We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.

Questions tagged [polymorph]

For questions about polymorphing in RPGs, which generally refers to the ability to change a creature or object from one form to another form. This may be done either voluntarily or involuntary.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
49
votes
7answers
25k views

How is Polymorph “broken”?

I have read numerous posts from various websites saying that the wizard/sorceror spell "polymorph" breaks game balance. Even Wizards of the Coast somewhat admits that. Sticking to just the core ...
44
votes
3answers
5k views

Can you escape a Maze spell by turning into a Minotaur?

The Maze spell states: Minotaurs are not affected by this spell. So could an enterprising victim escape the Maze spell by using a spell like polymorph to turn themselves into a Minotaur? ...
37
votes
5answers
8k views

Do dragons smell of lilacs?

I had an interesting thing happen in my last session of Dungeons & Dragons 5th edition. My players' characters are in a dragon-heavy adventure. A player tried to do a Perception check to detect ...
35
votes
2answers
15k views

Can you permanently True Polymorph into yourself?

Can a character true polymorph into itself (possibly after transforming into some other form first)? Possibly to prevent aging, cure wounds, or alter their original body in some way? Or as a means of ...
34
votes
1answer
4k views

What's the story to “WotC gave up on fixing Polymorph”?

This is about D&D version 3.0 through 3.5e. It's been well-established that the Polymorph spell is broken. However, I often see the claim that "Wizards of the Coast (WotC, the game publisher) ...
33
votes
7answers
17k views

Can a polymorphed creature use class features that don't require speech or hand gestures?

The Polymorph spell states (in part): The target’s game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment and personality....
32
votes
1answer
5k views

Can I True Polymorph a goblin into adamantine (and then forge him into a sword?)

Is it possible to make crafting materials, like adamantine, out of a goblin or such using the True Polymorph spell for the full duration of the spell? On a side note, while adamantine is mentioned in ...
31
votes
5answers
41k views

Can a Wizard polymorph low-level PCs into over-powered beasts?

According to Polymorph's description, The new form can be any beast whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target’s (or the target’s level, if it doesn't have a challenge rating)....
30
votes
3answers
9k views

Can you get pregnant while True Polymorphed?

While True Polymorphed, say into a dragon, can you get pregnant? If so, what happens when you revert form? I am a player in a D&D game that wants to know.
30
votes
4answers
29k views

What is the meaning of 'permanent' in description of True Polymorph?

Following on from this question: Can I True Polymorph a goblin into adamantine (and then forge him into a sword?) Casting True Polymorph on an unwilling creature (relevant parts included only): ...
30
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I still cast spells through my polymorphed familiar?

Is a polymorphed familiar still considered a familiar for purposes of casting touch spells through them?
29
votes
1answer
2k views

If PC with Great Weapon Master reduces a polymorphed creature to 0 hp, can they attack again?

The feat Great Weapon Master (PHB, pg. 167) includes the following benefit: On your turn, when you score a critical hit with a melee weapon or reduce a creature to 0 hit points with one, you can ...
28
votes
1answer
5k views

Can you polymorph an unconscious creature that is at 0 HP to wake it up?

The polymorph spell mentions that the creature assumes the new form's hp. As long as that hp doesn't hit 0 hp, the creature doesn't revert. But it doesn't state that you can't polymorph a creature at ...
27
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens to a polymorphed character if he is shorn as a sheep?

So I'm playing a wild magic sorcerer and rolled a 78 on my Wild Magic Surge, polymorphing me into a sheep after my unsuccessful wisdom save. My friendly companion now wants to shear me, but I will ...
26
votes
4answers
3k views

Does the True Polymorph spell form a creature with equipment?

When a spellcaster transforms an object or creature into a creature using the True Polymorph spell, does that creature form with equipment? Example: if a spellcaster used True Polymorph to ...
24
votes
2answers
35k views

Can Polymorph turn a character into a dragon?

This first sentence in the "Polymorph" spell description says This spell transforms a creature with at least 1 hit point that you can see within range into a new form. I have heard that polymorph ...
24
votes
3answers
3k views

Can you continue to play an Adventurers League character who was True Polymorphed into a monster?

