Questions tagged [polymorph]

For questions about polymorphing in RPGs, which generally refers to the ability to change a creature or object from one form to another form. This may be done either voluntarily or involuntary.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
2answers
124 views

What happens when the Tiny Servant and True Polymorph spells effects a single target but end at different times?

I was inspired to ask this question from a post about using a tankard to fight people. Here's the scenario: A tiny object, in this case a Tankard, has been turned into a tiny construct thanks to the ...
5
votes
1answer
94 views

If you cast Polymorph on yourself, can you continue to concentrate after if the new form has a very low intelligence? [duplicate]

If you cast Polymorph on yourself to turn into a creature with low intelligence, can you/it continue to concentrate and thus remain in the polymorphed state for the duration of the spell? Or would the ...
10
votes
1answer
391 views

Can I use a beast's weapon attacks while polymorphed?

So I'm reading over the spell as I'm progressing through DnD, and I realized you can polymorph into a Tyrannosaurus Rex if you're of 8th level or beyond. In the PHB, it says: The new form can be ...
2
votes
2answers
58 views

How does Polymorph Any Object turn objects into creatures?

Polymorph Any Object, as the name implies, allows spell casters to polymorph objects into creatures. I thought I knew how that worked, but having now used the spell in a game, I am uncertain. So, how ...
5
votes
1answer
517 views

What happens to the target of a “permanent” True Polymorph spell when its caster dies?

The description of the spell says specifically that after the caster has maintained it's concentration for an hour, the spell can be dispelled. The transformation lasts for the duration, or until ...
4
votes
1answer
118 views

How is 'Same or Lower Intelligence' determined for the spell Polymorph Any Object?

In this spell, one of the factors that determines the spell's final duration is "Subject is... Same or lower intelligence." What does that mean? Obviously, if the spell turns the subject into an ...
5
votes
2answers
746 views

When True Polymorphed and making concentration saves, what stats do I use?

If I true polymorph myself, when I make a concentration save, should I use my character's or monster's statistics? And if I have relevant feats can I use them?
3
votes
1answer
122 views

What does “Polymorph Any Object” actually do?

So, I'm not entirely sure what this spell actually does. Based on the answer to this question, I would think the generally accepted use of this spell is 'greater polymorph' but with a longer duration ...
5
votes
1answer
141 views

Which abilities can a gold dragon in change shape form use?

Can an Adult Gold Dragon in Change Shape form use any of the following abilities? Multiattack. Bite. Melee Weapon Attack Claw. Melee Weapon Attack Tail. Melee Weapon Attack Frightful Presence. Fire ...
1
vote
3answers
326 views

What happens when I am True Polymorphed but the monster doesn't have any game statistics to replace mine?

The true polymorph spell description states that the target's game statistics are replaced with those of the new form. When I true polymorph into a monster such as archmage, or shadow assassin, ...
-2
votes
1answer
183 views

Can I use weapons and old abilities when True Polymorphed into an ancient brass dragon and then using Change Shape to turn back to humanoid? [duplicate]

If I am permanently turned into an ancient brass dragon with true polymorph and then use the Change Shape trait to become a humanoid again, can I buy new weapons and use them? Can I use my class ...
6
votes
1answer
233 views

If a creature is transformed into an object by the True Polymorph spell, what happens when you break that object?

Is there an official ruling on what happens when an object made by True Polymorph is broken? Situation: True Polymorph is cast on a Human, turning them into a Twig. An hour passes, making the ...
8
votes
3answers
388 views

If a creature polymorphs into something, is it then that thing?

A number of creatures have the Shapechanger trait with some variation of the phrasing: Shapechanger. The [creature] can use its action to polymorph into [output] or back into its true form. Its ...
6
votes
1answer
117 views

Are there any cleric spells that qualify for the Minor Shapeshift feat?

The Minor Shapeshift reserve feat (Complete Mage, p. 45) would be great for my melee-oriented Cleric. For it to work, you need to have available a "level 4 or higher polymorph spell". Are there ...
4
votes
1answer
98 views

Polymorph Question :: Excess Damage (And resistances) [duplicate]

Ok so if I polymorph a Fire Giant into a Baby Chicken and drop it into Lava the Baby Chicken will take 10d10 or 18d10 if I dunk it. When it hits 0 it reverts back to its previous form and takes the ...
3
votes
0answers
55 views

Are there limits to object Sizes when a character uses Metamorphosis?

I intend to use an NPC to make her attack a vessel. The NPC is capable of using Metamorphosis as a multiclass Ardent 7, manifester level 11. My idea was to make her metamorph into a flying creature, ...
4
votes
1answer
143 views

If you cast True Polymorph on matter made with the Creation spell will the creature disappear after the duration of Creation ends?

