Questions tagged [polymorph]

For questions about polymorphing in RPGs, which generally refers to the ability to change a creature or object from one form to another form. This may be done either voluntarily or involuntary.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
38
votes
8answers
29k views

Can a polymorphed creature use class features that don't require speech or hand gestures?

The Polymorph spell states (in part): The target’s game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment and personality....
43
votes
2answers
7k views

Can Polymorph end spells that require the target to be humanoid?

There are several spells that require the target to be "humanoid" such as Hold Person, Dominate Person, etc. However, if the target is Polymorphed after that spell has been successful, then what ...
36
votes
4answers
44k views

What is the meaning of 'permanent' in description of True Polymorph?

Following on from this question: Can I True Polymorph a goblin into adamantine (and then forge him into a sword?) Casting True Polymorph on an unwilling creature (relevant parts included only): You ...
43
votes
3answers
23k views

Can you permanently True Polymorph into yourself?

Can a character true polymorph into itself (possibly after transforming into some other form first)? Possibly to prevent aging, cure wounds, or alter their original body in some way? Or as a means of ...
21
votes
4answers
41k views

Can True Polymorph be dispelled or reversed?

My interpretation of True Polymorph is that, once made permanent, it could not be undone (except perhaps with a Wish spell, god-level magic, another casting of True Polymorph, or some similar ability)....
27
votes
2answers
16k views

What happens when Wild Shape/Polymorph runs out in a space that's too small?

So in a 5e campaign I'm running, the party Druid has recently been doing some scouting of the local monster caves in spider form to avoid notice. I've also described how the goblins and kobolds who ...
27
votes
2answers
11k views

Does whether a Wizard can maintain the spell Polymorph upon themselves depend on the form they change into?

The level 4 spell Polymorph requires concentration to maintain. The subject retains their personality and alignment, but they have the mental statistics of the new form, which must be a beast and ...
16
votes
3answers
18k views

Does a caster under the effect of a True Polymorph spell retain their class levels?

The true polymorph spell specifies that: The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of its new form ... The creature is limited in the actions it ...
28
votes
3answers
15k views

Are druids considered "shapechangers" and thus unaffected by the Polymorph spell?

The description of the polymorph spell states that "A shapechanger automatically succeeds on this saving throw". (Later printings state instead that "The spell has no effect on a ...
53
votes
7answers
29k views

How is Polymorph "broken"?

I have read numerous posts from various websites saying that the wizard/sorceror spell "polymorph" breaks game balance. Even Wizards of the Coast somewhat admits that. Sticking to just the core ...
33
votes
1answer
6k views

Can I True Polymorph a goblin into adamantine (and then forge him into a sword?)

Is it possible to make crafting materials, like adamantine, out of a goblin or such using the True Polymorph spell for the full duration of the spell? On a side note, while adamantine is mentioned in ...
27
votes
4answers
5k views

Does the True Polymorph spell form a creature with equipment?

When a spellcaster transforms an object or creature into a creature using the True Polymorph spell, does that creature form with equipment? Example: if a spellcaster used True Polymorph to ...
15
votes
1answer
6k views

Does casting Disintegrate on a polymorphed enemy still kill it after the 2018 errata?

After the 2018 errata, the disintegrate spell description now reads: A creature targeted by this spell must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, the target takes 10d6 + 40 force damage. ...
13
votes
3answers
35k views

What do you and do you not inherit from your new form when using Wild Shape / Beast Shape?

Changing shape using Wild Shape appears quite daunting when first looking it over. I was wondering if there was a clear, step-by-step, process of working out what you do and do not gain from changing ...
28
votes
2answers
7k views

Can Polymorph be used to give a druid new Wild Shape forms?

After my group's last session, it was pointed out that Polymorph does not require the caster to have ever seen the creature they are attempting to transform the person into. This has spawned a ...
13
votes
1answer
3k views

Does a polymorphed creature remember who his friends are?

The polymorph spell states, in part: The target’s game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment and personality. ...
24
votes
4answers
29k views

What happens when a Polymorphed creature is reduced to 0 HP by Disintegrate? [duplicate]

Disintegrate and Polymorph both have effects that happen when the subject is reduced to 0 hit points. Disintegrate says: If this damage reduces the target to 0 hit points, it is disintegrated. ...
16
votes
4answers
10k views

How does Max-HP reduction affect wild-shaped/polymorphed creatures?

