attacks when wielding a dagger and a whip. I am interested how this interacts with the feat War Caster (5e PHB p170): When a ...
10
votes
4answers
784 views

Can a readied action or an attack of opportunity interrupt and thus cancel another action?

Can an attack of opportunity or a readied action interfere with another creature's action so that the creature, essentially, loses that action? Example 1: Nadir the rogue and Peake the bugbear are ...
9
votes
1answer
857 views

Is a creature's square included in its threatened area?

A creature threatens the squares in which it can make a melee attack, but does that include its own space? (If it's relevant, assume it's a medium creature.)
34
votes
3answers
4k views

Can a monster with no melee attack make an Opportunity Attack?

Specifically, in D&D 5e is the Flameskull allowed to take opportunity attacks against enemies that move away from it? It has spells and one at-will spell attack (Fire Ray), but no melee abilities ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a falling creature provoke Opportunity Attacks on the way down?

I'm in a D&D4e game right now, and in the current combat there are some flying creatures which may soon be knocked prone by PC #1. As part of being knocked prone, a flying creature falls to the ...
32
votes
3answers
28k views

Can you make a grapple attack as an Attack of Opportunity

This came up in a game I was in the other day, so I'm curious as to know what people think. A gnome was attempting to flee past us up the stairs and I declared that I'd like to try and stop him, by ...
10
votes
3answers
7k views

Does the Warcaster feat grant ranged spell attacks in melee range without disadvantage?

An opportunity attack is described this way: You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Fog Cloud and attacks of opportunity

Quickly summarizing the situation so people may be able to understand it a little more. Our party was forced to brawl against a group of orcs in order to gain their respect to speak with their ...
18
votes
1answer
10k views

When you cast invisibility on your turn, and walk away from 2 enemies, do they get an attack of opportunity?

When a PC is in melee with a creature, casts the basic invisibility spell, and leaves melee, does an NPC get an attack of opportunity?
15
votes
2answers
4k views

Do I draw opportunity attacks when my mount uses flyby?

I am a forest gnome ranger under the beast master archetype. If I have a flying mount with flyby, like the pteranodon, do I still draw opportunity attacks while riding it?
9
votes
3answers
1k views

What order do Opportunity Attacks that trigger simultaneously happen in?

In a game I am playing my GM decided that OAs happen in arbitrary order of the person doing the attack, instead of all at the same time — the order isn't even in the order of initiative. I was under ...
16
votes
3answers
17k views

Does Booming Blade and Spell Sniper Stack?

If you have the spell sniper feat (doubles range of spells), and you use a weapon with reach, can you cast booming blade and hit a creature at 10ft? Can you also combine this with the polearm mastery ...
17
votes
2answers
4k views

Can you be tripped by an AoO while standing up?

Let's say "John" is a fighter who has selected a number of feats to focus on tripping his enemies, including Greater Trip, and Combat Reflexes, and wielding a Reach Weapon while under the effect of a ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Attacks of Opportunity from moving within a threatened area?

I'm curious about moving in threatened squares, say I'm a fighter and I'm already in a square fighting a monster with normal melee range and I move to the opposite side of him so that an ally can move ...
2
votes
1answer
490 views

How can my sniper get enough attacks of opportunity?

Recently, there's been some talk about starting up an old Pathfinder game again, and I'm a bit worried about my character being able to adequately support her end of a combo that's rather central to ...
18
votes
2answers
1k views

How do I know which attack a creature would use for an opportunity attack?

Take for example a Ruffian CR 1/2 creature, he has a Multiattack Action of 2 Shortswords both with a reach of 5 ft so when something provokes an Opportunity Attack against it, it is obvious that the ...
18
votes
2answers
3k views

If an enemy moves and provokes an opportunity attack, where are they when the AoO happens?

I was surprised to find no mention of this in the Opportunity Attack rules on d20pfsrd or on the Paizo SRD: if an enemy moves from tile A to tile B and provokes an opportunity attack from me in doing ...
13
votes
2answers
5k views

Does using “Flee” with Command provoke an Opportunity Attack?

On a failed save, the target obeys the Flee command by [Spending] its turn moving away from you by the fastest available means. Three questions: Does that mean they take the Dash action? If not,...
12
votes
3answers
18k views

Does Sentinel's opportunity attack trigger when I shove someone? [duplicate]

Alright, so me and my pal are working through making a 5e fighty Cleric. He wants to take the Sentinel and Shield Master feats. Sentinel and Shield Master's relevant parts read: Sentinel You ...
11
votes
1answer
6k views

Can pulling with Thorn Whip generate an Opportunity Attack? [duplicate]

Let's say my party member is around 30 feet in front of me and engaged with a monster in melee close combat. If I successfully cast Thorn Whip and pull the monster 10 feet closer to me, will this ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you combine War Caster, whip, and Warlock Features to Eldritch Blast enemies with reach?

So, Whip is a one-handed martial weapon with reach. Reach is a feature that, among other things, lets you make opportunity attacks with that weapon out to 10 feet instead of just five. Equipment ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

AoOs against the same enemy on his turn?

I have seen this question for D&D 4e: Attacks of Opportunity from moving within a threatened area? and I was wondering about attacks of opportunity in Pathfinder/3.5e. If an enemy goes from one ...
4
votes
1answer
9k views

Can a shove give an Opportunity Attack? [duplicate]

For example, the shield mastery feat gives the option to shove an adjacent creature 5ft as a bonus action. Could you make an Opportunity Attack on the creature because it leaves your threat range ...
38
votes
4answers
57k views

Do the Tunnel Fighter UA fighting style and the Polearm Master feat combine to grant indefinite opportunity attacks?