Cast creation to make vegetables that last a day, then cast true polymorph to make a dwarf from the vegetables, does the Creature disappear after a day? It says that if you use the matter created by ...
8
votes
1answer
785 views

Would the Detect Magic spell recognize a creature or object affected by the True Polymorph spell?

Straightforward issue here: in the D&D 5e version of true polymorph, the creature or object becomes permanently polymorphed into the creature or object of the caster’s choice after an hour has ...
4
votes
2answers
244 views

Can multiple casts of True Polymorph stack?

Heavily related to this question, I want to know if multiple castings of True Polymorph would stack if made permanent. Picture this scenario: (Assume a willing target.) Any given character is TP'd ...
3
votes
2answers
382 views

Is it legal to use True Polymorph to become a really old adult dragon so that you become ancient with time?

A scenario popped up in my mind that seems legal but feels like cheating. Say a level 20 wizard used True Polymorph to become an Adult Gold Dragon, at age 800 years and 364 days old. As stated in ...
1
vote
0answers
43 views

What happens when a permanent True Polymorphed creature drops to 0? [duplicate]

Assume that a creature was True Polymorphed for the entire duration of the spell and is thus permanently transformed. When said creature drops to 0, does the creature revert to it's previous form or ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

Are unwilling Changeling PCs from “Eberron: Rising from the Last War” now immune to the Polymorph spell?

In the original question Are Changelings immune to the Polymorph spell?, it was decided that because Changelings didn't have the Shapeshifter trait (though the answer should have said Shapechanger), ...
3
votes
2answers
264 views

Can you get infinite spells through True Polymorph and Shapechange

You're a level 17+ Wizard and you cast True Polymorph on yourself to turn yourself into a CR 17 Adult Gold Dragon. This grants you the stat block of said Adult Gold Dragon, including its Change Shape ...
0
votes
0answers
47 views

Can a character who was True Polymorphed into a Dragon Change Shape back into their original form? [duplicate]

A level 20 character can be changed permanently by True Polymorph into an Ancient Brass Dragon (CR 20). Ancient Brass Dragons have the Change Shape action that says, The dragon magically polymorphs ...
1
vote
0answers
30 views

What happens to parts or materials taken off of (true) polymorphed creatures? [duplicate]

As a DM with a wizard PC dangerously close to asking me that question I figured I'd try and find some primary source on this. Neither True Polymorph nor Polymorph state what happens to bits and ...
3
votes
1answer
76 views

Does a one-attack monster lose its strength bonus when gaining an additional attack?

In Pathfinder, does a one-attack monster lose its x1.5 strength bonus when gaining an additional attack type? This question came about when beastshaping into a one-attack animal but temporarily ...
2
votes
0answers
155 views

Can the Bestow Curse 3rd-level spell turn any creature into a humanoid? [duplicate]

Can a 'curse' or 'polymorph' transform any creature into a humanoid? In Volo's Guide to Monsters, a note suggests a 'curse' can turn someone into another humanoid - the 2nd row of the Monstrous ...
2
votes
3answers
397 views

Does taking the form of a Muse using Fey Form gain you the Sound Strike attack?

I have this possibly game-breaking doubt about the spell Fey Form and the Muse creature. Does the caster get the Sound Strike attack? That's way too strong for a level 3/4 spell.
11
votes
2answers
256 views

If a creature is True Polymorphed into a Wight that uses its Life Drain ability to raise zombies, do they stay controlled if True Polymorph ends?

Say you have a high-level wizard that can cast True Polymorph, and they turn into a Wight. They then use the Wight's Life Drain action, and manage to create a few zombies. Let's assume the Wizard does ...
11
votes
1answer
754 views

Are UA Changelings immune to the Polymorph spell?

The Polymorph spell says: This spell transforms a creature that you can see within range into a new form. An unwilling creature must make a Wisdom saving throw to avoid the effect. The spell has no ...
0
votes
1answer
75 views

What happens if modifications are made to the base entity while it is under the effects of a suppressed True Polymorph?

Posit the following situation: A wizard has True Polymorphed a stick into, say, an adult Silver Dragon, and maintained it for the full hour. He uses the thing as a mount, he's kept it happy with the ...
10
votes
4answers
646 views

Does Antimagic Field suppress all layers of True Polymorph simultaneously?

Imagine that you have cast True Polymorph to turn a medium object into a Helmed Horror with Spell Immunity to Antimagic Field. If you were to then True Polymorph that Helmed Horror into something else,...
8
votes
1answer
274 views

Can killing the spellcaster undo a 'permanent' True Polymorph?

So I have a character (E) that, Many years ago, was True Polymorphed into an elf so his also-elven spouse (N) wouldn't outlive him so drastically. The result ended in E being roughly thirty years ...
3
votes
3answers
647 views

Can the True Polymorph spell transform a creature into a custom creature?