If your character is transformed into a monster by true polymorph, can you legally continue playing them if the effect isn't dispelled? If not, then what are the ways to be reverted if the session ...
24
votes
6answers
1k views

Should PCs be limited to choosing forms into which to polymorph (or wild shape, etc.) that the PCs have previously encountered?

In trying to set reasonable limits on a PC's usage of the polymorph chain of spells. Is it plausible to require that the PC have some form of interaction with the target creature? Or can a PC ...
24
votes
4answers
17k views

What happens when a Polymorphed creature is reduced to 0 HP by Disintegrate? [duplicate]

Disintegrate and Polymorph both have effects that happen when the subject is reduced to 0 hit points. Disintegrate says: If this damage reduces the target to 0 hit points, it is disintegrated. ...
24
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you destroy a powerful creature with True Polymorph, Turning, and Destroy Undead?

As an Arcana Domain cleric, I cast true polymorph on a powerful enemy creature (say a Kraken), its statistics change to match a lower CR creature; I choose an undead (say a Skeleton). If I then use ...
24
votes
3answers
6k views

Can True Polymorph be used repeatedly to never age?

Let's say we have a level 20 human wizard named Dumbledore. Dumbledore is wicked old. Dumbledore would like to not die of old age, as he has a few enemies left to take care of. Can Dumbledore cast ...
23
votes
1answer
8k views

True Polymorph: can a player use legendary actions of its new form?

True Polymorph PHB 283: Creature into Creature. (...) the new form can be any kind you choose. The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of ...
22
votes
2answers
7k views

Does whether a Wizard can maintain the spell Polymorph upon themselves depend on the form they change into?

The level 4 spell Polymorph requires concentration to maintain. The subject retains their personality and alignment, but they have the mental statistics of the new form, which must be a beast and ...
21
votes
4answers
3k views

Death Ward with Polymorph

A sorcerer in our group is quite fond of using polymorph to change herself into a giant ape (MM page323). At one point in our game last night she managed to grapple a Bheur (Winter Hag), that was ...
21
votes
3answers
8k views

Are druids “shapechangers” for the purpose of a Polymorph spell saving throw?

The Polymorph spell states that "A shapechanger automatically succeeds on this saving throw" Druids have Beast Shape, and although numerous textual references refer to this ability, at no point (that ...
21
votes
2answers
7k views

What happens when Wild Shape/Polymorph runs out in a space that's too small?

So in a 5e campaign I'm running, the party Druid has recently been doing some scouting of the local monster caves in spider form to avoid notice. I've also described how the goblins and kobolds who ...
20
votes
3answers
2k views

How does resistance/vulnerability/immunity interact with carryover damage after reducing Polymorphed (or Wild Shaped) form to 0 HP?

A caster casts polymorph on another creature. Let's say the polymorphed creature has 10 HP in its new form, but takes 30 piercing damage and its current form is reduced to 0 HP. This causes it to ...
20
votes
4answers
1k views

Does a spell persist if it is cast on an object, and the object changes into a creature?

Does a spell persist if it is cast on an object, and the object changes into a creature? For example, spells like Light or Darkness, are linked to a movable object but can't be cast directly onto a ...
19
votes
2answers
4k views

Removing an unreasonable number of curses

So, in my last session, my trusty Dwarf Fighter became cursed. He is currently afflicted with one hundred distinct polymorph curses. For both my sake and the DM's, how would he go about getting ...
19
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a creature die outright if they drop below negative max hit points of their polymorphed form?

Does a creature die outright if they drop below negative max hit points of their polymorphed form? I know a creature will revert to their normal form upon reaching 0 hit points, but a creature dies ...
19
votes
4answers
1k views

Does the save DC of a spell decrease if the original spellcaster polymorphs on a later turn?

Does the save DC of a spell being concentrated on change if the caster's Int stat changes in the meantime due to polymorphing? For instance, if a level 8 wizard with Int 16 casts Hold Person on ...
18
votes
5answers
2k views

Can you be Polymorphed and then be made into a Familiar?

If a character is converted to a snake using baleful polymorph, can they then be made a Familiar or a Druid's Animal Companion (or other similar conditions). And what happens once they are changed ...
18
votes
2answers
3k views

Does a True Polymorphed player character continue to gain experience?

Suppose a 5th-level human wizard (let's call her Morgan) is subject to true polymorph, and the spell becomes permanent. While polymorphed, Morgan remains with the party and contributes to adventures. ...
18
votes
2answers
2k views

Can imps talk while shape-changed to a form resembling a beast?