Certain creatures have abilities which can reduce a character's maximum HP, and usually if it gets reduced to 0 the character dies outright. Suppose a HP30 PC is wild-shaped/polymorphed to a creature ...
18
votes
1answer
31k views

Can I true polymorph into an Ancient Brass Dragon, and then use its Change Shape ability?

If I were to cast True Polymorph (which permits all creatures, not just beasts, as the regular Polymorph does) on myself to turn myself into, say, an Ancient Brass Dragon (provided that I'm level 20, ...
25
votes
3answers
4k views

How does resistance/vulnerability/immunity interact with carryover damage after reducing a Polymorphed (or Wild Shaped) form to 0 HP?

A caster casts polymorph on another creature. Let's say the polymorphed creature has 10 HP in its new form, but takes 30 piercing damage and its current form is reduced to 0 HP. This causes it to ...
11
votes
2answers
14k views

Can you use a Dragon's Change Shape Ability to Turn Back Into Yourself?

If you are a level 20 Wizard who is True Polymorphed into an Ancient Brass Dragon, can you then use the Dragon's Change Shape ability to turn back into a level 20 Wizard, maintaining all your class ...
12
votes
2answers
15k views

Can Polymorph + Awaken give any creature intelligence and language?

If you cast Polymorph on a non beast creature then cast Awaken on their beast form how much carries over after polymorph ends? Polymorph does not give any explicit information on what happens to your ...
5
votes
2answers
3k views

Can you use class features while Polymorphed? [duplicate]

More specifically I'm trying to understand if a Barbarian who has been polymorphed, either willingly or not would be able to rage. However this also applies to things such as Uncanny Dodge, or Evasion,...
4
votes
4answers
6k views

Preventing gear loss while using Change Shape?

Change Shape states the following: Any gear worn or carried by the creature that can’t be worn or carried in its new form instead falls to the ground in its space. If the creature changes size, ...
40
votes
3answers
3k views

What happens to a polymorphed character if he is shorn as a sheep?

So I'm playing a wild magic sorcerer and rolled a 78 on my Wild Magic Surge, polymorphing me into a sheep after my unsuccessful wisdom save. My friendly companion now wants to shear me, but I will ...
29
votes
4answers
10k views

Can True Polymorph be used repeatedly to never age?

Let's say we have a level 20 human wizard named Dumbledore. Dumbledore is wicked old. Dumbledore would like to not die of old age, as he has a few enemies left to take care of. Can Dumbledore cast ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

Can True Polymorph be used to transform someone into a shapechanger creature?

The spell clearly says that it does not affect a shapechanger. Shapechangers are not affected by this spell. But has nothing about the opposite. Would that mean that I can change a Goblin into a ...
24
votes
1answer
18k views

True Polymorph: can a player use legendary actions of its new form?

True Polymorph PHB 283: Creature into Creature. (...) the new form can be any kind you choose. The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of its new ...
21
votes
4answers
11k views

What happens when a creature that has swallowed another creature is polymorphed?

Twice this week, I have faced a situation where Polymorph was going to be cast on a creature that had swallowed a PC. As a DM, I ruled that if the polymorphed form was smaller, the swallowed PC would ...
9
votes
2answers
6k views

Can I use Mage Hand to fly by Polymorphing myself and picking myself up with the hand?

Could I first cast Mage Hand, then Polymorph into a Tiny creature less than 10 pounds then use the Mage Hand to pick myself up and fly at 30 Ft per turn? Polymorph says: The new form can be any ...
8
votes
1answer
4k views

Can True Polymorph be used to create magic items?

The True Polymorph spell allows you to turn a creature into an object and if you concentrate on it for 1 hour it becomes permanent. The relevant text follows: Choose one creature or non-magical ...
15
votes
5answers
4k views

Is it possible to possess a non-humanoid creature with a combination of True Polymorph and Magic Jar?

True polymorph says: Creature into Creature. If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you choose whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target’...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

What are the exact rules for the spell Polymorph considering its inheritance from the spell Alter Self?