Here's the scenario: The character in question has both the Tunnel Fighter fighting style from Unearthed Arcana: Light, Dark, Underdark!, which says: You excel at defending narrow passages, ...
23
votes
2answers
1k views

Is War Caster's spell still considered an Opportunity Attack?

The feat War Caster allows you to cast a spell when an enemy provokes an Opportunity Attack from you. The spell must target only the provoking creature, and can only have a casting time of 1 Action. ...
21
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a druid get out of wild shape to avoid an opportunity attack?

Suppose a druid is shapeshifted into a beast of large size and adjacent (within 5 ft) of an enemy with a reach of 5ft. On the druid's turn, he reverts to humanoid form, reducing his size from large ...
8
votes
1answer
657 views

At what point do you leave a creature's reach when moving vertically?

The scenario: creature 1 (C1) is flying (and can hover) directly above creature 2 (C2). They are in melee combat with each other and both have 5' reach. They are both medium size, both are 6' tall, ...
24
votes
2answers
4k views

Can I circle around an opponent and avoid opportunity attacks?

I have had trouble finding this information in the PHB. If as a fighter I stand on one side of an enemy, can I move to the other side of him as long as I stay in reach so that I don't provoke an ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Does moving behind full cover count as “leaving the opponent's reach” for purposes of Attack of Opportunity?

Suppose I am fighting an enemy with the usual 5-foot reach. He is standing next to a wall beside an open doorway. I am in next to him in the room. Without leaving his 5-foot range, I move to the ...
10
votes
3answers
3k views

Does the Goblin Boss's Redirect Attack provoke an opportunity attack?

The Goblin Boss's Redirect Attack (MM 166) uses a reaction to switch places with another goblin. Redirect Attack. When a creature the goblin can see targets it with an attack, the goblin chooses ...
20
votes
2answers
3k views

When an invisible character leaves a blindsight creature's reach, does the creature get an Opportunity Attack?

A character in the party cast Invisibility on herself, making her invisible. She then tried to move past a Giant Spider, which has Blindsight 10 ft. Per "Does Blindsight detect Invisibility?" the ...
20
votes
4answers
5k views

Why does shifting in D&D 4 not provoke Opportunity Attacks?

My gaming group is brand new. We had our first session tonight. I had a few questions for this SE... the first is this one. Why does shifting in D&D 4 not provoke Opportunity Attacks? Or am I ...
18
votes
2answers
7k views

Can you combine Polearm Master with War Caster to cast Booming Blade as enemies approach?

The Polearm Master feat (PHB, p. 168) says: While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, or quarterstaff, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach. The ...
17
votes
1answer
3k views

Does Sentinel work against creatures who can avoid Opportunity Attacks?

Sentinel states: Creatures within 5 feet of you provoke opportunity attacks from you even if they take the Disengage action before leaving your reach. Does this mean any creature at any time ...
17
votes
1answer
3k views

Do characters provoke opportunity attack when they leave another character's reach who is not facing them?

"You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that YOU CAN SEE moves out of your reach." In 5E do you have to specify which way your character is facing at all times? If an enemy who ...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

Does the Infestation cantrip cause the target to provoke opportunity attacks?

Infestation is one of the new cantrips from Unearthed Arcana: Starter Spells. Here is the relevant text The target must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or take 1d6 piercing damage. If ...
12
votes
2answers
5k views

Can Sentinel interrupt an enemy's attack?

The Sentinel feat allows a melee attack when an enemy within 5' of you makes an attack. If you kill this enemy with your attack does their attack still go through? Same question if say you knock ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I threaten adjacent squares while using spiked gauntlets and a bow?

I have read many posts about using a spiked gauntlet(s) with a pole arm to threaten adjacent squares. My question is, would I still be able to threaten adjacent squares as an archer who uses a bow?
9
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a creature use an immediate interrupt power and an opportunity attack in the same round?

Can one creature or character use both an immediate interrupt and an opportunity attack in the same round, or are they mutually exclusive actions?
9
votes
1answer
4k views

When a creature is prone, can it make opportunity attacks?

If a creature is knocked prone, can it still make opportunity attacks?
8
votes
1answer
11k views

Can I use a spell to make an Opportunity Attack?

The Player's Handbook only describes that a melee attack is allowed when making an Opportunity Attack. Does this only mean melee weapon attacks, or does it allow some spells? Also assuming that if it ...
8
votes
2answers
820 views

Does stabilizing a character in combat provoke an attack of opportunity? [duplicate]

We had a session recently wherein a character went down in combat due to a creature attack. Two other characters stepped up to engage the creature while a third attempted to stabilize the downed ...
6
votes
4answers
3k views

How to resolve an endless loop of attacks of opportunity?

Combatant Alice and combatant Bob, both wielding a dagger in one hand, strike each other using an off-hand unarmed attack. No one has the Improved Unarmed Strike feat. Assuming that you can make AoO ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Moving within a threatened area causing AoO

When I started playing DnD, we treated leaving a threatened square as actually leaving the entire threat range. So moving from one threatened square to another on the same creature was never a problem....
6
votes
4answers
2k views

Does movement continue after an Opportunity Attack?

If a character moves away from a square adjacent to a monster, the monster gets an OA. Good. What happens after the attack is resolved? Can the character continue moving? So far, I've houseruled ...