Skip to main content

Questions tagged [polymorph]

For questions about polymorphing in RPGs, which generally refers to the ability to change a creature or object from one form to another form. This may be done either voluntarily or involuntary.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
8 votes
1 answer
443 views

Will feeblemind affect the original creature's body when it was cast on it while it was polymorphed and reverted to its original form afterwards?

I tend to think that the original body should not be affected by the spell since casting polymorph on an already-feebleminded creature temporarily assumes the game statistics of the beast. ...
Graybark's user avatar
  • 616
6 votes
1 answer
191 views

Can a polymorphed Will-O-Wisp use Natural Invisibility?

Sneaking or scouting: Will-O’-Wisp: 9 HD, Small, Fly 50 (perfect), Str 1, Dex 29, Con 10 Normally, you do not gain Special Abilities of a creature, however, you do gain abilities that are "...
Terry Windwalker's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
201 views

Can Polymorph allow access to extra spells? Or can it generally grant spells?

Could you switch out your current spells with other spells? Or can something with no ability of magic be polymorphed into a creature capable of using magic?
jack0the0tricker's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
516 views

Can someone use True Polymorph to breed real, rare or legendary monsters?

Question Type: Theory Crafting (with a comical twist) The spell in question: True polymorph Goal: Breed baby versions of "Real" legendary or Ultra Rare monsters with legendary and Lair ...
Play Patrice's user avatar
  • 5,096
5 votes
0 answers
169 views

What can be done to make a transmutation seem real even to magical senses?

The core problem For characters living in a world where high level and possibly epic casters (without the Epic Spellcasting feat) exist, passing for the creature they're polymorphed into is hard. A ...
Zachiel's user avatar
  • 35.3k
7 votes
2 answers
634 views

If a player character is polymorphed, how does that interact with their companions, steel defender, summoned creatures, etc.?

If a player character is polymorphed, how does that interact with their companions, steel defender, summoned creatures, etc.? For example, if you're playing a Battlesmith artificer, your steel ...
crystalkalem's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
151 views

Does Polymorph Remove Exhaustion? [duplicate]

In Critical Role Campaign 2 Episode 118, jester was suffering a point of exhaustion from a failed survival roll and chose to cast polymorph on herself. Matt ruled that the point of exhaustion did not ...
Ford Davis's user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can you use True Polymorph and an Intellect Devourer to potentially learn Deep Speech and a secret?

I have been thinking of making a homebrewed campaign where, as part of a bigger plot, the party needs to learn Deep Speech and a secret that a particular Intellect Devourer learnt from consuming the ...
Senmurv's user avatar
  • 9,790
3 votes
1 answer
586 views

Can an Adult Gold Dragon Turn into a Goblinoid Creature?

There's a running trend out there about True Polymorph/Wish and Adult Gold Dragons. My character is classified as Goblinoid, however, so I ran into a small condundrum that I think I know the answer to,...
J Thompson's user avatar
  • 1,849
1 vote
2 answers
183 views

Can a psion with Metamorphosis and Assume Supernatural Ability create an army of Scythers of Thoon under his command?

Metamorphosis yourself and your psicrystal into Madcrafters of Thoon. Use Assume Supernatural Ability: Launch Spawn to create as many Scythers of Thoon you want. Use some form of infinite healing to ...
fuzzywuzzy1951's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
313 views

What could a Homunculus Servant transform into via true polymorph?

Looking at the Homunculus Servant stat block, I noticed that for CR it's just blankt. Not 0, not number, just blank. It made me wonder, would it be affected by spells like polymorph or true polymorph? ...
TheMonkeFist's user avatar
8 votes
4 answers
3k views

If I'm Wild Shaped or Polymorphed and reduced to 0 hit points, can I use Strength Before Death as a reaction to take an extra turn?

The ability comes from the Fighter Samurai subclass. Strength Before Death Starting at 18th level, your fighting spirit can delay the grasp of death. If you take damage that reduces you to 0 hit ...
Esdras not a mimic Cardona's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
94 views

Can a Psion who can manifest Metamorphosis grab Assume Supernatural Ability?

I prefer Assume Supernatural Ability over Metamorphic Transfer because it doesn't have a daily limit and I'm only interested in one Su ability. The problem with Assume Supernatural Ability is this: ...
fuzzywuzzy1951's user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
2k views

Since pixies can cast polymorph, can a party chain polymorph to all become pixies?

Pixies are CR1/4 so any character targeted with polymorph could become a pixie. Polymorph is an ability a pixie has that can be cast at 1/day. So if a wizard cast polymorph on themselves to a pixie I ...
f4hy's user avatar
  • 189
8 votes
1 answer
525 views

What statistics are exactly eligible for polymorph?

This question came from trying to understand if you can polymorph someone into an armored sabre-tooth tiger, if that creature has no explicit printed stat block. It's clear that an actual stat blocks, ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you polymorph to a creature that is wearing armor?