The basis for my question is this line in the true polymorph spell (emphasis mine): Creature into Creature. If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you ...
1
vote
1answer
62 views

Do shaman spirit animals lose their spirit abilities while polymorphed?

Polymorphing a creature causes it to lose extraordinary and supernatural abilities that depend on form, and class features that depend on form. Do a shaman's spirit animal abilities fall under the ...
4
votes
1answer
203 views

Can a Wild Shaped Druid be copied by Polymorph or Wild Shape

Wild Shape says: Your game statistics are replaced by the statistics of the beast, but you retain your alignment, personality, and Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores. You also retain all of ...
36
votes
1answer
4k views

What's the story to “WotC gave up on fixing Polymorph”?

This is about D&D version 3.0 through 3.5e. It's been well-established that the Polymorph spell is broken. However, I often see the claim that "Wizards of the Coast (WotC, the game publisher) ...
12
votes
3answers
630 views

Does a familiar stay the same after being true polymorphed and then dismissed and resummoned?

Let's say someone true polymorphs your snake familiar into a bandit and concentrates long enough to make it permanent, does the familiar stay a bandit when you dismiss them and resummon?
8
votes
1answer
216 views

Can a True Polymorphed Familiar Change Spells?

Say you're a Pact of the Chain warlock, so you have a familiar with a CR of 1 or something. If you hit 17th level or find and pay a high-level mage to permanently turn your familiar into an Apprentice ...
1
vote
1answer
297 views

What are the exact rules for the spell Polymorph considering its inheritance from the spell Alter Self?

There is a great deal of confusion as to what the exact rules are for the spell Polymorph. If you ask three different tables how to resolve the same use of the spell, you are likely to get three very ...
2
votes
3answers
548 views

Can I make an exact copy of myself and my equipment using True Polymorph on a simulacrum?

More wizard shenanigans! If I create a simulacrum of myself and true polymorph the sim into me, assuming the simulacrum has the same CR/level as I do, can I essentially create an exact copy of myself ...
1
vote
1answer
129 views

Can a character using a polymorph spell be targeted by Enlarge Person?

After looking over Shifter for a build, I noticed that they use the same class feature (Wild Shape) as a Druid. Wild Shape depends on Beast Shape (among other similar spells), which is a spell of the ...
7
votes
1answer
325 views

What happens when Polymorph is cast on a creature already affected by Polymorph?

What happens when a caster casts Polymorph on a creature that is already Polymorphed by a different caster?
5
votes
1answer
374 views

Can True Polymorph create creatures with the Spellcasting feature?

One notable limitation of the Shapechange spell reads as follows: You transform into an average example of that creature, one without any class levels or the Spellcasting trait. However, True ...
2
votes
1answer
272 views

If a dragon uses Change Shape to turn into an Evoker, does it gain/have the material components for its spells?

Nuanced question about true polymorph (TP) and dragons changing shape: I have a wizard who has a simulacrum (sim). Wizard TPs the sim into an Adult Bronze Dragon, which can then Change Shape into a ...
3
votes
2answers
245 views

If a dragon under my control uses Change Shape to turn into an Evoker, can I choose the Evoker's race, and benefit from its racial traits?

Nuanced questions about True Polymorph and spellcasting: I have a wizard who has a simulacrum. Wizard TP's the sim into an adult bronze dragon, which can then Change Shape into a humanoid or beast of ...
1
vote
2answers
333 views

Does a Dispel Magic on a True Polymorphed Helmed Horror dispel all magical effects, or only those cast on the polymorphed form?

Imagine you have cast True Polymorph to turn an object into a Helmed Horror with spell immunity to Dispel Magic. You cast True Polymorph on the Helmed Horror again, and turn it into something that ...
9
votes
1answer
278 views

If an Ancient Metallic Dragon uses Change Shape to turn into a humanoid with Innate Spellcasting, do the uses of “X/day” spells reset each time?

Ancient Metallic Dragons (e.g. Ancient Brass Dragons) have the Change Shape ability: Change Shape. The dragon magically polymorphs into a humanoid or beast that has a challenge rating no higher ...
3
votes
0answers
111 views

Can you obtain a Transmuter's Stone if you “morph” into a Transmuter statblock? [duplicate]

Volo's Guide to Monsters contains the stat bloc for an NPC called Transmuter, who is a humanoid, CR 5, with the following trait: Transmuter's Stone. The transmuter carries a magic stone it ...
1
vote
0answers
53 views

Can I pluck a polymorphed creature and keep its feathers? [duplicate]

So this is a question about the polymorph and true polymorph spells. Both spells include in their description an explanation as to what happens to the gear of the target of the polymorph spells ... ...

1 2 3 4 5 7