Can an imp speak while shape-changed? Another question on the same topic: is a shape-changed imp a beast? The Imp has the following ability: Shapechanger: The imp can use its action to polymorph ...
18
votes
3answers
1k views

How worldly is a polymorphic elf?

In the 3.5e campaign I'm running, a very real concern has arisen that the player characters might actually fail to save the world from the horrific fate that the villian has planned for it. If this ...
17
votes
4answers
23k views

Can True Polymorph be dispelled or reversed?

My interpretation of True Polymorph is that, once made permanent, it could not be undone (except perhaps with a Wish spell, god-level magic, another casting of True Polymorph, or some similar ability)....
17
votes
1answer
3k views

Can True Polymorph transform an object (a tree) into the Champion (CR 9) from Volo's?

I'm running a high-level Norse-themed adventure with Odin and Thor running around messing up giants. The Odin-wizard used true polymorph to create a human from an oak log (see the saga), and he ...
17
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you break this curse from Princes of the Apocalypse by being reduced to 0 hp?

In Princes of the Apocalypse, a player got hit with Ghaunadaur’s curse... The rules for the curse state (Temple of the Elder Elemental Eye, room F19; PotA, p. 121): The curse is like a polymorph ...
17
votes
4answers
3k views

How to polymorph one object into another, specifically a pumpkin into a carriage?

So, I wish to polymorph one object into another. But neither Polymorph nor True Polymorph say anything about casting it on an object and transforming it into another object, so how could it be ...
17
votes
1answer
3k views

Why does the book suggest polymorphing into a giant? Can polymorph do that?

This question is prompted by a particular passage in Storm King's Thunder: The level 4 spell Polymorph allows to transform a character into a beast with challenge rating ≤ character level and Hill ...
17
votes
1answer
1k views

Polymorph Ending in Forcecage

What happens if you polymorph something like an elephant into a frog, and then place a forcecage around said frog with the polymorph spell ending before the forcecage does? Does the elephant just ...
16
votes
5answers
4k views

Can you cast polymorph on a dead thing?

Can you polymorph a dead creature? If so, would the wounds sustained by the target's original form appear on the polymorphed form? A possible scenario would be you're hunting a stag on the king's ...
16
votes
4answers
2k views

Does True Polymorph end if the CR requirement is no longer met?

True polymorph is a spell that allows for the transformation of a creature into another of equal or lower CR. Does this spell end if the CR of the original creature is reduced after the true ...
16
votes
2answers
3k views

Can a caster that cast Polymorph on themselves stop concentrating at any point even if their Int is low?

I was playing a moon druid and cast the polymorph spell on myself, changing me into a T-Rex, which caused my Int to become 2 and my Wis 12. I realized my targets had immunity to non-magical damage ...
16
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a monster use Shapechanger to take any form, or just one unique form?

I'm confused by the Shapechanger ability, which seems to be all over the place for different creatures. Here's the description of the ability from the Succubus stat block: Shapechanger. The fiend ...
16
votes
2answers
3k views

Can Polymorph be used to give a druid new Wild Shape forms?

After my group's last session, it was pointed out that Polymorph does not require the caster to have ever seen the creature they are attempting to transform the person into. This has spawned a ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

How can characters/players identify that a polymorphed dragon is a dragon?

Many dragons (e.g. ancient gold dragons) can polymorph using the Change Shape action: Change Shape. The dragon magically polymorphs into a humanoid or beast that has a challenge rating no higher ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

Does Primal Strike work with Polymorph?

Amazingly, I can't find anything even close to definitive on this across multiple google searches and phrasings. A Circle of the Moon druid casts polymorph on themselves for some of that sweet, ...
15
votes
1answer
10k views

Can damage taken while in polymorph break concentration?

A wizard uses polymorph to become a Giant Ape. The ape takes damage, but the damage does not spill over into the wizard's hit points. Can this damage break concentration (if they fail the DC 10 or ...
15
votes
1answer
3k views

Does casting Disintegrate on a polymorphed enemy still kill it after the 2018 errata?

After the 2018 errata, the disintegrate spell description now reads: A creature targeted by this spell must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, the target takes 10d6 + 40 force damage. ...