Can you polymorph to a creature that is wearing armor? In game GM polymorphed an NPC to an armored sabretooth tiger (plate armor). Is that legal?. The NPC would turn into a regular sabretooth with no ...
Jhyarelle Silver's user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
483 views

Does Change Shape alter a creature mechanically?

To better illustrate my doubt: a gray ooze has the false appearance ability: False Appearance: While the ooze remains motionless, it is indistinguishable from an oily pool or wet rock. Meanwhile, in ...
ProjectApex's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
215 views

How does the Beast Transformation optional rule for the Beastlands work?

I'm a little confused about how to handle the Beast Transformation optional rule for the Beastlands (DMG, pg. 60). What happens when a creature drops to 0 hp before the spell becomes permanent (i.e., ...
Horstman5's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
658 views

What runes on a Handwraps are usable in Animal Form?

The Striking rune does not affect your combat abilities in Animal Form, because "the special statistics can be adjusted only by circumstance bonuses, status bonuses, and penalties" Which ...
András's user avatar
  • 65k
5 votes
3 answers
292 views

How to distinguish between effects that adjust a battle form's special statistics and those that don't?

Polymorph states that: If you take on a battle form with a polymorph spell, the special statistics can be adjusted only by circumstance bonuses, status bonuses, and penalties. However, I'm having a ...
Ruse's user avatar
  • 18.2k
7 votes
1 answer
768 views

Striking Handwraps and Animal Form

Handwraps of Mighty Blows increases the damage die: For example, +1 striking handwraps of mighty blows would give you a +1 item bonus to attack rolls with your unarmed attacks and increase the damage ...
András's user avatar
  • 65k
4 votes
1 answer
342 views

Polymorph magical item

I have a Warlock and I wanted it to be able to cast self-cast Polymorph. I wanted guidance to be able to show my DM a base item that would be able to do that so we can work on it. My question really ...
FMorschel's user avatar
  • 236
5 votes
1 answer
443 views

If a polymorphed player gets mummy rot, does it persist when they leave their polymorphed form?

The party sorcerer polymorphed himself into a T-Rex and got his CHOMP-CHOMP on with the Mummy Lord, taking a few hits in the process. The T-Rex now has mummy rot which is described as: The cursed ...
aaron9eee's user avatar
  • 10.8k
8 votes
2 answers
1k views

What actions can I use in battle forms, and how?

If I have Intimidating Glare, I can Demoralize without speaking. So I think it should work in Animal Form. However, what is my Charisma? Is it changed? If I want to Tumble Through, how high is my ...
András's user avatar
  • 65k
5 votes
2 answers
235 views

Grant infinite use of polymorph (to humanoid only) to familiar?

I am wondering if there would be an option to grant the familiar the ability to polymorph itself into a humanoid form (just like what dragons do), which could be interesting story-wise. The closes hit ...
Terry Windwalker's user avatar
0 votes
3 answers
598 views

If a creature is hit by a Polymorph spell (becoming a beast), then hit by a Speak with Animals spell, could the creature be understood?

I was wondering if it would be possible to use Polymorph to speak with any creature via Speak with Animals. However, the spell does have a clause about: can't speak that really bothers me. What if ...
TieflingDragon84's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
580 views

Can a creature that can't understand any languages understand the languages of a creature that can't speak if it is polymorphed?

An earlier question about a creature that can't speak(a displacer beast) got me thinking: what if the creature was polymorphed into a creature that could understand languages but couldn't speak, such ...
TieflingDragon84's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
947 views

What is the upper size limit for an object that True Polymorph can change a creature into?

True Polymorph says: Creature into Object If you turn a creature into an object, it transforms along with whatever it is wearing and carrying into that form. The creature's statistics become those of ...
sil's user avatar
  • 463
2 votes
3 answers
304 views

Is there a way to obtain, from one's own spells, creatures that could be True Polymorphed into objects?

TL;DR: How can a character produce, ->via spells<-, creatures that can be True Polymorphed into objects without disappearing later? [NOTE: for the scope of the question, I am not concerned with ...
Qami's user avatar
  • 479
10 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can you cast True Polymorph to turn a creature into an object, and then into a (new) creature? How would it work?

I am DMing a level 20 "3-shot" set in the present day. I am trying to run the sessions as RAW as possible. After our first session, a player whose character can cast True Polymorph wanted to ...
Garrett's user avatar
  • 101
21 votes
2 answers
3k views

If a vampire casts alter self, would they have a shadow?

If a vampire casts alter self to look like another person, would they have a reflection or cast a shadow? I have found some discussion about disguise self which suggests that since it is an illusion ...
aquavitae's user avatar
  • 887
1 vote
0 answers
205 views

Would this character be overpowered? If so, how could I balance him? [closed]

The character is a half-elf (a Fey Wanderer ranger) by physical standards, using half-elf bonuses and all proficiencies except language. (he can speak Common and Draconic) (TL,DR: dragon egg sold to ...
localplaguedoctor's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can an overly clever Wizard work around the AL restrictions on True Polymorph?