There is a great deal of confusion as to what the exact rules are for the spell Polymorph. If you ask three different tables how to resolve the same use of the spell, you are likely to get three very ...
18
votes
1answer
2k views

Polymorph Ending in Forcecage

What happens if you polymorph something like an elephant into a frog, and then place a forcecage around said frog with the polymorph spell ending before the forcecage does? Does the elephant just ...
15
votes
3answers
2k views

Does gaining a proficiency via the Shapechange spell let you add your original proficiency bonus if yours is higher?

For example, if a 17th level character with a +6 proficiency bonus and who isn't proficient in Acrobatics casts the shapechange spell to turn into a Quickling (who have a +6 Dexterity modifier and an ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

What happens when polymorph ends in a demiplane that is too small for the creature?

The Demiplane spell lets you create a permanent room 30 feet in any dimension as a separate plane, which would then be smaller than the Tarrasque. On the other side I may polymorph a Tarrasque into a ...
13
votes
5answers
8k views

How much control does Polymorph/True Polymorph allow over aesthetics?

Say a level 20 human wizard named Dumbledore would like to become an elf. When casting either Polymorph or True Polymorph, can Dumbledore specify how the elf will look? For example: "I want to be a ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

If a corpse is True Polymorphed into a creature, does it retain personality?

True polymorph can turn a creature into another creature. When it does so, the creature "retains its alignment and personality", although its other statistics change. However, true polymorph can also ...
5
votes
1answer
3k views

Does a true polymorphed familiar retain the mechanical benefits of a familiar?

If I use find familiar as an Arcane Trickster Rogue, then have a high level wizard cast (concentration) true polymorph on said familiar to turn them into a homunculus, would the familiar still retain ...
18
votes
3answers
7k views

When true polymorphed creature dies, does it revert to its original form?

The True Polymorph description says: Creature into Creature. The transformation lasts for the duration, or until the target drops to 0 hit points or dies. If you concentrate on this spell for the ...
17
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a monster use Shapechanger to take any form, or just one unique form?

I'm confused by the Shapechanger ability, which seems to be all over the place for different creatures. Here's the description of the ability from the Succubus stat block: Shapechanger. The fiend ...
16
votes
2answers
5k views

How can characters/players identify that a polymorphed dragon is a dragon?

Many dragons (e.g. ancient gold dragons) can polymorph using the Change Shape action: Change Shape. The dragon magically polymorphs into a humanoid or beast that has a challenge rating no higher than ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

How do multiple castings of True Polymorph interact?

When targeting a creature changed by any form of polymorph affect (Polymorph, Shapechange, Wild Shape, or True Polymorph), do you target the original creature, or the creature in its current form? ...
14
votes
1answer
8k views

True polymorph and the dragon Change Shape feature

I cast true polymorph on myself and I maintain concentration for 1 hour, so I became an Ancient Brass Dragon, until true polymorph is dispelled. Days / months later, I want to turn back to my original ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

What kind of control should a player have over themselves when they are polymorphed?

So I'm a level 8 sorcerer and I love the spell polymorph for all those situations where fireball isn't the answer. Usually it involves me polymorphing myself and maybe one other party member into a ...
9
votes
3answers
4k views

What happens when a polymorphed creature is petrified?

If a creature A is polymorphed into creature B and is subsequently petrified, does it still revert to its original form after the polymorph ends? I see several possible scenarios after the polymorph ...
9
votes
3answers
3k views

Are unwilling Changeling PCs from "Eberron: Rising from the Last War" now immune to the Polymorph spell?

In the original question Are Changelings immune to the Polymorph spell?, it was decided that because Changelings didn't have the Shapeshifter trait (though the answer should have said Shapechanger), ...
8
votes
1answer
772 views

Can a willing lycanthrope be True Polymorphed?

Can a lycanthrope or other shapeshifter be willingly affected by the spell True Polymorph? I know that it can be affected by regular Polymorph, but the text for the enhanced version seems to differ.
5
votes
2answers
916 views

What defines a PC's consciousness of self, memories and knowledge?

I am not sure whether a PC's consciousness, memories and knowledge are related to their personality or their mental stats (in particular, INT and WIS). My doubt comes from a practical situation, that ...
4
votes
3answers
2k views

Can the True Polymorph spell transform a creature into a custom creature?

The basis for my question is this line in the true polymorph spell (emphasis mine): Creature into Creature. If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you ...