I am a level 20 Wizard whose greatest dream is to become an Ancient Topaz Dragon. I can do this easily via True Polymorph. Unfortunately for me, I am an Adventurers League character, and the FAQ ...
RuralAir's user avatar
  • 311
10 votes
2 answers
657 views

What space do I occupy after Polymorphing into a bigger creature?

Let's say I cast Polymorph on myself to turn into a Giant Ape (Huge size). Would the 3x3 space I now occupy necessarily be centered on my previous position? Or can I grow in a different direction so ...
Anne Aunyme's user avatar
  • 21.4k
1 vote
1 answer
258 views

To what degree does Polymorph Any Object change the subject?

Alter self changes just the form, and lists the ways in which the change is limited: must be the same creature type, must be within one size category, retain your own ability scores, Supernatural and ...
smuckenfart's user avatar
-1 votes
4 answers
495 views

Using RAW, can the Polymorph Any Object spell allow a Simulacrum to gain in power?

I was unable to delete this and post the revised question. I apologize to those who have invested time in answering, but I feel that this is now more evidence based than presentation based and better ...
smuckenfart's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
379 views

Does the Kitsune feat Myriad Forms allow two tailless forms?

The kitsune racial feat Myriad forms allows you to: With a bit of self-discovery, you find a new form. You gain the alternate form of a kitsune heritage other than your own, adding it to the options ...
Alan's user avatar
  • 1,305
-1 votes
1 answer
151 views

Does Minor Change Shape work with Assume Supernatural Ability? [closed]

https://forums.giantitp.com/showthread.php?647320-What-are-the-reasons-for-Minor-Change-Shape-NOT-working-with-Assume-Su-Ability&p=25505200 That post is very long and actually got a few things ...
alexstrasa82's user avatar
1 vote
3 answers
292 views

Can a player polymorph into a Phasm, use Assume Supernatural Ability to turn into a Shape of Fire, and then create Lavawights?

Polymorph into a Phasm (at 15th level) Use Assume Supernatural Ability:Alternate Form to turn into a Shape of Fire. Shape of Fire is a large creature and Phasm's Alternate Form ability lets him turn ...
alexstrasa82's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
626 views

How do Polymorph and True Polymorph interact with the Scrying spell?

A wizard has encountered a foe they let flee in a previous fight. They are now planning to use the Scrying spell, to find out where the foe is hiding. Does that spell succeed if the foe has cast ...
Lymakk's user avatar
  • 455
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

Is there a spell or cantrip to manipulate metal?

I am curious if there is a spell or cantrip to manipulate metal. I'd like to be able to turn someone's armor into a cage or extend my blade. Maybe there'd be certain limits such as the spell level ...
King Thingy's user avatar
10 votes
1 answer
833 views

What happens when a polymorphed Giant Ape is sapped by Detatched Shadows?

This is a very specific situation. And it didn't actually happen, but I was theorizing with a friend and we couldn't agree on the outcome. In The Wild Beyond The Witchlight campaign there are Detached ...
Matt Gibbons RollingDiceUK's user avatar
12 votes
5 answers
5k views

Are pixies overpowered for CR 1/4?

There is this question about if Conjure Woodland Beings is broken -- due to the fact that you can possibly summon eight pixies with it and multiply our level four spell slot by a factor of eight for ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
7 votes
4 answers
4k views

Conjure Woodland Beings + Polymorph

I have a question for you. The spell Conjure Woodland Beings allows the druid to conjure pixies. Pixies can cast the spell polymorph. From the Player's Handbook: The transformation lasts for the ...
Matteo Magrì's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
185 views

Polymorph: Would the feats be lost?

I am checking the Monster Manual, and most of the monsters have one or more feats in their statblocks. When a wizard casts polymorph to transform into a monster, does she need to remove all the feats ...
Terry Windwalker's user avatar
1 vote
3 answers
12k views

What is the strongest CR 8 beast to polymorph into?

The reason I want to do this is because my DM is being mean to a few of the party members for "how basic" their characters are, and he has also TPKd us several times. So using polymorph, I ...
dndndndndnndndndnd's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
242 views

Can Alter Self give you hands on extra limbs?

Can the Change Appearance option of alter self be used to give a four-armed creature hands on those other arms? You transform your appearance...You can make yourself appear as a member of another ...
David Coffron's user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
65 views

Do conditions persist when a creature is polymorphed? [duplicate]

For spell effects, it has been established that the effects would continue for the polymorphed form of a creature. For exhaustion, it has been determined as likely. For petrification, the consensus is ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
8 votes
3 answers
591 views

How to handle dispel magic on split objects from True Polymorph?

True Polymorph allows you to turn a creature into an object permanently, but you still can undo it with dispel magic or similar means and see through the change with true seeing. Otherwise, the object ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
539 views

Is there a value limit on the objects True Polymorph creates?

True Polymorph has the option to transform a creature into an object that cannot be larger than the creature. What about the object's value? Wish has a limit of 25,000 gp for on-label use. Could True ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar

1
2 3 4 5
10